McKinney, TX
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: 17684 Hole #3
3 / 242ft.   3 / 237ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun little course

1    4/12/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 80  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with concrete tees. Nice shade over the course from the large trees. Course plays short, mostly flat and open although still provides a decent challenge with the available trees and the creek. Hardly any rough.
Cons: Mud and mosquitoes as is typical with the area. Lacking some signage. Course flow is a little funky for a first timer at the course. Potential for disc loss in the creek.
Other Thoughts: This was a good warm up before heading over to Towne Lake just down the street. Got some ace runs and lots of birdies, so there is some fun to had here. This is an excellent course for beginners to learn the game and different shots. More experienced players can play some safari if the course is fairly empty. This reminds me of the course I learned to play on.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    4/17/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive wooded park. The majority of the holes play through mature trees without much rough. There are multiple lines to choose from, with enough obstacles to make you pick a line and hit it. You'll need some accuracy to get the deuces available here.

The creek comes into play a little, adding some fun risk/reward opportunities. The tees are good sized concrete pads with a decent texture. There are reasonable signs with hole lengths and distances, and the course flows pretty well other than a couple minor spots. The baskets are older, but still catch well enough.
Cons: The course is pretty short overall, and the distances feel pretty similar throughout. There isn't much elevation, adding to the feeling of repetitive shots. You'll score better with a good variety of shots in your bag, but just about every hole offers a pretty straightforward hyzer or straight shot.

A few signs are missing or broken. Two spots are a little tricky to navigate, you might have to do a little extra walking to find a couple of the tees. There are supposedly long tees, they're not obvious to a player passing through without a local guide so I left them out of my review and rating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a blast here. The distances are great for new players, and punishment is pretty limited for errant shots except on the few holes by the creek. More experienced throwers will find the course pretty easy, it's a birdie fest without a ton of variety or challenge for a player with a full range of skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: Lorider680
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -easy on the arm
-good warm up
-simple to navigate
Cons: -too short
-lack of variety
-small river that will eat plastic
Other Thoughts: This course is a good warm up course.(as previously stated) First timers need to print the map from the links section. Good course overall.
F

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial course forgotten

1    5/13/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is an older course as evidenced by many shorter length holes. Can be a good confidence builder due to the fact that many birdies or even an ace is certainly possible. Some slight right and left turning shots. Some slight elevation on the back nine mixes it up. I enjoy the trees found on the back nine to give it a little more of a challenge.
Cons: I felt as though I was playing on a worn out, run down course. The baskets are old, worn and covered with graffiti. Definate navigation issues on this course. Most of the signs are gone or missing and just a post with a metal frame on it exists. Teepads are different sizes and shapes. Trash was found throughout the course. No hole stands out as anything special. Looks like this course can retain water in different areas, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: In general, an easy short course. Not much really stands out about this course. Don't get me wrong, I certainly enjoy these older classic type courses, but the lack of signs, trash and graffiti take away from the experience. Towne Lake is but two minutes away and would play there anytime over Alex Clark.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Huff and puff blow me down

2-4    11/30/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different shot types some alternate tees if you get tips from the locals. Park is clean. Makes an amateur have a good time, makes a pro some money. Plenty of birdie attempts. On an average day i would think wind isn't a huge issue because of the tree canopy. Provide shade. Close to a sports store to buy lots discs
Cons: Don't let your newbie friends play the holes near the gully. As mentioned before lacks elevation change and distance. You might have to go to the sports store to buy new discs.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a very windy day. I should have called it quits when I showed up. So I can't knock the course for loosing two discs in the GULLY. Unlees its summer, or you have a tool to fish out your discs...throw with warning... headed for the gully, high probability the guy with the disc diving dog will be owning a new disc! I went back with a tool, and low and behold it was gone, either floated down river sank too deep or see above! JASON, from cali, thanks for the tour, and watching my back as i crawled deep into the gully for my viking!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.