Corbin, KY 
Miller Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great workout

2-4    7/11/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: Phule77
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - For the shortness of the course, it makes maximum use of mixed elevation and obstacles within the course. Hole 5 is only 270 feet, but it is an incredibly complex shot.
- Very fun placement. Many of these shots are not particularly easy, and will require very technical shots. Especially as a recreational player, I was definitely challenged by this course.
Cons: I'm glad that nobody else was there, I second the other comments. There are numerous shots that, had somebody been sitting at a picnic table, would have been much more difficult. Some of the holes might have been better with a "must pass on this side" as a result.
Other Thoughts: Sweet little course, and not too far down from London.But especially the climb for holes 2 and 3 is a really solid workout, this is not a level faceroll of a course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Some Disc Golf Y'all? Hell Yeah!

1    11/3/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 84  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 39.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. And I think others of my skill level (AM) will too.

The course is spread out through a beautiful, hilly, multi use park, with mature trees for obstacles.

The park was nice and clean, and well mowed with grass fairways.

The course has holes that go up hills, down hills, over hills, and over valleys. If your disc doesn't land flat on some of the holes, it can make for some interesting rollbacks. But that is the price you pay for playing a course like this!

Plenty of picnic tables, grills, bathrooms, and a nice pavilion.

Nice concrete tee pads, decent tee signs, and good baskets.

The course flows pretty good, and navigation was fairly easy for a 1st time through. Check out the really nice course map sign before heading out.

A nice mix of short to medium length holes.

Very close to I-75. Jumping off to get a round in here is highly advisable, and the hills burn more calories! Gas around the corner was $3.03g. That's the best that I saw it on a recent Florida to Michigan trip.
Cons: My only real concern is for the proximity of some of the picnic areas that border some of the fairways. Especially hole 9. I played on a crisp November morning, and had the whole course to myself, but could foresee trouble during peak park usage.

No long holes here. Perhaps there may be room for a set of long tees, or you could make up your own, but unless you only like long holes, don't let that stop you from playing this course!

A couple of the holes have houses on their perimeters, but it wasn't an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, this course is darn near perfect for me. A short to medium length, well maintained, mature tree, hilly, neighborhood style course. I hasten to call it a rec course, because it is much more than that. I also got to play it when the tree colors were at their fall peak, and it was very satisfying.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a good surprise!

2-4    9/30/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: Chris A
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Great use of land.
*Fun 9 holes.
*Clean course.
*Easy to navigate.
*Great practice for short game.
*Beginner friendly.
*Nice baskets and teepads.
Cons: *only 9 holes
*Very short
*some baskets/teepads are close.
Other Thoughts: Lot's of fun to play.. Easy to get a full 18 done in about a hour. Not a course I would travel to play, unless a tournament was being held, but I would call it a must play if you are heading down 75 and have a hour to spare. I'm glad I stopped!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Pit Stop

1    11/4/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Secluded park location
~Clean and well maintained
~Concrete tees
~Good baskets
~Easy navigation for a quick round or three
Cons:
~Course would be bothersome if crowded
~Some potentially crossing of holes
~Holes play dangerously close to one another in spots
~Primarily mid range & putter distances
Other Thoughts:
Not too far from the highway I stopped by for an easy going round while heading south. Most of the leaves were off the trees so it played a little more open than it would be in the summer. Nifty little 9 hole course that seems geared to the recreational thrower. Navigation was simple and it would be easy to get 2-3 rounds done in about an hour. Lightly wooded with some great elevation changes. Layout takes advantage of the space allotted to it. Had a real fun time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Serves it Purpose

2-4    9/25/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 80  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The biggest pro for this course is it's proximity to the interstate. This course is literally right next to I-75 (although it's a little trickier to get there) and it breaks up a long drive perfectly.

-This course utilizes elevation better than most courses I've played. They have well used a small patch of land and created a wide variety of shots.

-Great course for beginners and offers plenty of challenges for more experienced players.

-Simple, yet informative, signs. One quick glance at the map makes this course easy to navigate, so you don't waste time searching for the next hole.

-Great, long tee pads

-New DISCatchers with double chains.
Cons: -Some holes are in close proximity to neighbor's yards, not to mention picnic tables/shelters. However, there was not a soul on this course the hour we spent there on a sunny weekend afternoon, so it may not be a highly trafficked area.

-Holes are definitely on the cramped side. A tournament could NOT be played here due to how close some holes are.

-This course was a little off the beaten path to get to (5 mile drive off I-75)... you drive through what look to be sketchier parts of town. People were in the street yelling things at us...

-Most holes on the shorter side. Course does not offer a real distance challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course is meant to be a short, incredibly fun course for travelers to play off the interstate and it serves this purpose beautifully. I would be just fine if this were my home course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    9/10/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: strunkster
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and topography. Easy to find your way around course. Great signage. Challenging and fun.
Cons: The day I was there someone was having a factory picnic. On a normal day this would be lots of fun!
Other Thoughts: Great for a break in the day.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pit Stop

1    6/19/2011   6/21/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, I really enjoyed playing this course. For a 9 hole course packed into a small area it was a lot of fun. My family and I stopped to play to break up a long drive and we all enjoyed the course, both on the way north and on the way back south. The practice basket was clearly visible from the parking area and from there you could easily see the first tee. It was easy to find each subesquent tee as they all have signs and nice large tee pads.The terrain was significant and gave even the short holes some extra character and challenge.
Cons: The last 4 holes were in conflict with picnic tables.Some of them brought the flight of the disc pretty much directly over the tables. There were also 3 holes where you could throw into the back yards of the houses that border the park. Hole 4 was kind of crammed in between holes 3 and 5, but that was kind of minor for a course like this.
Other Thoughts: I am still cringing some about the holes that play near the picnic areas. Even though the course is really fun to play, this design is setting up some real conflict, People will probably get hit in and around the picnic areas and the neighbors will probably get tired of disc golfers retrieving discs from their yards. It seems like perhaps the course should have been shorter and a true beginner 9 holer would have fit the park better.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 nice little course

1    3/28/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Innova Discatchchers. (From here on east; you'll probably find nothing but yellow chastity belts...)
Perfect concrete...long...broomed tees.
We had played four very wooded courses in a row; and was nice to toss a huge hyzer in the open on #1. (Overall there is a nice mix up of shots needed).
Good signs with correct footage.
Though the course is short overall; and most holes average @250 ft.; a number of these are uphill (thus, playing more like 280+).
Design uses trees and elevation available to make the holes a fun experience.
Miller Park is kind of strange, in that you play near a number of private yards. However, our four person crew did not find ourselves on any private land the entire round; and, our conclusion is that the design was done very well to maximize the usage of the land; without really bringing these residences into play.
Course right off the highway for a nice stretch of the legs when traveling.
2 port-o-johns on course.
Cons: Length of course pretty short.
Sliding board and tire climbing apparatus definitely in play on one hole.
Course next to highway (also listed as a pro).
Other Thoughts: From Miller; we were headed east into hill country. This course marked the beginning of this style of terrain. A fairly strong 2 rating; but nothing all that special. Nice stretch of the legs.
Corbin is the home of Col. Sanders first chicken restaurant; and thus, also the home of the KFC museum. (Keep and eye out for midnightbiker and the guy from the van down by the river, making a road trip! Midnight loves his KFC).
Cumberland Falls (State Resort Park) is also home of North America's only moonbow beam; and the falls are described as the little Niagara. Rainbow seen during the day. 68 foot drop in the falls....

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Single Variable

1    4/4/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Brand new high quality baskets, concrete tees, and tee signs. Practice basket.
Cons:
Holes 3-5 play near exercise stations/play area. Overthrow downhill #6 and find a fenced lawn with "no trespassing" and "beware dog" signs. #8 has you throwing over picnic tables to blind basket in boggy land, and #9 basket is near car parking for close pavilion access.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, across and down the back hillside of a small park. Most holes are of similar length (~250'), fairly straight, and have a few large trees to avoid - the elevation changes (up, down, flat, across, up-n-over) are the primary factor that changes between holes. Was certainly fun to play, but if other park patrons are using the exercise/play/pavilion areas, play could come to a near standstill - or lots of arm-waving and shouts of "fore!"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent design in a small park

1    7/7/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a brand new (HB Clark designed) 9-hole course in city park just off of I-75 in scenic southeastern Kentucky. The baskets are brand new Innova DISCatchers (so new, the top S-hooks of the chains still had plastic around every one, I guess the installers did not want to take the time to remove them!). There is also a practice basket. Each hole has an informative tee sign and concrete tee pad.

This is a very well-designed course, despite the small area of land in the park. The course takes advantage of about every inch of available space. The baskets are strategically placed to give each hole a unique challenge. There is some elevation that is tastefully used. Most holes have a few trees to navigate around. The overall length is on the short side, but each hole requires a great tee shot to have a chance at a birdie, if not, you might struggle for your par.

Other amenities include a very nice kiosk with excellent full color map of the course, ample parking, many picnic tables, port-a-potties (the baseball field restrooms are locked most of the time), and a few trash cans.
Cons: The course is in a tiny park so many of the holes/baskets are close to each other and close to everything else, just use caution and be sure there is nobody in the way before teeing off. Also, in the same area of the course is a picnic pavilion, other random picnic tables, a playground area, and an exercise trail. If people were using these things many holes would be too hazardous to play. As I mentioned in the Pros, the small course area is not due to poor design, just limited space. (I played on a weekday morning and only disc golfers were using the park.)

This park is either brand new or has had a recent makeover because there are remains of recent construction that detract from the beauty of the course, but this should only be temporary. Also I-75 runs right along side the park so you hear interstate traffic the whole time, which is a con for those that like a more secluded nature feel.

The tee signs are very nice but were placed on the front corner of the tee pads, this is just a pet peeve of mine as I like them behind the pad so they are not in view when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: The water shown on the map is nothing more than a tiny drainage ditch, so no chances to lose a disc. #4's basket is blind and in the direction of the playground, you actually see #1's basket more clearly from the pad. #8 is a blind tee shot over a hill with picnic tables in the fairway just out of eye sight, a potentially dangerous set-up, so scout it out before teeing off.

Overall, this is a great course for your average recreational player, it will challenge but not frustrate. For the experienced player it is a not a course you will want to seek out, but a decent option if you are in the area or passing through.

This is the closest course to Cumberland Falls State Park, which contains a large waterfall, famous for producing a moonbow. Also, the town of Corbin, KY is the location of the original KFC.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.