Archdale, NC
Creekside Park Share
Uploaded By: keltik Hole #11 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 384ft.   5 / 474ft.   5 / 474ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Getting there...

5+    6/18/2010   9/6/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 94  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: I've played this course repeatedly now. Still very clean and well kept. The beginner loop is not the easiest but with practice would be. Big teepads, excellent tee signs on whole course now as well as on the beginner loop, complete with little DG tips on throws, grips, etc. The locals have done a good job of turning many of the "unfairways" into legitimate holes. What holes are super tight are given an appropriate par so that most non-Open players are not playing for bogey. There's still some tricky lines and windows to look for to play some holes well but that's a pro I think. Great park full of ball fields, basketball, playground, etc, very nice little walking trails through out. Plays within a serene, winding creek. Amenities restrooms, etc. Really nice discatcher baskets.

The course has really been opened up, not exclusively with the fairways but with the rough where on many holes like 6-10 really punished you with brier rife pain if you didn't keep your disc on the narrow fairway. Now a lot of those briers are gone so you can breathe a little on those holes w/o worrying about becoming perforated if your drive is slightly off.
Cons: Now that it's dry it's much better but some cons still remain. Always be wary of playing after the area has received a lot of rain b/c a creek does wind all around the course and it's low and prone to flooding.

There's still some safety issues that really hurt the course's rating IMO but most of these are due to the addition of the long and tourney level tees. Hole # 3's long tee is behind a bend of the sidewalk which is very used by patrons so you have to take care that nobody is coming around the bend when you tee off. Hole #17's long and tourney tees are actually marked off on said sidewalk and again you really have to be mindful of the patrons and occasionally wait for joggers and the like to pass if you use those tees.

Hole #7 irks me. It's uphill and would be more fun if you threw a big anny or FH but you can't unless you have a spotter b/c of the still very thick rough that flanks the hole. Otherwise you have to place shots.

Hole #10's tee has one stupid tree directly in front of the middle of the tee, you can almost touch it while standing on the tee. It would be a cool hole otherwise. The "green" on hole #11 has had a lot of earth moved around and looks like a construction site, holds water in tire treads.

Still not many holes to really air out a big drive so if you're used to playing predominately open courses this may not be for you.
Other Thoughts: I've gone from not liking this course at all to actually enjoying it now. It still has some tough, tight lines but the pars are appropriate so it's a non-issue to me. I do notice that many 1st timer's do not like this course, especially if they're used to park-style pitch and putts like Horizons. But if you like a challenge and don't feel like driving down to Charlotte, this is a quality course to play.

I just wish some of the long tees didn't have busy sidewalks in-play, otherwise I'd rate it higher.

Bottom line: Short-ish and very technical course requiring extreme precision and disc(putter) placement on many throws, posted par is fair and necessary to not destroy most golfers' egos.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Work In Progress.

5+    5/21/2010   8/4/2009
Review By: axl_rose
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is finished now and mostly all the work has been done. There are things that made need to be addressed still but, this course is playable and it is fun. It is fast becoming my new Johnson Street course now. The park is clean and signs are in place. Course offers a real good mix of open shots, a couple tight doglegs, tunnel shots, elevation changes, uphill shot and downhill shots. A couple of my favorites are number three, number four, number ten, number fourteen and number eighteen. I just played this past week and I can see where they are still clearing out some brush and getting things spruced up. .
Cons: Some of the tee pads are sloped sideways and it would have been nice for them to level them off. You could twist an ankle if not cognizant of this. Hole 10 is a giant mud pit near the basket after rain. a narrow culvert has been trenched to help with rain run off but, this area is really lacking...be prepared for mud. Another thing to contend with is the underbrush. We saw a lot of poison ivy along the left side of hole nine on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course. We had the chance to play with the two guys that maintain the course and it was nice to see them out playing the course to see what all needs to be done to it. On hole fourteen, I would suggest moving the basket across the creek...it just seems like the obvious thing to do since you have to cross back over to play fifteen although, having the pin right next to the creek offers it's own challenges! I have upgraded my original rating from three to threedotfive. All in all I like this course..

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Finished.

1    5/25/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: Ryan P.
Played: 41  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have replayed the course, and it now has all the holes in the ground and at least 1 tee per hole. If they do clear out the holes a little more, especially just off the fairways, it'll be a great course. There is a beginner loop and an actual course.
Cons: I like the ideas of many of the holes, but it is still a very rough course. Water collects in the middle of some fairways, and it is very rough to play in some areas.
Other Thoughts: It was fun, until I got tired or wading through water and walking through trees. I still enjoyed the course though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.