Newbury, OH 
Friends of Punderson DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #9 (Taken 9/2012)
4 / 340ft.   4 / 390ft.   4 / 440ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Long Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Technical Gem

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Baskets: Nice Mach III's, multiple baskets on four holes (9,12,14,15), alternate pin locations on a few holes (4, 11, and 17).

+Tees & Pads: Three sets of concrete tees, all have tee color and distance on a brick embedded in the pad. The whites just recently got poured.

+Memorable Holes: This place is packed with memorable holes.

+Challenge: This course takes the term "technical" to a new level.

+Scenery/Terrain: There are some really nice views of the lake. Nice use of elevation throughout the course.

+Misc: There are garbage cans and benches around the course.
Cons: -Navigation: There are a couple holes that could present navigation problems, but with signs and a map you should be okay. Not a major con by any means.

-Bugs and Mud: The course can get pretty buggy. There seems to have been a lot of effort put towards drainage control, but there are still some spots that get pretty muddy. It's mostly just the nature of the land.
Other Thoughts: I've played Punderson on two occasions. Once as part of a birdie bash and for a three round tournament. The whole course is a very challenging technical course. About half of the holes give nice scenic views of the nearby lake with four holes presenting a water hazard risk. Since it is such a technical course there are a lot of risk/reward options available. A couple good throws can build you up and one bad throw can bring you crashing down.

Almost every hole here is memorable in some way. Some of the highlights for me were 4, 8, 10, 15, and 18.

Hole 4 presents a lot of OB to simulate an island green. I think I'm just a sucker for this type of challenge. It can be a nice easy birdie, but it can be a bogey just as easily.
Hole 8 has elevated tees that look out towards the lake and requires a long sweeping anhyzer shot.
Hole 10 give a look that just begs you to attempt a throw down the neatly lined pines.
Hole 15 is among the most challenging holes I've played. It takes a straight, downhill drive to get into a good position and have a look at the baskets. Oh by the way, there's the lake at the bottom of the hill and all along the left side of the fairway up to the baskets.
Hole 18 is a beast of a hole. It demands pinpoint accuracy and a big arm. It would be tough without trees in the middle of the fairway, but they are there just waiting to send your disc shooting off into the rough.

The course is still being tweaked in some places and it seems that the people who work on it are always looking to improve. As it is, the course is worth the trip. Make a day, or camping trip, out of it. The park offers several other ways for the whole family to have a fun!

If you're a fan of wooded courses: go to Punderson. You can take your drivers, but you may just end up leaving them in your bag. There is a great range of challenge with the easiest being the reds to shorts. It's a beginners set up but beginners might not feel too welcome. If you think you've got a stellar technical game, step up to the blues and play to the longs, only the best will score well here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Technical Challenge

5+    4/28/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: ultimatediscman
Played: 115  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An overview:

I have played "Pundi" well over 50 times since its inception. This review is for the blues tees to all long baskets. There are five holes that have two baskets: 9, 12, 14, 15 & 18. (18 second basket fairway is not complete) I played each stage as it has evolved into a technical championship course. It was carved out of a heavy forested rolling terrain. There is a nice lake seen by many holes with only two risky shots on 1, 3 and 15.The course in not finished. It will take a few years to break in the new holes.

It is a very scenic setting with rolling hills, water, heavy forest and only car noise on the back few holes. This course is road worthy. It will test the best players on every hole. The second shot has to be a solid as the first or it will be difficult to par on most of the holes. It is a long course. Expect to play 2-3 hours the first time through. You will be tired when done. Most of the holes are tight fairways. Most of them are fair but brutal if you miss early. Even with a good drive, many times the disc hops of line a little. If it doesn't, your setup to make another difficult shot.

Signature holes:

1 - having played over 1000 holes, there is none like this one. It is not the best but very unique and tricky. (through something flippy and slow of the tee)
2 - second shot is harder than the 1st, birds can be made on the par 4. Rumor is they want to put a long basket on the island adjacent to the pin. ( about 100 feet over water)
4 - very scenic but not signature quality
8 - which I hate but its awesome down hill with the lake in sight
12 - if you don't mind throwing up hill over 300' the second or third shot it a stunning, narrow, fading hole the the long.
15 - down hill around a tough bend, water invites a backhand approach to a difficult to reach long basket.
18 - reminds me on hole 6 (I think) of Morraine. I am not liking the second shot though.
Cons: There is not really any shots to air it out without risk of losing a disc to the forest on every shot. This is not a fault of the designer. It is the lay of the land. Yet, there are many areas that need to be worked in.

My only issue is there should be a few trees removed on several holes. This would allow stronger arms to shave a few strokes and it wiould increase the pleasure and rating.
Other Thoughts: If you can through a controlled drive 300 - 350', you can score here. If you have a big gun, your not going to have a chance to show it. Your approach shot has to be good. A forehand comes in handy. You must be able to through 200' where you want it. If not, play the reds. They are fun with good challenge on half the holes.

In my rating the course is a 4. It really is a 3.75 because its not complete but I know it will be in the next couple years.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: chainwrecker
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -fun and challenging course
-beautiful scenery
-multiple tees/pins
Cons: -better restroom facilities
-more benches
-more trash recepticles
Other Thoughts: Taking into account that this course is a work-in-progress, would like to see some secondary lanes widened and cleared and some greens cut back.
When this course has all its amenities such as restrooms, benches and trash cans in place, and the fairways and white tees are complete, it will be a great disc golfing experience.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looking Good

5+    12/29/2012   8/2/2012
Review By: Tutkahnkuchacka
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
-Challenging Course
-Varied shots
-Large Tee Pads
-Free to play
-Pretty clean compared to other local courses
-Large Secluded Course - you don't have to worry about running into picnickers, hikers, or bystanders like at Sims or Lakeshore Park
Cons:
-Needs more parking
-Needs better restroom facility
-Lake will eat your discs (Lake has Leeches) LOL
-Poison Ivy
-White Tee Pads not complete
Other Thoughts: Course is looking great and much has changed since my last review. My only recommendation at this point would be to try it out. I haven't heard anyone complain about this course lately unless they don't like trees... They are still working on some of the tee boxes and grooming the course. Wooded uphill and downhill shots, several lake shots. Other cons I've overheard were that the layout is a bit confusing with longer walks between holes. Poison ivy still prevalent in some areas. Not a beginners course in my opinion but lots of fun to play.

Winter play is fun, but lots of deep snow, can get wet and sloppy with a thaw.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.