Archdale, NC 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft.   3 / 222ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Gold Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Creekside Park

2-4    1/10/2016   1/11/2016
Review By: dndelli
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After my first play through of Johnson Creek I made my way to Creekside Park, hoping to find a course near my school in Greensboro that really excited me. I found that here. When I play a course for the first time I try to pick a few holes to list as my favorites. You know you have found a quality course when you realize you are listing pretty much every hole.

You are given an extreme amount of freedom when choosing your level of freedom here. There is a beginner loop of 6 holes that seem fairly straightforward. There are also 2-3 different tee options at hand for the rest of the course.

This course never felt too repetitive to me with an amazing variety of shots, angles, and elevation. Not to mention the decent mixture of technical and open shots. There's also a nice rotation of scenery as you make your way around the course and the vegetation changes. All of this coupled with the nice, big creek adding a fun water element to 7 holes makes the Course one you will remember.

The course starts off and ends in a fairly well trafficked area of the park, but when you reach the meat of the course you are given a reprieve from the rest of the park guests as you enter a nice secluded stretch along the side of the creek.
Cons: There really aren't many things to go here. There could be more benches at the tees to give golfers a chance to take a break. (There are a few, but one or two more around the midway point would be a benefit to this course.) Trash cans in this stretch would also be a great boon as well. Although the place was quite clean.

There are a few elevated manhole covers on a couple fairways, which reeked. Obviously not much can be done about this, but it is worth noting. These and the few times you brush up against nearby neighborhoods manage to detract from the secluded feeling a bit.

I would also love to see more signage, at least in the parking lot, it took me a while to find the start of the course.
Other Thoughts: I, for one, am extremely jealous of people who get to call this their Home Course. One of the best courses, if not the best, within a 20 mile radius.

Favorite Holes: 7, 10, 11, 13

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Tight Lines

1    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 56  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is what a wooded course should be. Well established lines with cleared brush, tight technical lines from both Right to left and left to right. Tons of really fun elevation changes. The creek that ran through the course was really used nicely. I would say that this course really forces golfers to think through their shots. Sometimes lines that at first look great can be very punishing. This is especially true from the blues, where some of the holes turn into delicate point-to-point golf rather than simply crushing off of the tee. 14 was a great example, where a good drive could lead to easy birdie, but could also easily see the disc slide past the basket into the creek.

3 was my favorite throw, a really nice par three which plays sharply downhill to a basket guarded by a few trees and a sneaky creek just behind it.

Great signage on most holes and overall well laid, expansive concrete teepads which were in most cases beyond ample. Kiosk on the first hole gave some nice intro rules and clearly stated that roads and walkways were OB.

This is a very well kept course in a great parks area, especially considering the town size. Tons of the amenities at the park that I didn't get to explore, but it at least looked like picnic areas and restroom facilities. There was a lot of active maintenance going on so it seems that upkeep here is going to continue to be nice.

There is also a beginners loop of holes 1-2 and 4 other short holes. I didn't get the opportunity to play the beginners loop, but it looked like a good place to start youngsters to get them interested in the sport.
Cons: It did seem like the motif of short uphill tucked right to left holes kept repeating itself on the back nine which was a bit frustrating for me.

The sewers that have caps on holes 9 (5 feet from basket) and 11 reeked of feces and really took away from the enjoyment of those two otherwise nice holes.

A few of the holes pass a bit uncomfortably close to the walking paths, but everyone was doing a good job of being heads-up.

A few of the tees, #3 on the white tees, tournament tee on 4, and both blue and tournament tees on 17 were on the walking path. I don't think that interference was necessary, but I can see how it was a cost and space saving measure.

There were a few holes from the blues that the lines were a bit extreme, and it seemed that par was increased on them to allow for a bit of poke-and-pray through the trees.

Hole 18 almost is shaped like an O. I wonder if something better could be done with that space.
Other Thoughts: This course is very well made, and only a few drawbacks as above.

It would from a DGCR website perspective be nice to see the beginners loop and the regular course separated into 2 separate courses so you could get a round rating, but that is certainly not the course's fault.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great variety, great course.

1    3/29/2015   4/19/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 79  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout using the varied terrain available and the namesake creek. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, a little bit of everything here.
Baskets were all in good shape. Multiple tees on every hole, concrete and most were very good sized. Even had a couple of Gold tees.
You will have to use quite a few shots to play well here. Left, right and straight holes. A few even had multiple paths to the basket, some off the tees and at least one (#11) from the fairway.
Great signage! Every hole, every tee. Had next tee signs also where they were needed.
In a large multi-use park, RRs available in Comm Ctr. The course is on the back side of the property, intersects occasionally with the walking path, but this is usually at the tees and is easily handled.
A great downhill hole #3, open bomber #4, dual fairway #6, creekside pick your path #10, dual fairway late in the hole #11, long bending uphill #18.

Cons: Not a lot here. At first I thought #10 didn't really have a fairway, but the trees were open even to stay away from the creek.
#13 - uphill, really no fairway to hit, then to a narrow green.
Last four holes, if you are a leftie. All four played right to left, including #18. If you play left to right, better get your score in before these holes.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this course, the variety and use of terrain made for a lot of different shots. The creek was in play on several holes, but slow moving and pretty easy to retrieve from, so not much risk of losing plastic.
#1 and 2 can be played with a short 4 holes for a beginner 6 hole course. Great idea for starting them young. Hopefully that is used for summer campers.
A really good course for a town the size of Archdale, I would be fine playing this often. Also seems to be a good regional course for the Triad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the Triad

5+    4/12/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: hoppedup
Played: 60  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage. This course has well made, descriptive signs that are accurate. In addition to tee signs there are also directional signs to the next tee when there is any doubt about flow.

The multiple tees on some holes offer a chance for big arms to air it out and for beginners to not get too frustrated. The tee pads in general are large, level and have enough texture to prevent slipping.

The baskets are in top shape. (#2 has been re-welded)

The holes here offer a nice mix of uphill and downhill. There are shots for lefties and righties, FH and BH. The creek is present and is a hazard on many holes but never so much as to be unfair (well, maybe #14, which is a blind throw where anything past the basket or rolling is in the creek) While the course is mostly wooded, there are no plinko holes.

Highlights for me:
#3 is a good ace opportunity and a fun downhill shot.
#6 and #11 offer nice options for a path to the basket around the left and right sides of clumps of trees
#10 is my favorite hole with many shot options and the creek in play on the right

There is a beginners course that includes the first two holes of the regular course, then 4 more shorter holes that are fun to play as well.


Cons: The course does play close to the walking path on a couple of holes (and over it from the long tee on 15). That said, I have never waited more than a minute or two to let pedestrians pass.

There should probably be signage closer to the #2 basket to differentiate the beginner course from the regular because the obvious flow leads to the #3a tee.
Other Thoughts: I have never seen this course crowded and have rarely run into anyone other than dog walkers here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    1/20/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: pfpro
Played: 53  Reviewed: 40
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice variety. Good mix of hyzer, anhyzer and straight. Nice use of elevation. Hole 3 feels like you're bombing down to a peninsula green (except it's wooded, so you have to place your shot). Many of the holes have alternate teepads (I played the longs) to give some variation. It's mostly wooded, there are a few more open holes.
- Long course. This course has 9 holes > 300' (10 if you count 1 at 297') from the long tees. This is not a pitch and putt course. I disagree with the posted pars. I feel like this is a 57 max (not the 66 as listed). If you were to play only the 400'+ as par 4's, I think this is a very challenging course.
- Good signage. Tee signs were great. If it wasn't readily apparent where the next tee was from the basket, there was a sign directing you.
- Convenient to interstate 85
- Nice, clean park. Great teepads. No benches, but not a big deal.
Cons: These are all relatively minor
- slightly confusing layout (with the beginner loop). I was in a time crunch and ran into locals in the lot. They told me where the first tee was, and not to play the beginner's loop. The first two holes share with the beginner's loop. I needed to pull up the course map on my phone. Wouldn't be an issue on repeat plays.
- The con of having a non-cramped course is the transitions. Some of them were a little long.
- There is a lot of overlap with walking paths. Don't know how busy this course gets, but if it's busy, then it could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this technical, "typical-NC", wooded course. This almost felt like a Charlotte course..... The creek that you play along side of was really enjoyable. It gave you something to think about as you shaped your thoughts, but wasn't really punishing (I'm sure there are spots that are inaccessible, I had two discs get wet, but was able to retrieve them easily with sticks). If you're short on time, you can cut out the back 10 (don't cross the bridge - jump from 4 to 15). My favorite hole was 14 - the blind ridge you throw over, and then putt with a risk of ending in the creek if you miss high or wide. I liked 3 (looking downhill) and 10 (interesting lines - can hyzer out over creek) as well. If the alternate pads presented a very different shot (as opposed to just a shorter shot), I could see this being a 4 - in my mind, it is close to a 4.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging But Fun

5+    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Creekside Park is a heavily wooded course. It makes great use of the elevation present in the park. There are benchs and trash cans scattered along the course. There are great tee signs at each hole, and each tee pad giving distance and map of the hole. A problem in the past has been resolved with next tee signs when you can't see the next tee. The tee pads are concrete and great, with the exception of the few that use the walking path. This course makes you use a variety of shots, makes you think of shot placement, as well it puts some emphasis on mid-range and approach shots. It offers baskets on slopes to make you think about your putt. I love the 6 hole mini course, it is actually a good way to warm up before doing the 18 hole course. The park is beautiful and has many other activities.
Cons: -Flooding can be an issue on parts of the course. Holes 10, 11 and 12 come to mind. Hole 14 could be an issue as well. The fairway doesn't flood but if the water is up on the creek directly behind the basket it would make errant putts impossible to retrieve.
-Some of the pars seem a little suspect.
-Several holes need to have some pruning done. Which could help bring the pars in line.
-A few holes need to have a couple of trees removed. The one in front of the tee pad on 10 and the fairway of 16 come to mind. 16 can be a bit like pinball with no defined path to the basket from the blue tee. 10 would be fine if the tee were just moved to the left.
-Some of the red tees belong with the beginner loop, but aren't that close to it.
-A few holes have the walking path in play, but it has never been an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: I must admit the first several years I played this course I hated it. But some improvements have been made with the course. Next tee signs have been installed and some of the rough has been cleaned up. With that said there is still plenty of rough that still needs a little work. I feel several of the fairways could use a little pruning to open up some room for a flight path. That could bring par down on a few holes and give you a legitimate shot to go for a bird on a few par threes. As it stands I am fine with those holes, just place your shot, take your par...there are still many birdie chances on the course. This course is challenging, but fair, except 10 and 16 blue. And for someone like me that loves wooded course where you have to shape your shot, place some shots and focus on your mid-range and approach...it is fun. If a few of the issues I mentioned are fixed in the future I could easily up my rating to 4 disc. You can do a nine hole loop, 1, 2, 3, 4, 15,16, 17, 5b, 6b or substitute 18 for 5b. But you miss some of the best holes.
Favorite Hole: #11 from the blue tee. 474' par 5. You have a tunnel shot off the tee, with a canopy above. The fairway opens up and then around 300' you have two openings down hill to a basket on flat ground with a creek 25' behind the basket. If your drive and approach are good shots you usually have a long putt for an eagle attempt.

 The Walk Alone...

1    11/15/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Leaving the disc golf aside, Creekside is a really nice park. Mostly light forest, it's traversed by a walking trail that made me wish I had my running shoes. Aesthetically, it's an incredible place to spend an afternoon. Throw in some nice cement tees and some shiny new baskets and you've got the makings of a solid course. It's so pleasant an atmosphere that the occasional long walk between holes, which is usually a con, is actually a plus here.

I also appreciated that the ever-present walking path is kept out of the way of the majority of the holes. It is typically encountered between holes. That is, you cross if while walking from basket to tee.

The bridge that crosses the river(you cross it twice) is essentially the signature part of the course and some of the better holes either start or finish there. 14 is a downhill hole that finishes near the creek while 5 and 15 ascend away from the water's edge.
Cons: The issue some could raise with the course, is that it is not aimed at a target ability level. It's confused about what it wants to be. There are parts that seem appropriate for red level players. There are other parts that are too tough even for blue level players. The problem here, is that parts of the course will bore advanced players. At the same time, beginners will be very frustrated at times. For the most part, the different tees change distance without affecting difficulty too much.

Part of this could be cleared up with some artful pruning of trees. As few as a dozen could make the entire course blue-appropriate from the long tees. It's strange in that the trees left behind are often odd choices. They are frequently square in the middle of fairways, punishing good shots. There is one directly in front of a tee, limiting what players can do on that hole.

In that vein, there are several holes that would be described as plinko. There's just a lot of fairways that approached with a groan. There are a bunch of really good holes here and with the natural beauty, I could see a four-star course here. It just needs some tree removal to make some of the fairways more fair. But even without that, it's a more than pleasant way to spend the day.
Other Thoughts: There is also a beginner's loop that features the first two real holes and then 4 additional short holes. It's a really fun idea but I'm not sure that all of the beginner holes are that easy: they're just short.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

All in All, I Love Creekside

5+    7/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 67  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 46 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2016
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Creekside is one of the closest courses to my farm. Probably the best features of Creekside are the huge tee pads and the excellent signage, both tee signs and directional signs. Rhoades and I might have been the first players to play across the creek and even without the signs, we found our way through. We did almost miss #10, but saw it before teeing of on 11, which we originally thought for a moment was 10. The course flows and follows well and is an enjoyable walk through the woods. Though I do tend to appreciate more open courses more, Creekside is still an nice and fun place to play, with its well defined fairways through the forest. It is also good for same day, different course play, with its proximity to N. Asheboro, Johnson Street and private Cedar Lake, right around the corner.
Cons: My first and foremost detraction from Creekside, like many Russell designs is the overly close proximity of baskets to disc disappearing water. We used to joke that it was a mental illness, but finally realized that it is a very shrewd business decision, because the more discs that Russell can make you lose, the more discs you have to buy, perhaps from his employer. 6, 10, 11 and 14 all fall into that category. 11's basket should have been moved away from the creek and planted in that big stump, which is, of course, now gone. It would have been a picturesque perfect ending to an already truly signature hole. 14's basket would be better placed on the island, making it a real signature hole, as well. And its short pad is way too short, even if the basket were moved to the island.
Secondly, I've always maintained that if you're going to have multiple tees on any holes, they should be on all holes. If that is not feasible, red and blue par rating should most often differ, especially on holes like 5 and 7. Rhoades and I have found perfect places for second pads on all of the holes without them. They would all be red, except for #8. Pads painted on sidewalks have always irked me, here, in Statesville and even when we pretty much had to do so at The SPC. I understand the cost cutting aspect of it, but it's still a design flaw. And the two gold pads...well, there's nothing I can say about them without sounding like an arse. When their paint fades, they shouldn't be repainted. 17 Blue should be moved off of the sidewalk and tucked into that grove on the rise, just to the left of the gold tee on the sidewalk..
And some of the par ratings seem rather arbitrary, like Crooked Creek at Northeast Park. Sorry to say, but there is not a hole at Creekside, from the red, blue or gold that merits a par rating of 5.
Other Thoughts: If the Triad were to ever institute a tourney like the Triangle's Great 8 or Charlotte's Iron Man, Creekside would definitely be one of the courses to include.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Visitors View

2-4    8/26/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Tripper
Played: 133  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots needed.
Park and course are immaculate.
Excellent signage.
Benches & trash cans on many holes.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Woods clear of debris.
Short course for beginners.
Cons: Some tees difficult to find.
Course crosses walking path several times.
Some blind holes a spotter is helpful.
Strong sewage smell on several holes.
Hole 10 "fairway" is muddy.
Short course is too short and tight for beginners.
Other Thoughts: I play a lot of courses in NC and this is one of the best maintained I have seen. There was not a bit of trash anywhere.
The course has a good flow with a good mix of shots. The water indicated on the signs seems to be intermittent as a couple of the smaller creeks were dry. One of the few wooded course that still has mostly grass fairways. Not a very long course, probably should be all par 3 but still challenging and fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tough yet enjoyable

1    7/6/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: cafenc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Large teepads
Well marked course
Difficult
Has been continually becoming a better course
Has beginner course
Cons: Difficult and can be frustrating but I see it as a challenge
Other Thoughts: I have played this course for quite a while, even before it was finished. I enjoy the course and commend the hard work that has been put into it to make the course better. It has been widened in some areas and plays better than in its earlier years. I suggest that anyone who didn't like the course the first go round give it another try because it has become better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.