Layout Extinct

St. Paul, OR 
Champoeg State Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: Flies to the Left Hole #5 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 New Home Course

1    9/20/2009   9/23/2009
Review By: Reis Just Reis
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Close proximity to Ewing Young and Herbert Hoover.
- VERY little chance for losing a disc as there is virutally no undergrowth. The course is spread out on level (if not bumpy) grass fields and in and out of Large stands of Oak Trees.
- Picknicking tables and restrooms make for a great family course.
- A good variety of shots (short to mid range) with good use of obstacles (oak trees). Fun while still challanging for a new to intermediate player. For advanced players it is more of a course for you to break in a new disc or practice a new shot w/o fear of losing or damaging your disc.
Cons: - DO NOT park under the trees near holes 1 & 4! They are directly under the oak trees and I watched (painfully) as several cars were pelted with a rain of acorns each time the wind blew. If you park just a little bit further down it is open and safe.
- While I personally appreciate a course that is flat (I usually bring my 2 yo son in his stroller) some players might get bored with the absence of elevation changes.
- The baskets were good. They could be improved with another set of chains to improve their catching. But they work fine.
- I list this as a potential con only. The tees were a sort of rubber mat (first I'de seen). It was a beautiful sunny day when I played I wonder how the traction will be if it gets a bit damp (it is Oregon afterall). As they are they aren't as good as concrete, but heads and tails better than gravel or natural.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to bring the family, girlfriend/wife, or friends you are trying to introduce to the game. Advanced players will play this course once every so often and be happy for the simple variety of a fresh course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good course...

2-4    8/14/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: joshsaccount777
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice hole lengths, pretty hard to lose discs, challenging, not packed at all...
Cons: It's just not the kind of place to consistently play at...but a must go to at least once...
Other Thoughts: It's a campground so you can camp...

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, not too challenging

2-4    8/1/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very little chance to lose a disc.
- Hole lengths vary from ~200' to ~400.
- The course features open shots as well as some wooded ones.
- Baskets are well maintained and catch great.
- Good course flow. Fairly easy to follow without a map.
- Not a lot of foot traffic. I only saw 2-3 other groups there while I was playing.
Cons:
- Lack of signage. The first time I played it, I was a little confused on where to go, but figured it out quickly.
- No topography changes. The whole course is pretty flat. A few holes have a little bit of elevation changes, but not much.
Other Thoughts: A great course for beginners or someone looking for a quick (15 hole) round. More advanced players might find it a little boring seeing as a lot the holes are open and under 500 feet.

The course is pay to play ($3), but if you're looking for a relaxed game without many other people on the course, Champoeg is a good place to go.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: bigcarpo
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Really fun course that provides both big trees and long tunnels to throw through. Godd for beginners and average players alike.
Cons: Need three more holes to make it an 18 hole course. Advanced players will be bored.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/26/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice quiet out of the way setting, large trees make up the bulk of the obstacles.
some diversity of shot-making, some holes force shots left or right.
Discatcher baskets catch well.
Excellent beginners park, not daunting but still providing some serious challenge for new players.
Usually not too crowded.
Cons: No elevation changes.
No real opportunity for more advanced players to air out big drives.
Very easy to score very low once you know the course.
Rubber tee pads don't work so well in the Portland area downpour.
Course gets very soggy in the winter.
Other Thoughts: Champoeg is a very nice simple course, it's kept up fairly well for a course of its general difficulty making it a great beginner course, easy to navigate and challenging while not being daunting for a first time player. Experienced players will most likely find Champoeg exciting if played once or twice a year, resistance to scoring is very low. One nice aspect that makes this course more attractive to someone in Portland is its proximity to the two Newberg courses, Hoover and Ewing Young, playing the three makes a nice 36 hole day. For someone travelling through Portland I would reccomend skipping Champoeg in favor of other courses like Pier Park or Milo Mciver, but if you're living in Portland it's worth a day trip in the summer.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of tree challenges

2-4    11/18/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2009
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I fell in love w/ the park after hole #5 of the 15. lots of great huge oak trees to navigate around. Course flows extremely well. Very clean park. Decent baskets and tee boxes that are rubber. Course maps provided. The visitor info building sells discs (9.95) mini markers (1.50) children's discs (3.95) so it allows you to get into the sport w/out any gear for cheap.

It is beautiful in fall time just walking and hucking discs through the fallen leaves. Advanced players should par the course (par 3 every hole) and novice players should par their 2nd round of playing.

Camping sites provided close to the course that appear to be well kept too. Space wise it's very comfortable w/ decent lengthy drives despite the large amount of oak trees. Few O.B. areas which is nice for beginners. Also plenty of non player areas to do activities.


Cons: In my opinion they could make it a full 18 hole course w/ the amount of space provided in the park. If a beginner player there are a lot of trees that I can see to be frustrating for them by hitting those trees.
Other Thoughts: The visitor info building has a great funny old lady that knits and a guy that likes to stamp the daily pass dates upside down… They've obviously been married forever and I knew once meeting them it was gonna be a laid back fun park/course.

On the short drive down to the course we stopped and tried to round up a run away sheep w/ a local farmer that boards the boundaries of the land and my experience was a thought of "what awaits me around the next corner" by then I have had soo much fun I was already fully committed to playing this course.

If living in Beaverton area DO NOT take the I-5 directions as it will only waste your gas/mileage and time… I recommend taking the alternate rout along hwy 99 down into Newberg and back tracking a few miles to the park off of hwy219.

If you live in the area of Newberg there is a possibility of hitting up 2 other courses ( Ewing Young and Herbert Hoover) making it a 3 course playable day. I recommend playing this course if you are advanced or a novice player. I plan on frequenting the course regardless of the 3 dollar day pass (the money helps maintain the park)

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Champoeg in the Fall

1    10/12/2008   10/12/2008
Review By: Flies to the Left
Played: 52  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Oak trees everywhere that add a natural challenge. Really hard to lose a disc, that makes it good for beginners. Located in a great park, many other activities going on there.
Cons: Only 15 holes. With all that room that is there they could have figured away to make at least 18 or at least made it more of a challenging course. Next to the river would have been great.
Other Thoughts: It's also located next to Newberg so it is possible to hit three courses in one day. They sell discs at the gift shop, so if you find anyone interested they can get started right away. No one collecting park fees today.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun little course

5/30/2008   5/30/2008
Review By: caravan2001
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park setting
Good place for a quick round
Cons: Not too challenging
Can be very wet
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course. I enjoy going when I don't have the time to play a long 18 holes. I can bang out two rounds here in a little over an hour. The course is nothing fancy, but it's a fun. It's a good course to bring the wife/gf/little kids, because it's not too hard and there is not a lot of walking. My wife can actually make it through a round without getting bored, so that's a plus in my book! Baskets could use some help, but they're alright....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Only 5 Miles from Newberg!

5/24/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's an easy little throw in a lovely state park. Champoeg (pronounced Cham-pooey) is flat, wooded and moderately challenging. It's a perfect little course to introduce someone to the game or for families. There were quite a few families with small children playing the day I played. The pads are either concrete or rubber which are fine for this course. Many of the baskets are the old single chain type which suffice here. There's a kiosk with maps. The maps help with the navigation.
Cons: I guess there's a $3 entry to get into the park. I didn't pay anyone. No holes stand out as being special or memorable. A few of the baskets are beginning to rust a little. It was quite crowded with families but it was Memorial Day weekend. It's pretty typical of many of the city/county/state park courses.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to Newberg to play those two fine courses, you're only 5 miles from Champoeg, it's worth it. It's a little farther from I-5 and may or may not be worth the drive for you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun woods course if on the way!!

5/17/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: OR_Crayfish
Played: 70  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wouldnt go out of my way for this course but its fun and on the way to Portland if travelling Northbound I-5. There are some decent tech shots here and can be a real confidence booster. This would be a great beginner/Int course that doesn really pose a problem of loosing a disc (except hole 11 or 12 I think????). The entire course is in a nice state park type area with some nice trees and good shade
Cons: Gotta Pay to get into park (play). Can be lots of campers/day users in the area causing some hazards. Not many tough holes. Most Adv/Pros should par or be under on this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center