Archdale, NC 
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #5 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 324ft.   4 / 324ft.   4 / 324ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red/Blue Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Challenging and fun

5+    1/21/2013   5/6/2010
Review By: hycard
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: One of the best courses in the area that offers a separate course for both beginners and experts.

18-hole course challenges any skill level with a wide variety of shots for left-handed and right-handed throwers.

A lot of work went into the design and layout of this course.

Course is "beaten in" and more seasoned than when I first played here....the fairways and teepads are greatly improved.

Signage is top-notch!

Multiple teepads for beginners, average players, and tournament players.
Cons: Only con is water that can be overwhelming on the course after extremely heavy rains.
Other Thoughts: Excellent location with easy access from the Interstate.

Love the way water is used to border many landing areas and fairways.

Truly is a "creekside" course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress as of Spring 2010...

1    4/15/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 183  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has real potential to be a good course, but it comes up woefully short. Course needs to figure out who's it's aimed at (beginners or advanced), and stick with that.
- Course has some really good holes. The course has 4 downhill holes that involve throwing to baskets near water (#3, 4, 6 & 14). These are all legitimately good, challenging holes. The best of the bunch is #14, which tees off in the woods, leading to a downhill shot at a basket less than 20 feet from the creek.
- Course has lots of natural beauty, especially the holes near the creek. If you get lost walking between holes, you can even take in more of the aesthetics.
- Once you cross over the bridge, holes #5 - 14 are completely removed from the rest of the park.
- The entire complex has great amenities - rec center, ball fields, walking trails, playground, etc. Good spot to keep the rest of the family distracted as you try to navigate the course.
Cons: I'll only focus on the major issues. No sense for Elin to complain that Tiger Woods always leaves the toilet seat up when they've got bigger issues to deal with.
- I hope the course is far from complete. Maybe they decided the very first thing they need to do is install tee pads before they work on everything else.
- The course has horrible flow. It's nice the kiddie course is easy to navigate, but it's like they forgot about the real course. After #2, no hole has a real tee sign (with distances, hole layout, etc); a couple have signs that only have the hole number. There are no signs/arrows pointing to the next tee, leading to these issues: I never found a tee pad for #3; I found the baskets for #4 & 10 before I found the tee pads.
- The fairways are far too narrow and the rough is too thick. It's one thing if the rough wasn't so bad (holes #6 - #11), but when it's thick & tall underbrush (vines, bushes, prickers, tall grass, etc), you're begging to lose a disc. I ended up throwing Roc for about 80% of the course, just to make sure my shots stayed straight. It's also not the smartest idea to keep grass so tall on the holes right next to the water (#10 comes to mind). Too many creatures (insects, ticks, snakes, etc.) seem to be fond of that type of setting.
- The tee signs. For such a short course, there's an inordinately high amount of holes where you can't see the basket from the tee. Basically you can either walk up and down the fairway on every hole to scout the layout or you just throw. I threw, down a far too narrow fairway, hoping I'd find each basket. On several I threw far past the basket, because it (the basket) was so well hidden from the fairway by the rough, you couldn't see it more than 50 feet away.
- The course was relatively dry when I played, due to little rain the past 2 weeks, but I can see how this course can become swampy after it rains. It's a shame because one of the course's best layouts (hole #11) ends in a muddy part of the woods.
Other Thoughts: It was frustrating playing here, not just for all the cons listed above, but because you can see the potential. The park also seemed to have enough space to spread things out to (hopefully) eliminate the problems.
- Navigating from tee to basket was a bigger issue for me than going from hole to hole. After hole #4, I had no problem finding the next hole (except for #10).
- Course needs to make fairways twice as wide, or severely thin out the rough to enable some sense of fairness. I'm not a fan of throwing 200 foot shots down the fairway, not knowing when I'll see the basket.
- As mentioned, course does some have some good holes. #6 was a longer downhill shot (in the 275 - 300 foot range) to a basket near the water. One of the best, most fair, holes on the entire course.
- I really want to play this course again when everything is done. They may have to re-work some holes to deal with the different problems. If things get worked, this could be a solid 3. Right now, it's only halfway there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun tight wooded course with creek holes

2-4    10/7/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: MellowRob
Played: 79  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Updated 10/07/10: Concrete teepads for all holes. Tee signs for all holes give distance, fairway shape, and pin location. The Pro loop is quite challenging overall, mostly tight wooded fairway alleys ,punishing toothpick rough and some creek action on 7 holes. Reasonable length at about 5100'.

6 hole beginners course behind playground area exposes new players to the sport with relatively short and some tight fairways. This plays 1,2,3b,4b,5b,6b from the hole page - plays 1177' total .
Cons: While the teesigns are in, no next hole sign are there yet. The progression from beginner 2 to Pro 3 was not marked, so you have to go right just before as you approach 2 pin, straight across a T intersection of an asphalt walking path, and downhill on that path about 200'or more. 3 tee is on the path, marked with sign playing downhill to the creek. 4 is back to the left on the same side of the creek and back up the path 50', then go right into the open fairway. 5 is across the bridge and then right. For 6 go away from creek turn right down wide path, then left on narrow path. 10 is down the hill along the pipeline and then turn left along the creek. 15 is back across the bridge and right. Most other holes are either visible, or have a very discernable path leading away from the pin.

Flooded/muddy and high creek areas (5,6,10,11,12,14) could be an issue during prologed wet periods, especially winter months.

The design could be different, and the fairways could be wider in places, but I am not splitting hairs on those points. Unlevel teepads have been mentioned as a negative, but I barely noticed them. Just glad to have some concrete. I heard that the more tilted ones are gonna get replaced in the future FWIW. Leaves are gonna be an issue in late Fall and Winter, so watch those discs well.
Other Thoughts: Overall, my latest experience on this course was vastly improved, and fun. Perhaps the dryer conditions, concrete pads, tee signs, and general course flow knowledge made for a different mindset. I boosted my eval score from a 1.5 to a 3.5 , and I think this course can be a solid 4 with a course map, next tee signs, alt pin placements, and general tweaking. I recommend this course if you are traveling through the area. I may workup a course guide if time, so check the links section. Enjoy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trey133

2-4    1/10/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has very good amenities and is centered around a very well kept community sports area.
There is already a monday night league formed for people just getting into the sport that would like to meet disc golfers.
The discatcher baskets are very easy to spot for first timers playing the course.
Cons: The hole design is a little weak in my opinion. There are many fairways that are too tight for comfort.
The "Pro" loop can be easily confused unless shown to you by someone local and familiar with the area.
Additional grooming of the "off the fairway" areas is necessary to provide for some level of risk/reward for trying to punch through.
Other Thoughts: Give it time! I will adjust ratings in the future as this course gets more attention and more attraction.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there...

5+    6/18/2010   9/6/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: I've played this course repeatedly now. Still very clean and well kept. The beginner loop is not the easiest but with practice would be. Big teepads, excellent tee signs on whole course now as well as on the beginner loop, complete with little DG tips on throws, grips, etc. The locals have done a good job of turning many of the "unfairways" into legitimate holes. What holes are super tight are given an appropriate par so that most non-Open players are not playing for bogey. There's still some tricky lines and windows to look for to play some holes well but that's a pro I think. Great park full of ball fields, basketball, playground, etc, very nice little walking trails through out. Plays within a serene, winding creek. Amenities restrooms, etc. Really nice discatcher baskets.

The course has really been opened up, not exclusively with the fairways but with the rough where on many holes like 6-10 really punished you with brier rife pain if you didn't keep your disc on the narrow fairway. Now a lot of those briers are gone so you can breathe a little on those holes w/o worrying about becoming perforated if your drive is slightly off.
Cons: Now that it's dry it's much better but some cons still remain. Always be wary of playing after the area has received a lot of rain b/c a creek does wind all around the course and it's low and prone to flooding.

There's still some safety issues that really hurt the course's rating IMO but most of these are due to the addition of the long and tourney level tees. Hole # 3's long tee is behind a bend of the sidewalk which is very used by patrons so you have to take care that nobody is coming around the bend when you tee off. Hole #17's long and tourney tees are actually marked off on said sidewalk and again you really have to be mindful of the patrons and occasionally wait for joggers and the like to pass if you use those tees.

Hole #7 irks me. It's uphill and would be more fun if you threw a big anny or FH but you can't unless you have a spotter b/c of the still very thick rough that flanks the hole. Otherwise you have to place shots.

Hole #10's tee has one stupid tree directly in front of the middle of the tee, you can almost touch it while standing on the tee. It would be a cool hole otherwise. The "green" on hole #11 has had a lot of earth moved around and looks like a construction site, holds water in tire treads.

Still not many holes to really air out a big drive so if you're used to playing predominately open courses this may not be for you.
Other Thoughts: I've gone from not liking this course at all to actually enjoying it now. It still has some tough, tight lines but the pars are appropriate so it's a non-issue to me. I do notice that many 1st timer's do not like this course, especially if they're used to park-style pitch and putts like Horizons. But if you like a challenge and don't feel like driving down to Charlotte, this is a quality course to play.

I just wish some of the long tees didn't have busy sidewalks in-play, otherwise I'd rate it higher.

Bottom line: Short-ish and very technical course requiring extreme precision and disc(putter) placement on many throws, posted par is fair and necessary to not destroy most golfers' egos.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A Work In Progress.

5+    5/21/2010   8/4/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is finished now and mostly all the work has been done. There are things that made need to be addressed still but, this course is playable and it is fun. It is fast becoming my new Johnson Street course now. The park is clean and signs are in place. Course offers a real good mix of open shots, a couple tight doglegs, tunnel shots, elevation changes, uphill shot and downhill shots. A couple of my favorites are number three, number four, number ten, number fourteen and number eighteen. I just played this past week and I can see where they are still clearing out some brush and getting things spruced up. .
Cons: Some of the tee pads are sloped sideways and it would have been nice for them to level them off. You could twist an ankle if not cognizant of this. Hole 10 is a giant mud pit near the basket after rain. a narrow culvert has been trenched to help with rain run off but, this area is really lacking...be prepared for mud. Another thing to contend with is the underbrush. We saw a lot of poison ivy along the left side of hole nine on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. We had the chance to play with the two guys that maintain the course and it was nice to see them out playing the course to see what all needs to be done to it. On hole fourteen, I would suggest moving the basket across the creek...it just seems like the obvious thing to do since you have to cross back over to play fifteen although, having the pin right next to the creek offers it's own challenges! I have upgraded my original rating from three to threedotfive. All in all I like this course..

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Finished.

1    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have replayed the course, and it now has all the holes in the ground and at least 1 tee per hole. If they do clear out the holes a little more, especially just off the fairways, it'll be a great course. There is a beginner loop and an actual course.
Cons: I like the ideas of many of the holes, but it is still a very rough course. Water collects in the middle of some fairways, and it is very rough to play in some areas.
Other Thoughts: It was fun, until I got tired or wading through water and walking through trees. I still enjoyed the course though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.