Archdale, NC 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #11 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 384ft.   5 / 474ft.   5 / 474ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Challenging But Fun

5+    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
Pros: Creekside Park is a heavily wooded course. It makes great use of the elevation present in the park. There are benchs and trash cans scattered along the course. There are great tee signs at each hole, and each tee pad giving distance and map of the hole. A problem in the past has been resolved with next tee signs when you can't see the next tee. The tee pads are concrete and great, with the exception of the few that use the walking path. This course makes you use a variety of shots, makes you think of shot placement, as well it puts some emphasis on mid-range and approach shots. It offers baskets on slopes to make you think about your putt. I love the 6 hole mini course, it is actually a good way to warm up before doing the 18 hole course. The park is beautiful and has many other activities.
Cons: -Flooding can be an issue on parts of the course. Holes 10, 11 and 12 come to mind. Hole 14 could be an issue as well. The fairway doesn't flood but if the water is up on the creek directly behind the basket it would make errant putts impossible to retrieve.
-Some of the pars seem a little suspect.
-Several holes need to have some pruning done. Which could help bring the pars in line.
-A few holes need to have a couple of trees removed. The one in front of the tee pad on 10 and the fairway of 16 come to mind. 16 can be a bit like pinball with no defined path to the basket from the blue tee. 10 would be fine if the tee were just moved to the left.
-Some of the red tees belong with the beginner loop, but aren't that close to it.
-A few holes have the walking path in play, but it has never been an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: I must admit the first several years I played this course I hated it. But some improvements have been made with the course. Next tee signs have been installed and some of the rough has been cleaned up. With that said there is still plenty of rough that still needs a little work. I feel several of the fairways could use a little pruning to open up some room for a flight path. That could bring par down on a few holes and give you a legitimate shot to go for a bird on a few par threes. As it stands I am fine with those holes, just place your shot, take your par...there are still many birdie chances on the course. This course is challenging, but fair, except 10 and 16 blue. And for someone like me that loves wooded course where you have to shape your shot, place some shots and focus on your mid-range and approach...it is fun. If a few of the issues I mentioned are fixed in the future I could easily up my rating to 4 disc. You can do a nine hole loop, 1, 2, 3, 4, 15,16, 17, 5b, 6b or substitute 18 for 5b. But you miss some of the best holes.
Favorite Hole: #11 from the blue tee. 474' par 5. You have a tunnel shot off the tee, with a canopy above. The fairway opens up and then around 300' you have two openings down hill to a basket on flat ground with a creek 25' behind the basket. If your drive and approach are good shots you usually have a long putt for an eagle attempt.

The Walk Alone...

1    11/15/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 199  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leaving the disc golf aside, Creekside is a really nice park. Mostly light forest, it's traversed by a walking trail that made me wish I had my running shoes. Aesthetically, it's an incredible place to spend an afternoon. Throw in some nice cement tees and some shiny new baskets and you've got the makings of a solid course. It's so pleasant an atmosphere that the occasional long walk between holes, which is usually a con, is actually a plus here.

I also appreciated that the ever-present walking path is kept out of the way of the majority of the holes. It is typically encountered between holes. That is, you cross if while walking from basket to tee.

The bridge that crosses the river(you cross it twice) is essentially the signature part of the course and some of the better holes either start or finish there. 14 is a downhill hole that finishes near the creek while 5 and 15 ascend away from the water's edge.
Cons: The issue some could raise with the course, is that it is not aimed at a target ability level. It's confused about what it wants to be. There are parts that seem appropriate for red level players. There are other parts that are too tough even for blue level players. The problem here, is that parts of the course will bore advanced players. At the same time, beginners will be very frustrated at times. For the most part, the different tees change distance without affecting difficulty too much.

Part of this could be cleared up with some artful pruning of trees. As few as a dozen could make the entire course blue-appropriate from the long tees. It's strange in that the trees left behind are often odd choices. They are frequently square in the middle of fairways, punishing good shots. There is one directly in front of a tee, limiting what players can do on that hole.

In that vein, there are several holes that would be described as plinko. There's just a lot of fairways that approached with a groan. There are a bunch of really good holes here and with the natural beauty, I could see a four-star course here. It just needs some tree removal to make some of the fairways more fair. But even without that, it's a more than pleasant way to spend the day.
Other Thoughts: There is also a beginner's loop that features the first two real holes and then 4 additional short holes. It's a really fun idea but I'm not sure that all of the beginner holes are that easy: they're just short.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

All in All, I Love Creekside

5+    7/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Creekside is one of the closest courses to my farm. Probably the best features of Creekside are the huge tee pads and the excellent signage, both tee signs and directional signs. Rhoades and I might have been the first players to play across the creek and even without the signs, we found our way through. We did almost miss #10, but saw it before teeing of on 11, which we originally thought for a moment was 10. The course flows and follows well and is an enjoyable walk through the woods. Though I do tend to appreciate more open courses more, Creekside is still an nice and fun place to play, with its well defined fairways through the forest. It is also good for same day, different course play, with its proximity to N. Asheboro, Johnson Street and private Cedar Lake, right around the corner.
Cons: My first and foremost detraction from Creekside, like many Russell designs is the overly close proximity of baskets to disc disappearing water. We used to joke that it was a mental illness, but finally realized that it is a very shrewd business decision, because the more discs that Russell can make you lose, the more discs you have to buy, perhaps from his employer. 6, 10, 11 and 14 all fall into that category. 11's basket should have been moved away from the creek and planted in that big stump, which is, of course, now gone. It would have been a picturesque perfect ending to an already truly signature hole. 14's basket would be better placed on the island, making it a real signature hole, as well. And its short pad is way too short, even if the basket were moved to the island.
Secondly, I've always maintained that if you're going to have multiple tees on any holes, they should be on all holes. If that is not feasible, red and blue par rating should most often differ, especially on holes like 5 and 7. Rhoades and I have found perfect places for second pads on all of the holes without them. They would all be red, except for #8. Pads painted on sidewalks have always irked me, here and in Statesville. I understand the cost cutting aspect of it, but it's still a major design flaw. And the two gold pads...well, there's nothing I can say about them without sounding like an arse. When their paint fades, they shouldn't be repainted. !7 Blue should be moved off of the sidewalk and tucked into that grove on the rise, just to the left of the gold tee on the sidewalk..
And some of the par ratings seem rather arbitrary, like Crooked Creek at Northeast Park. Sorry to say, but there is not a hole at Creekside, from the red, blue or gold that merits a par rating of 5.
Other Thoughts: If the Triad were to ever institute a tourney like the Triangle's Great 8 or Charlotte's Iron Man, Creekside would definitely be one of the courses to include.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Visitors View

2-4    8/26/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Tripper
Played: 73  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots needed.
Park and course are immaculate.
Excellent signage.
Benches & trash cans on many holes.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Woods clear of debris.
Short course for beginners.
Cons: Some tees difficult to find.
Course crosses walking path several times.
Some blind holes a spotter is helpful.
Strong sewage smell on several holes.
Hole 10 "fairway" is muddy.
Short course is too short and tight for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I play a lot of courses in NC and this is one of the best maintained I have seen. There was not a bit of trash anywhere.
The course has a good flow with a good mix of shots. The water indicated on the signs seems to be intermittent as a couple of the smaller creeks were dry. One of the few wooded course that still has mostly grass fairways. Not a very long course, probably should be all par 3 but still challenging and fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Tough yet enjoyable

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: cafenc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Large teepads
Well marked course
Difficult
Has been continually becoming a better course
Has beginner course
Cons: Difficult and can be frustrating but I see it as a challenge
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for quite a while, even before it was finished. I enjoy the course and commend the hard work that has been put into it to make the course better. It has been widened in some areas and plays better than in its earlier years. I suggest that anyone who didn't like the course the first go round give it another try because it has become better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: keltik
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent signage
- Challenging
- Multiple tees
- a few split fairways
- Secluded feeling
- nice scenerey
- Beginner/Pitch&Putt loop
- benches on many holes
- close to where I work (just my luck)
Cons: - Some of the holes still don't have a "fairway"
- some of the short tees are silly short (< 150')
- park has a lot of non DG traffic
- course is intersected many times by a paved walking trail
- course can be hard to navigate even with the really great signs
- not quite enough trash cans
- hole 18 (I just don't like it's just a big semi circle to the left)
- hole 10 doesn't really have a fairway.
Other Thoughts: This is a really pleasant surprise for the tiny town of Archdale! It's only 5 mins. from where I work so I can play the little pitch and putt loop on my lunch hour if I get the itch. I have played the whole 18 on lunch but it takes the whole hour. Playing the longs on a Saturday takes about 2 hours. This course is long and wooded and will test your skills (even some of the shorter holes). You also can't just play 9 holes unless you want to hike out.

On the weekends the park is crowded with families and other people using the other amenities available. It can however make DG frustrating when you have two people holding a long conversation in the middle of your fairway not realizing what you are doing. But I'm a patient guy. But for the most part the DG course is it's own entity.

Some of the holes haven't been tuned yet (like number 10 and even number 1.) but they are putting an effort into the course. while playing today I ran into the park manager over the DG course and he is a player and is actively working on the course. He even hinted that they may add another 9 full holes to the course (pending budgets etc.) The chamber of commerce of Archdale even sponsors the annual tournament here. This is the best course in the Triad that I've played and from the looks of other reviews I may be on to something. I hope they keep this course up. It could even rank up there with some of the Charlotte courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: _MTL_
Played: 105  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 21.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Multiple tees
- Great tee signs
- A beginner loop of 6 holes (I've never seen this anywhere else. Phenomal idea).
- Great baskets
- Easy to navigate
- Some very beautiful holes on a creek
Cons: - A few bad holes that need some tweaking
- The course really never lets up - can be a bit frustrating
- The park has amazing land that isn't used
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty good woods course and is a good challenge. If you like wooded courses, stay away! But if you like a good challenge and course that never lets up, this is a good course.

Courses this wooded almost always have bad holes, but there really were only 1 or 2 that I would consider unfair, which for the density of the woods, really says something.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Major and Minor

1    4/1/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A 6-hole loop suitable for beginners, and an 18-hole loop for those ready for the next levels.
Cons:
Walking paths comes near/into play on a few holes.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays on the thickly-wooded slopes, through the openings created by utilities right-of-ways, and often near a creek at the back of a multi-purpose park. Most throwing paths are fair, although a couple could be confused with walking paths. A few holes (6, 11, kinda 10) provide you with a choice of fairway. Over/misthrows could find water (small creek) on about 1/3rd of the holes. Elevation-wise, flat/subtle is most prevalent, although a couple holes have short, steep drops.

Holes 1-2 are shared by both the 6-hole loop, and the 18-hole loop. As part of the beginner-loop, these holes are the most challenging, as they are fairly tight. The remaining beginner-holes are more open, although only number-6 is wide open. Unlike many beginner courses, which are typically wide-open, all of these holes but the last introduce that control and line-shaping is a necessary part of the game.

There are two tee location on about 1/2 the holes, found more frequently on the back nine. The tees are concrete and plenty long-n-wide. Tee-18 is "misaligned", as the basket is way to the left. There are teesigns at every teepad, even those that have two.

The long tee dramatically increases the difficulty of the hole, adding not just length, but also forcing you to hit a challenging window before you even reach the short tee location, which will typically have its own tough window to hit in order to reach the basket.

The course was a cinch to navigate - my first time here, hardly had to refer to the map. When the next tee isn't obvious, there will be extra signs offering directions.

Good course, providing you with several choices of how to challenge yourself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Triad

1    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: kvillegreek
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a tremendous course which offers a great layout, helpful signage and is in pefect condition. I have played there several times and it has never been crowded. Plenty of holes for lefty's which are rare. I also enjoy the fact that each hole feels isolated from all the rest.
Cons: Huge difference in red and blue. Some the reds seemed a little short while the blues were a bit long.
Other Thoughts: By far the best course I've played in the triad area!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Creekside

1    1/6/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great markings on each pad at each hole. A beautiful creek winds through property and is a water hazard on a few holes. Good combination of hyzers and anhyzers. Easy to navigate and go hole to hole. Hole 18 is not a dog leg. It is a very wide path to the basket that is long and virtually a semi circle. No way to shortcut unless you can do 40 foot high accurate shots.

In a beautiful park with lots of recreation facilities inside and out.
Cons: It had not rained any significant amount in several days. Some of the holes were still a little muddy going hole to hole and a few fairways.

Let me say if you want natural outdoors you will on occasion find similar places.
Other Thoughts: Saw none of the extra holes indicated on this site. Did not really look for them. If you go into the creek in summer I would guess a "Cotton Mouth" might enjoy your company. On one latter short hole you shoot and cannot see the basket as it is down a slope. If you throw 150' you will be in the creek.

Met a local you played round with me. Great guy and he really spoke well for the local club.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.