Coldwater, MS 
Lost Indian Spring DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arkabutla Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Bordered by Pratt Road to the north and Toe Ditch Road to the east, both OB.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/19/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Peaceful, serene, relaxing, enjoyable. Though not far from Memphis and its MS suburbs, this course is out in the middle of nowhere for those that like to get away from the city and enjoy disc golf out in pure nature. This course is set on its own section of nice park land in the shadow of a large earth dam holding back Lake Arkabutla. I played two rounds here (morning and then late afternoon) and practically had the course to myself both times (unlike nearby Latimer which was crowded all day that same day.)

Lost Indian Springs is a well-designed course that is immaculately maintained. It has 18 holes with concrete tees, baskets, and tee signs in great condition. There is plenty of parking by hole 1 and extra parking by hole 4. There are benches are many holes, restrooms are centrally located near holes 7-9, but easy to walk to from the parking lot. The kiosk has info that is kept up-to-date, a course map, and scorecards that also have a color map. Navigation is logical and easy even without a map and the course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9 and 18.

A couple of extra special features: 1) the tee signs were colorful and very informative, giving additional info on either how to play the how or an interesting historical fact about the course and the land- like having a tour guide; and 2) the ace sign-up system with cards on the number plate of the basket for people to sign, and periodically the info is collected and a running list is posted at the kiosk- keeps people from signing the basket while giving people a chance to be even more publically recognized.

The course itself has 18 fun holes with a good mixture of very tightly wooded to mostly open and everything in between. Most holes are flat, but there is a large hill that is in play on 16-17. Each hole is distinctly different from the others and you will be required to throw a decent variety of shot shapes off the tee. There are a few small water hazards on the course- a ditch on 4, a pond on 5, a large creek on 6, a small creek on 18, and several seasonal marshy areas mainly 7-9. The course as a whole is not super long but each hole has at least one thing to make it challenging- a water hazard, several trees, a single tree, parking lot, road, ditch, a big hill, and mandos. The course is mowed regularly and there is no undergrowth, so finding discs is super easy on and off the fairways.
Cons: Overall it lacks elevation, except for the big hill on 16 and 17, and the design and flow of these two holes seemed a bit odd as a desperate attempt to include some elevation. 16 plays up the hill and back down, then you walk back up the hill to tee off on 17 that plays down the hill. I could see locals teeing off on 16, then 17, finishing 16, then finishing 17 to avoid walking up that hill twice. A suggested alternate basket location for 16 could be a dogleg right up the hill tucked up by the trees and then you have a short walk to 17. (a long explanation for a tiny con!)

There are some marshy areas- probably really messy during certain parts of the year, but they should just be considered an area that would give an undesirable lie.
Other Thoughts: Easy to get here, follow brown signs to the lake and follow the blue Scenic Hwy 304 signs to the park. The lake is huge and very scenic, and is worth the time to take a drive on the road on top of the dam. The park has tons of picnic tables, a boat ramp, areas for fishing from shore for the lake or the river beneath the dam- and the spillway area is also pretty cool to check out. And if all that is not enough, the park also has hiking trails (but I did not have time or energy to do those as well!)

I love MS disc golf. The courses always seem to be well-designed and well-kept, and they usually exceed expectations rather than not living up to the hype like so many other states. This was my favorite of the 3 NW MS courses. In fact I played Central Park at 8am, played here at 10, drove back in town and played Latimer around 1, had some time to play one course a 2nd time and I chose to make the extra drive back here because it was so relaxing and enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My first time here

1    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: kfellmy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. I am an advanced beginner and I wouldn't hesitate to take a newbie here. Hard to lose a disc here. Holes well marked as were tees. I never got lost on this course. Fun course to play. Latimer Lakes is my home course and it is way tougher than this one. Benches everywhere.
Cons: Not enough challenge on the front 9, back 9 is great. Not really any cons other than the creek on one hole is nasty...yes I was in it.
Other Thoughts: Nice course that anyone can play. I'm not very good and I played the course in 9 over.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Already plenty of reviews but the one thing I have not heard mentioned was what few courses have to offer. This course makes you feel like it is taking you somewhere. Whether you are walking over a hill to see down to the basket or crossing a street in the woods. I was constantly wondering what it would throw at me next and it kept it so interesting and fun.

Hole 1 was a great way to start by shooting through a hallway of trees. The dam and the park feel makes it very picturesque. This course has some length. The elevation helps some but won't make it easy. Come ready to play because this course will challenge you.
Cons: The creek on the back side was nasty. Don't throw your disc in there. It cost me a few strokes as I was trying to avoid it and my layup on hole 6 went short and into the thick underbrush. That is about the only con I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Probably my second favorite course in north Mississippi right after Latimer lakes. This place is well taken care of and there is plenty of room to add more baskets. I wish water had come into play a bit more and maybe they could make better use of the park to add a few more holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/8/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really maximized the land they had to work with. Loved the layout of the holes. The course was played on very flat ground, so they really had to use the trees and water to keep each hole interesting and they did a good job. The area is so peaceful and it is obvious that the corps is working really hard to fix any existing issues with the course. The signage was wonderful and it was very easy to move from hole to hole without any searching.
Cons: Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos.....these things must have been exposed to gamma radiation because they are man eaters. Biggest freakin mosquitos I have ever seen. There is a creek that runs along the backside of the course that resembles a cesspool more than a creek. Literally, there was a pool of animal (or human?) blood in there and two discs were lost to it. I am not one that is afraid to jump in and look for discs, but there was no way I was going to be the next victim in that sludge pit. The area had gotten TONS f rain prior to our trip, and there was standing water in many places. I give the corps credit for working hard to eliminate the issue, but there is still work to be done.
Other Thoughts: Besides the drainage and mosquito issues, this was a great course. It is not the most challenging course you will play, but it was very fun and I recommend it to anyone playing the other memphis area courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Thtcat
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of the trees, not nearly as open as it appears from the parking lot. Great support for the course from the Army Corps of Engineers, and they seem to have deep pockets. A nice variety of holes. Thouch not finished yet, there is current construction on a nicely arched stone bridge that will likely make #18 a signature hole visually.
Cons: The standing water after a rain, Though the Corps is sanding low spots and made a raised walkway across the worst hole. The lack of a bathroom. There is a chemical bathroom on the course, but I've yet to see it unlocked. This course is not near any significant population, but worth a little trip out of the way.
Other Thoughts: The course is well thought out, and the park seems to be responding quickly to suggestions and criticism. It's well worth playing this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quiet Time

1    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: brettmartin
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing at this course. It's a very nice course that was established just this year. You can tell that this course has not been used that often and for the most part, it seems very well kept.

It's a nice challenge with each hole being a par 3. Most of the holes are right on being a par 3 while others seem like they could be a par 4. The thing I loved about this course is how quiet it seemed to be. I don't know if it's just because the course is new, but there was no one out there when we played and so far this is only the third review of the course.

There is a bathroom between hole 8 and 9 which can definitely come in handy. I loved how they situated hole 9 right near where you start, that way if you want to only play nine holes, you don't have to walk back far to leave.

Lastly, it's relatively simple trying to find the next hole. Some courses I have to draw out a map but this is not one of those. You can easily find the next hole with no problem.

Another great thing is that most holes have a bench right next to them.
Cons: Not too many....Like I said, some of the holes could have used a par 4. It's relatively flat and a lot of the holes are a straight shot so they could have used a little more hills or challenge with turns.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course that you should try at least once. We played during the summer so make sure to be hydrated if you play then.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.