Disc Golf Center

Layout Extinct

St. Paul, OR 
Champoeg State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #9 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice

5+    5/4/2013   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good range of shots required
- Open and wooded holes
- Beginner friendly
- Camping Available
- Water access
- Relatively fast play
Cons: - Crowded with non-discers on great days
- Day use fee (not really a con. Just be aware)
- Not great signage
- Not great tees
- Doesn't handle winter the best.
Other Thoughts: Solid park. Worth a trip to play through twice in a day. Good multiuse park: hiking, water sports, running, BBQ and other park amenities.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the $5

2-4    11/9/2012   11/9/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -15 holes
-Good set up for beginners
-Longer holes tests your distance throws
-Well kept grass
-Mainly Flat
-Good for families
Cons: -Holes lack variety
-Is a marsh during rainy season
-Trash....beer bottles in every tree
-Mainly Flat
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I love this place. Can get crowded on weekends and during the summer. The course is really really close to getting a full blown make-over. Holes 1-4 are pretty straight forward. 5 & 6 test your accuracy. 7 tests your strength, and the back half of the course tests your upshots. Hole 10, 11, and 12 can be disc eaters if you grip lock it right.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and simple

1    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Salem Disc Junkie
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quick paced course
All of the holes are pretty close to each other
Good for kids and beginners
Cons: No signage to mark tees
Rubber mats instead of concrete tee pads
Only 15 holes, wanted a full 18.
Other Thoughts: My son and I played this course and had a lot of fun. It's not real challenging, though some of the trees make for a bit of a challenge. The lack of signage really does hurt the overall value of the course, as does the fact that it's only 15 holes. Given that you have to pay $5 to park because it is at a State Park, I wanted a little more bang for my buck.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A squishy one.

2-4    4/9/2012   4/10/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is set in a park with lots of stuff to do. Such as camping, fishing, hiking, biking, and just general family fun.

The course is well maintained in the summer. The grass is mowed regularly and dries out for a better place to play. It has plenty of parking and is easy to find.

The tees are rubber mats that are staked down with metal stakes and are therefore secure. The area in front of the tee is generally okay but can be muddy on wet days or in the case of 13 a real big water hole.

The baskets are old Innova single chain models but are in decent shape and catch well. The area around the baskets is usually better than the tees.

Undergrowth and such is minimal except on 5 and 6.

The map that is provided at the course is much better than the one here and I will up date as soon as I can. It is easy to read and follow.
Cons: The place is playable when wet but bring shoes you can get wet and muddy. There is a lot of standing water after rain and in the winter.

Holes 1, 2, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are closed in the winter. The water is standing every where and in the areas around these tees and baskets it is so bad that they have to protect the soil from being tracked on or it will damage it badly.

There are no tee markers and no distances listed any where I couuld find.
Other Thoughts: This is not a place I would go out of my way to play but when in the area I will.

There is room beyond 12 where the course could be expanded and I hope they do. Because there is some promise here for a better course but it would take a lot of work.

The course order while the baskets for 1, 2, 5, 6 , 7, and 8 are out is 4, 3, then 9 - 15.

I gave the course a 3 because it is much better when dry and the missing baskets are put back for the summer configuration.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Foundation Builder

2-4    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Champoeg DGC is located in a giant State Park close enough for a quick stop off of highway I-5. While not championship caliber, the course is a solid mix of holes in a flat, grassy, moderately treed meadow of the park. Holes range from wide open to tightly wooded and have a nice variety of distances from short putter shots to extremely long par 3's.

Highly skilled gold level players are going to rack up birdies on these relatively simple shots while Ams and the lower ranks of pros will be able to strengthen foundation-level shots. Most holes are out-of-range for beginners but the lack of underbrush and ability to save par from pretty much anywhere will make for a good challenge without frustration.

Variety - A well-rounded player will be throwing both forehand and backhand shots along with perhaps a roller or two off of the tee. Hole distances have great variety from putters to long-range drivers and there aren't really any holes which pop out as "clunkers" - every hole has a purpose and routes which will be successful a high percentage of the time.

Navigation - Navigation is fairly straightforward as the disc golf part of the park is small and open and tees are marked with hole numbers. Only 1 basket is not visible off of the tee (hole 6) and the rest are fairly obvious so first-timers should not have much problem getting around.
Cons: The course design here works very nicely but there is currently neither the space nor terrain required to make for a championship level course. If a larger area were available for disc golf, including heavy woods, elevation, and some punishing underbrush, a redesign might make sense. Until then, this course is great for what it is - a place to practice disc golf basics.
Other Thoughts: I'd mention that this course was very swampy when we played for the first time earlier this year, so it may be best to play during periods of dry and sunny weather. On our most recent visit in September 2010, the place was bone dry, which made for very skippy discs but much more comfortable feet.

Park Fees: I've made the edit, but the park recently started charging $5 per car for entry rather than $3 which was posted in the current edition of the PDGA directory.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 How do you pronounce Champoeg?

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You have to love one of Oregon's oldest courses, originally built in 1980 and today it still stands as a great disc golf course for people of all ages, abilities and skill level.

I have to disagree with previous reviewers that said this course could get stagnant after a while. One of the first things that stood out to me about this course was the beautiful oak trees and the multiple amount of routes you can take to get to the basket. I found myself having a tough time deciding what to throw off the tee box because I would step back from the tee and every time I would see a new route and want to try it. All of these different paths would keep this course fresh over the long haul of playing here a lot and it looks as if it's stood the test of time.

There is a great variety of holes including different variations of length and obstacles along the way. Navigation is fairly easy and course flow is pretty well done also. Having disc golf courses in state parks make so much sense because there are other things to do as well so if you have a significant other you can sneak in some golf and still go and do some things your partner wants to do.
Cons: It's not a huge challenge of a course and there are no holes to bomb a drive out on. Some reviewers have said it should be 18 holes and I disagree with this; I would like to see it shortened to 12 holes and make some of the holes a lot longer and challenging which would make this course even better than it is now. new tee pads are desperately needed as the rubber fly mats are breaking apart, concrete might be the way to go as I'm guessing this course is not going anywhere soon.
Other Thoughts: I played it during a wind and rain storm and the park had pond like puddles all around so you may want to avoid this place during the winter months. I bet when this place first opened it was one of the best courses in Oregon and 30 years later it still stands up as being a better than average course that uses a lot of it's potential, the $3 charge to play isn't a big deal at all.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Champoeg in the Fall

1    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 55  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak trees everywhere that add a natural challenge. Really hard to lose a disc, that makes it good for beginners. Located in a great park, many other activities going on there.
Cons: Only 15 holes. With all that room that is there they could have figured away to make at least 18 or at least made it more of a challenging course. Next to the river would have been great.
Other Thoughts: It's also located next to Newberg so it is possible to hit three courses in one day. They sell discs at the gift shop, so if you find anyone interested they can get started right away. No one collecting park fees today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun woods course if on the way!!

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wouldnt go out of my way for this course but its fun and on the way to Portland if travelling Northbound I-5. There are some decent tech shots here and can be a real confidence booster. This would be a great beginner/Int course that doesn really pose a problem of loosing a disc (except hole 11 or 12 I think????). The entire course is in a nice state park type area with some nice trees and good shade
Cons: Gotta Pay to get into park (play). Can be lots of campers/day users in the area causing some hazards. Not many tough holes. Most Adv/Pros should par or be under on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.