Lebanon, OH 
Countryside YMCA Share
Uploaded By: discpimp Hole #4 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 150ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
It's alright

1    5/4/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Quiet! No traffic outside of disc golf, which likely consists of just you and anyone with you.

+ Actually pretty challenging, in my mind. Lots of lines that I just flat don't have, mostly because I can't throw a side arm. And I am not very good, but mustered a 2 over on the 18 - front whites, back blacks. But its a short course, if it were longer I would have come out much worse.
Cons: - Short
- Not a lot of character or anything to make it memorable. I live close, and frequent Turtlecreek, Gulley, Patricia Allyn, and Harmon. This course ranks behind those in my opinion.
- Short, confusing layout. There are posts, but they are about 3 feet tall, and it's literally a post with something like house numbers on them. Next tee posts with an arrow would help. Get a map from the rec desk or download the pic here on dgcoursereview if you go and haven't been before.
- Big disparity in difficulty between white and black tees. Whites = almost bunny. Blacks = &*%$@
- Must be a member to play.
Other Thoughts: It's not bad. But considering you have to park and walk a1/2 mile to the first hole - I'm not exaggerating - and considering that it's not that memorable, I wouldn't recommend you seek it out. If you like disc golf, you'll like it - of course. And it's nice and quiet - almost tranquil if you're flying solo. But there are 4 courses in the area mentioned above that are better and don't require a membership. There are some pretty challenging drives though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome family course (though restricted)

2-4    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The DG course at Countryside YMCA in Lebanon, OH is but one small part of a sprawling and wonderful family-based community center, which features nine new DGA baskets with multiple tee locations. Though the distances only range from 120 to 310 feet, there are tight lanes and shots that go left, right and straight. The course is mostly well-maintained, with fairly forgiving underbrush, but then, I stayed mostly on the short fairways…There are posts near each tee, with a pair of painted stones defining the (grass) foul line. The yellow tees are easily found, using the map. The layout is intelligent in keeping throwing lanes and tees away from danger, so beginners can really enjoy this course. It is not too frustrating for casual to Recreational level players, but the course will not challenge Intermediates and above.

Hole by hole: there is a warm up basket before the course sign, and then a fairly open 190' shot to basket #1. The 2nd hole has two visible tees to the right, but the basket lies 150' past the gap they aim at, making the red tee a bit of a tricky, blind 310' dogleg left, where you want to avoid going right, into the archery range (your disc becomes pdga illegal with a thorn all the way through it, so I'm thinking an arrow puncture might be…well, bad). Step to your left for the 175' lane/ tunnel anny (rhbh) #3, then go to your right to find the 150' hyzer line, with the blind #4 basket lying about 50' past the evergreen tree. Next, you have to go well off to the left to find the straight 160' #5 ace run. Backtrack a little to #6, where you'll see a very tight gap to the shortest hole on the course (120'). Working to your left again, you'll find the long-ish #7, but don't fret or become obsessed by the basket you see straight down the lane about 480' away. Your target lies just barely blind, to the left side of the fairway, at 300'. Walk once more to your right to the #8 tee, where a 200' hyzer around the center-fairway tree will park your drive. Cut through the path to your right and shoot either the #18 (red) tee at a listed 170', or go beyond to the right to the 160' yellow tee, where a gently right turning low line drive can chain out like I did (did I just admit that?)
Cons: There wasn't much of a chance to use elevation on the property, and I only spotted the secondary (red, as opposed to the score-sheet-mentioned black) tees for holes 2 and 9. There are no 'next tee' signs, which would be handy for first timers, since some of the holes furthest from the 'Y' building proper were not mown the last time I played here. Alone and without a map, you would be unlikely to find the tees without wandering around quite a bit.

The course is short (1575 to 1845 feet for nine holes), and it does not have any trash cans or benches. There are clearly some other activities intended in this area (including paths and an archery range), which combine with one or two blind lines to force caution when you throw, if and when there are other folks out here.
Other Thoughts: The main thing about this course is that it is entirely fenced and gated, and restricted to only YMCA members and their guests. I was fortunate enough to have been allowed in as a guest, to enjoy this fun, if short, nine hole course. Also, this is the biggest YMCA complex I have ever seen! They've got an indoor soccer field, a natatorium, gymnasia galore, pool and water park, sports fields, jogging tracks, plus the acreage out back for the course/ nature center/ archery range, etc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 YMCA

1    8/26/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice, little tight 9 hole course, with 18 tees I believe. Not too many shots for long drives thought, a decent practice course.
Cons: Maybe one long drive opportunity, Needs Next tee signs, more open fields.
Other Thoughts: Next tee signs would be helpful, some YMCA Members dont even know the course exists, which I found annoying. Otherwise, A decent little course you can complete in 30 minutes probably.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Deceptively Challenging to Do Well

5+    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ace opportunities
Challenging to birdie
Never busy
Awesome "Safari Course"
Cons: Lack of Signage
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome course to go out and really work on your approach game. It makes awesome use of the existing land and despite its short length, I have seen this course destroy some very good players. Some of the holes are closely guarded by brush and trees making for challenging putting. Most times I can finish the front 9 with a -3 score, however my personal best was a -7. The course is unforgiving as the only par 4s are on the back 9 where holes #2 and #7 gain an additional 100 feet of distance.

#1 is a straight on shot with a hill down on the left side. Beginner players who will naturally fade their discs will fall prey to the elevation changes. The advanced tee here drops down hill a little and shift slightly to the left but only adds an additional 20 ft.

#2 is a longer hole that shoots from the corner of a soccer field through a narrow gap of trees into a clearing. Players need to be mindful of pedestrians. The advanced tee adds an additional 100 feet straight back.

#3 is a slow turn to the right ... favoring lefties or a forehand shot. The Advanced tee puts a tree into play forcing a "thread the needle" type shot

#4 This hole features a left turn around a large cedar tree (which can eat discs)... so be mindful... but it also has a tightly guarded basket which causes some challenging recovery shots if you flub the tee shot. The Advanced Tee creates a turn to the right and low hanging branches remove hammers from play.... leaving you scratching your head every time you play it... there really is no obvious shot here.

#5 "The Gauntlet" this hole requires a low flying straight tee shot through some pretty narrow foliage. A miss here usually means a tough battle to save par. The advanced tee is just slightly back and to the left.

#6 - A genuine ace opportunity here.... the pin here is 120 ft away and leading up to it is a nice wide gap in some decent size trees. Giving a straight shot a legitimate chance of going in. A fun hole.

The Advanced Tee located about 40 ft to the left of the normal tee has a dog leg to the right and the basket is hard to spot. This is a fairly challenging forehand blind shot.

#7 Longest hole on the course. It has a wide fairway with patches of trees on either side. The pin is on the left guarded by some larger trees. My drives tend to cut in front of these trees but its clear to putt around. The advanced tee backs you up another 70 ft or so

#8 - A longer hole on the course... A gigantic tree is smack dab in the middle of the fairway here. The left side of the fairway is open with a few larger trees along the way. The right side is forest. The Advanced tee is about 40 ft to the left and a pretty thick scrubby bush right beside the tee box kinda messes with you. The basket here is open on the front but loosely guarded along the backside and right of the basket.

#9 The tee box on 9 backs up to a tree. Trees scattered throughout the fairway give you an option of a tunnel shot or a nice wrap around shot to a pin that is only guarded on the backside by the forest edge.

The Advanced tee provides a tunnel shot or a possible wrap around to the left. Some of the trees on this hole can eat discs so proceed with caution.

Another fun feature about this course because of the light traffic and the way it wraps around itself is the opportunity to play from teeboxes to different pins... not only can this add some length to a very short course it makes it fun to challenge your buddy ala Michael Jordan "Nothing but net" to ...below are some of my "Safari Course" suggestions

#1 tee to #2 basket
#3 tee to #5 basket
#3 tee to #4 basket
#7 tee to #8 basket
#8Adv. to #9 basket (go around to the left not through the tunnel)
#6Adv. to #8 basket
#6 tee to #5 basket
#9 tee to #2 basket
#2 Tee to #1 basket

Just be mindful of other players when doing this of course...but this feature gives this course a lot of added value and fun

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, Kind of short

1    9/27/2009   10/30/2009
Review By: TCXJWAGONEER
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great property.
Plenty of Ace opportunities
The Designer did a great job in working with the existing land.
Cons: Very short.
Not very tech... but as a beginner course it is great!
Other Thoughts: I Really liked the course and My friend Aced a crazy shot over a tree. If you are in the area you should check it out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's fun to stay at the...

1    5/8/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a pretty park with abundant wildlife. In fact, before the disc course was opened on 5/5/09, I think the land was just a nature preserve where hikers/walkers could enjoy the flora & fauna.

I would rate the challenge level as just a tick more difficult than the previous reviewer described. Granted, the course is easy (I finished at -1 playing everything as par 3), but some of the holes can get a little thorny (literally and figuratively). There are no long holes where you are required to air it out, but technical expertise is necessary to lace your shot through some tight corridors, or around obstacles.

Multiple tee boxes (white stones for beginners, and black stones for more advanced players) make this a good place to introduce a newbie to the game.
Cons: Unfortunately, this is only a 9-hole course which is always a con for me because I want to play all day. Also, there is a superior 9-hole course at the Mason Sports Park which is only 10 minutes away. There seems to be some room to expand to 18...maybe if the YMCA notices happy patrons frequenting the course they will consider this...

As mentioned in the previous review, the stones which mark the tee boxes for each hole are set in the ground, and difficult to find. We navigated by finding the basket, observing which way the number was facing, and walking back from that direction to hunt for the tee. We jammed some tall sticks in the ground so that subsequent players could find the tees, but those are probably long gone. Some of the beginners tees are marked with little neon orange flags in the ground, but even with those, it was hard to find the tees. This problem will probably get worse unless the YMCA regularly mows the course. Otherwise, the stones in the ground will be surrounded by tall grass and nearly impossible to locate.

Other Thoughts: I played the course without a YMCA membership. I even asked a YMCA employee to point me in the direction of the first tee and she obliged without asking for a membership card or fee.

If the Y invests in tee signs to help players navigate this could be a nice "throw in" course for players who are already hitting up the Gulley, Mason Sports Park, or Turtlecreek.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy beginner course

1    5/21/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is what it is, a short beginner course in Lebanon, OH on the YMCA property. You must be a YMCA member or play with a member...any YMCA membership should give you access to the property. I believe non-members pay $5 to gain access to the YMCA while with members. This gives you access to the whole property.

It was designed for beginners and kids, so keep that in mind. This is not a challenging course so even intermediate players would be better off going to Mason, Turtle Creek, or Gulley Park which are all fine courses within 15 minutes. I gave this a 2.0 rating for two assumptions...this was designed as a beginner course and its nice / reasonable beginner course. The second assumption is the signs will be installed shortly. If signs are not installed I will knock this back to a 1 because finding the tee areas without signs is impossible, more on that in the cons. The course just opened 2 weeks prior to this review so it is reasonable to believe the signs are being produced.

* Moderately wooded and secluded, so at the very least you get a peaceful and scenic walk.

* Free to play for YMCA members

* This is short and flat but that is a positive for teaching kids the game. This is perfect for taking my 4 year old out to for the next 6 years.

*Maps, score cards and loaner discs available at the equipment desk inside the YMCA next to the racquetball courts.

* Brand new baskets, Discatcher I believe...The type with the yellow band around the top.

* Most of the holes make good use of the woods.
Cons: * Short...as mentioned it is what it is a beginner course.

* There are 2 holes (#1 and #9) where a nature trail could come into play and a hiker could get hit...be careful.

*Tough to find the tees without the signs installed yet. The tee pads are grass that are marked by colored rocks (white forward / black back) which are buried flush to the ground. You can't see the rocks unless you are standing right over them. The grass is usually cut to 4" to 6".
Other Thoughts: I live near by so I will update the info as signage is installed. I also plan to meet with the YMCA after playing the course more to see if a third set of tees can be installed to add difficulty to the course.

Watch out for the pine tree on #4 in the middle of the fairway. It is a left to right hole and this pine will suck up the discs and not drop them. The tree is 40' tall and its branches go all the way to the ground. What sucks is the pine's branches are not strong enough to allow climbing and they are dense so it would be tough to get up.

If you are a non member and want to play look me up at the course guide section. I will be happy to play disc golf and then we could even play racquetball.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.