Rosemount, MN 
Brockway Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #4 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 155ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Another Fun S Metro Course

1    7/20/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +18 tees to 9 baskets. The tees are different enough from each other that they do make 18 different holes.
+Nice baskets
+Tees are labeled with hole number. If you play in order, you get shorts and longs mixed together but you do have the opportunity to choose which hole you want to play so you could play all longs or all shorts.
+Course looks well maintained. It is mowed well and there is mulch near some baskets.
+Decent parking and a porta-potty near the first tee.
+Friendly locals let me play through a few times.
+Fun elevation on most holes.
+Great distance variation, especially if you play all 18 holes. Some holes are easy ace and deuce runs while others you may struggle to get a 3.
+Fun for many levels of players. Not overwhelming to new players and not too easy for veterans.
+Layout is easy to follow.
+Shouldn't lose a disc here. Underbrush isn't too thick.
Cons: -Can be crowded on the evenings and weekends.
-Dirt tees
-Erosion happening near some baskets and tees. Mulch has been laid down to help this.
-On the shorter side, definitely not a championship course.
Other Thoughts: +This course is a lot of fun. It is similar to other nearby parks including Red Oak and Alimagnet. It is worth a stop, avoid evenings and weekends.
+This course has a high fun factor for me. I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 18 holer at heart!

1    12/19/2009   12/19/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is very well designed and though out. It uses the property to its full capacity. The only thing I would have liked is to see a basket down in one of those pits on the first hole. Not sire if those fill with water in the rainy season, but it would be a cool placement to set one down in that low spot.

2) Short tees were shoveled off in winter. (long tees were not).

3) Dual tees truly do create 18 different holes. Most of them have a totally different angle to play, and different obstacles to avoid. There really are only a couple that are simply in a straight line (like #2, but it is an additional 175' . . . and #7 which is an additional 235' which basically simply gets the forward tee even with the mando). Normally I would say 2 tees on a 9 hole course does not make an 18 holer, but this is as good of a representation of the design concept. Granted the back 9 will play much much easier because it is the forward tees and a massive footage difference (1020' shorter)

4) 4x4 or plank in the groundat the front of each tee. This is always a good idea because it generally will keep soil from moving out of the front of the tee as well as creating a front line for a natural tee . . . so you can call footfault on your buddy all day long.

5) Very nice variety in topography. This is a very gentle sloping rolling terrain. It is set almost in the middle of a bowl and there are rolling hills all around that middle section of the course. The design took all of those contours into consideration and whoever did the design did a great job in incorporating that into the mix.

6) Nice DGA baskets with number plates . . . it is always nice to see them installed correctly with the plate facing the tee too. It can save on a lot of confusion with difficult to find baskets!
Cons: 1) Stock DGA signs missing lots of info/diagrahms. I like those signs for how standard they are, but they need more info than just a distance. Not sure if they were finished yet, perhaps that is a later step since the course is new this year. I will not consider this a negative in terms of the disc rating, but I wanted to list it in case they never get changed. I will edit this when I see proof they have improved.

2) Course was under 6 inches of snow, but i was able to see all sorts of compaction issues, thin turf on some of the mounds where the snow had blown off, erosion around many of the tees. Those are real negatives, not sure when the course was originally installed, but if this layout has only been in the ground for 1 year, it will continue to get worse. Some maintenance is needed to get things back to par (oh wait what is par) . . . er should I say square one instead of par.

3) Dirt tees would leave a lot to be desired if played in a wet season. In winter though when shoveled they are actually not bad at all, although they aren't all that level in some spots.

4) The effort was there by people putting plastic garbage bags out there, but I doubt many people (probably only the locals who end up taking those bags off the course) will take the time to put their cans and such in the bag. It was an effort but the bag even looks bad tied around the teesign. Pack it in pack it out is still a better policy, but I do give them credit for taking the time to even put the bags out there.

5) A few area on the course do have some wild rose and other unwanted underbrush, but at least they don't have buckthorn in play anywhere.

6) WARNING: Seasonal con only. Long tees were not shoveled clear of snow. Short tees were however. I cannot knock the course rating down for this because it is all volunteer labor, but I would have loved to have the same shoveled spot on the long tees as the short tees. No biggie just worth mentioning to those playing in winter.
Other Thoughts: Again another solid 9 holer . . . but this one plays like an 18 hole course. I had to play both tees because I could tell from the layout map that the tee greatly changed the hole shape and thus shot selection. This type of concept could go a long way in furthering effective and efficient disc golf design. It requires way less land than an 18 hole course, less overhead initially because you only need 9 baskets, main tee signs could be on one set of tees and a simple post like they use here on the other tee with just a distance and hole #.

This is listed as a 2009 course but I think it had been there for a long time as the Brockway block course. Not sure if the course was redesigned or anything, but it certainly seems to have had some use. I couldn't tell how bad the turf and fairways were because of the snow but I did see signs of compaction and erosion. When dirt is sprayed all over the snow in spots you know there is an issue. Short tees were shoveled and dirt was visible underneath also, not sure if this was by design or just from use over the years. I just cant imagine a course intentionally starting with dirt tees or if at one point there was grass on them!

Good course, good forward and outside of the box thinking. It makes efficient use of the land while providing you with 18 very unique holes. No two are the same here, and there is great variety in distances and shot selection. the rolling terrain and well placed trees (or should I say well placed baskets around the existing trees). I had a good time and was glad I had time to get here to end my saturday run of 5 courses.

WARNING: Please keep in mind I cannot see everything about this course with 6 inches of snow on the ground. If something is amiss with my reviews please let me know. I think my analysis is accurate on everything I see, but if the turf issues, erosion, tees, and such which are not visible now are really really bad please let me know and I will adjust accordingly, but I feel like it feels like a solid 3 disc rated course. I will adjust my rating if I am able to return in season and I see differently.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful use of land

5+    9/16/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
There are dual tees at each hole which allows the course to be played as an 18 hole course. There are wood posts at short tees with signs at long tees. The signs have the hole distance listed on them. The holes offer a good mix of distance, ranging from 135' to 645'. Elevation changes on many holes make playing this course fun. The course flows nicely through park. The first tee is located off the parking lot and the 9th basket ends up close to the parking lot as well. The fairways are nicely mowed and there are paths from the basket to the next tee pad. Overall, a very good use of the land available makes for a fun course.
Cons:
The tee pads are just dirt, hopefully concrete tee pads will be installed in the future. As mentioned above, the fairways are kept nicely, but the rough is very thick. Try to keep your throws in the fairway. If you play from the short tees, the course is very short. (Although this makes for a good warm-up before you play from the long tees). The course could use some better signs, but since this course is less than a year old, there is room for improvement.
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played here I didn't know there were two tee pads for each hole. Print out a course map from the Links/Files section and take it along with you for your first time. There are some wonderful old growth oak trees in park. There is some playground equipment located across field from parking lot. There was also a porta-potty in the parking lot. When I play here, I usually play a round from the short tees to warm up and then play a round from the long tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner +

1    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nicely laid out course on a small plot of Oak forest in a pretty quiet suburban addition. This course plays in and around the oaks using them and the smallish hills to provide the shape for the fairways. Each hole is marked and many have mutliple (grass) teepads. It plays in a sensible manner and flow is good. Holes have a wide variety of distances for such a small area. Baskets are in smart places generally, making you actually think about your lie before throwing.

I would call this a good advanced beginner course, a step above typical chip and putt courses. Fun to play and no lines.
Cons: As mentioned teepads aren't in and signage is basic. The course favors lefties or rhfh throwers. This course really doesn't have many drawbacks. It plays well and is fun, isn't that what disc golf should be?
Other Thoughts: It isn't always clear that there are different teeboxes for holes and we happened to play the shorts on a few holes the first time through by accident. Better signage would help that. It did, however, make for a nice 18 with the shorts.
Parking is easy to find and hole 1 and 9 are near it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a good mix of short and long holes on this course. The fairways are nicely mowed, and they mow the spot from the basket to the next tee which makes navigation a lot easier.
There are signs next to the holes, but they only say how long it is right now, they don't have maps, though they might soon.
Most of the fairways aren't straight, and though there are few trees, they come into play on every throw. There is a little bit of elevation change on some of the holes, but not too much.
Cons: The grass that isn't in the fairway is pretty tall. Try to throw all your throws on the fairway or you could be searching for a while.
There aren't really tee boxes yet, so this made teeing off a little bit awkward, especially if you need to really bomb it out there like you do on a few of the holes.
Some of the fairways are so tough that it seems like it is more up to chance then skill.
Other Thoughts: It's a really good start to a course that could probably be really good. They really know how to use they're space effectively, though errant throws might become an issue due to the fact that fairways are close.
Not very beginner friendly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.