Newbury, OH 
Friends of Punderson DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 517ft.   4 / 597ft.   5 / 666ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 White Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Friends of Punderson

1    10/7/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Sbartlebaugh
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Chutes through the trees bending left and right
- not too muddy under wet weather
- multiple tee pads
- can get a variety of lengths with the varied tee pads
- uphill, flat, and downhill holes
- good signs for each hole, distance labeled on tee pad, and signs to next tee, easy to navigate course
- benches every few holes.
Cons: - most holes are tree chutes, could use more variety. (I prefer the tree chutes to short open courses)
Other Thoughts: Course was in good shape even in the rain after a couple of days of rain.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/19/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: trumpetman330
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging woods course
-Wide variety of wood landscape
-Hole to Hole navigation was well laid out and easy to follow
Cons: -They're adding 3 new holes as of July 2012 and they were confusing to find the different tee boxes
-Some parts of the woods are too thick; lost a disc in the thicket
-Not very forgiving in some areas with trees and thick, tall grass
-White tees are not paved; Red and Blue are.
-Tripped over many stumps. Need to be trimmed down all the way
Other Thoughts: I was not very fond of this course. Firstly, I would highly not reccomend this course for either a beginner or early intermediate player. The course is primarily if not all woods, and good aim is a must have.
They are attempting to add 3 new holes which is very nice, but as of July 2012 they didn't not have Red, White, and Blue tees on all of the holes.
Also be cautious of the number of stumps that are about 8 inches off the ground; I tripped multiple times.
But overall, if they were to clear out some of the thicket and widen some of the holes, I would go back to play again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Punderson State Park

1    9/10/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, three things really stuck out for me at this course:

Course Design. This course is really laid out great. I love that there's an isolated practice area and that the course both starts and ends there. The "around the world" bricks at the practice basket were a nice touch as well. The holes themselves are laid out in such a fashion that I had a shot of hitting par on every hole but it took some technical shots to make that happen. Great use of the land throughout the course.

Maintenance. This course obviously has some very dedicated locals that are spending a lot of time making this course great. It is still rough in areas, especially on the new holes, but everyone in my group commented on how well several areas were cleared and the amount of work required to accomplish that.

FUN! This course really was fun to play. To be honest, it kicked my butt though. I shot a 41 for 9 holes, 55 with the three new holes added in. I feel like I'm capable of shooting low 30s but there was such a variety of shots, many of them with little room for error, that I had some tree trouble. Despite this, I really couldn't wait to see what the next hole would look like.
Cons: Under Construction - This course is very much still in the building stage in places. The main course had a few spots that still need some work and the three new holes are quite rough cut. Having said that, I think the rough terrain holes just enhanced the experience for me.

MUD. There was a lot of water present in places. This might not be an issue normally as we did play after an all night rain.
Other Thoughts: What's written above pretty much sums up the course, both pro and con.

The locals are obviously busting their butt to make this course look like it does and they're quite friendly as well. One member of my group lost a disc into the lake on hole #3. We went down to see if we could fish it out and ended up finding four discs before we located his. A few locals showed up while we were attempting to stay dry and retrieve discs and one of them waded right in to save us the trouble. They also walked us to the first of the new holes and explained how to traverse them. They were very helpful and I had to give them some kudos.

I rated this course a 3.0 but I think that once the other nine holes are ready and the course has a few years to beat in, this is going to be one of the best courses in the area. Certainly worth the two hour drive from my house.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Woods, Woods, Woods!

1    8/6/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: JoseCafe704
Played: 29  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/17/2010
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tees at each hole with holes 4 and 6 having two baskets, making it so you can play through 9 twice and not have to play the same baskets on these holes your second time through. I could tell that there are a lot of dedicated people involved with the implementation and maintenance of the course. Hole 1 is extremely fun and almost completely downhill.
Cons: The course being relatively new, the evidence of such was all over. Downed trees with exposed stumps all over fairways, piles of wood from clearing the course stacked near tees and along fairways. I imagine this course will stay pretty muddy in the spring time for years to come. The tees were a bit rudimentary, with short "t-posts" set on either side of the natural tee area with a color spray painted on the top indicating tee. I understand that with three tees at every hole, the time and money needed to establish tee pads could be quite monumental though. There's a lack of variety, with nearly every fairway in tight wooded areas, leaving the player with no real opportunity to have that all out drive from the tee that I think every course should have at least once.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that there's still a lot of improvements in the future for this course, and I look forward to one day playing Punderson again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A well designed, growing course

2-4    8/9/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Three tees per hole
Course seems to be expanding, looks like some new holes were installed. (found a hole 12, but no tee, nor 10 or 11)
Professional and easy to read tee signs at each hole
While deep in the woods there was very little underbrush and we never felt like our discs would get lost. (I'm sure it's very possible, especially with the lake right next to hole 2)
Some clever basket placement. Hole 6 plays like hole 17 of Deis Hill Park, but without the huge dropoff if you miss.
A practice basket to warm up, and a basket for a game of Around the World are available.
It's in beautiful Punderson State Park.
Cons: The tees are natural, not concrete. Some are only marked with an iron pike in the ground. If you're not paying attention it's not difficult to miss a tee. given the designer's continued effort with this course, I'm sure that tees are in the near future.
Other Thoughts: It's been a few years since I had been to PSP, and this was my first time playing disc golf here. Because we got to the park around twighlight the course had sort of a surreal "Blair Witch" vibe going on, plus the sky was gloomy. This made the woods somewhat gloomy, and seeing a busted up 1940's era vehicle in the middle of the woods on hole 5 added to the ambiance. (We also saw a herd of cattle about 300 feet from hole 3, apparently still on park property! It was funny, we saw a lone black cow at first, the rest were obscured by a tree. My friend Alex thought it was a bear and nearly took off... priceless!) The course is well thought out, and appears to be evolving as more holes seem to be forthcoming. (we found a hole 12, though the map indicates 9 holes and we didn't find a 10 or 11, may have been us though.) Hole 1 (red) plays off the side of a hill, (I had wondered earlier in the week if there were any sloped tees out there, every one I've thrown off of before had been on flat ground.) Punderson Lake hugs holes 2 & 3, so be careful that you don't lose your disc to it. Hole 3 from red is extremely short, in the range of 175', but the tee is very well placed behind some young trees, making the shot a challenge to figure out. Your best bet here might be a tomahawk / roller. Hole 6 plays through two stately rows of trees, much like hole 17, "King's Row" of Deis Hill Park in Dover, Ohio, but much narrower. I managed to get a Roadrunner through, though that was much more a case of being blessed to have the good shot than any kind of skill on my part. Let's just say that I was thanking God to not hit any trees! Tee 8 was a tad difficult to find, though that might be more our fault as each tee sign has directions to get to the next tee. That said, all of the tees are natural, and are marked usually by a pole sticking out of the ground, or a small brick embedded in the ground. (sometimes both.) If you're not paying attention you might easily miss them. We played all the red (beginner or amateur) tees, and for the first time considered that maybe we should play intermediate. Some of holes did seem a bit close, though maybe that's a good thing. Perhaps the group I play with isn't as green as we used to be? (probably not, but it's a nice thought.)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 better then expected

1    5/21/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 52  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great tee signs (see photos)
-3 different tees for each hole
-great shiny new baskets
-good flow, mainly just following a old beat in trail the whole time
-practice basket with interesting putting game involving stone markers
-fairways have no brush on them making it relatively easy to find your disc (unless you throw it in the water on hole 2, RIP Crush)
-lots of shots around and between trees (accuracy is a must)
-benches along the paths
-nice park with natural surroundings
Cons: -only 9 holes
-no open bomb holes
-short tees are very short with little changes in distance
-poison ivy
-gets dark on fairways as most of the course is under heavy canopy
-in the middle of nowhere
-little to no elevation changes
-natural tee pads
-muddyyyy
-no difficult putting situations (all greens are flat and open)
-no bathrooms (maybe an outhouse somewhere)
-no playground or place for the kids/family

Other Thoughts: this is a very tight and technical course, if you don't like short right and left turns then you probably don't want to waste your time with it being only 9 holes.

i couldn't put this as a con because i understand the reasoning behind it, but having two pins on hole 4 is a waste. why not keep the long pin position and use the other basket for another hole on the course? 10 or 11 holes are better than 9! You could play an extra hole from the parking lot to the practice basket. why not make that hole one? this would remove the walk from the parking lot to tee 1 and this hole would have a open feel compared to the rest of the course.

I just want more holes here!

i did enjoy this course and would like to play from the blue and white tees as from the reds i could use my putter a lot of the time.

the discers here have done a great job clearing and stacking wood to outline the fairways.

If this course was 18 holes this would be a course i make it to a lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tight Woods Course

1    6/7/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: sean-arch
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course predominantly follows the mushing trails through the woods, so it is tight for the typical ametuer. There are always trees to both sides and overhead branches on most holes. It has a good balance of right and left turning holes. I played with my son (11) and he was able to negotiate the course really well. The course is new and there appears to be plans for two sets of tees which could add significant distance to some of the holes. Overall good design.
Cons: The course is very new, and as such, all the signage and tee markings are not fully in yet making navigation difficult the first time through. And because it is cut through the woods, there are no open holes where you can just let it rip. We are just into summer, and the bugs were already out in mass.
Other Thoughts: Good course - it is very close to home, so I am sure we will play here often. Expect the wayfinding to improve as the signage and tees are completed.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.