Chamblee, GA 
Chamblee Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: billnchristy Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 White Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Tune-Up Course

5+    7/10/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: jsmith521
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Pretty much the only course in the area
- Easy course, good for practicing your shots. No reason a decent player shouldn't par each hole
- A few challenges, but nothing difficult
- Have heard you're likely to get a lost disc back. I've seen many left at the bulletin board at hole 1
Cons: - Only 9 holes, but not a big deal as you can obviously play holes again
- A few places where it would not be fun to lose a disc
Other Thoughts: I really love this course because it's 5 minutes from where I currently reside, so I can slip over and play the 9 holes in under an hour. I've never seen more than a handful of other groups while I've been there. Well-maintained of course, being that this is a large, popular church.

A lot of the holes provide a nice wide open fairway for practicing your drives. Signs are nice and simple, pointing out out of bounds where applicable.

Hole 4 always makes me nervous as there's a large, wide creek alongside the entire fairway. If you land in it early, it's shallower, but gets deeper closer to the basket. The tees for 6 cross right behind the basket for 9, so got to keep an eye out here. Holes 6 and 8 have some pretty thick brush and bushes that you might have a hard time finding an errant disc.

Hole 9 is interesting in that you're throwing over some trees from the top of a hill, down to the basket. Not much visibility here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Practice Course

5+    6/17/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: gardenthug
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perfect course for those looking to practice and refine their game. Hole #1 can be used almost as a defacto driving range, as the course usually isn't crowded.
Cons: There is some heavy brush and a river that make losing disc's very easy. It is hard to locate the red tees, which is why my group simply created our own red tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Great for practice and a quick after work round. The church opened up its ground to us, so please make sure you don't litter or break their very simple rules.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    5/18/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: digables
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Low traffic. You'll usually see a couple groups playing on the nicest of days, but never any sort of wait.

- First hole has a big open field to work on shots. Really helpful for practice and for beginning players

- Grass mowed regularly and course kept in nice condition

- Hard to lose discs here. The bushes on the hill on 7 are the worst place to get lost in, but people are good about returning found discs at the bulletin board on Hole 1

- Convenient for inside the perimeter players north of Atlanta

Cons: - There can be a lot of walkers and cars around certain church activities. You'll often have to wait a bit during these hours for cars to pass. And the course is closed outright on Sunday morning

- It's not much of a challenge for players looking for real competition

- Hard to find the red tees on many of the holes.

- Water can eat discs on Holes 4,5,6 if you don't want to get wet

- Really no amenities to players, but don't find this an issue on such a short, quick course.
Other Thoughts: I've seen low reviews for the course, but I think it should be judged for what it is, a simple learning course with a couple challenges for more advanced players. It's well kept, the church community is very friendly and has embraced the sport and the players who come by, and there's usually not much traffic so you can really practice shots on the field in addition to playing.

Not much more you could ask for out of a 9-hole course for beginning players or practicing in the city.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Simple Course

5+    12/10/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Little to no traffic on the course nearly every time I played
-Safe and family friendly area
-Wide open setup allows you to fire off some bombs if that's what you're looking for
-Decent chance of getting lost discs back
-One of the view courses inside the perimeter
Cons: -Dirt tee pads are pretty terrible, but they serve their purpose
-The course is really simple. Don't know if that should be a con, but to me it makes all the holes run together
Other Thoughts: I know my review has more pros than cons but I'm still giving the course a 2.0. It's nothing great and just kind of serves its purposes as a quick 9. Nothing worth going out of the way for but it isn't terrible.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Quick, Easy, Fun

5+    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: thewesticle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never very crowded at all. Weeknights have their fair share of folks playing a quick 9 while waiting on traffic to die down, but weekend evenings are wonderfully deserted. It's a good place to come and unload your bag and work on some shots that you're trying get comfortable with.

- The grass is mowed fairly regularly, and the course looks very nice.

- Having your disc returned is much more common here than at some of the other Atlanta courses, (I'm looking at you, Oregon Park), and locals will often leave found discs in the bulletin board case at the first tee.

- While not the longest or most obstacle-strewn course in the area, you will encounter some left-to-right shots, some water, a few elevation changes, and some tricky choices.
Cons: - Dirt teepads that were, until May 2013, unmarked. Also, the teepad color doesn't necessarily correlate with their difficulty. For example, #5 White Tee is the more difficult shot than #5 Red Tee, while #6 Red Tee is more difficult than #6 White. The new yellow posts with the new signs mark the white tees.

- The course is not overly challenging.

- The hill between 7 & 8 can be treacherous in the summer, and makes it very difficult to find discs who've strayed onto it. The Boy Scouts who have their lodge on top of the hill will sometimes bring goats to the park to remove the vegetation, but it has been awhile since the last time this has happened.
Other Thoughts: My first (and only) two aces have been at this course, and it definitely holds a bit of a soft spot in my heart.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 9 hole navigational nightmare

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 tee locations...If you can find them.
9 old Discatchers (No large yellow band)
decent distance on holes for a 9 hole church course

Hole 4 is long and semi-scenic with a ditch/creek on left and rolling hills on right.

hole 5 was a good design, with a hyzer route, but branches force you to keep it low, parking lot is a very slight safety issue.

Hole 6 has water in play on the left and 8 has a very steep drop off on the left.

Hole 9 is a nice elevated tee throwing mostly blind over 2 trees.
Cons: 1 inch high wooded pegs hidden in 2 inch grass are impossible to find.

Odd flow. the first 4 holes make a cursive e shape.

I had to check the online map for every hole and I still did not find some of the tee locations.

road directly behind 1 and 3 has road on both sides of the basket.

No tees and no signage.
Other Thoughts: No play on Sunday before noon

ADD TEE SIGNS. the biggest thing this course needs is the ability to find the tees.
4 out of 9 holes are nice quality, but the navigational issues ruin the experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    12/14/2011   2/28/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very easy Layout. Great for the beginning player or someone looking to improve their skills without going into wooded areas. Very open on most holes with some lightly wooded areas on others. Very light player traffic on this course most times.
Cons: Holes are not well marked. Could use markers in the tee areas.
Other Thoughts: Being on a church property, we must keep their property in mind and respect it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice warm-up course

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) very well maintained fairways
2) not a highly trafficed course
3) very good course for beginners, and a nice warmup for more experienced players
4)Very good use of given land
Cons: 1) VERY hard to find tees...use a map, or find a guide for this course
2) kind of easy for a more experienced player
Other Thoughts: nice clean course. Played this course on the way to east roswell, and was glad to have the warmup.

The creek along holes 4 (clean) and 5 (muddy) are about the only dangers to losing a disc here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great practice course

5+    7/28/2013   8/16/2011
Review By: larrod25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and shorter throwers. More advanced players can get in some good field work and mid-range practice. The course is rarely busy and can be played in about 30 minutes.
Holes 4,5 and 8 are pretty well designed. They require accurate shots and have serious hazards in play.
One of only 2 courses inside I-285, and very convenient to folks on the north side of Atlanta.
Cons: Length, or lack there of. There are only 2 holes playing over 300 ft., and with the exception of the aforementioned 4,5, and 8, are fairly open shots. The rough on hole 6 near the creek will eat your discs, as will the hill between 7 & 8 (definitely in play on 8).
Other Thoughts: This is an updated review of this course, as it has been a couple of years since my original assessment. I played this course last month, and was pleased to find tee signs and tee pad markers for all pin positions. It is now much easier to locate each tee area, though the flow of the course is still a bit strange. Hole #6 from the white tee is still the only 'Hard' hole on the course. At one point there was a plan to add a set of 'Black' tees that would add considerable distance/challenge to the course. Hopefully this will still happen.

If you are traveling to Atlanta and want a challenging course, play Perkerson, Roswell, Alexander, or Oregon Park. For those who live on the north side of town, however, you would be hard pressed to find a better place to practice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate Course

1    7/30/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is for the most part a beautifully manicured course. But just like when you were talking to that exotic dancer, you may want to play it safe when it comes to certain holes.

The first four holes play in front of the church, with #4 having your first encounter with a water hazard that you will see for the next 2 holes as well, giving you ample time to warm up before you attempt any water shots.

A wooded shot followed by some field shots finish up the course. It was easy to get a round in with 2 people in just under 30 minutes.

Baskets are in nice shape and are brightly painted. They are not new but do the job just fine. Each hole does have multiple tees which adds a nice level of difficulty. The newer black tees that are on some holes really change the required shots. Holes 2 & 4 are great examples of this. Instead of just placing a new tee marker 30' behind the others, they are placed off to the sides.

Navigation was pretty easy for a first timer without a map. After hole 7, go up the stairs and turn right. 8's tee is to the right of the brown building.

A nice mix of open holes and wooded but I would definitely call this a mostly open course.

Plenty of parking, easy access to highways and friendly people (everyone at least waved to us) all are great aspects of this course.
Cons: Some tee markers were hard to find. It looks like they have replaced some of them since I went there 2 weeks ago so this may be a non-issue now.

No restrooms, benches or trash cans. Granted, it wasn't busy and the course was immaculate but it would be nice to have a trash can by the parking lot.

Hole 6 tee is probably 30-40' from hole 9s basket. I overshot hole 9 and landed on 6's tee. Luckily there was no one there but it could be dangerous when it gets busy there. Be sure to call Fore.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 forces a shot through trees (or around) where the fairway runs parallel to the creek. One bad bounce and say bye to your disc. On the other hand, this is probably the only risk/reward type shot on the course so I listed this one neither as a pro or con.

Also, if your disc goes in the creek, find a long stick. It's pretty mucky. Trust me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.