Disc Golf Store
Lee's Summit, MO 
Legacy Park Share
Uploaded By: jace Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun little gem in Lee's Summit!

5+    9/18/2013   9/18/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grass is always mowed, and trash is generally well taken care of.

Benches, concrete tees, and clear, unmarked signs at every hole with bag hangers.

Good range of shots; the first 11 holes are generally fairly open, then 12-18 take you through the woods.

Natural obstacles are used very well. For a beginner, it is challenging but I've never felt overwhelmed or frustrated from playing here. There is a small creek that comes into play on a couple of holes on the back 9 that adds a nice touch.

Everything in good condition, including baskets, tees, grass, etc...also (obviously), the course is in a very nice neighborhood, so no worries there.

Course is fairly long and is laid out very nicely. An excellent way to unwind and relax after a long day at work and enjoy the park.

While part of the course butts up against Colbern Road, the road noise isn't excessive by any means.

As I've played more courses, I'm really coming to appreciate how the fairways don't cross each other and are spaced very nicely. Even though the back 9 is a bit closer, it still doesn't feel encumbered at all. The room is nice and makes this course flow exceptionally well.

UPDATE (2/9): Course has been nicely maintained over winter. I believe 5 is now the only hole that doesn't have multiple pin positions. 9 now has a sharp left dogleg into the trees, 10 and 11 have alternate shorter positions, and 14 now plays over a small creekbed. All excellent changes that really keep the course fresh and are well thought out! Great job Lee's Summit.
Cons: This course can get very crowded -- I know this isn't a fault of the course at all, but I've rarely played here where there haven't been several other groups playing as well. Be prepared to wait a lot or get played through.

There is a large maintenance complex right next to holes 1, 2, and 5 with a very high fence, and if you're not careful, an errant drive can easily end up in there. You're technically not allowed to climb the fence to retrieve your disc, so they give you a number to call.

Wear long socks! There's a fair amount of burrs out here and they can get tangled on you if you're not careful.

I'm getting nit-picky here, but there are two large shelters near holes 10-12, and on occasion I've seen partygoers wander into the fairways when there's events. They're usually pretty good about moving, but just be careful so you don't bean some kid in the head with your driver.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the KC metro, this course is on the far southeast edge of town. It's a very suburban, quiet setting, and the most noise you'll ever hear is a kids soccer game at the nearby fields. That's a pro for me, but I chalk that up to personal preference, so your mileage may vary.

I absolutely love this course! I'm so glad it's close by and play as often as I can. There are tons of amenities here and the holes can be challenging, but not overwhelming, for beginners.

The 9th hole dumps you right by the parking lot, so if you're running short on time or need to grab something out of your car, it's super easy.

The pin positions for 2, 3, 4, and 6 were moved about a month ago to the longer positions, and it makes some of these holes pretty challenging, especially 3 and 4. Beginners beware of the hedges, trees, and hilly terrain on those holes. The hedges of trees like to eat discs -- haven't lost one yet (knock on wood!).

While the scenery isn't near, say, Water Works Park, it's still pretty and makes best use of what the designer had to work with. I enjoy the rolling hills and trees. Definitely recommend if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Well balanced.

5+    7/12/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: MUTigers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love that the course is well balanced in regards to blind shots, long holes, short wooded holes. The variety gives you a great chance to practice all of the elements that make up disc golf. They make it pretty simple to decide what you want to focus on as the majority of the front 9 plays open and long and the majority of the back 9 is wooded and short.
Cons: The rough is ROUGH. If the parks department didn't treat this like a ball course it would be a lot better. There is no need for narrow fairways lined with knee high grass. They only mow the rough 3-4 times a year. After its mowed it's a completely different course and is a 5/5, the short rough allows you to play different, riskier shots without fear of losing your disc.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course for all experience levels

5+    5/10/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: kcmike
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent navigation
- Clean, accurate signs
- Concrete tees
- Great variety of shots and distances from the tee
- Well-kept park with clean restrooms
Cons: - May not be challenging enough for advanced players, as holes tend to be short-to-medium range, with one or two exceptions (and varying by pin placement).
Other Thoughts: Legacy Park is one of my favorite courses. I consider myself an intermediate player, and can consistently shoot in the 60-ish range. Most holes are forgiving if you have a poor initial drive. Lots of wide open shots. Only a couple "blind" shots where you can't see the basket from the tee. A few are over 400 feet, a few are closer to 200. Most are somewhere in between those numbers. There is some tall grass in spots, and a few fenced-in buildings owned by Lees Summit Parks & Rec where you could easily throw your disc away, but even a mediocre drive will keep you safe there. Wind tends to be a factor here, as most of the course, especially the front 9, is wide open. The word seems to be out about this course, so plan on meeting many friendly faces when you go.

This is one of my go-to courses when I have some time off and am looking to have a good time flinging discs. I think you'll love it as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Legacy

1    3/24/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: Shimmie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: First 11 holes are very wide open followed by 8 holes that are shorter but more technical. Good mixture of holes. Good use of elevation change. Easy to navigate with good signs that describe the hole and easy to find the next hole. Good mixture of very long to very short holes.
Cons: A few blind Tee's so always check fairway. Grass is thick.
Other Thoughts: There was no "wow" factor and while the course was nice to play it was not the most attractive course in the area. Pro's would tear this course apart but for AM's this course is challenging and fun.

 Long course on "B" hole locations

1    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: WillCW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great tee boxes, easy to navigate course. Bag hangers at every tee box.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: Played on Columbus Day with my father and my son. Holes were set-up with "B" locations which made each hole extra long. Not being a big driver really hurt, but that isn't the course's fault.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

2-4    11/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Who knew lee's summit could have something good to offer. Course built in 09, so everything is brand new.
-very clean park
-Tee boxes made of concrete.
-Multiple pin selections
-Best signs i've ever seen at a course. Has bag hooks.
-Trash cans everywhere and benches on every hole.
-wasnt crowded when i've been there. Only seen 4 other people playing

This course has a great layout. It follows around the parks maint. building with most holes a par 3 and 4 pin. A few holes where an all out drive possible. Lots of young trees to throw around or over. some elevation changes between holes and a couple of blind baskets. A must play park.
Cons: Its a bit of a drive if you dont live near lee's summit but well worth it. Can be a bit windy at times. Tee pads are a little thin.
Other Thoughts: Play this hidden gem if you are passing through. You wont want to miss it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Perfect

1    6/27/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything and won't let you down! It surrounds a park maintenance building so it is bound to stay well kept - I hope!

- The hole variety is outstanding with 4 left / 8 straight / 3 Right & 1 S-curve. They are mixed fairly well from hole to hole as well.
- The foliage differences on the course are outstanding as well. You are offered very challenging approach shots on many of the holes along with a couple breathers that have you shooting at duece. The basket placement within the trees IMO is one of the best I have ever seen.
- Elevation changes are relatively modest with a couple that drop 25-50'. Many of the holes have you throwing across a gentle valley or swale and offer a real challenge for your approach.
- The fairways were mowed and kept very similar to a ball golf course - a real plus since several holes had a decent amount of "rough" to potenially lose a disc.
- Has concrete tee pads.
- Tee signage is the best I have seen. The foliage is accurately depicted with both basket locations identified and distances shown.
- Tee signs had 2 bag hangers held about 3' off the ground.
- There was a bench at every hole and a trash can at every other hole.
- Never found a piece of trash on the entire course, and after I noticed how clean everything was, I REALLY started looking. This park is just very well maintained.
- Course navigation is easy - no map required at all. Just show up and PLAY!

My favorite aspect of the course was its true challenges due to tree locations and basket placement. If you like working your shots around the obstacles, then this course is perfect for you. If want an open fairway course, then play somewhere else because there are only a handful and they are mixed in between great technical wooded holes. Not too many holes to realy air it out, but a course designed around driving 250-300 feet with legitimate Duece opportunites for the experienced player. There are even a couple of great Ace opportunities! It's just a must play for anyone in the Kansas City area and those driving through.
Cons: - I didn't care for the openess of holes 11 & 12. Just thought they could have been designed a little differently.
- tee pads are a tad short IMO
Other Thoughts: Has a playground area nearby along with a restroom facility, both of which are brand new.

I couldn't believe I was getting the opportunity to find another gem in the Kansas City area! A little off the beaten path being 30 miles SE of the city, but well worth the drive. This one ranks right there with Water Works for those of you who have played it. The trees are not quite as mature, but it won't matter - Promise!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.