St. Paul, OR
Champoeg State Park Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left   (Taken 11/2009)
Old Style Innova Baskets like this are installed on holes 1 thru 9



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    12/22/2013   3/19/2014
Review By: thegeneral13
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Good variety of long and short holes, makes for a fun round without it getting to boring. Holes are well marked and it is relatively easy to follow the course (with a few confusing turns). Beautiful area, just a fun atmosphere and campsite.
Cons: Only 15 holes when they could probably add on three more to make it a full 18. A lot of trees, but if you've ever played disc golf in Oregon you know to expect that. Can get kind of muddy when it is not the summer, and the tee pads can get slippery.
Other Thoughts: would love to see concrete tee pads, but otherwise this is a course I would recommend to anyone trying to disc golf in Oregon. A must see

 Champoeg Park St. Paul Oregon

5+    11/25/2010   1/17/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 254  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While not what I would call a destination course it is well worth playing. It is 15 minutes off of I-5. It is set in a beautiful well kept park with plenty of tall oaks and mostly grass fairways.It is all flat and easy to walk, not that that matters to most disc golfers but I know that is desirable or necessary for some folks. Most holes are easy 3s with several birdie opportunities and a few ace run holes as well. Hole 11 is always a tough 3 for me with it's length and tree negotiation. Hole 13 is not sidearm friendly with a mando on the left and ob on the right. There are 2 other courses 10 minutes away in Newberg a 9 holer and a 12 holer so 36 holes total are available without a prodigious drive. The rubber tee pads work well and the baskets are fine but probably a step down from the best available. There is on site camping with water and restrooms available. It is quiet, and pretty and a good place to relax even if your not golfing. There are good walking and cycling paths on site as well as a nice visitor center to keep the non disc golfers occupied while you get in a round or 2 or 3 or more.
Cons: It is a little disappointing that there aren't 3 more holes to make it a solid 18. I know that efforts have been made and been shut down. There are seasonal hours posted and the rangers will come and escort you out of the park within about 2 minutes of the posted time and they lock the gate behind you. this can be frustrating when you've got enough daylight to play 9 more holes.
Other Thoughts: Most Oregon state parks should follow Champoegs lead and install a disc golf course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 awesome course

2-4    9/1/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: fun longer shots and alot of holes that require different throws.
Cons: LOTS of oak trees. I have bent a few discs hitting them.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and i think everyone who plays disc golf in NW oregon should try to make it here atleast once.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Good for beginners

1    6/23/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: CheezyBanana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a beginners! Most of the pins are easy to find, and there is not a lot of brush/bushes that you can loose your disk in. Also each hole was a par 3!
Cons: Some of the pins were hard to see, and each hole is not clearly marked so make sure to check the map! We were lucky we had someone who knew where to go, but there was a lot of people just kind of wondering around because they weren't able to find and follow the path.
Other Thoughts: Relaxing, and the trees give great coverage during the summer :) and 3 of us were able to finish the whole thing in an hour and a half, and that is with one of us not really knowing what they were doing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Must play

5+    5/21/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: newberg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long, well kept
Cons: mud and hole 6
Other Thoughts: Please take your empties with you. Please.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2009   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun/ambient course, not too technical but thats ok too. I liked the layout and the rubber pads, also it was nice to have a BB-Q and play again. Will definatly be heeding the good advice about winter play though it sounds fun also. Thank you :)
Cons: more holes would be nice but not really needed

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 New Home Course

1    9/20/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Close proximity to Ewing Young and Herbert Hoover.
- VERY little chance for losing a disc as there is virutally no undergrowth. The course is spread out on level (if not bumpy) grass fields and in and out of Large stands of Oak Trees.
- Picknicking tables and restrooms make for a great family course.
- A good variety of shots (short to mid range) with good use of obstacles (oak trees). Fun while still challanging for a new to intermediate player. For advanced players it is more of a course for you to break in a new disc or practice a new shot w/o fear of losing or damaging your disc.
Cons: - DO NOT park under the trees near holes 1 & 4! They are directly under the oak trees and I watched (painfully) as several cars were pelted with a rain of acorns each time the wind blew. If you park just a little bit further down it is open and safe.
- While I personally appreciate a course that is flat (I usually bring my 2 yo son in his stroller) some players might get bored with the absence of elevation changes.
- The baskets were good. They could be improved with another set of chains to improve their catching. But they work fine.
- I list this as a potential con only. The tees were a sort of rubber mat (first I'de seen). It was a beautiful sunny day when I played I wonder how the traction will be if it gets a bit damp (it is Oregon afterall). As they are they aren't as good as concrete, but heads and tails better than gravel or natural.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring the family, girlfriend/wife, or friends you are trying to introduce to the game. Advanced players will play this course once every so often and be happy for the simple variety of a fresh course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good course...

2-4    8/14/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice hole lengths, pretty hard to lose discs, challenging, not packed at all...
Cons: It's just not the kind of place to consistently play at...but a must go to at least once...
Other Thoughts: It's a campground so you can camp...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, not too challenging

2-4    8/1/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very little chance to lose a disc.
- Hole lengths vary from ~200' to ~400.
- The course features open shots as well as some wooded ones.
- Baskets are well maintained and catch great.
- Good course flow. Fairly easy to follow without a map.
- Not a lot of foot traffic. I only saw 2-3 other groups there while I was playing.
Cons:
- Lack of signage. The first time I played it, I was a little confused on where to go, but figured it out quickly.
- No topography changes. The whole course is pretty flat. A few holes have a little bit of elevation changes, but not much.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners or someone looking for a quick (15 hole) round. More advanced players might find it a little boring seeing as a lot the holes are open and under 500 feet.

The course is pay to play ($3), but if you're looking for a relaxed game without many other people on the course, Champoeg is a good place to go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: bigcarpo
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Really fun course that provides both big trees and long tunnels to throw through. Godd for beginners and average players alike.
Cons: Need three more holes to make it an 18 hole course. Advanced players will be bored.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.