Oak Harbor, WA 
Fort Nugent Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: ninja-don Hole #13 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 139ft.   3 / 139ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Another "if I lived here" course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One thing that I love about this course is how it manages to play around a potentially busy sports park. Fort Nugent has football fields, soccer fields, a baseball diamond, basketball courts, and a giant playground, but the course doesn't really interfere with any of these. Lowell Shields did a great job with the land available to him and managed to fit 18 holes into a pretty condensed area. It doesn't look that condensed, but considering how narrow the area available to him was it's actually pretty impressive. Having played several of his courses now, I'm starting to see a lot of similarities.

The baskets, while not in "like new" condition anymore, are still in solid shape and catch just fine. I'm not a big fan of DiscCatchers, but they work really well on this course because you can pick them out amongst the trees. The teepads are in solid shape as well and are plenty grippy (although they're unnecessarily long).

The navigation is relatively easy. Each teepad has a sign showing possible routes, basket placements, and lengths. Tape on some of the baskets would have helped, but overall the flow was easy to follow.

The variety of shots here was decent. There are opportunities for tomahawks, thumbers, flicks, and backhand shots. Even on the short holes in the woods there's opportunity to throw shots you aren't used to throwing if you go off of a tree and into the rough. I have to give credit where credit is due on this, because any time that you're forced out of your comfort zone? The designer did his job.

Favorite holes: 1 and 18. 1 is a fun little shot from the field into the trees. 18 is a good close to the round by finally allowing you to air one out for 472', but it's still narrow enough with the road and soccer fields that placement is extremely important.
Cons: I just couldn't fall in love with this course. The lines were there, the shots were there, and the fun factor was there, but it just didn't feel like it was worth the drive.

The worst part of the course had to be the length. Holes 1 and 2 make you think you're going to have to work for your pars, but after that you settle into a nice run of short and technical holes. Some of these are even laughably short. The course flow here is kind of messed up as well. No disrespect to Lowell, but this seems to be his biggest weakness. You can see this at Terrace and North Park as well. You hole out and then have to walk back across your fairway, or up it, or find some other way to expose yourself to throws from other holes. There are even holes that throw back toward the previous teepad with very little protection other than a few trees. Why there aren't any mandos here is beyond me. You run into this through most of the wooded holes starting with the clash between 5 and 6.

Then you get to hole 14, and it just gets repetitive. Throw 250' or so with a fence 10' to your left. Then do it again. And again. And again. And again. Hole 16 was kind of interesting due to the low ceiling directly in front of the tee, but other than that there's zero variety to the field holes. They're really a lot shorter than they need to be too. This is evidenced by the walkout from 17 to 18 that is longer than two or three of the preceding holes combined. I'm thinking that this 18 was added later, as there's an unused teepad along the fence between 17 and 18. Hole 18 does finally let you air one out for about 425'... With a road on your left. But at least the road is farther out than 10', and it adds a nice challenge.

Least favorite holes: All of the ones under 200'. I landed some birdies on these and I guess it forced me to throw in ways that I wasn't accustomed to, but it just feels like you're being cheated when you play an 18 hole course with 133' holes on it.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy this course, and if I lived on Whidbey I'd be here every day. It's a great "tweener" course for people who are ready to step up their game a bit from the easy nine holes of the state, but don't think they're ready for the "tougher" courses out there. But it's so far away from everywhere else and it's not that challenging, which keeps me from wanting to go back. It's a fun course and is definitely worth a stop if you're in the area, but don't make a day trip of it unless you plan on hitting other courses or going somewhere else along the way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring for experienced golfers

1    6/1/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: akoenig
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Treed
- Nice park with a big playground for kids
- Clean bathrooms
- Well marked, good signage
Cons: - Repetitive: The first 12 holes were all basically the same shot
- Short holes: Nothing to really air it out on until the last 6
- Poor flow: It's easy enough to walk between holes, but one hole doesn't flow into another
- Blind holes: Almost all of the first holes with the layout I played were blind. I like having a few blind holes, but every hole just gets frustrating
- Thick bush: Spent lots of time looking for discs, even when I thought I had a good shot
- Wide open holes in the back have little thought put into them
Other Thoughts: - My wife thought this course was OK, but she only plays once or twice a year. I play once a week or so and have been for 10 years and I was bored by the third hole.
- Definitely not worth going out of your way to play

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fort Nugent DGC

1    7/28/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very sports-centered park in Oak Harbor. The park seems very well established and busy with people there for activities besides disc golf. Disc golf is also quite established and seems to be a well-received addition to the park. There are signs around some of the busier parts of the course warning about flying discs which is nice to see. Tee signs are pretty nice. They show a map of the course and the distance of the hole. I will say that sometimes the scale of the map seems hard to follow on some of the very short holes; it's hard to describe. Concrete tee pads are great and all angled in the right direction. Baskets are DISCatchers and seem to be in great condition. The practice basket has a circle of logs around it (although I'm not sure what the circle is for. It's definitely not the 10 meter circle). Most of the holes are short and wooded and are a good introduction to wooded holes. Even though you are playing in pretty thick woods, the fairways are actually pretty wide compared to other wooded courses I've played. Almost all of the wooded holes can be reached with a putter or mid range at the most which is another good intro to wooded courses.
Cons: The flow of the course is weird. There are quite a few holes that make you throw really close to the next tee pad. Some backtracking in places. The course smacks you with ALL of the wooded holes at once and then gives you the open holes. After hole 12 the course gets very boring. It's all just about 300 foot open shots to the basket. I will give them credit for utilizing the hills near the soccer field, but that's still not enough to save this boring trek back to the parking lot. The walk from 17 to 18 is pretty lengthy and it really just seems like they're trying to get you back to where you started. I felt like there was no variety in the holes. It's either a typical wooded turnover shot or a wide open hyzer shot. I just felt like the design wasn't very creative in this course. I felt like they were just trying to shove a course in here, and they did an okay job, but I think it could have been done much better.
Other Thoughts: I was very conflicted with the rating of this course because I really didn't like the design much at all. I felt like they could have made a challenging wooded 9 holes, but instead they shortened all the holes and shoved 18 in. With that being said, all the amenities are what made this course enjoyable. Who doesn't like bright tee signs and excellent baskets? Overall, I really did have fun here and I would definitely make a trip back if I was in the area again.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course if you're in the neighborhood

1    7/15/2013   7/18/2013
Review By: bleds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice practice space next to #1.

The signage, tee pads, and baskets are all top notch.

Some nice tight, fun holes to test your accuracy.

Plenty of birdy and ace possibilities as many of the holes are reachable even with modest driving skills.

Solid local group keeps the course it great shape.
Cons: There are ball fields adjacent to the course so you have to be careful to avoid those areas with your throws.

Holes 14-17 are pretty repetitive, straight shots along the fence line.

Some more experienced players might want more length to the course.
Other Thoughts: Given the space they've done a nice job with this course. Great to have one up on Whidbey Island.

Definitely give it a try if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signage.
Easy navigation.
Front half is mostly wooded which adds to the challenge - I really liked it.
Baskets were all in great shape.
Concrete tee pads
Bag hooks on most signs
Plenty of trash cans
Cons: Back nine runs along a fence on the left, which makes it harder for left hand players.
Other Thoughts: The front half really challenges you to make tight shots, and stay in control at all times. Lose focus and your digging through the underbrush for your disc.
Lots of activity, great to see folks playing!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    9/1/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: medikated
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs, cement tee pads, nice baskets and good practice basket. Not hard to navigate. Good for all skill levels. Nice clean park with other decent ammenities.
Cons: Some holes are so short they seem like nothing more than challenging putts. Last few holes are squeezed in along the property line along soccer fields. Would like to see more trash cans and benches.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this cousre.

Even though a good number of holes are less than 200' you still need to be accurate to avoid getting into trouble.

When football practice is going on holes 2 and 6 may have to be skipped.

Also watch out when teeing of on hole 3, there is a blind path leading from the housing area to the park about 10' in front of the pad that people will take, I almost let a drive rip into someones grandpas head.

No really elvation changes but that doesn't bother me since the course has a good number of holes in the woods forcing you really on accuracy.

Finally I've played this course on a regular basis since it's opened, it has come a long way and in a completely postive manner. I can't wait to see how much more this course will improve.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty par course

2-4    10/28/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Variety of tight technical shots and some open ones as well
Excellent Tee pads and Signs
Great Baskets and sweet practice basket
Some really difficult narrow fairways
Awesome chipmunk houses and really sweet local wildlife ( the chip munks are brave here!)
Beautifully groomed park with a good place to practice your skills, fun for a beginner or more advanced player
Cons: Can be busy , like un playable busy if soccer or football pratice is in the way 4-6pm
Field looks are repetitive hyzer shots
No real change in elavation which is always a bummer to me.
Lacking the adventurous feeling i tend to gravitate tword
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a good course, and to be fair they used this land very efficently IMO. However that dosnt mean it really satisfies my discgolf craving to the fullest. Its a great technical pratice course with opportunities to play the wind, however lacking epic holes to make it a great course puts it at a 3. They have done with good with what they have however, i just wish they were given a little more!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not Great

1    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Fun technical shots
- Challenging, yet easy
- High Fun Factor
- Unique tee shots
- Good concrete tee pads
- Bag hooks on every hole.
Cons: - Extremely short course
- Strangely shaped fairways
- Too easy
- No tee signs
- Minor navigation issues
- Some holes become unplayable due to other activities going on in the park
- Holes 12-16 are extremely repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Fort Nugent DGC is a short course that has both tight woods and open field shots. Despite its short length,I found the course extremely enjoyable to play. Most of the tight woods holes are gimicky tight wooded shots, where the fairways don't necessarily "fit" the flight of a disc. On most of these holes it is "ideally" easy to score well, but if you get off the fairway the woods have the potential to add strokes. The open field holes add some distance but are extremely repetitive and RHBH friendly. Some of the open field holes also compete with other activities going on in the park. My group had to skip two holes because of football parents sitting in the fairways watching their kids practice. There were also minor issues with fairways overlapping. A group had to wait for us to tee off on # 10 before they played #13 and we had to wait for a group to tee on #2 before we played #1. Overall, the course was groomed pretty well, and the rough was bad in spots, but manageable. With proper disc golf amenities such as tee signs and better designed holes that avoid other activities this course could maybe stretch to a 3.5/5. With that said, this course is unique and enjoyable to play. If you are in the area I would give this course at least one play before you move on to bigger things.

*For those worried about water, the hazard is merely a shallow creek and it should not be difficult to retrieve your disc.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course!

1    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Ryman90
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/30/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love this course, I wish it was closer to where I lived.

Great mix of technical woodsy and open fairways.

Good course if you throw sidearm.

Lots of alternate pin placements.

Lots of signage, easy to find your way around.

Cons: Can't really think of many cons. The last few holes have a fence which is a hassle.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Whoa here come the improvements!

5+    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gsdtimmay
Played: 80  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is starting to evolve. It now has multiple pin placements on 7 different holes which always adds some freshness to the feel of a course. Also the course is back up to a full 18 holes. #10 along the baseball field has been removed in order to keep the risk of injury to innocent bystanders down. #17 had been gone for a while for other reasons. However two new CHALLENGING holes are now fully playable in the woods, with both of them giving you a real run for your money in order to save par, let alone birdie. These two holes alone have raised the average strokes to par by almost a full shot in both doubles and league. (Sundays at noon, Wednesdays at 5:30pm) The course continues to confront you with a plethora of different shot types, so learning how to throw forehand, backhand, tommies, thumbers, rollers and more is to your benefit as all of these throws are in play at some point of the round. Discs, bags, minis, straps, and more are always available for purchase from DiscAddiction during the club events, which is very convenient for most players. INSANELY EASY TO NAVIGATE! (always the biggest little plus)
Cons: The back nine tends to get a little waterlogged in the wintertime which necessitates bringing non breathable shoes :) The two new holes are not completely cleared out as far as the sides of the fairways are concerned. This will be addressed by the club as we head into the summer I'm sure, and the rough will not be quite so punishing. As some of the baskets had to be moved around with the addition of the new holes, the number on the back 9 tee signs do not match up with the actual number of the holes. Tim is working in conjunction with the parks department and they have new tee signs as well as an updated course map in the works.
Other Thoughts: So much work has gone into this course in the last year or so. The improvements are substantial. If you came to this course pre summer 2010 and felt like the course had a few shortcomings, I'd tell you to come back and look at the evolving product, it really is night and day from a year ago. The leagues and doubles are well organized and cheap, if you want more information on them just look up Whidbey Island Disc Golf on Facebook and add them as a friend, you'll always be kept in the loop of what's going on. Hope to see a few new faces out here this summer!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.