Houston, TX
McClendan Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 152ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Note walking path right in front of basket with blind view to the left



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and Sweet

1    12/7/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -concrete tee pads
-elevation challenges
-interesting holes make for a fun game
-fairly well maintained park
Cons: -the park was extremely busy when I visited and I had to often wait for non-discers to get out of the fairway - no one seemed to be aware of the sport of disc golf
-youre going to get wet if it has rained in the last 24 hours
-extremely short holes/course - this course is definitely for beginners
-not a full 18
Other Thoughts: unless one of my friends really wants to go here, I wont be going back. the holes were too short and the park was very crowded. its really a bummer because there are nice concrete pads but the course is just crammed in this park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/13/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very beautiful park with plenty to do including disc golf.

Cement tee pads were a very pleasant surprise at a course like this.

The course was in a retention pond that was dry when I went out but it was probably the most elevation change I have ever been to at a course in Houston, Hole #2 has probably a 30' drop into the ditch, it was a new experience.

Even without signs on most holes this course is simple to navigate and can actually be played in about thirty minutes, and that may be real slow. This is a great place to bring beginners
Cons: Like said before there are maybe two tee signs left that are still legible. The other holes have signs that are broken and non legible or simply not there.

There are no obstacles except all of the joggers and walkers that walk on the trail that surrounds the retention pond; on a few holes there seems like there were trees planted to give this course some obstacles but it will be a few years before the trees can actually prevent you from taking the shot you want.
Other Thoughts: This park has just about everything that you would want in a family afternoon at the park. The disc golf scene is secondary here with everything else to do at the park, I would not be surprised if any more than 5 people a day go out of their way to play here unless you live in the area.

Be careful with the fence on the left on the last few holes if you are a RHBH thrower. If you put too much hyzer and the wind catches your disc, it may go over the fence to the left into some very thick brush.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course for Newbies

2-4    11/12/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: JayCee2358
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/17/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets and the cement tee pads were in good condition. The course was very easy to navigate. The next tee is very close to the previous basket and it's just a counter-clockwise move around the baseball and soccer field. There are some shots where elevation is a factor.

The course seemed to be maintained, or at least the grass was trimmed when we went. There are nearby trash cans and restrooms and they are maintained pretty regularly.
Cons: A few of the signs have been broken, but the hole number, par information, and distance can still be seen on most of them.

There aren't many other people playing disc golf, but there are a lot of people that are jogging or playing in the field, which can be a problem because most of the courses are near both the jogging trail and the field.
Other Thoughts: For a beginner, this course was great because there aren't very many obstacles in the way. Most of the obstacles were in the form of "please don't hit the jogger, please don't hit the jogger." For more experienced players that have a lot of confidence in their shots, I doubt that this would be an issue, but for newbies like myself that have no idea which way the disc will go after the release, it gets taxing mentally.

Overall, we had a great time especially since we were all new to the game. This course was definitely a confidence booster.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Simply Easy but Enjoyable

1    3/21/2011   3/22/2011
Review By: Caleb
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Cement Tee's (A rarity in Houston)
-Easy to Navigate
-Simple course for beginners
-Maintained with access to restrooms and trash cans
-Never busy
-Some elevation changes (rarity in Houston) which actually calls for so work with the putter if you misplace you approach(and your approach is your drive off the tee)
Cons: -Way too easy for more experienced player
-The jogging path is in play on multiple holes causing a danger concern for joggers. (Be mindful, and respectful)
-Will be a swamp after rain
-No shade
-Not a variety of shots used (No length)
Other Thoughts: The course feels like an after thought of the park. It's as if they had the extra space so they just through 9 baskets in the ground and poured some cement for tees (Although the tees are wonderful)

I actually enjoyed messing around on this course. I was literally the only player out there so I was able to throw multiple discs and try out different types of throws. It is a short course, but it's wide open enough to do some crazy things.Great place to practice your mid range. The elevations aren't used as well as I'd like, but baskets on hills calls for some challenging up-hill/down-hill putts. I also played around creating my own tees to change up the holes, so if you are with a group, it might be fun to see what you can come up with (especially hole 4)
Hole #1 and #4 are laughable at how short they are. You could probably ace both with a putter.
#1 is basically following the sidewalk in front of the parking lot, so you have to be mindful of cars, but given it's short distance, you shouldn't have any issues with a wild disc, unless you get a roller off of the hill to the left.
#4 Tee doesn't feel like it's in the right place because it is so short, I suggest walking to the top of the hill and teeing off from there. It makes it a challenge to not way over shoot it, just be careful to watch for walkers, because the path is right behind the basket on top of the hill. There is also two levels to the hill which you could stand from and create a blind shot from behind the hill. Hole 4 is had the most potential, and thus the greatest let down.

All in all, it's simplicity is fun because it allows you to mess around with your throws. If you want to take the course serious, you will easily score under par, for beginners, a great place to boost confidence, for everyone else, go out there and play a round with your left hand (if you are right handed and vice versa). Test some throws you wouldn't want to try at a more challenging course like tomahawks, rollers and flicks. Just don't take yourself too seriously at this course.

Don't drive more than 15 minutes to play this course, but if you are in the area, or live around here, check it out. I would play it again simply for the elevation opportunities.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Learning?

2-4    5/20/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New to the sport? Have a family outing and want to keep the kids busy while you enjoy a round? Don't want your wife to nag you for a round taking two plus hours? Want your first ace? Well then my friend, McClendan Park is the place for you. Logging in at just over 1850 feet, McClendan Park is a short nine hole par 3 course that is just fun enough to keep you entertained.

You have minor elevation changes, and if you make your own alternates, you could have Terramont Park like elevation changes. In fact, I'm surprised no one has done this yet. The park is easy to navigate - one big walk around the retention pond. The park is also full of other activities like a forest preserve, jogging path with exercise stations, great playground for the kids, and decent bathrooms.

Good size concrete pads. A gold standard for a good course, and in Houston unfortunately this is a rarity so enjoy it. Each pad has an average quality marker indicating distance and hole number, but eight has been destroyed. The baskets are good double chain DGA, so you won't get as many spits either.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: If you are looking to be challenged, have a bit of DG experience, and like trees and good distances - please stay away. The course is basically a collection of short straight holes that don't require much thought or a driver. Seriously, how much more fun would a hole four be if you used the giant hill behind the tee more?

Most of the holes play along the jogging path, so be careful on a busy day. Hole #1 is a perfect example of dangerous pin location, however the pin was moved back before the walking path. On top of that, some of the pin-to-next tee locations are way to close. I think there is about 20' from number three pin and four tee box. This is not a place to play on a busy day - however, I really don't think it gets that much traffic anyway.

There is a soccer field and baseball field in play on holes two, three, eight, and definitely nine. I threw right in the head wind and placed my drives just about at home plate. Basically, if practice is going on - you may be out of luck.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #9
Other Thoughts: Much like Cedar Brook Elementary School, this is the type of course my wife would love to play. It's short, not busy, and gives a newbie a chance to feel good about their game. Again, it's the perfect place to bring the family out for a picnic lunch and get in a few quick rounds.

However, if you actually play disc golf, and are halfway decent - this place is more of a mid-range practice course that you might play if you lived right next to it. Come out and play it a few times, and try to make that ace run, but please don't go out of your way to find this place if you play anything above the novice division.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Wide open course

2-4    2/14/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Legacy10
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great t-boxes and buckets
Cons: Don't go when it's been raining. Hole 1 bucket right by parking lot. No trees or obstacles. People walking and jogging on trails where buckets are located around
Other Thoughts: pretty easy course, especially for beginners like me. Its a nice place to go and practice throwing discs. The grass was cut short, or just not growing from winter!! The Majority of buckets and tboxes are located on slanted hills which makes it a little more difficult to putt.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly sad

1    9/29/2009   9/29/2009
Review By: jrcamp001
Played: 198  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tee boxes and signs. Great baskets.
Cons: Excuse me but I don't like waist deep weeds. The 1st hole is awful - I like the lay-out but it's too short and way too close to the sidewalk and parking lot, not to mention the blind side of the hill near the basket.
Other Thoughts: Why oh why weren't the natural elevation changes incorporated in the design more. I drove up, saw the hills and got excited, but was very disappointed that the design was mostly flat.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Retention Pond Course

2-4    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Very nice concrete tees (a rarity for most Houston area courses) and double chain DGA baskets. Good restroom facilities with water fountains. Decent elevation changes with most of the baskets on the side of a hill, and while that doesn't do much to challenge the drives on this relatively short course it really makes you focus on the putts. The longest hole (#2) is an elevated tee pad and provides the opportunity for general Recreational players to really crank a drive and see it fly. Hole #1 is a great hole to challenge your distance accuracy, it's 152' from the tee to the basket, which is sitting at the edge of a steep drop off immediately behind the basket. If you short the drive you're still staring at an ominous putt with the drop off in the background. Not much walking between holes and a short course means you can quickly and easily play this course with just three discs.
Cons:
It seems as though this course was designed by someone without much disc golf experience. The course has some reasonably serious safety concerns with pedestrian traffic. The most egregious is hole #1 which plays across a walking/biking path right in front of the basket and has hill blocking the view of incoming non-disc golf traffic.

Hole #2 throws over a baseball field (which may not get much use) but if you clear that obstacle the tee pad for #3 is only 10's of feet from the #2 basket and in major danger of getting hit with discs thrown from #2.

All the baskets except #2 and #3 are within 10-20' of the walking/fitness trail that circles the park, a pretty big safety hazard for disc golfers who don't know general safety etiquette. Also most of the tee signs are installed right off the front corner of the tee pad and will possibly obstruct a follow through.

No significant shot variety to the holes, they're all mostly straight with slight RHBH hyzer fades.

The #4 tee pad is non existent right now; apparently due to some recent construction modifications to the area.
Other Thoughts:
"Deuce or die course." For any player rated ~850 and up a well thrown drive on every hole will yield a pretty easy birdie. But with baskets on the sides of hills even just a good throw can provide a tricky putt.

For serious disc golfers this course might be worth a play if you're in the area, but is not the type of course that you will be inspired to play again. Not worth going out of your way to play or, given the flood control nature of the park, worth playing if the weather has been wet recently.

The park in general has some nice amenities with a water park area, playground, and cookout areas. I played on a weekend and while the disc golf course was deserted the rest of the park was hoppin' busy.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Newbie Review - New course

5+    5/23/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: gdcurry
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of altitude changes around the pit. Generally easy to find your disc. Some trees blocking the direct lines on a few holes. Bathroom and water fountain available.
Cons: No DG community yet. Tee #4 recently destroyed by flood control project. Uneven ground. Can get crowded with non-DG pedestrians during popular times.
Other Thoughts: Be careful of the area to the left of the walking path on holes 4 through 6, there is a bayou that can eat discs. Also, there is a nature preserve to the left of holes 7 and 8 with a fence between so if it goes over the fence you can probably get your disc if you want, but it is definitely OB for the shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.