South Holland, IL 
Riverfront Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #4 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 145ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Small and simple

5+    5/13/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Front Row
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.3 Years
Pros: The short fairways and easy drives make this course ideal for a beginner. The simplicity here will engage children and novices. A few drives will require a hyzer and one annihyzer. An elevated shot does require a skill shot. Most of the time you will have this park to yourself. The grass tees are seldom muddy.
Cons: The obvious complaint is the lack of length. But a real issue is the baskets. Some are in bad shape and seem smaller than regular baskets. Also, when the corn field is high, loosing a disc is a real problem.
Other Thoughts: After injuring my throwing arm, I played here to rehabilitate. The easy course was perfect for this. Another plus is that this course might be the place to get your significant other interested in Disc Golf.

Warm up?

1    11/6/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: KWK82
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Nice and quiet park with low activity if any.
-Easy birdies or aces for all levels to boost self esteem.
-Great course for practice but not one to go out of your way for.
Cons:
-The longest hole is 200 ft.
-The course is too open not much challenge other than one tree hole and a hole on a hill.
-Last hole is very far from where you can park your car.
Other Thoughts: When I went there were geese everywhere. The entire course and park was covered with their droppings. Needless to say I recommend wearing shoes you do not care about if going to try this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    11/29/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small park that is bordered by a small forest. Pretty much vacant except for a walking path and a small playground.
- For what little forest and trees are present, there are some tricky lines. Most notably a right turn around the forest, and a big hook of some sort around a large tree.
- A small hill provides a tricky little shot with an elevated basket.
- Great tee signs, no teepads really. Baskets are in decent to bad shape.
Cons: - This is a straight up beginner course with ridiculously short hole lengths; only one is a whopping 200'.
- Each hole has 1-2 trees to avoid at most, if at all.
- Baskets and tees are right next to each other at almost every hole. Course ends on other side of field, for a long trek back to the car. Might as well just safari the hole place there and back.
Other Thoughts: - Need an ace? Trying to set some holes played record? Or just learning the game from scratch? This is the place. Any serious or casual player had better bring putters only if playing the course as marked. A few interesting shots, without a doubt, but still very very short.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 practice course at best

1    7/31/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signs.
Course very easy to navigate.
One basket on artificially created mound to add some height; roll away risk.
Chance to ace on nearly every hole.
I threw putters all holes but a couple; so, opportunity to work on those shots.
Pro or con? Single chain (I think Mach 1) baskets. Just something a little different.
Cons: Natural tees.
Very short course with few obstacles.
Walk back to car is 500 ft.
Most holes you walk to the next tee and see a far basket and say to yourself; ah...this is the long one...until you realize that's the next hole and there is a basket shorter than the one you first saw....
Other Thoughts: I put one drive (a spike hyzer with a driver!) so close to the pin that it was touching! Leaner on #9 probably much rarer than aces at this course....
Safari possibilities; but, even these would be wide open.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Felt incomplete

2-4    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are 9 baskets in great shape, and 9 good tee signs with hole layout and distance. The course is extremely easy to follow, each hole flows right into the next one, with no questions about where to throw or where to walk.

There is one hole up on a small hill, one around a large leafy tree, and one that plays around the corner of a wooded area, these holes add a little bit more interest and require some different shots. This is a nice place to learn the game, with easy holes and a couple shots with some obstacles.
Cons: The course is extremely short, with almost all the holes under 200'. 6 of the holes are wide open and straight ahead with no obstacles, so it's not all that interesting. It plays pretty close to a playground on the first couple holes, not good for a course clearly intended for beginners who won't have the best control.

There is goose poop carpeting the entire course, it's difficult to take a step or set your discs down without ending up in bird feces. Not only was this disgusting to walk around in, it made the course smell pretty bad too on a warm sunny day.

The course plays halfway around the park, leaving you on the complete opposite side from the parking lot when you finish 9 holes. It almost felt like it was intended to be 18 holes and go all the way around the area, and just isn't finished. I ended up playing the course backward back to the parking lot rather than just walking all the way across the field.
Other Thoughts: Experienced players won't find anything interesting or challenging here, even if they make up some safari holes. Beginning players will find this an ok place to learn, but will quickly outgrow this course. I don't recommend playing here unless you really want to add a course to your count, there's just nothing exciting about this little pitch n putt surrounded by subdivisions and cornfields.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go out of your way

1    6/14/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Rexdiscus
Played: 111  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too many. There are two or three holes with a minor chance to hit tree branches. One hole is up on a hill, which is kinda cool. I went on a Sunday afternoon and my friend and I had the place to ourselves.
Cons: Not enough obstacles for such a short course. Some pitch and putt course can be fun, but this one offers very little in the way of variety or challenge. There is at least a 500 foot walk from the ninth hole back to the parking lot. I do not mind the walk, but why not add another hole about 300 feet on the way back. I know of two other ten-hole courses.
Other Thoughts: I guess this would be a good place for a beginner to play. If you are on I-94 on the way to Matt Lavesko DGC in Hammond, you may want to get off at Bernice Rd. exit to come and see this place for yourself. I definitely would not encourage anyone to drive more than a few minutes out of the way.
I feel they could have made a few of the holes longer just to make sure every hole is not an easy deuce. I guess I should appreciate the fact that they are trying to grow the game. I wish they would have built a new course somewhere in Crete Township. They have a ton of primo land that blows away anything South Holland has.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.