Lebanon, OH 
Countryside YMCA Share
Uploaded By: discpimp Hole #3 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 140ft.   3 / 217ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    4/29/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: buckeyebrickner
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tight course with challenging lies
No traffic or other people around
Supposedly 2 tee boxes for every hole? (although I struggled to find even 1 for each)
Cons: Must be a YMCA member to play
Only thing to mark tees are short wooden posts, which have no distance or map info, and some of the numbers are falling off
No rubber or cement tee pads
In spite of its short length, the layout is very confusing and cluttered
Hard to find the next tee box, even WITH the map we got from the rec desk
Some long grass, the course doesn't seem to get much attention or upkeep from YMCA staff
The course is stuck in the back of the property, a good distance from where you have to park
There was a huge fallen tree right where (I think) the tee box was supposed to be for the 9th hole
Other Thoughts: This course lacks any real personality, elevation, or interesting scenery. Lots of overgrown grass, weeds, and even a fallen tree or two. I have never been to a course with less helpful tee box markers. They have no info and are hard to find, even with a map. I think the biggest positive from my trip here was that it wasn't muddy. I wouldn't come back even if this was a public course, let alone one that I need a YMCA pass or guest pass to get to. This course is extremely disappointing and forgettable (much like how the staff has forgotten about it).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

It's alright

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Quiet! No traffic outside of disc golf, which likely consists of just you and anyone with you.

+ Actually pretty challenging, in my mind. Lots of lines that I just flat don't have, mostly because I can't throw a side arm. And I am not very good, but mustered a 2 over on the 18 - front whites, back blacks. But its a short course, if it were longer I would have come out much worse.
Cons: - Short
- Not a lot of character or anything to make it memorable. I live close, and frequent Turtlecreek, Gulley, Patricia Allyn, and Harmon. This course ranks behind those in my opinion.
- Short, confusing layout. There are posts, but they are about 3 feet tall, and it's literally a post with something like house numbers on them. Next tee posts with an arrow would help. Get a map from the rec desk or download the pic here on dgcoursereview if you go and haven't been before.
- Big disparity in difficulty between white and black tees. Whites = almost bunny. Blacks = &*%$@
- Must be a member to play.
Other Thoughts: It's not bad. But considering you have to park and walk a1/2 mile to the first hole - I'm not exaggerating - and considering that it's not that memorable, I wouldn't recommend you seek it out. If you like disc golf, you'll like it - of course. And it's nice and quiet - almost tranquil if you're flying solo. But there are 4 courses in the area mentioned above that are better and don't require a membership. There are some pretty challenging drives though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good things now come in threes!

5+    11/21/2015   6/9/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/22/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Edit 11/22/15: Having just played a practice round of nine holes from the red tees, then tourney rounds encompassing all three of the new sets of tees (not quite, but almost a fresh redesign!), I felt this course was absolutely due for an updated review, and an increase from a two disc rating to a hearty three! Countryside YMCA now boasts a correctly balanced set of challenges for the Novice to Rec level of skill from the Red tees, a true challenge for Intermediates from the Yellows, and a fun par three challenge for Advanced and Open players from the Blues.

There still isn't any massive bomber distance, even from the Blue tees (the longest hole is 377'), but the lines range from the 257'starter up the (OB) maintenance path that demands a decent forehand to avoid rolling, through a 357 footer from up on the soccer terrace, over a small pond, to a guarded pin position, to a couple of shorties with limited options on flight lines through the trees and brush, to the tight, long S-benders working their way back from the furthest end of the course.

The Yellow tees have a couple of accessible lane shots, but about a third of them might actually be as tricky as the Blues, as well. There's a 130 foot hole that presents two or three options, each of which demands enough precision to make a deuce run a bit of a gut check. The Reds' of course, are pure fun, deuce or die and ace run holes for more experienced players, while providing a nice sampler of disc flight for the beginner.

There are freshly painted posts near each Red tee, with a hole diagram, number and distance. The Yellow tees have number and distance painted on yellow posts, and all three tees throw form between a pair of painted stones defining the (grass) foul line. The Blue tees are marked only with hole number and distance, so first timers will want to use the map. If all the folks out on the course are playing the same set of tees, the layout is intelligent in keeping throwing lanes and tees away from danger, but...(see cons, below)

In all, three sets of skill levels can now enjoy this course, with it's technical lines being scaled nicely for the intended audiences .
Cons: The flow is going to be a little confusing for beginners, especially with all the extra tees. Nice painted arrows were set up for tourney play, but currently, there is limited 'next tee' signage. Alone and without a map, you would be unlikely to find the tees without wandering around quite a bit.

My biggest concern is probably the potential for mixed groups not being able to see each other where the shorter tees get into range from misfires from the longer tees. They tried to address the obvious one on hole 2(11), marking a mando so players throwing from yellow don't fire right at anybody standing on the third red tee. But the yellow tee on 4 (13) is well within range of a high speed misfire from yellow and blue 2 (11 & 20). The long shot around the barn on blue 8 (26) could very easily catch folks approaching the 7th basket unawares. With several other potential mishaps, I'm hoping they're thinking of ways to help all players stay focused on safety, while playing multiple tees to same baskets.

Minor cons regarding play: natural turf tees, and limited elevation available. And though they have worked VERY hard to clean it up, the rough can be very thick and unforgiving if you misfire, so have your whole group watch carefully until the disc comes to rest: that tree might have eaten it!
Other Thoughts: One final, important thing to keep in mind about this course is that it is entirely fenced and gated, and restricted to only YMCA members and their guests. I was fortunate enough to have been allowed in as a guest, and more recently, in a tournament, to enjoy this fun, (three by) nine hole course. Also, this is the biggest YMCA complex I have ever seen! They've got an indoor soccer field, a natatorium, gymnasia galore, pool and water park, sports fields, jogging tracks, plus the acreage (234 acres, I've heard!) out back for the course/ nature center/ archery range, etc.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: age 54 w/ 4 yrs experience, rated 900+/-, played 244+ courses in 23 states, 80% w/in 3hr drive of Cincinnati. Thrown with folks rated 600's to 1000's, ages 9 to 85 in events and leagues at all tiers. Seldom drive beyond 300-330, but have a solid up-shot and putting game. I haven't designed any courses, but try to lend a hand (with my severely desk-job limited skill set) when I can.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 69  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, little tight 9 hole course, with 18 tees I believe. Not too many shots for long drives thought, a decent practice course.
Cons: Maybe one long drive opportunity, Needs Next tee signs, more open fields.
Other Thoughts: Next tee signs would be helpful, some YMCA Members dont even know the course exists, which I found annoying. Otherwise, A decent little course you can complete in 30 minutes probably.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Deceptively Challenging to Do Well

5+    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ace opportunities
Challenging to birdie
Never busy
Awesome "Safari Course"
Cons: Lack of Signage
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course to go out and really work on your approach game. It makes awesome use of the existing land and despite its short length, I have seen this course destroy some very good players. Some of the holes are closely guarded by brush and trees making for challenging putting. Most times I can finish the front 9 with a -3 score, however my personal best was a -7. The course is unforgiving as the only par 4s are on the back 9 where holes #2 and #7 gain an additional 100 feet of distance.

#1 is a straight on shot with a hill down on the left side. Beginner players who will naturally fade their discs will fall prey to the elevation changes. The advanced tee here drops down hill a little and shift slightly to the left but only adds an additional 20 ft.

#2 is a longer hole that shoots from the corner of a soccer field through a narrow gap of trees into a clearing. Players need to be mindful of pedestrians. The advanced tee adds an additional 100 feet straight back.

#3 is a slow turn to the right ... favoring lefties or a forehand shot. The Advanced tee puts a tree into play forcing a "thread the needle" type shot

#4 This hole features a left turn around a large cedar tree (which can eat discs)... so be mindful... but it also has a tightly guarded basket which causes some challenging recovery shots if you flub the tee shot. The Advanced Tee creates a turn to the right and low hanging branches remove hammers from play.... leaving you scratching your head every time you play it... there really is no obvious shot here.

#5 "The Gauntlet" this hole requires a low flying straight tee shot through some pretty narrow foliage. A miss here usually means a tough battle to save par. The advanced tee is just slightly back and to the left.

#6 - A genuine ace opportunity here.... the pin here is 120 ft away and leading up to it is a nice wide gap in some decent size trees. Giving a straight shot a legitimate chance of going in. A fun hole.

The Advanced Tee located about 40 ft to the left of the normal tee has a dog leg to the right and the basket is hard to spot. This is a fairly challenging forehand blind shot.

#7 Longest hole on the course. It has a wide fairway with patches of trees on either side. The pin is on the left guarded by some larger trees. My drives tend to cut in front of these trees but its clear to putt around. The advanced tee backs you up another 70 ft or so

#8 - A longer hole on the course... A gigantic tree is smack dab in the middle of the fairway here. The left side of the fairway is open with a few larger trees along the way. The right side is forest. The Advanced tee is about 40 ft to the left and a pretty thick scrubby bush right beside the tee box kinda messes with you. The basket here is open on the front but loosely guarded along the backside and right of the basket.

#9 The tee box on 9 backs up to a tree. Trees scattered throughout the fairway give you an option of a tunnel shot or a nice wrap around shot to a pin that is only guarded on the backside by the forest edge.

The Advanced tee provides a tunnel shot or a possible wrap around to the left. Some of the trees on this hole can eat discs so proceed with caution.

Another fun feature about this course because of the light traffic and the way it wraps around itself is the opportunity to play from teeboxes to different pins... not only can this add some length to a very short course it makes it fun to challenge your buddy ala Michael Jordan "Nothing but net" to ...below are some of my "Safari Course" suggestions

#1 tee to #2 basket
#3 tee to #5 basket
#3 tee to #4 basket
#7 tee to #8 basket
#8Adv. to #9 basket (go around to the left not through the tunnel)
#6Adv. to #8 basket
#6 tee to #5 basket
#9 tee to #2 basket
#2 Tee to #1 basket

Just be mindful of other players when doing this of course...but this feature gives this course a lot of added value and fun

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Kind of short

1    9/27/2009   10/30/2009
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great property.
Plenty of Ace opportunities
The Designer did a great job in working with the existing land.
Cons: Very short.
Not very tech... but as a beginner course it is great!
Other Thoughts: I Really liked the course and My friend Aced a crazy shot over a tree. If you are in the area you should check it out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's fun to stay at the...

1    5/8/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pretty park with abundant wildlife. In fact, before the disc course was opened on 5/5/09, I think the land was just a nature preserve where hikers/walkers could enjoy the flora & fauna.

I would rate the challenge level as just a tick more difficult than the previous reviewer described. Granted, the course is easy (I finished at -1 playing everything as par 3), but some of the holes can get a little thorny (literally and figuratively). There are no long holes where you are required to air it out, but technical expertise is necessary to lace your shot through some tight corridors, or around obstacles.

Multiple tee boxes (white stones for beginners, and black stones for more advanced players) make this a good place to introduce a newbie to the game.
Cons: Unfortunately, this is only a 9-hole course which is always a con for me because I want to play all day. Also, there is a superior 9-hole course at the Mason Sports Park which is only 10 minutes away. There seems to be some room to expand to 18...maybe if the YMCA notices happy patrons frequenting the course they will consider this...

As mentioned in the previous review, the stones which mark the tee boxes for each hole are set in the ground, and difficult to find. We navigated by finding the basket, observing which way the number was facing, and walking back from that direction to hunt for the tee. We jammed some tall sticks in the ground so that subsequent players could find the tees, but those are probably long gone. Some of the beginners tees are marked with little neon orange flags in the ground, but even with those, it was hard to find the tees. This problem will probably get worse unless the YMCA regularly mows the course. Otherwise, the stones in the ground will be surrounded by tall grass and nearly impossible to locate.

Other Thoughts: I played the course without a YMCA membership. I even asked a YMCA employee to point me in the direction of the first tee and she obliged without asking for a membership card or fee.

If the Y invests in tee signs to help players navigate this could be a nice "throw in" course for players who are already hitting up the Gulley, Mason Sports Park, or Turtlecreek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy beginner course

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is what it is, a short beginner course in Lebanon, OH on the YMCA property. You must be a YMCA member or play with a member...any YMCA membership should give you access to the property. I believe non-members pay $5 to gain access to the YMCA while with members. This gives you access to the whole property.

It was designed for beginners and kids, so keep that in mind. This is not a challenging course so even intermediate players would be better off going to Mason, Turtle Creek, or Gulley Park which are all fine courses within 15 minutes. I gave this a 2.0 rating for two assumptions...this was designed as a beginner course and its nice / reasonable beginner course. The second assumption is the signs will be installed shortly. If signs are not installed I will knock this back to a 1 because finding the tee areas without signs is impossible, more on that in the cons. The course just opened 2 weeks prior to this review so it is reasonable to believe the signs are being produced.

* Moderately wooded and secluded, so at the very least you get a peaceful and scenic walk.

* Free to play for YMCA members

* This is short and flat but that is a positive for teaching kids the game. This is perfect for taking my 4 year old out to for the next 6 years.

*Maps, score cards and loaner discs available at the equipment desk inside the YMCA next to the racquetball courts.

* Brand new baskets, Discatcher I believe...The type with the yellow band around the top.

* Most of the holes make good use of the woods.
Cons: * Short...as mentioned it is what it is a beginner course.

* There are 2 holes (#1 and #9) where a nature trail could come into play and a hiker could get hit...be careful.

*Tough to find the tees without the signs installed yet. The tee pads are grass that are marked by colored rocks (white forward / black back) which are buried flush to the ground. You can't see the rocks unless you are standing right over them. The grass is usually cut to 4" to 6".
Other Thoughts: I live near by so I will update the info as signage is installed. I also plan to meet with the YMCA after playing the course more to see if a third set of tees can be installed to add difficulty to the course.

Watch out for the pine tree on #4 in the middle of the fairway. It is a left to right hole and this pine will suck up the discs and not drop them. The tree is 40' tall and its branches go all the way to the ground. What sucks is the pine's branches are not strong enough to allow climbing and they are dense so it would be tough to get up.

If you are a non member and want to play look me up at the course guide section. I will be happy to play disc golf and then we could even play racquetball.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.