Confluence, PA 
Red Neck DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #3 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
You might be a redneck if..

1    3/14/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 63  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on private property, Red Neck DGC doesn't greet you with really any amenities (or people for that matter), but the quality design of this 9 hole course and it's ease of navigation make it worth a stop to play. Red Neck is easy to find, located right off of 281 and on the western side of the small town of Confluence. Three easy to spot signs greet you and direct you to the course, one from the main road, one when you first turn into the little neighborhood, and one on the "clubhouse" (white trailer at the end of the street).

The course has standard white tee signs - though they only list the hole number, huge tee pads, and Mach 5 baskets that are in great shape.

I appreciated the design of this course and feel that the property is greatly utilized to make a challenging but fair course. Tee pads are strategically placed where you will have to creatively dodge a tree on your drive (holes 1, 2, 3, and 5) and pins are well placed near trees so that your upshot is about as challenging as it can be with the land given (1-5, 7, and 9). There is a good mix of open (6-8), semi-open (1-4), and tightly wooded (5 and 9) holes. I like how the stream is incorporated on holes 6 and 8 as a possible punishment.

The course is very easy to navigate as the first tee is near the entrance and with short walks from every pin to the next tee. It is a quick 9-hole round (took three of us 45 min) if you are just passing through.
Cons: -There isn't an obvious parking spot, but I parked where there was a driveway in the picture on this site. It now just looks like part of the front yard for the trailer, but it looked like the best spot to park. It did feel a little odd though parking in someone's front yard.
-The gravel tees are uneven and the gravel is not tightly packed, probably because this course doesn't get a lot of foot traffic.
-No rest rooms on the course and not a lot around at all from what I can see. Coming from rt. 40 to 281, I didn't see any restaurants, gas stations, or stores the last 15 miles to Confluence. There may be something nearby that I missed, but come prepared with a full tank and your own food if you're driving a good distance to get here.
-$5 to play for an hour seems a little steep, but if this course is completely private, it's worth helping the owner out a little.
- While there is a good balance between open and tight holes and good use of the trees on the property, there are some similarities between the holes. The lines off the tee are mostly straight or slight hyzers, the holes are all fairly short (only hole 7 is over 300 feet), and the course is flat as can be.
-No public courses remotely close to this one, but there are a few private courses within 45 min away.
Other Thoughts: Red Neck DGC definitely has a privately owned feel, not equipped with any extra amenities (except a bench between holes 4 and 5) and it most likely will be a round all to yourself. I feel though that it is a great place to bring a beginner player due to the mix of open and tight holes and it's relatively short and quick play. There aren't any real chances of losing a disc here and the course seems well taken care of. If you're in the area, come support this private course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 If you like throwing plastic at metal baskets, you might be at Red Neck!

1    7/16/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is pretty easy to find if you follow the directions. Similarly, the design of the course is rather intuitive and it would be pretty hard to get lost here. Nice kiosk with information and rental discs provided, but I'd take your own in case anyone isn't around.

A great activity for those visiting in the Youghiogheny area of the Laurel Highlands!

The tee on number one must have at one point been the foundation for a trailer; whatever it was, it has left a HUGE and amazing concrete tee. Seriously: you could park a Hummer on this thing. It's probably the best tee I've ever seen aside from the ones at Deer Lake. Signage and baskets are pristine throughout.

Despite being a short pitch-and-putt course (see below), it's not your typical kind. Hole #5 in particular is a great technical challenge as you have to thread a row of pines to get to the basket. This is definitely a redeeming quality and adds some fun to the experience. Other holes, on the other hand, are quite open and short.
Cons: At a mean length of 226 feet, it's definitely a pitch-and-putt course -- well suited for people new to the game, or those looking to play a putter-only game (and maybe a midrange). Aside from that, there are few challenges. While some tree obstacles are present, most holes are straight shots, which even for just nine holes, can get repetitive and dull after awhile.

Likewise, I wasn't happy with the tees. I've been on plenty of gravel tees, but this was the really large and coarse gravel -- the kind that tends to screw with your run-ups.

Fairways criss-cross on several holes, and the proximity of tees to baskets is pretty close. This isn't surprising, given the relatively small area in which the course is located. It is kind of weird playing here, as you feel like you're playing in someone's yard -- which isn't too far from the truth!
Other Thoughts: Yes, it's a short pitch-and-putt course with only 9 holes. Yes lacks much variety or challenge, and yes it's sort of isolated, but I think this is a great complement to the EXCELLENT mountain biking, rafting, camping, and other recreation provided in the area. The real beneficiaries of this course are families visiting the area or those looking to get into the sport. The Jenkins', Doss's, and Climos have plenty of spectacular courses to choose from Pittsburgh and West Virginia!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/20/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Please read my "Other Thoughts" before passing judgement on this course based on the 1.5/Passable rating I gave it.***

Peaceful setting in a small town in beautiful Western, PA... and I mean really small town! Very easy to find and only 20 minutes off of I68 in Western, MD. Many other activities in the area like kayaking, fishing, camping, hiking, resorts, etc.

Brand new Mach 5 chains with hole markers on top. Signs mark each of the big tees (although only tee #1 is concrete and #2-9 are gravel and the signs are still incomplete). Porta-John on site (better than no facilities by far). Good map and scorecard available at the entrance to the course.

This is considered an "Executive Course" so it is really easy to play a very quick round or two... or three, etc. It is very easy to navigate. The length and shape of the holes set up very well for beginners. Plus it would serve as good pitch and putt practice for experienced players. There's very little chance of losing discs here.
Cons: As you can probably tell from the pics that I uploaded, the course is brand new. So after a bunch of rain over the last couple weeks it was very muddy. The grass, literally, hasn't even had the opportunity to come in yet on a lot of the course.

***UPDATE: I played the course again on 8-30-09. It's amazing how well the grass has come in! There are still a few low-spots that hold some water but the course is already (2 months since my first review) in a lot better shape. Thus, I moved my rating up 1/2 a point. I'm really looking forward to what this course will look like next year.***

The length and line of most of the holes may prove "too short" for experienced players looking for a big challenge. This is a limitation of the site. Longest holes are 310', 280' & 250'. The rest are 225' and under.

The site that the course is on is also very flat so there was no way for the designers to be able to include any significant elevation changes on the holes.

It's also $5 to play.
Other Thoughts: Please take this course for what it is. It's an executive course that was put in on the site of a private bed and breakfast to give the people another activity to do while staying there. You know... after a long day of hiking and kayaking, you just want to kick it back a notch before bed... you can play a little DG. I think that this is an awesome idea. So Red Neck isn't intended to be a "disc golf destination" in and of itself. For its' purpose, I believe that this will prove to be a great little course.

I'm excited to go back in the Fall and next year to see how the course matures. I'm sure that once the grass and some of the undergrowth on the edges of the course come back in that it should be beautiful. With the course being in better shape (and not brand new) my rating could possibly move up to a 3/Good rating.

My favorite holes are probably #4 & #9. At 280', #4 is the 2nd to longest hole on the course. It's currently open on the right (foliage will probably get thicker) and tree lined on the left with the pin tucked in close to the woods. Throwing RHBH I used a big hyzer line out over the field to get it in close. And #9 is short, at only 221'. But the pin is tucked into the woods after a mostly open fairway. It's very well protected from the right and front sides. So I had to use a big, high, RHBH Anhyzer to get in close to the pin. These were both a lot of fun for me.

And to me, the $5 is no biggie. But I know that a lot of people have the option of many free courses in their areas. Around here, the options are very limited so $5 is well worth it, even for a short little 9 holes.

So basically, if you're traveling through Western, Md on I68 or National Highway 40 (the course is only 10 minutes from 40), stop by and check it out. It will be a nice little diversion that won't take too long.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center