Layout Extinct

St. Paul, OR 
Champoeg State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #14 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 awesome course

2-4    9/1/2010   10/13/2010
Review By: innova disc golfer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: fun longer shots and alot of holes that require different throws.
Cons: LOTS of oak trees. I have bent a few discs hitting them.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses and i think everyone who plays disc golf in NW oregon should try to make it here atleast once.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 peaceful

1    9/12/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: JonnyQuest
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very nice park and very well maintained.
the course was very well layed out and easy to follow. course maps were available at the bulletin board.
Cons: non other than its $5 to park
Other Thoughts: wish there was more holes.. i really enjoyed playing this course. it was fairly easy but offered a few good challenges and i cant wait to play it again!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Foundation Builder

2-4    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Champoeg DGC is located in a giant State Park close enough for a quick stop off of highway I-5. While not championship caliber, the course is a solid mix of holes in a flat, grassy, moderately treed meadow of the park. Holes range from wide open to tightly wooded and have a nice variety of distances from short putter shots to extremely long par 3's.

Highly skilled gold level players are going to rack up birdies on these relatively simple shots while Ams and the lower ranks of pros will be able to strengthen foundation-level shots. Most holes are out-of-range for beginners but the lack of underbrush and ability to save par from pretty much anywhere will make for a good challenge without frustration.

Variety - A well-rounded player will be throwing both forehand and backhand shots along with perhaps a roller or two off of the tee. Hole distances have great variety from putters to long-range drivers and there aren't really any holes which pop out as "clunkers" - every hole has a purpose and routes which will be successful a high percentage of the time.

Navigation - Navigation is fairly straightforward as the disc golf part of the park is small and open and tees are marked with hole numbers. Only 1 basket is not visible off of the tee (hole 6) and the rest are fairly obvious so first-timers should not have much problem getting around.
Cons: The course design here works very nicely but there is currently neither the space nor terrain required to make for a championship level course. If a larger area were available for disc golf, including heavy woods, elevation, and some punishing underbrush, a redesign might make sense. Until then, this course is great for what it is - a place to practice disc golf basics.
Other Thoughts: I'd mention that this course was very swampy when we played for the first time earlier this year, so it may be best to play during periods of dry and sunny weather. On our most recent visit in September 2010, the place was bone dry, which made for very skippy discs but much more comfortable feet.

Park Fees: I've made the edit, but the park recently started charging $5 per car for entry rather than $3 which was posted in the current edition of the PDGA directory.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Good for beginners

1    6/23/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: CheezyBanana
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for a beginners! Most of the pins are easy to find, and there is not a lot of brush/bushes that you can loose your disk in. Also each hole was a par 3!
Cons: Some of the pins were hard to see, and each hole is not clearly marked so make sure to check the map! We were lucky we had someone who knew where to go, but there was a lot of people just kind of wondering around because they weren't able to find and follow the path.
Other Thoughts: Relaxing, and the trees give great coverage during the summer :) and 3 of us were able to finish the whole thing in an hour and a half, and that is with one of us not really knowing what they were doing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Must play

5+    5/21/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: newberg
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long, well kept
Cons: mud and hole 6
Other Thoughts: Please take your empties with you. Please.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2009   5/18/2010
Review By: McDilligaf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun/ambient course, not too technical but thats ok too. I liked the layout and the rubber pads, also it was nice to have a BB-Q and play again. Will definatly be heeding the good advice about winter play though it sounds fun also. Thank you :)
Cons: more holes would be nice but not really needed

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spring run through Champoeg

2-4    4/8/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Puddy47
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners, moderate distance, open and flat, easily navigated. Fun for an easy day when you don't wanna stress yourself, it's not a bad course.
Cons: Ground can be marshy and muddy, not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: It's alright, it wasn't anything exciting by any means but it's good for beginners and testing new discs or techniques.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/24/2010   4/9/2010
Review By: Hippy007
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is flat so that it is easy for all levels of people to go out and play here. There is plenty of parking and many BBQs that can be used to cook some dogs or buggers between rounds. The big Oak trees make this just a special place to play. They offer great shade in the summer and crazy amount of lines to the baskets. You will always find new lines that you want to try and make to try and make it closer to the basket.
Cons: The rubber tee pads can get very slick in the muddle rainy winter that the NW gets. Also the flat fields are not completely flat and when it rains there are lots of puddles/mini lakes all over.

None of the baskets are way out there and require multiple shots to make it to the baskets. It is mostly drive, approach, then putt, or just Drive then putt. That second one is much more common for most Am and above players.

Big guns might find this course way to short for them.
Other Thoughts: There are many other things that can be done at this park. You could even camp here and play for many days. There are two other parks in the area so it is very easy to get in two or three parks in a day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How do you pronounce Champoeg?

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You have to love one of Oregon's oldest courses, originally built in 1980 and today it still stands as a great disc golf course for people of all ages, abilities and skill level.

I have to disagree with previous reviewers that said this course could get stagnant after a while. One of the first things that stood out to me about this course was the beautiful oak trees and the multiple amount of routes you can take to get to the basket. I found myself having a tough time deciding what to throw off the tee box because I would step back from the tee and every time I would see a new route and want to try it. All of these different paths would keep this course fresh over the long haul of playing here a lot and it looks as if it's stood the test of time.

There is a great variety of holes including different variations of length and obstacles along the way. Navigation is fairly easy and course flow is pretty well done also. Having disc golf courses in state parks make so much sense because there are other things to do as well so if you have a significant other you can sneak in some golf and still go and do some things your partner wants to do.
Cons: It's not a huge challenge of a course and there are no holes to bomb a drive out on. Some reviewers have said it should be 18 holes and I disagree with this; I would like to see it shortened to 12 holes and make some of the holes a lot longer and challenging which would make this course even better than it is now. new tee pads are desperately needed as the rubber fly mats are breaking apart, concrete might be the way to go as I'm guessing this course is not going anywhere soon.
Other Thoughts: I played it during a wind and rain storm and the park had pond like puddles all around so you may want to avoid this place during the winter months. I bet when this place first opened it was one of the best courses in Oregon and 30 years later it still stands up as being a better than average course that uses a lot of it's potential, the $3 charge to play isn't a big deal at all.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a visit, but not regular play

2-4    9/10/2009   2/5/2010
Review By: tommygunn
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that anyone would be comfortable playing at. The holes were fairly easy to follow, and a couple holes provided some minor challenges. It would also be a great place to bring your kids too.
The scenery is also nice. I have only been here in the summer and the fall, and the Oak trees are beautiful. One last bonus would be the lack of traffic/players. I have only played here three times, but it was always quiet.
Cons: >Lack of any real distinct challenges. Advanced players will find this course to be monotonous after one round.
>Rubber tees can be a bit slick.
>An advanced player will be scoring 2's and 3's on almost every hole.
>15 holes? I'm guessing three more could be incorporated somewhere.
>Too flat, and not enough variety.
Other Thoughts: This is a course to visit if you have some time and are headed up or down Interstate 5 through the Willamette Valley. If you are looking for an epic course to play, I would not suggest making a special trip to this course. It's an average course-it does not have the character to quite break 3 stars. Again, if you are in the area and have an hour, it's certainly worth playing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.