Lee's Summit, MO 
Legacy Park Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Fun little gem in Lee's Summit!

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 21  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass is always mowed, and trash is generally well taken care of.

Benches, concrete tees, and clear, unmarked signs at every hole with bag hangers.

Good range of shots; the first 11 holes are generally fairly open, then 12-18 take you through the woods.

Natural obstacles are used very well. For a beginner, it is challenging but I've never felt overwhelmed or frustrated from playing here. There is a small creek that comes into play on a couple of holes on the back 9 that adds a nice touch.

Everything in good condition, including baskets, tees, grass, etc...also (obviously), the course is in a very nice neighborhood, so no worries there.

Course is fairly long and is laid out very nicely. An excellent way to unwind and relax after a long day at work and enjoy the park.

While part of the course butts up against Colbern Road, the road noise isn't excessive by any means.

As I've played more courses, I'm really coming to appreciate how the fairways don't cross each other and are spaced very nicely. Even though the back 9 is a bit closer, it still doesn't feel encumbered at all. The room is nice and makes this course flow exceptionally well.

UPDATE (2/9): Course has been nicely maintained over winter. I believe 5 is now the only hole that doesn't have multiple pin positions. 9 now has a sharp left dogleg into the trees, 10 and 11 have alternate shorter positions, and 14 now plays over a small creekbed. All excellent changes that really keep the course fresh and are well thought out! Great job Lee's Summit.
Cons: This course can get very crowded -- I know this isn't a fault of the course at all, but I've rarely played here where there haven't been several other groups playing as well. Be prepared to wait a lot or get played through.

There is a large maintenance complex right next to holes 1, 2, and 5 with a very high fence, and if you're not careful, an errant drive can easily end up in there. You're technically not allowed to climb the fence to retrieve your disc, so they give you a number to call.

Wear long socks! There's a fair amount of burrs out here and they can get tangled on you if you're not careful.

I'm getting nit-picky here, but there are two large shelters near holes 10-12, and on occasion I've seen partygoers wander into the fairways when there's events. They're usually pretty good about moving, but just be careful so you don't bean some kid in the head with your driver.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the KC metro, this course is on the far southeast edge of town. It's a very suburban, quiet setting, and the most noise you'll ever hear is a kids soccer game at the nearby fields. That's a pro for me, but I chalk that up to personal preference, so your mileage may vary.

I absolutely love this course! I'm so glad it's close by and play as often as I can. There are tons of amenities here and the holes can be challenging, but not overwhelming, for beginners.

The 9th hole dumps you right by the parking lot, so if you're running short on time or need to grab something out of your car, it's super easy.

The pin positions for 2, 3, 4, and 6 were moved about a month ago to the longer positions, and it makes some of these holes pretty challenging, especially 3 and 4. Beginners beware of the hedges, trees, and hilly terrain on those holes. The hedges of trees like to eat discs -- haven't lost one yet (knock on wood!).

While the scenery isn't near, say, Water Works Park, it's still pretty and makes best use of what the designer had to work with. I enjoy the rolling hills and trees. Definitely recommend if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Place to Throw

1    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Creature comforts!

High-quality benches at every hole. Informative signs with alternate pin positions, accurate disances, and pars. Bag hangers. Bridges over the streams. Next tee visible from every pin but one, IIRC. Double-loop configuration (pick up / drop off @ your car after the front nine).

Good variation in shots required. Lots of long bomb opportunities until you hit #11, lots of technical finesse required from #12 through #16. Moderate up- and downhills, nothing that would require steps to be cut. No crossing faiways or fairways crossing paths / roads.

All in all, a very comfortable place to play - leave your worries at home, go out and throw a round or two, relax and have a good time. That's what this course is all about.
Cons: Given the gently rolling terrain, the designers did a good job here. The only thing that's missing is the drama factor that comes with radical elevation changes, wide water obstacles, and other environmental risk / reward elements. This is a great place for a fun round and high enough quality to merit a stop of you're passing through town, but in no way could it be termed a destination course. That (probably) wasn't the intention so for what it is - a fun place to play - Legacy solildly meets expctations.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course for rec players, and I have a feeling that its character changes dramatically when the trees are in leaf. Looking forward to playing it again, and again, and again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2013
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: + some chances to air it out over big distances
+ decent variety of shots
+ part of a larger parent Park Dept. park
+ back 9 has good design, but the terrain is brutal
+ shots over shrubs and bushes
Cons: - Front 11 is too open
- a very rough course in terms of OB, rocks and lack of grass in some places
-some holes are just extremely boring
-bit too open on front 9
Other Thoughts: looks to me like they took the worst piece of land in the whole Legacy park, that they couldn't do anything else with and dropped a disc golf course in it. Plays like Wilbur Young if Wilbur Young with less trees.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

two courses in one

2-4    7/20/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tees and great baskets. 10/10

Course maintenance is great, all four times I've been there it was mostly mowed down in the fairways with some taller grass way in the rough, which is about upper shin on the back nine and ankle high on the front. I've seen pictures where there is knee high grass everywhere, but they seem to have picked it up. There are benches on most holes and trashcans along the course. Bathrooms and water available after the front nine and after 15. Tee signs present on every hole with a map and hole information. 10/10

The obstacles are used very well at this course, and some are pretty unique. There are some hedges used on the third and fourth holes with small openings to throw through. The eighth hole has a pretty large tree with the hole tucked immediately behind it. 10/10

Great variety of openness on shots. In general, the front nine is fairly open while the back is more wooded, but the front still has some holes and shots with more obstacles (approach on 2 and 8, drive on 5, hedge shots on 3 and 4) and the back nine has some more open shots (10 and 11, approach on 15, drive on 16 and 18). Great mix 10/10

There's a nice variety of distances on holes. It seems like they always have one of the nines in the long spots and one in the short spots because in the two times I've played, once mostly every hole on the front nine was in the back position and the back nine was mostly in the front position, and the other time was the opposite. That's why I called the review "two courses in one", because it's like a different course depending on which nine is in the long spot. No matter which way it is, there is lots of variety in distance with some birdieable holes and some that are tough to par. 8/10

Navigation between holes is pretty easy and intuitive. There's one spot after the fifth hole where two tees are visible, but if you just follow the mowing path you'll be fine. 8/10

Water fountains and restrooms present, no benches on the tees, but there's a shelter with benches where the water is that's good for a rest that three holes come back to (9, 11, and 15). Comfort during round: 7/10

There's not a ton of elevation present, but it's used pretty well and there's a nice variety of slopes throughout the course. Most of the hills are rolling so there isn't much severe elevation except for 10, 12 and 14, but the variety helps give every hole a different feel. 7/10

Navigation on the holes themselves is pretty good. There are tee signs on every hole with a map giving distance to both hole positions. A few holes (4, 5, 6, 7, and 8) can't be seen from the tee, so it makes it a little tricky because you can't tell which spot it's in from the tee. 7/10

The course does a good job of forcing the player to make decisions on the front nine. The first three holes all of multiple throwing lanes to go through, and the hedge shots are good for this too. 6/10

Discs aren't too hard to find, hedge shots and other blind shots can be a little tough because you can't actually see the discs land, but as long as it's mowed like it's not too bad. 6/10
Cons: No hole has more than one alternate hole position, most do have one at least. On the front nine, the different hole positions don't really change the feel of the holes at all, it just makes them one shot longer and increases the par by one. 3/10

This course is probably too difficult for beginners, but too easy for advanced players. It's great for recreational and intermediate players but overall doesn't do a good job challenging all levels. Multiple tees on at least some holes could really help with this. 3/10

The course doesn't have very many holes which require a certain shape on some shots. The hedge shots do a great job with this, and so do some of the more wooded holes 5/10

I'm not a fan of the blind shots just because you can't always see where your disc is going or see it if you make the incredible hole out.
Other Thoughts: Overall difficulty: 7/10

I like the mix of par 3's and par 4's, sort of reminded me of Wyandotte County Park. I still wish more courses would do this.

I really like the use of hedges with a few openings to throw through, I'd never seen anything like that before.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced.

5+    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: MUTigers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love that the course is well balanced in regards to blind shots, long holes, short wooded holes. The variety gives you a great chance to practice all of the elements that make up disc golf. They make it pretty simple to decide what you want to focus on as the majority of the front 9 plays open and long and the majority of the back 9 is wooded and short.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH. If the parks department didn't treat this like a ball course it would be a lot better. There is no need for narrow fairways lined with knee high grass. They only mow the rough 3-4 times a year. After its mowed it's a completely different course and is a 5/5, the short rough allows you to play different, riskier shots without fear of losing your disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: tmattoon
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Yellow baskets and good maps at each tee make finding the pin easy. Front nine has a ton of fun wide open holes for power throwers and the back nine gets more wooded but still not too technical. Benches ate every tee. Mowed very well most of the time.
Cons: Can get windy and really effect you and the wide open shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for all experience levels

5+    5/10/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: kcmike
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent navigation
- Clean, accurate signs
- Concrete tees
- Great variety of shots and distances from the tee
- Well-kept park with clean restrooms
Cons: - May not be challenging enough for advanced players, as holes tend to be short-to-medium range, with one or two exceptions (and varying by pin placement).
Other Thoughts: Legacy Park is one of my favorite courses. I consider myself an intermediate player, and can consistently shoot in the 60-ish range. Most holes are forgiving if you have a poor initial drive. Lots of wide open shots. Only a couple "blind" shots where you can't see the basket from the tee. A few are over 400 feet, a few are closer to 200. Most are somewhere in between those numbers. There is some tall grass in spots, and a few fenced-in buildings owned by Lees Summit Parks & Rec where you could easily throw your disc away, but even a mediocre drive will keep you safe there. Wind tends to be a factor here, as most of the course, especially the front 9, is wide open. The word seems to be out about this course, so plan on meeting many friendly faces when you go.

This is one of my go-to courses when I have some time off and am looking to have a good time flinging discs. I think you'll love it as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Legacy

1    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: First 11 holes are very wide open followed by 8 holes that are shorter but more technical. Good mixture of holes. Good use of elevation change. Easy to navigate with good signs that describe the hole and easy to find the next hole. Good mixture of very long to very short holes.
Cons: A few blind Tee's so always check fairway. Grass is thick.
Other Thoughts: There was no "wow" factor and while the course was nice to play it was not the most attractive course in the area. Pro's would tear this course apart but for AM's this course is challenging and fun.

 Not Bad

2-4    2/27/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets and tee -pads. Clean and easy to navigate. Good mix of shots. Some very challenging holes.
Cons: Deep rough in the summer. Thorn Trees. On the back section there is a lot of rocky ground that can damage your discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course but has no wow factor.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Two Faced

5+    3/2/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, on the front nine you have distance and some shot shaping holes. When set up long the front nine can wear you down in a good way. A couple par 4 (3 long, 4 long, 8 long) is always nice to have in a park. On the back nine you can start with distance on 10 but then nice short park and putt holes with great fairways. Parks and rec does a great job with trashcans benches and overall clean park. You can choose to play 9 at a time both loops end up in parking lot.
Cons: On the front nine a couple of holes a little bland. Not all tee signs are completely accurate in distance. Watch out on front 9 as tall grass + blind shots = looking for discs
Other Thoughts: Watch out for thorny trees lots in this area. In the summer keep an eye on your disc long grass will eat them up. I like mowed fairways looks cool and saves money. As takers of parks and rec we should never complain about mowing as we pay no greens fees. But at legacy it is almost always windy so i choose blue springs or p-hill. Cool side note i play a final 9 safari so if you want challenge start on 10. 10-12 par 4, 13-14 par 4, 15alt to 15 par 3 or 4, 16-17 par 3, 18 to practice basket par 4, 1-2 par 4, 2-3 par 4 or 5, 4-7 par 3 or 4, 8-9 par 5, Typically get a par 36 on 9 holes based on pin positions

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.