Coldwater, MS
Lost Indian Spring DGC Share
Uploaded By: Arkabutla Hole #16 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 621ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: The basket is over the hill, beyond the Martin House.



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
A pleasant nap of a course

1    11/15/2013   12/15/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 80  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely mowed grass.
Well maintained in general too.
Rec player friendly.
Pleasant place in the Fall.
A few good holes.
Cons:
Too many straight, open, flat shots.
Few challenging pin placements.
Swampy even in November.
Too easy for pros.
Mostly drop in pars for typical players!!!
Other Thoughts: If you can play this course when the mosquitos, snakes, heat and swampiness aren't bad, it is a very pleasant place to be. But no one should drive far without that in mind.

Is it just me? I can't get excited about a course that plays straight, flat, open and by the book. Over half the holes lack any imagination or challenge. "Throw an open drive, pitch an easy approach and drop in your par" . While beginners will find plenty of challenge and pros may need to bang some longer birdie putts, there just isn't that much here for typical players.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/19/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Peaceful, serene, relaxing, enjoyable. Though not far from Memphis and its MS suburbs, this course is out in the middle of nowhere for those that like to get away from the city and enjoy disc golf out in pure nature. This course is set on its own section of nice park land in the shadow of a large earth dam holding back Lake Arkabutla. I played two rounds here (morning and then late afternoon) and practically had the course to myself both times (unlike nearby Latimer which was crowded all day that same day.)

Lost Indian Springs is a well-designed course that is immaculately maintained. It has 18 holes with concrete tees, baskets, and tee signs in great condition. There is plenty of parking by hole 1 and extra parking by hole 4. There are benches are many holes, restrooms are centrally located near holes 7-9, but easy to walk to from the parking lot. The kiosk has info that is kept up-to-date, a course map, and scorecards that also have a color map. Navigation is logical and easy even without a map and the course loops back to the parking lot after hole 9 and 18.

A couple of extra special features: 1) the tee signs were colorful and very informative, giving additional info on either how to play the how or an interesting historical fact about the course and the land- like having a tour guide; and 2) the ace sign-up system with cards on the number plate of the basket for people to sign, and periodically the info is collected and a running list is posted at the kiosk- keeps people from signing the basket while giving people a chance to be even more publically recognized.

The course itself has 18 fun holes with a good mixture of very tightly wooded to mostly open and everything in between. Most holes are flat, but there is a large hill that is in play on 16-17. Each hole is distinctly different from the others and you will be required to throw a decent variety of shot shapes off the tee. There are a few small water hazards on the course- a ditch on 4, a pond on 5, a large creek on 6, a small creek on 18, and several seasonal marshy areas mainly 7-9. The course as a whole is not super long but each hole has at least one thing to make it challenging- a water hazard, several trees, a single tree, parking lot, road, ditch, a big hill, and mandos. The course is mowed regularly and there is no undergrowth, so finding discs is super easy on and off the fairways.
Cons: Overall it lacks elevation, except for the big hill on 16 and 17, and the design and flow of these two holes seemed a bit odd as a desperate attempt to include some elevation. 16 plays up the hill and back down, then you walk back up the hill to tee off on 17 that plays down the hill. I could see locals teeing off on 16, then 17, finishing 16, then finishing 17 to avoid walking up that hill twice. A suggested alternate basket location for 16 could be a dogleg right up the hill tucked up by the trees and then you have a short walk to 17. (a long explanation for a tiny con!)

There are some marshy areas- probably really messy during certain parts of the year, but they should just be considered an area that would give an undesirable lie.
Other Thoughts: Easy to get here, follow brown signs to the lake and follow the blue Scenic Hwy 304 signs to the park. The lake is huge and very scenic, and is worth the time to take a drive on the road on top of the dam. The park has tons of picnic tables, a boat ramp, areas for fishing from shore for the lake or the river beneath the dam- and the spillway area is also pretty cool to check out. And if all that is not enough, the park also has hiking trails (but I did not have time or energy to do those as well!)

I love MS disc golf. The courses always seem to be well-designed and well-kept, and they usually exceed expectations rather than not living up to the hype like so many other states. This was my favorite of the 3 NW MS courses. In fact I played Central Park at 8am, played here at 10, drove back in town and played Latimer around 1, had some time to play one course a 2nd time and I chose to make the extra drive back here because it was so relaxing and enjoyable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/17/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: vongripper
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely well kept.Went on 06-16-11 and fairway grass was about 5 inches high.Went back the next day and it was cut to about 1.5 inches.I am an advanced beginner(1.8 years playing) and this was a very fair course in that it was challenging with great use of trees and it was not so long that it catered to just the players with the big guns.At 55y.o.it was easy to make my way around the course(walking that is-the throwing of the disc is another matter.haha).I travelled from Augusta,GA to play here and am glad I did.Wish I could go back tomorrow.
Cons: Too far from my house.I wish the few people who threw a little trash on the course would pick up after themselves.The rangers do an awesome job of maintaining the course and we should pick up after ourselves.We saw about 12 pieces of trash(bottles,bags mostly)so it definitely was not alot ,but it is so pretty that there should not have been any trash.
Other Thoughts: The course appears to be lightly used, but it is well worth the effort to get out there and play it !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  I really enjoy this course!!

2-4    4/9/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: silverT1000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of landscape, Good variety of hyzers and anhyzers. Great mix of long, short and tweeners,wooded and open holes
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend playing this course. I just played twice today with a great group and we had a blast.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My first time here

1    10/5/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: kfellmy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate. I am an advanced beginner and I wouldn't hesitate to take a newbie here. Hard to lose a disc here. Holes well marked as were tees. I never got lost on this course. Fun course to play. Latimer Lakes is my home course and it is way tougher than this one. Benches everywhere.
Cons: Not enough challenge on the front 9, back 9 is great. Not really any cons other than the creek on one hole is nasty...yes I was in it.
Other Thoughts: Nice course that anyone can play. I'm not very good and I played the course in 9 over.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 54  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Already plenty of reviews but the one thing I have not heard mentioned was what few courses have to offer. This course makes you feel like it is taking you somewhere. Whether you are walking over a hill to see down to the basket or crossing a street in the woods. I was constantly wondering what it would throw at me next and it kept it so interesting and fun.

Hole 1 was a great way to start by shooting through a hallway of trees. The dam and the park feel makes it very picturesque. This course has some length. The elevation helps some but won't make it easy. Come ready to play because this course will challenge you.
Cons: The creek on the back side was nasty. Don't throw your disc in there. It cost me a few strokes as I was trying to avoid it and my layup on hole 6 went short and into the thick underbrush. That is about the only con I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Probably my second favorite course in north Mississippi right after Latimer lakes. This place is well taken care of and there is plenty of room to add more baskets. I wish water had come into play a bit more and maybe they could make better use of the park to add a few more holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 peaceful

2-4    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: matt.and.marly
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its just a beautiful course well laied out with has top rate baskets. There is even a place to mark all the aces of the year on them. Both times i have been to lost indian springs there has been few players so it stands to be a real calming walk. The players i have ran across where real friendly and most would speak of their love of the cource and game. You really cant go wrong with this place for a sunday game or just to camp out on the near by came site. "You could walk form your tent to hole 12 with out breaking a sweat!" Easy to navigate too. You can find scorecards with course maps on the back of them available on the side of sign with the big map of the cource on it near 1st tee. They really thought this cource through there is a stage in the middle of it looks to be a great hq for a tourment someday i hope i can be there and you too. I can say this as well being a dad of a todler who love watching disk fly I was able to push him in my jogging stroler with ease. Only hole 12 and 13 had ditches that i had to pull him backwards on. i would say this cource is 90% hadicap friendly with bridges over most all deaches you can keep that in mind for any of my stroler, or chair pushing friends dont let anything stop you from playing the game you love.
Cons: well there or only a few cons for the ill perpared or squemish

-The only water on the cource comes form a hole drilled in the cap of a pipe that sticks out of the ground near tee off 1, Or you can get some from the swamp other then that your s.o.l. (please dont drink the water bring you own and beer is agenst the law there too :( )
-You almost dont want to look for a lost disk something might jump out and bite you! Or its too thick and thorny.
-The rest rooms are really nice out houses there open but the closest store is 5 miles back the way you came.
-the up keep need a little work from what i seen but i know there doing their best with what they have "they only mow the basic path of the fairway they bush hog the rest" its makes it hard to spot the disk in the tall grass
-hole 13 and 14 are in the under brush of a pine forest its the natral area of the park makes looking for the disk in the ivy fun. You better work on your lazer strait shot.
Other Thoughts: I think it would be one heck of a Place to camp and disk golf all weekend. There are also so meny things to do around the area that its worth the day trip. Just pack some snacks and water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'd play it again...

1    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The signage is nice. Like others, i really think that they did the most they could with the land they have. Great course with a lot of trees that test the arm and imagination of a player. Some holes require you to pick a great line for a decent putt or good second shot.
Cons: The tee pads are the shortest i've ever seen.
the holes are wet and the mosquitos are monsters.
most of the course runs right by the road so many cars pass.
Other Thoughts: It's worth playing but i wouldn't drive far to play it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Don't see the appeal

1    10/8/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A few imaginative holes that really stand out
-Scorecards with course maps available at the 1st tee that help with navigation
Cons: -Lots of drainage issues. There is sand spread in some of the fairways to reduce standing water, but even the sand was wet.
-Water hazard straight out of Swamp Thing, snakes abide here
- Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos. I had to stop by the hospital and get an extra pint of blood to replace what these little buggers took from me.
Other Thoughts: The holes on the front nine all seemed very similar to me, with the exception of the swamp hole. The holes in the woods are excellent and offer different ways to attack the pin, but you must put your disc exactly where you want it on each one. A decent rugged course but the front nine could use more variety and a little more course cleanup would go a long way.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/8/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course really maximized the land they had to work with. Loved the layout of the holes. The course was played on very flat ground, so they really had to use the trees and water to keep each hole interesting and they did a good job. The area is so peaceful and it is obvious that the corps is working really hard to fix any existing issues with the course. The signage was wonderful and it was very easy to move from hole to hole without any searching.
Cons: Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos.....these things must have been exposed to gamma radiation because they are man eaters. Biggest freakin mosquitos I have ever seen. There is a creek that runs along the backside of the course that resembles a cesspool more than a creek. Literally, there was a pool of animal (or human?) blood in there and two discs were lost to it. I am not one that is afraid to jump in and look for discs, but there was no way I was going to be the next victim in that sludge pit. The area had gotten TONS f rain prior to our trip, and there was standing water in many places. I give the corps credit for working hard to eliminate the issue, but there is still work to be done.
Other Thoughts: Besides the drainage and mosquito issues, this was a great course. It is not the most challenging course you will play, but it was very fun and I recommend it to anyone playing the other memphis area courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.