McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #5
3 / 255ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Ace runs!

1    3/15/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: -Nice short 18 hole course with concrete tees.

-Plenty of ace runs and a bucket of birdies.

-Great beginner course or wonderful for warm ups.

-Pretty hard to lose one out here.

-There is a bathroom!
Cons: -After a while the shots feel repetitive.

-Some signs missing.

-Well groomed course.
Other Thoughts: This place makes a nice warmup for Towne Lake.


5+    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really fun course. Lightly wooded. Two of my friends have aced holes here. We play here as much as we can.
Cons: It gets pretty muddy. And if you throw a disc in the creek when the water is high, kiss it goodbye.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 AC Review

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: eloveless
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short holes.
Great for beginners.
Shaded.
Good acer holes.
Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Creeks that might be up when the water is abundant.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great warm up course for Towne Lake. Being a beginner (6 months playing) it gave me great confidience playing it, but at the same time it doesn't challenge you enough I do not believe. Again, fun warm up course with plenty shade.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Care for a quick 18?

1    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had a blast playing this course....and it might be the quickest 18 in the metroplex. Every hole is birdiable......most holes have a clean enough line of site for an ace chance. Course is friendly for beginners and fun enough for advanced players...just enough trees to make it interesting. Nice big tee boxes and the park seems to be well kept
Cons: Keep your eyes open for other players on the course. Multiple tee boxes are in close proximity to baskets
Other Thoughts: Not a bad idea to print out the course map this wonderful site provides - some of the hole transitions are a bit awkward. If you have the time, play another 18 across the highway at Towne Lake....one of the best courses in the metroplex!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/8/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great small course. Lots of tree to avoid. The course flows really well and you end up almost exactly where you started. If you lose a disc in the creek, most of the creek is shallow so you should be able to see your disc.
Cons: Quiet a few people play here sometimes so it kind of rushes you. There are other pedestrian that you have to watch out for when you tee off.
Other Thoughts: I believe they have some minis there every weekend. Those would be fun to play in on this course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/26/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short highly technical course. This is a great course to work on your short game and your accuracy when throwing.
Cons: Walking distance with roadway right next to you. Floods out a little much
Other Thoughts: Overall I'm going to be returning when I visit family as much as I can. Really good course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    7/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: danielvstone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - pretty
- easy to find
- challenging in some parts, easy in others
Cons: - difficult to navigate in parts, if you're not playing with someone that's been there before.
Other Thoughts: first time out i threw a par @ 54 (all par 3, from the concrete pad tees). i lost a disc because i hit a tree and it careemed off into the creek... i can see this happening frequently, and easily.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 At First Glance

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Easy to find the course, excellent parking, and restrooms
+Hole 1 was easy to find
+Tee Boxes are what I would consider near perfect in design. Plenty long and very wide towards the back
+Course was easy to navigate.
+Lot's of well placed trees. Short shots become challenging when you stray off the fairway
+Water hazards to make risk/reward shots
+Very clean, park setting
+Plays near some nice looking houses. I don't know why I like that, but I do.
+Great technical course
Cons: -Very treacherous cliffs that over look the water. If you lose a disc in this water it's going to be a very long task getting it back, even with a retriever. Water was deep when I played.
-Plays near traffic
-Some holes are way too short. However, if pro pads were concrete I think it would solve that problem. It was just too muddy to play them when we threw.
-Finishes fast. However, being so short makes it easier to get in 36 w/T.L.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my time out here. This is a great course to work on the short game. If concrete tee boxes were laid where the pro pads were marked I'd definitely give this course a half point more.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course Misleading

2-4    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chance for Aces, well kept, uncluttered and nice locals. Great for beginners. low risk disc loss except for 1 or 2 holes.
Cons: Stays muddy days after rain, Signs missing, too short overall. No tomahawks or thumbers due to low ceiling tree canopy that covers the course. Rare chance for rollers as most tees are lined up with baskets and ground is uneven for curved shots.
Other Thoughts: I know a pro that said you could virtually birdie every hole. I tried that today, and as easy as it looks and as short as the course is, its misleading how difficult it can be if you can't consistenly throw 10 yds wide and 220 ft long. the trees will get you and prevent birdies at times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

5+    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to play if you like to run at aces and play multiple rounds. Awesome for beginners as well as for the polished golfer.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing but course is easy to navigate around. Lots of traffic on the weekend so come early.
Other Thoughts: Alex Clark is a great place to play golf. The minis are well run and everyone is friendly. I have played hundreds of rounds here and hope to play hundreds more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.