Disc Golf Center
Chamblee, GA
Chamblee Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: billnchristy   (Taken 5/2009)
Bulletin board at entrance and tee #1



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Simple Course

5+    12/10/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Little to no traffic on the course nearly every time I played
-Safe and family friendly area
-Wide open setup allows you to fire off some bombs if that's what you're looking for
-Decent chance of getting lost discs back
-One of the view courses inside the perimeter
Cons: -Dirt tee pads are pretty terrible, but they serve their purpose
-The course is really simple. Don't know if that should be a con, but to me it makes all the holes run together
Other Thoughts: I know my review has more pros than cons but I'm still giving the course a 2.0. It's nothing great and just kind of serves its purposes as a quick 9. Nothing worth going out of the way for but it isn't terrible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 9 hole navigational nightmare

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 tee locations...If you can find them.
9 old Discatchers (No large yellow band)
decent distance on holes for a 9 hole church course

Hole 4 is long and semi-scenic with a ditch/creek on left and rolling hills on right.

hole 5 was a good design, with a hyzer route, but branches force you to keep it low, parking lot is a very slight safety issue.

Hole 6 has water in play on the left and 8 has a very steep drop off on the left.

Hole 9 is a nice elevated tee throwing mostly blind over 2 trees.
Cons: 1 inch high wooded pegs hidden in 2 inch grass are impossible to find.

Odd flow. the first 4 holes make a cursive e shape.

I had to check the online map for every hole and I still did not find some of the tee locations.

road directly behind 1 and 3 has road on both sides of the basket.

No tees and no signage.
Other Thoughts: No play on Sunday before noon

ADD TEE SIGNS. the biggest thing this course needs is the ability to find the tees.
4 out of 9 holes are nice quality, but the navigational issues ruin the experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Light and Fun

1    8/14/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a small 9 hole course that is open, light, and good for some simple practice. A nice beginner friendly course with not too much going on. Short holes and very well maintained. Not too difficult to find your way around.
Cons: It's at a church so I felt bad cursing or doing other irresponsible things. There is some disc eating kudzu that can be difficult. The holes are marked with wood markers and some were missing or in sad shape.
Other Thoughts: We wanted to play 18 so we played red to start and then switched to white. To keep it interesting (and because a group started as we finished the first 9) our #10 hole was the 6th hole white tees. It mixed it up enough for it to be fun. Easy course to break even on pro par which builds confidence. Don't expect many difficult shots, mostly if not entirely open. I will return but it isn't going to replace my home course any time soon. Simple, light, open, fun, and easy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

2-4    11/28/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent mix of open shots that play up and down hills with some holes that bend around the edge of the woods. The water hazard (creek) really affects the way you place shots on a couple of holes. The church grounds are well maintained and this is a safe neighborhood. There are two sets of "tee blocks" on each hole: two blocks of wood painted white (long) or red (short) with the hole number. No crowding, even when there were multiple groups playing at the same time.
Cons: This is a private church providing a course to the public for free, so please keep that in mind as I list the "cons" of this course. The amenities are of the bare minimum variety: no signage, benches or trash cans. Without having a map (a good one is available on this website via the Links/Files tab above), the course is almost impossible to navigate. Even with a map, it can be difficult to locate the small tee blocks unless you know where to look. The tee blocks were completely missing from holes 6, 7, 8 and 9 (other than the white ones on #9). There is a lot of interference with other church activities. For example, the baskets on two holes (2 and 8) are placed adjacent to a playground. We had to skip #8 because we were worried about stray discs wandering onto one of the playgrounds.
Other Thoughts: The playground danger and lack of amenities are what resulted in my low rating. That aside, this is actually a fun little course! The church has done a good job of fitting nine holes on their property and maintaining decent separation. Even though none of the holes are especially challenging, they don't seem repetitive or boring. There are a few blind holes that require interesting shots to compensate for the rises and dips in the terrain. This is a great course to take the kids or for beginners to work on their game, as well as for anyone who wants to get in a quick short round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fun little course

1    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a pretty fun nine hole course that meanders through the somewhat scenic property of the Chamblee First United Methodist Church. Let me start by saying that I think that it is really cool that a church would be willing to be a part of disc golf. I was surprised that the baskets were in plain view as you pull into the parking lot and not buried somewhere in the back of the property. It was really inviting from the get go and I felt welcomed. Well, on to the review.

This is certainly not the most challenging course in the world but sometimes fun trumps challenge. This course defiantly is no exception. These nine holes boast a mainly open layout with a couple of holes that are wooded or have fairways that require some accuracy to reach the basket. One through three are wide open shots and are good for warming up. A creek runs along the fairway of hole number four and adds a little interest and risk for a change of pace. Five is the most wooded hole and it seemed to be the most challenging in terms of the accuracy needed to avoid the trees. Six's white tee is a dogleg turning slight left with what is the closest thing to a punch out on the course. The red tees will have you throwing what is almost a ninety degree left hand dogleg and is probably the most difficult shot on the course. Seven which is not unlike one, two, and three, is a pretty easy shot. But too much power will send you into some pretty heavy vegetation and you could spend some extra time looking for your disc if you put a little extra on your drive. This is a pretty good risk for this course, relatively speaking. Eight also has a little risk tossed in. While it is short, the playground on the left and thick kudzu on the right will have you aiming carefully. The trees scattered near the basket add to the challenge as well. Nine was my favorite on the course. The red and white tees both gave different looks at the basket and both were equally fun. White throws across a pretty steep kudzu hill and through a couple of small trees. The red is a slight downhill over the outdoor sanctuary.

Two tee pads for each hole are always nice. Based on the land available, it seems the designers tried to place the white and red pads in such a way to make them distinctively different from one another. Being a fairly open course, obviously they could only do so much. But still, you can play both pads and get your full eighteen holes without feeling like you are playing the same nine twice. The course flows pretty well and is pretty easy to follow.

The natural tee pads are clearly marked with timbers painted with their corresponding colors/numbers. The pads, although natural, are in great shape with no ruts, roots, loose gravel, etc to distract you.

The baskets are in great shape and easily spotted out on the course. They are numbered as well.

I am running the risk of over using the phrase butů This is a perfect course to introduce a new player. It is very easy and short, but most of all, it was really fun.
Cons: No signs, benches, trashcans, or other amenities that you like to have on an established course. I didn't try to enter the building but I think it would be best to assume that you can't get in. In other words, go to the bathroom before you get out there to play.

The Innova baskets are in great shape but they are the single chain models. I guess what some may consider the too short/too easy holes can be made more challenging by the potential spit outs by the cheaper baskets.

Although the playgrounds were empty when I played, I don't think baskets should ever be placed near where unsuspecting people, especially children, may gather.

A few holes played near/across roads and that is not ideal. Most likely you won't see many people so it should not come into play. You will also find yourself playing near a parking lot.

I thought the transition between five and six was poorly thought out. The tee pad for six actually backtracks into the fairway of number five, thirty feet or so behind the basket.

You may have to look around on you first trip to find the tee pads. As I mentioned in the "pros" section they are clearly marked but they are on the ground and kind of hard to see from far away. Find number one and then you are good to go for the rest of the round!
Other Thoughts: Wow, how cool is it for a church to install a disc golf course? I have seen a few on this site but this is the first one that I have actually played. I hope some more pop up in the near future. I was also surprised that the church did not promote their faith out on the course in any way whatsoever. I have seen where others have put scriptures on tees signs, etc. I was actually looking forward to seeing how they would evangelize out on the course.

If you are passing through the area stop in and play! If you live in North Atlanta you pass it all the time as you cruise across the top end of I-285. It is only two minutes off the exit. I don't suggest a lengthy drive to play here by any means but if you are in the area stop by for sure. Enjoy!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.