Archdale, NC
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik   (Taken 6/2012)
Course Sign (big)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Course improving every time I play it

2-4    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: NCSU2002
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very pretty course with nice mix of shots and distances.
Water in play behind several holes makes for a little more challenge
Several tight lines and elevation changes
Cons: Some heavy growth on the sides of several fairways
Has a lot of walking in between some holes
In heavy rain some holes have severe drainage issues, although the last 2 times I played there was no problem at all
Other Thoughts: Look to the right after number 2 because if you go to the tee/basket you can see, you will get stuck on the beginner loop and never find the rest of the course.

Overall this course is one of the best in the area and is rarely crowded, so you can take your time and enjoy it.

Seems to be improving as more people play it as saplings and brush are beaten down a bit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Surprise

1    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: adambenson87
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic layout and variety. I felt like I need to choose a different disc for each shot. I thought the different pars and distances made the course more interesting, fun, and challenging than a course that has all par 3's.

I looked at the earlier reviews for this course and it seems they have added plenty of signs and tee pads since those reviews. I thought it was well marked and the tee pads were definitely long enough. Also, I noticed in earlier reviews, people thought it was too narrow or wooded on some holes. On the holes that were more narrow, the par was greater (a more open 320 foot hole was a par 3 and a thickly wooded 320 foot hole was a par 4); therefore, I thought these kinds of holes made the course more interesting and more fair.

Overall, the course was well maintained and beautiful. I will be back to visit this course!
Cons: The only con I have is more of a personal preference. I think the pars were appropriate for intermediate level players. I kept trying to figure out what the pro par would be for each hole, if they were playing a PDGA tournament. (A 480 foot hole was listed as a par 5 and I got my drive 50 feet from the hole, so I was jump putting for a double eagle.)
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course for all levels of players.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Possibly the best course in the Triad...

1    4/2/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: Plankeye
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is probably one of the best if not the best course in the Triad area. It is definitely one of the courses along with Johnson Street that you need to check out if you are in the Greensboro, High Point, Winston-Salem area.

On several holes there are a long tee and a short tee. Most of the longer tees provide a different type of shot than the short tee. It is lefty/right friendly as there is an equal amount of holes that cater to both types of throws.

There are uphill, downhill, and flat shots. There are holes where your butt will pucker as your disc goes flying through small gaps and holes that you can stretch out your arm.

Water/Creek comes in to play on many of the holes. To increase the difficulty on several holes, the pin is placed 15-20 feet in front of an OB creek.

There were some issues with the teepads but the city has now come and fixed them. Before the fix, there were several teepads that were slanted or were placed on an uphill slope.

If you can keep the disc in the fairway, you can have a really great round on this course. On many holes, if you get kicked off of the fairway, you will be lucky if you can scramble for par.

The tee signs are a really great touch as well.
Cons: I did not notice if this was on the tee sign, but there are some navigation issues from one hole to the next. For example, finding 10's tee can be difficult unless you have played the course before, have a map of the course with you, or have someone that can show you around.

The other issue is the drainage issue on a few holes. One hole, 11 I think, will have a large pool of water about 50 feet short of the basket. Due to the hole design, many discs will land in this area. I don't know what if anything can be done to fix this issue.
Other Thoughts: If I had a choice between Johnson Street, Yadkinville, Reidsville, Horizons, and Barber park, I would probably chose this course to play 9 out of 10 times.

I played the longs except for 2 holes due to the teepads on those two whole being the 2 of the teepads the city needed to replace. The par from the longs is supposedly 64 but I feel the SSA would be closer to 60.

IMO, hole 18 is the most difficult hole on the course. The scores on this par 4 will range from 3s to 7s(if not higher) depending on if you keep the disc in the fairway or not.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Impressed

2-4    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: bcbrown
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: I first played this course in Summer 2010 and found it difficult to complete due to the tightness and growth. Today's round was a complete surprise. All of the previously annoying holes have been trimmed back, the brush has been removed (or thinned where appropriate) and overgrowth is gone. The previously obnoxious holes (300ish feet but too tight to actually go for the hole because you're afraid of going into brush that consumes your disc and your soul) are now enjoyable and play like a good disc golf hole. Lots of elevation changes throughout and good risk/reward opportunities (water behind the hole appropriate distances). A good blend of left to right, right to left and straightaway shots.
Cons: I am not a fan of prototypical Russell Schwarz courses but thankfully this one only has one (arguably two) of his hole styles I abhor. #15 from the longs provides you with no realistic throw at a short birdie putt, despite being a par 3. A good/great drive still leaves you with a 60' putt/approach.
#14's (long) tee pad signage is directly in the backswing of a RHBH who is attempting to anhyzer (the line of choice). Not sure why it is placed there.
Despite HUGE work on improving the water issues, still a bit soggy on the marshland hole.
Other Thoughts: Possible solutions to #15: Move the teepad forward 15-20 feet and left 15-20 feet (or in other words, just move it straight toward the basket) to turn the shot into a consistent hyzer line. Or just move the basket closer. I would prefer the pad movement because the pin placement is pretty.

Ridiculously better than previous play. Previously would've rated the course a 1.5 and only rate a 4 because I fear the summer will bring back some of the problems from last year.

Great work, kudos to whoever transformed this park.

 

5+    2/5/2011   2/8/2011
Review By: ABFutrell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: This course is plays a lot different than it did when the baskets were installed one year ago. Many of the holes (1, 2, 3, 8, and others) have has the fairways widened and clean up in keys spots to make drives, approaches, and putts possible from more locations. Some holes of the par 3.5's are now birdie-able.
Cons: As previous posters pointed out, tee-pads on several holes are uneven and rough. These will be replaced for the B Tier Tournament in April. Once this is resolved and some rough areas are cleaned out on holes 6 - 9, this course should receive an excellent rating.
Other Thoughts: This course is still a work in progress and already plays much better and should continue to improve in the near future. In terms of learning to control and laying up your discs, this is a great course. There's a typo on the par info for the course. The Red Tees (short pads) should be par 59, not 71.

  Improved

2-4    9/21/2010   10/8/2010
Review By: Disc_chainy
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice beginners loop for new players or players of any age.

While the park is big and offers a lot of other amenities, once on the course you feel like Disc Golf is the only game in town. Nice.

The "long" layout of this course offers a nice mix of wide open holes and tight wooded holes, some good elevation changes and lots of serious rough.

Course seems weighted to the right handed throwers but their are a couple natch lefty holes and a few with right and left lanes.

There is a premium put on accuracy and precision moreso than the big arm.
Cons: As mentioned, a few tee pads are not intuitive (4 & 12 come to mind) but, as traffic increases (and it will), the paths will get better.

A few holes get mucky after serious rains but so do all courses. Take an extra disc and a towel or, if you don't like the muckymuck, avoid the course after bad weather.

The last few holes get a bit repetitious but they do offer ace runs.
Other Thoughts: A lot early of reviews were pretty harsh on this course. During our first round I thought "What's up with that?" cause my buddies & I loved the course.

This course feels like it keeps getting better, it's an easy ride from anywhere in the triad and the tee pads and signage are getting installed as, I'm sure, $$$ and time allow.

Don't let some of the early reviews fool you, this course is a great addition to NC Disc Golf and to Triad golf in particular.

Tee off and fly freely.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and fun

5+    1/21/2013   5/6/2010
Review By: hycard
Played: 48  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in the area that offers a separate course for both beginners and experts.

18-hole course challenges any skill level with a wide variety of shots for left-handed and right-handed throwers.

A lot of work went into the design and layout of this course.

Course is "beaten in" and more seasoned than when I first played here....the fairways and teepads are greatly improved.

Signage is top-notch!

Multiple teepads for beginners, average players, and tournament players.
Cons: Only con is water that can be overwhelming on the course after extremely heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: Excellent location with easy access from the Interstate.

Love the way water is used to border many landing areas and fairways.

Truly is a "creekside" course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Work in progress as of Spring 2010...

1    4/15/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has real potential to be a good course, but it comes up woefully short. Course needs to figure out who's it's aimed at (beginners or advanced), and stick with that.
- Course has some really good holes. The course has 4 downhill holes that involve throwing to baskets near water (#3, 4, 6 & 14). These are all legitimately good, challenging holes. The best of the bunch is #14, which tees off in the woods, leading to a downhill shot at a basket less than 20 feet from the creek.
- Course has lots of natural beauty, especially the holes near the creek. If you get lost walking between holes, you can even take in more of the aesthetics.
- Once you cross over the bridge, holes #5 - 14 are completely removed from the rest of the park.
- The entire complex has great amenities - rec center, ball fields, walking trails, playground, etc. Good spot to keep the rest of the family distracted as you try to navigate the course.
Cons: I'll only focus on the major issues. No sense for Elin to complain that Tiger Woods always leaves the toilet seat up when they've got bigger issues to deal with.
- I hope the course is far from complete. Maybe they decided the very first thing they need to do is install tee pads before they work on everything else.
- The course has horrible flow. It's nice the kiddie course is easy to navigate, but it's like they forgot about the real course. After #2, no hole has a real tee sign (with distances, hole layout, etc); a couple have signs that only have the hole number. There are no signs/arrows pointing to the next tee, leading to these issues: I never found a tee pad for #3; I found the baskets for #4 & 10 before I found the tee pads.
- The fairways are far too narrow and the rough is too thick. It's one thing if the rough wasn't so bad (holes #6 - #11), but when it's thick & tall underbrush (vines, bushes, prickers, tall grass, etc), you're begging to lose a disc. I ended up throwing Roc for about 80% of the course, just to make sure my shots stayed straight. It's also not the smartest idea to keep grass so tall on the holes right next to the water (#10 comes to mind). Too many creatures (insects, ticks, snakes, etc.) seem to be fond of that type of setting.
- The tee signs. For such a short course, there's an inordinately high amount of holes where you can't see the basket from the tee. Basically you can either walk up and down the fairway on every hole to scout the layout or you just throw. I threw, down a far too narrow fairway, hoping I'd find each basket. On several I threw far past the basket, because it (the basket) was so well hidden from the fairway by the rough, you couldn't see it more than 50 feet away.
- The course was relatively dry when I played, due to little rain the past 2 weeks, but I can see how this course can become swampy after it rains. It's a shame because one of the course's best layouts (hole #11) ends in a muddy part of the woods.
Other Thoughts: It was frustrating playing here, not just for all the cons listed above, but because you can see the potential. The park also seemed to have enough space to spread things out to (hopefully) eliminate the problems.
- Navigating from tee to basket was a bigger issue for me than going from hole to hole. After hole #4, I had no problem finding the next hole (except for #10).
- Course needs to make fairways twice as wide, or severely thin out the rough to enable some sense of fairness. I'm not a fan of throwing 200 foot shots down the fairway, not knowing when I'll see the basket.
- As mentioned, course does some have some good holes. #6 was a longer downhill shot (in the 275 - 300 foot range) to a basket near the water. One of the best, most fair, holes on the entire course.
- I really want to play this course again when everything is done. They may have to re-work some holes to deal with the different problems. If things get worked, this could be a solid 3. Right now, it's only halfway there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun tight wooded course with creek holes

2-4    10/7/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: MellowRob
Played: 79  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated 10/07/10: Concrete teepads for all holes. Tee signs for all holes give distance, fairway shape, and pin location. The Pro loop is quite challenging overall, mostly tight wooded fairway alleys ,punishing toothpick rough and some creek action on 7 holes. Reasonable length at about 5100'.

6 hole beginners course behind playground area exposes new players to the sport with relatively short and some tight fairways. This plays 1,2,3b,4b,5b,6b from the hole page - plays 1177' total .
Cons: While the teesigns are in, no next hole sign are there yet. The progression from beginner 2 to Pro 3 was not marked, so you have to go right just before as you approach 2 pin, straight across a T intersection of an asphalt walking path, and downhill on that path about 200'or more. 3 tee is on the path, marked with sign playing downhill to the creek. 4 is back to the left on the same side of the creek and back up the path 50', then go right into the open fairway. 5 is across the bridge and then right. For 6 go away from creek turn right down wide path, then left on narrow path. 10 is down the hill along the pipeline and then turn left along the creek. 15 is back across the bridge and right. Most other holes are either visible, or have a very discernable path leading away from the pin.

Flooded/muddy and high creek areas (5,6,10,11,12,14) could be an issue during prologed wet periods, especially winter months.

The design could be different, and the fairways could be wider in places, but I am not splitting hairs on those points. Unlevel teepads have been mentioned as a negative, but I barely noticed them. Just glad to have some concrete. I heard that the more tilted ones are gonna get replaced in the future FWIW. Leaves are gonna be an issue in late Fall and Winter, so watch those discs well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, my latest experience on this course was vastly improved, and fun. Perhaps the dryer conditions, concrete pads, tee signs, and general course flow knowledge made for a different mindset. I boosted my eval score from a 1.5 to a 3.5 , and I think this course can be a solid 4 with a course map, next tee signs, alt pin placements, and general tweaking. I recommend this course if you are traveling through the area. I may workup a course guide if time, so check the links section. Enjoy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

2-4    1/10/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has very good amenities and is centered around a very well kept community sports area.
There is already a monday night league formed for people just getting into the sport that would like to meet disc golfers.
The discatcher baskets are very easy to spot for first timers playing the course.
Cons: The hole design is a little weak in my opinion. There are many fairways that are too tight for comfort.
The "Pro" loop can be easily confused unless shown to you by someone local and familiar with the area.
Additional grooming of the "off the fairway" areas is necessary to provide for some level of risk/reward for trying to punch through.
Other Thoughts: Give it time! I will adjust ratings in the future as this course gets more attention and more attraction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.