McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: 17684 Hole #4
3 / 240ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / 384ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 My home course

5+    1/3/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: texasNUKE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big tee pads
News signs at every hole
Nice variety of shots
Great for a quick game
LOTS of ace chances
Cons: Can get a little backed up
Not any holes where you can really bomb one
Other Thoughts: Other golfers are very freindly
Don't be afraid to go across the highway and check out towne lake dg course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 great course

1    11/11/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: Fast Eddie
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very nice clean well maintained
Cons: the creek sucks lol
Other Thoughts: everyone says this is the easy course & towne lake is much harder i founs exactly oppsite shooting a +18 here & a + 11 at towne lake i did love both courses though if you go to mckinney to play one might as well go across the highway & play the other.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    1/3/2011   4/14/2011
Review By: mnestor
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun relaxing course easy to follow. Nice location within trees!
Cons: Make sure you watch out for the creek....it is like a magnet for discs
Other Thoughts: This course is in a great location. Great use of the land, and lots of fun shots around bends, through tree lines, and technical shots around the creek

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite Par 3 Course

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. This couse is very simple to navigate, you may have to ask a person for 1 or two of the hole locations, but in general its a easy enough layout.

2. Like I said earlier, its a PAR 3 course (even though two the holes are labelled par 4). This makes it fun because you think you can ace almost every hole, yet you really have to throw a good shot in order to even come close.

3. It has great tree cover and the trees come into play on most holes. The tree cover makes it great to play on sunny days.

4. Its long enough to call it an 18 hole course, but short enough to finish in a short period of time. Two people can finish this course in under 1.5 hrs easy.

5. It is well maintained. Never run into issues with high grass or weeds.
Cons:
1. It can get crowed at times.
2. Due to the "zig-zag" design, other golfers and walkers come into play. (as well as cars).

Other Thoughts: This is a great warm up couse before you play the other (much better and more difficult course) in Mckinney. (Just on the other side of 75).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Cbee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really great beginner course,I can take my son with me who is 12 years old, and only played a few times and he can get through the whole course throwing one or two over on each hole and not get discouraged and still want to come back and play again.
Cons: A few signs missing, but its still an easy course to follow once you figure out where hole 3 is.
Other Thoughts: If your new to the game this is a really good course for you to try out, and like everyone else has said, you can play this one in the heat and not get worn out because of all the huge shade trees

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kiss My ACE!

1    5/14/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a real par 3 style course and it is a great little gem. There are a couple of holes where an ace is unlikely, but most of them are very reasonable for many golfers to reach in one throw. The holes are not all short straight aways. There are some good tree placement and some slight elevation. The course is fairly easy to follow along without a map, since the signs are decent and the baskets have the hole numbers on them. The concrete pads are in great shape and long enough for this course. There are lots of beautiful older trees on this course and a deep creek thst makes a few risk reward type holes here too. There was a message board and great parking for this course also. I didn't see any bathrooms.
Cons: The hole lengths do not have much in variation. It is too bad that the creek is so deep that retrieving a disc from it is not likely for the average golfer. I never mind the risk/reward style holes, but it does suck to know a bad shot could mean you may not recover the disc. I really am stretching the cons here. There is not much wrong at this course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I actually enjoyed playing here and working on my accuracy. This is also a great place to enjoy your short game. McKinney is worth a road trip from just about anywhere. Both course here are great.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course

5+    12/15/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy par 3 course. I learned to play on this course. Lots of tall trees line the fairways so you can practice straight shots. Water hazards on a number of the holes, but nothing to daunting.
Cons: Parking area can be a pain when soccer games are going on.
Other Thoughts: Play the pro tees if you want to make this more challenging. Most of them are marked, if not, just back up a ways. Number 7, the dog leg left is the best hole on this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fine Course!

5+    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: GROOVY BOSSMAN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wooded, not too long, requires accuracy, some real chances for ace, even for newer players!
Cons: #1 is the most difficult hole for backhand rights, need to throw straight or you will be scaling the steep banks of the creek, Need a nice turnover disc for hole #13
Other Thoughts: the mandatory markers make for a much more challenging round for beginning players

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Long Tees

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.8 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course to play in the heat of the Texas summer. Only two holes with no shade.
Cons: Course is on a flood plane and gets very muddy after rain and some holes will stay muddy for a lack of grass.
Other Thoughts: So nobody can find the longs? Ron Sillyman, Phil Clark and I put numbered bricks in the ground to mark the front edges of the long boxes. These directions are typically written as if you were standing on concrete box facing the basket.
1. Behind you on the right.
2. Straight back at the corner of the bridge. Tee from the sidewalk and throw over the creek. Gold Tee straight back an est. 80' from the sidewalk.
3. On your left even with the Tee.
4. Back to the right, next to a tree, short of the gully. Gold across the gully but the grass grew over the bricks. If you find them, uncover them for me!
5. Back and a little to the left.
6. Back to the right, next to a tree.
7. Straight back.
8. Straight back.
9. Straight back, way back, next to a tree short of the gully.
10. Straight back, all the way to the top corner of the hill.
11. Back to the right near the bench.
12. Down the hill to the right in the woods. On the right side of 11 fairway. Close to 16 long.
13. Back
14. On the left.
15. On the right.
16 . Straight back in the woods. Gold aka the horse shoe. Left way left next to a powerline pole.
17. Left near the creek bank. short of 16 basket. Throw down the creek (or around for a 3)
18. Back to the right past the Alex Clark sign.

A map can be found on McKinney's parks and rec page or www.ccdiscgolf.com

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

5+    1/10/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am impressed by this course. The holes are all fun to play, even if you do wind up doing something wrong, it isn't too hard to recover from a mistake. I was a fan of the signs. (although a few were missing their signs) Excellent course for new players to learn and practice on.
Cons: Steep banks on the water hazards make retrievals very difficult. Unless you have a tool, getting your disc back might be an issue. A lot of players were disc fishing, and it sometimes slows play.
Other Thoughts: I plan to play this one often. It is definately a new favorite. I enjoyed the back nine a little more than the front, but every hole is fun. Most of the baskets are directly in front of the tees, but the trees keep it interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center