McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #3
3 / 242ft.   3 / 237ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    9/25/2014   9/29/2014
Review By: nateoman5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short Course, great for working on your short game.
Nice people playing the course, very friendly.
Cons: I put 2 in the creek.
Other Thoughts: Met a guy the locals call "Scuba Ron" who was walking thru the creek and gathering lost discs in the water. He was nice enough to throw my disc back up to me from the creek bed.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for putter practice

5+    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Great shade from the Texas sun
- Many ace-able holes to get your heart pumping
- Tall, mature trees
- Not much tall grass or foliage to lose a disc in
- Plays very fast, if not crowded
Cons:
- Steep-walled creek in play on a few holes
- Little elevation change
- Few driver-bombable holes
- Crowded
Other Thoughts:
This is a fun little course. It definitely helps me improve my short game, although I miss being able to rip big drives. Nearly every whole is birdie-able, and many ace-able, so if you're just looking to have fun and not challenge yourself too much, this is the course to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun but short course

2-4    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays very fair for players of all skill levels. Most of the holes are short par 3's with one or two shaping obstacles on any given hole.

17 - Its a longer par 3 with a big built in dogleg left. To me it plays as the best hole of the course.

This course is very family/beginner friendly but the creek is high sloped and not as forgiving as many would hope. While my team never went over the edge we saw at least 4 other groups scale the creek wall to get something from the water. The holes all feel short enough that I think beginners feel that risking it will work out.
Cons: I'd say all but 3 holes are birdie-able for anyone with an average or better arm. While they use the local terrain to the best of its ability there really isn't much variety and most shots are pretty straight forward and not difficult.
Other Thoughts: If you want a fun short course to play this is s good selection. Its not well varietied or particularly tough. It loses a lot of points for being a bit shot simple. If you're looking for a good warm up to this courses across the highway neighbor or a good set of opportunities to make ace runs this is a good selection.

I'd definitely play this course again but its not a destination course for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good time

5+    2/23/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: This is a nice course year round. You can generally play here after a rain or snow, and it looks good all year. Lots of easy, but fun holes. When I play here, I am usually trying to beat my best score here all the time. There are really only 2 holes that I don't throw a buzz on, but there are a few different routes for other things on most holes. I love the longs here, but rarely play them for one reason or another.
Cons: Pretty easy, so there tends to be a lot of newbies and on a weekday afternoon it's pretty busy with high schoolers.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, if you travel to it, be sure to play the longs at least once. Bathroom on site. Pretty clean

 Aces All Day Long!

1    4/16/2011   4/16/2011
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and easy course that is beginner friendly. Most are under or around 200' feet which gives you a perfect opportunity for plenty of birdies and Aces. Almost all holes are straight, basic shots with the basket right down the middle. Trees come into play adding a little challenge and also providing plenty of shade for hot days. There is a creek running through most of the course adding danger on some holes and they love to eat discs. The course has nice, huge concrete tee pads on every hole and all baskets are in good shape. The park is very cleaned and well maintained with trashcans throughout most of the course. The course flows very well from one hole to hole so navigation around the course is really easy. The parking lot is huge, so parking should never be an issue.
Cons: The baskets seem to be a little bit worn and some signs are missing on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, perfect for people just learning the sport. I had a good time playing here getting warmed up for the much more difficult 18 hole course down the road.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and shady.

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained with a creek to deal with. Other than a couple of holes, there is no chance for lost plastic. Great course for beginners to learn some accuracy without being too frustrating. Shaded for the summer. Concrete pads and a practice basket. Sufficient number of trash cans. Some variety, but mostly straight shots with trees to work around or under or through. Flows pretty well. It complements the more modern and challenging course right up the road.
Cons: Missing a few T-signs. A few too many straight shots for my taste, but I still liked the course and the overall use of the land in the design, was about as much as you could expect with the land given.No benches or tables. For what it is and when it was designed and where it is located, there isn't too much to complain about. Enjoy this old school wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my day in McKinney, can't wait to come back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

2-4    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 159  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great beginner course
-short holes, lightly wooded
-nice concrete Am tees, unmarked pro tees
-tee signs on most holes with par, distance & map
-mostly simple navigation
-creek adds water hazards
-for a crowded course with few trash cans, it is surprisingly clean
-close to highway, easy to get to
-makes a good pair with Town Lake course
-easy to play a quick round
-lots of shade for hot Texas days
Cons: -signs missing on 15 & 16
-can get crowded
-lots of slow groups, inexperienced players
-few trash cans
-mostly straight shots, not a lot of variety, no forced lines
-only one long hole, #16
-a few tricky navigation spots: 2-3, 8-9. the nearest tee in these spots is not the next tee
-creek is very unfriendly. can get deep in many spots and the creek bed is very uneven making it difficult to use a retriever
Other Thoughts: This short, wooded course is a great place to bring beginners. The holes are short and simple so beginners can score well and have fun. Experienced players can go for all 2's and have a fun birdie fest and take some ace runs.

The layout is mostly easy to follow except for a few spots where the next tee is not the closest or most obviously placed tee (2-3, 8-9). Concrete boxes make the tees easy to find and nice signs will let you know if you're in the right place.

The creek is the main hazard on holes where it is in play, notably on 1, 2, 6 & 16 and to a lesser degree on 4 & 5. Trees are the only other obstacles but the fairways are very open, very fair. Subtle elevation changes come into play to some degree on the back loop (8-15).

This a great place to come and play a warm up round before heading over to Town Lake across the highway. Experienced golfers can play a round here with just a midrange and putter. Maybe bring a driver for hole 16. A great course to work on the short game, try to shoot a 48 or hit some aces.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Alex Clark Rundown!!!

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads (nice and long and also wide letting you take greatly different angles for your shot run-up)
-Nice signage...though some have been knocked down
-Nice wind blockage if you're not a fan of the wind
-Great midrange practice course / warm-up course
-Some shot variety
-Terrain variety (trees and water hazards, some open shots)
-Very clean course with nice surrounding park area.
Cons: -Muddy after a rain (shade from all the trees blocks the sun)
-No long holes
-Steep banks on the creek making water hazards truly hazardous (bring extra string for your retriever for sure)
-Really quick play
Other Thoughts: This isn't the greatest course out there, but a good one to say the least.

Creek runds through the course, somewhat coming in to play on about half of the holes.

Great midrange and finesse practice course and being right across the street from a much longer and more difficultt 18 holer (Town Lake)...this would be a GREAT warm-up course before playing Town Lake.

Though nothing to terribly long...no holes really long at all to be honest...they really are not too easy. The holes may look it, but there are plenty of trees that will keep you from getting close enough to make those....what would seem like easy birdies.

Should definately be played if you're making a trip to McKinney. Great 36 hole trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Short and Shady. Even in the hot summer months you can play multiple rounds here without a problem.
*If you can throw a Roc/Buzz and make a putt you will score extremely well on this course.
*For most advanced and open players all 18 holes are birdie-able.
*Great place to introduce new players to the sport without getting them frustrated.
*There are long tees (dirt) on every hole (find a local to show you where they are located). Playing from the longs makes this pitch and putt course play MUCH longer and tougher.
Cons: *Because this is a great place to learn there are always lots of casual golfers.
*Long tees are a blast to play, but it can be tricky navigating around others that are playing from the short tees (concrete).
*Not a ton of shot selection required. Unless I'm in a mod to Flick I only pull out a driver on 1-2 holes.
Other Thoughts: There is not a better course and a group of local players to help new players learn the game. Every city with a strong disc golf scene needs a course like Alex Clark.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

1    4/19/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
11 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
Very easy course. Aging, but sufficient, double chain baskets. Main tees are concrete and there are locals-only long/pro tees if you can get someone to show them to you. From the concrete tees there are a lot of potential ace runs on this course, otherwise it's a "deuce or die" course. Other than one spot there's no navigation issues; it's all very obvious. It's got elevation changes and while most of the holes are straight there's a reasonably good balance of lefty vs. righty holes.
Cons:
Several of the tee signs are missing or vandalized. There is a deep creek running along a couple holes that you are unlikely to want to retrieve any errant discs. Only two holes (#6 & #16) that would be considered "hard" by most experienced players. The transition from hole #2 to #3 may not be obvious for first time players. The obvious knock on the course is the short length, but play for 2's and it's a challenge.
Other Thoughts:
Played this course from the concrete tees and I felt like I could have and should have birdied every hole. Like Donovan says: Alex Clarke is a fun course to play and almost got me my first Ace with a shot the bounced off the top of the tray on #11. The course was very crowded with casual players when I played solo and everyone was cool with letting me play through. Play this course along with Towne Lake across the street for a total of 36 good holes.

11 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.