Chamblee, GA
Chamblee Church DGC Share
Uploaded By: billnchristy Hole #5 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Simple Course

5+    12/10/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Little to no traffic on the course nearly every time I played
-Safe and family friendly area
-Wide open setup allows you to fire off some bombs if that's what you're looking for
-Decent chance of getting lost discs back
-One of the view courses inside the perimeter
Cons: -Dirt tee pads are pretty terrible, but they serve their purpose
-The course is really simple. Don't know if that should be a con, but to me it makes all the holes run together
Other Thoughts: I know my review has more pros than cons but I'm still giving the course a 2.0. It's nothing great and just kind of serves its purposes as a quick 9. Nothing worth going out of the way for but it isn't terrible.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Quick, Easy, Fun

5+    8/9/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: thewesticle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Never very crowded at all. Weeknights have their fair share of folks playing a quick 9 while waiting on traffic to die down, but weekend evenings are wonderfully deserted. It's a good place to come and unload your bag and work on some shots that you're trying get comfortable with.

- The grass is mowed fairly regularly, and the course looks very nice.

- Having your disc returned is much more common here than at some of the other Atlanta courses, (I'm looking at you, Oregon Park), and locals will often leave found discs in the bulletin board case at the first tee.

- While not the longest or most obstacle-strewn course in the area, you will encounter some left-to-right shots, some water, a few elevation changes, and some tricky choices.
Cons: - Dirt teepads that were, until May 2013, unmarked. Also, the teepad color doesn't necessarily correlate with their difficulty. For example, #5 White Tee is the more difficult shot than #5 Red Tee, while #6 Red Tee is more difficult than #6 White. The new yellow posts with the new signs mark the white tees.

- The course is not overly challenging.

- The hill between 7 & 8 can be treacherous in the summer, and makes it very difficult to find discs who've strayed onto it. The Boy Scouts who have their lodge on top of the hill will sometimes bring goats to the park to remove the vegetation, but it has been awhile since the last time this has happened.
Other Thoughts: My first (and only) two aces have been at this course, and it definitely holds a bit of a soft spot in my heart.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 9 hole navigational nightmare

1    4/1/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 tee locations...If you can find them.
9 old Discatchers (No large yellow band)
decent distance on holes for a 9 hole church course

Hole 4 is long and semi-scenic with a ditch/creek on left and rolling hills on right.

hole 5 was a good design, with a hyzer route, but branches force you to keep it low, parking lot is a very slight safety issue.

Hole 6 has water in play on the left and 8 has a very steep drop off on the left.

Hole 9 is a nice elevated tee throwing mostly blind over 2 trees.
Cons: 1 inch high wooded pegs hidden in 2 inch grass are impossible to find.

Odd flow. the first 4 holes make a cursive e shape.

I had to check the online map for every hole and I still did not find some of the tee locations.

road directly behind 1 and 3 has road on both sides of the basket.

No tees and no signage.
Other Thoughts: No play on Sunday before noon

ADD TEE SIGNS. the biggest thing this course needs is the ability to find the tees.
4 out of 9 holes are nice quality, but the navigational issues ruin the experience.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

1    12/14/2011   2/28/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very easy Layout. Great for the beginning player or someone looking to improve their skills without going into wooded areas. Very open on most holes with some lightly wooded areas on others. Very light player traffic on this course most times.
Cons: Holes are not well marked. Could use markers in the tee areas.
Other Thoughts: Being on a church property, we must keep their property in mind and respect it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice warm-up course

1    10/22/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) very well maintained fairways
2) not a highly trafficed course
3) very good course for beginners, and a nice warmup for more experienced players
4)Very good use of given land
Cons: 1) VERY hard to find tees...use a map, or find a guide for this course
2) kind of easy for a more experienced player
Other Thoughts: nice clean course. Played this course on the way to east roswell, and was glad to have the warmup.

The creek along holes 4 (clean) and 5 (muddy) are about the only dangers to losing a disc here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great practice course

5+    7/28/2013   8/16/2011
Review By: larrod25
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners and shorter throwers. More advanced players can get in some good field work and mid-range practice. The course is rarely busy and can be played in about 30 minutes.
Holes 4,5 and 8 are pretty well designed. They require accurate shots and have serious hazards in play.
One of only 2 courses inside I-285, and very convenient to folks on the north side of Atlanta.
Cons: Length, or lack there of. There are only 2 holes playing over 300 ft., and with the exception of the aforementioned 4,5, and 8, are fairly open shots. The rough on hole 6 near the creek will eat your discs, as will the hill between 7 & 8 (definitely in play on 8).
Other Thoughts: This is an updated review of this course, as it has been a couple of years since my original assessment. I played this course last month, and was pleased to find tee signs and tee pad markers for all pin positions. It is now much easier to locate each tee area, though the flow of the course is still a bit strange. Hole #6 from the white tee is still the only 'Hard' hole on the course. At one point there was a plan to add a set of 'Black' tees that would add considerable distance/challenge to the course. Hopefully this will still happen.

If you are traveling to Atlanta and want a challenging course, play Perkerson, Roswell, Alexander, or Oregon Park. For those who live on the north side of town, however, you would be hard pressed to find a better place to practice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Immaculate Course

1    7/30/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 38  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is for the most part a beautifully manicured course. But just like when you were talking to that exotic dancer, you may want to play it safe when it comes to certain holes.

The first four holes play in front of the church, with #4 having your first encounter with a water hazard that you will see for the next 2 holes as well, giving you ample time to warm up before you attempt any water shots.

A wooded shot followed by some field shots finish up the course. It was easy to get a round in with 2 people in just under 30 minutes.

Baskets are in nice shape and are brightly painted. They are not new but do the job just fine. Each hole does have multiple tees which adds a nice level of difficulty. The newer black tees that are on some holes really change the required shots. Holes 2 & 4 are great examples of this. Instead of just placing a new tee marker 30' behind the others, they are placed off to the sides.

Navigation was pretty easy for a first timer without a map. After hole 7, go up the stairs and turn right. 8's tee is to the right of the brown building.

A nice mix of open holes and wooded but I would definitely call this a mostly open course.

Plenty of parking, easy access to highways and friendly people (everyone at least waved to us) all are great aspects of this course.
Cons: Some tee markers were hard to find. It looks like they have replaced some of them since I went there 2 weeks ago so this may be a non-issue now.

No restrooms, benches or trash cans. Granted, it wasn't busy and the course was immaculate but it would be nice to have a trash can by the parking lot.

Hole 6 tee is probably 30-40' from hole 9s basket. I overshot hole 9 and landed on 6's tee. Luckily there was no one there but it could be dangerous when it gets busy there. Be sure to call Fore.
Other Thoughts: Hole 5 forces a shot through trees (or around) where the fairway runs parallel to the creek. One bad bounce and say bye to your disc. On the other hand, this is probably the only risk/reward type shot on the course so I listed this one neither as a pro or con.

Also, if your disc goes in the creek, find a long stick. It's pretty mucky. Trust me.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Local Course

5+    6/25/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: CX Novice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Close to work, easy to navigate to during rush hour (inside the Perimeter).
2. Easy to park, shaded; not too crowded.
3. Simple, intuitive course layout; varied terrain.
4. New tee markers for red & white; new black tee markers coming soon.
5. It's fun; that's most important, right?
Cons: 1. Only 9 holes, but that may change this year.
2. Grass not always mowed.
3. Sometimes crowded on week nights due to its location.
4. Don't play before 1:00pm on Sundays, this is a church.
Other Thoughts: The church staff are very nice and accomodating; they welcome all disc golf players, regardless whether they are congregation members or not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good practice course

5+    2/17/2011   2/17/2011
Review By: Hegemony
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In town. I can play this course on the way home instead of sitting in traffic. Good for a quick DG fix on a work day.

A mix of open holes and a couple with mild obstacles (5, 6, and 8.) The disc-eating areas near 4, 5, and 6 can be easily avoided by playing conservative and not "going for it" or you can add some risk and challenge yourself.

I've now played this course several times, and it's obvious that the designer intended to offer different types of shots between the two tee areas on most holes.
Cons: Course is probably too simple for advanced players to play for anything more than a casual round.

No trash cans or bathrooms. You're never that far from the parking lot, so there's no reason not to take trash out with you.

Some of the tee markers have washed away due to the storms in early 2011.
Other Thoughts: (April 2011) A couple of church staff members were out talking to players about what they could do to improve the course, short of adding more holes. They were also returning discs that they had retrieved out of the creek. They really seem to care about

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 30-minute Par Course

1    2/10/2011   2/10/2011
Review By: KrayzeeD
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Quick course, only 9 holes - it's a great stop if you're still wanting more after playing East Roswell or Wills or something else not too far away.

*Well kept - there is a lot of talk about kudzu - this has been resolved. I saw no kudzu during my entire round. Grass was mowed to perfection.

*For what it is, it's a well thought out course - nothing terribly challenging here, but still fun holes.

*Great course to play two rounds on, even if you're playing it as a follow-up after another course.

*Peaceful and relaxing, despite being on busy road.

*Easy access from I-285 without having to get into too much traffic.

*Church passer-by's were all friendly and smiled and waved despite the fact that I was a stranger playing a game on their property.
Cons: *As other reviewers have said, it lacks amenities, but as they have also said, it's a church and they probably aren't planning on dumping a lot of money into the course.

*This course would be far less fun and more hazardous on days where there is a crowd playing. There are some small sections where holes (pin/tee or tee/pin) merge or come very close together.

*Potential disc loss in water on 4, 5, and 6. I had a bad throw on 6 and almost lost one of my favorite discs - I got lucky and it settled on one of the larger rocks in the water where i could reach it. A few inches further out and it would have been unfindable without wading in shin-deep water and probably fingering through mud.

*If there's car traffic, you will have to be extra cautious on the first 4 holes - amazingly, I was there on a Thursday at 2:00 and was having to wait to take shots for fear of hitting a passing car or at the least scaring the crap out of the driver. I assume they have daycare going on, so consider the hours when you choose to play. Also, your tee shot on 3 is right next to/in a parking lot - be careful if cars are present.

*Like many courses, gets muddy on a few holes after a good rain.

*Innova baskets aren't very good at catching discs - this was the cause of both my bogeys.

*Tee placement seems a bit odd - red seems to be the challenge tee on some holes while white seems to be the challenge tee on others. Also, not sure if I was just not looking hard enough or if some vandalism has occured, but I couldn't find both tee sets on all the holes.

*Watch out for the playgrounds if kids are present.
Other Thoughts: I normally would not rate a course based on one round, but for as small and straight-forward as Chamblee is, I felt it was appropriate. As I said, this is a great course if you are just looking to get some extra holes in after a round somewhere else. I can't see many people making the trip out to play here for their only round of the day - and I would advise against it as well. I wrapped this course up in 30 minutes, and that included a few rethrows experimenting with different discs/flights on a few holes.

I rate the course as 2.5 simply because there's not a whole lot going for it, but really nothing bad about it either.

Ignore the comments about the course being hard to navigate. If you get lost on a course this simple and short, you either are not paying attention or you're incompetent.

The creek that runs through here is beautiful and intimidating. On 4 it's not as much a hazard, slightly more on 5, and can swallow a bad shot on 6 - and super drivers beware on 9.

A final note... seriously people - I know we're disc golfers. I know what we do, what behaviors we have, and what activities we choose to partake in. But this is a church that was nice enough to set up a course and let the public play for free. I picked up two beer cans today off this course and wouldn't be surprised if there were more I didn't see. Be respectful to the property, regardless of their/your religious views. There are no trash cans on the course - so put your crap in your bag/pockets or just don't take it out there at all. And you really shouldn't have beer (or other substances of a questionable nature) here anyway.

Always remember you are a GUEST here and you should act as such.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.