McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #8
3 / 257ft.   3 / 281ft.   3 / 281ft.   3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great for putter practice

5+    5/9/2014   5/9/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great shade from the Texas sun
- Many ace-able holes to get your heart pumping
- Tall, mature trees
- Not much tall grass or foliage to lose a disc in
- Plays very fast, if not crowded
Cons:
- Steep-walled creek in play on a few holes
- Little elevation change
- Few driver-bombable holes
- Crowded
Other Thoughts:
This is a fun little course. It definitely helps me improve my short game, although I miss being able to rip big drives. Nearly every whole is birdie-able, and many ace-able, so if you're just looking to have fun and not challenge yourself too much, this is the course to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ace runs!

1    3/15/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: -Nice short 18 hole course with concrete tees.

-Plenty of ace runs and a bucket of birdies.

-Great beginner course or wonderful for warm ups.

-Pretty hard to lose one out here.

-There is a bathroom!
Cons: -After a while the shots feel repetitive.

-Some signs missing.

-Well groomed course.
Other Thoughts: This place makes a nice warmup for Towne Lake.

Fun but short course

2-4    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays very fair for players of all skill levels. Most of the holes are short par 3's with one or two shaping obstacles on any given hole.

17 - Its a longer par 3 with a big built in dogleg left. To me it plays as the best hole of the course.

This course is very family/beginner friendly but the creek is high sloped and not as forgiving as many would hope. While my team never went over the edge we saw at least 4 other groups scale the creek wall to get something from the water. The holes all feel short enough that I think beginners feel that risking it will work out.
Cons: I'd say all but 3 holes are birdie-able for anyone with an average or better arm. While they use the local terrain to the best of its ability there really isn't much variety and most shots are pretty straight forward and not difficult.
Other Thoughts: If you want a fun short course to play this is s good selection. Its not well varietied or particularly tough. It loses a lot of points for being a bit shot simple. If you're looking for a good warm up to this courses across the highway neighbor or a good set of opportunities to make ace runs this is a good selection.

I'd definitely play this course again but its not a destination course for sure.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/9/2013   3/14/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really fun course. Lightly wooded. Two of my friends have aced holes here. We play here as much as we can.
Cons: It gets pretty muddy. And if you throw a disc in the creek when the water is high, kiss it goodbye.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 AC Review

1    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: eloveless
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short holes.
Great for beginners.
Shaded.
Good acer holes.
Concrete tee pads.
Cons: Creeks that might be up when the water is abundant.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a great warm up course for Towne Lake. Being a beginner (6 months playing) it gave me great confidience playing it, but at the same time it doesn't challenge you enough I do not believe. Again, fun warm up course with plenty shade.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    4/12/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with concrete tees. Nice shade over the course from the large trees. Course plays short, mostly flat and open although still provides a decent challenge with the available trees and the creek. Hardly any rough.
Cons: Mud and mosquitoes as is typical with the area. Lacking some signage. Course flow is a little funky for a first timer at the course. Potential for disc loss in the creek.
Other Thoughts: This was a good warm up before heading over to Towne Lake just down the street. Got some ace runs and lots of birdies, so there is some fun to had here. This is an excellent course for beginners to learn the game and different shots. More experienced players can play some safari if the course is fairly empty. This reminds me of the course I learned to play on.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/17/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly disc golf exclusive wooded park. The majority of the holes play through mature trees without much rough. There are multiple lines to choose from, with enough obstacles to make you pick a line and hit it. You'll need some accuracy to get the deuces available here.

The creek comes into play a little, adding some fun risk/reward opportunities. The tees are good sized concrete pads with a decent texture. There are reasonable signs with hole lengths and distances, and the course flows pretty well other than a couple minor spots. The baskets are older, but still catch well enough.
Cons: The course is pretty short overall, and the distances feel pretty similar throughout. There isn't much elevation, adding to the feeling of repetitive shots. You'll score better with a good variety of shots in your bag, but just about every hole offers a pretty straightforward hyzer or straight shot.

A few signs are missing or broken. Two spots are a little tricky to navigate, you might have to do a little extra walking to find a couple of the tees. There are supposedly long tees, they're not obvious to a player passing through without a local guide so I left them out of my review and rating.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a blast here. The distances are great for new players, and punishment is pretty limited for errant shots except on the few holes by the creek. More experienced throwers will find the course pretty easy, it's a birdie fest without a ton of variety or challenge for a player with a full range of skills.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good time

5+    2/23/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: This is a nice course year round. You can generally play here after a rain or snow, and it looks good all year. Lots of easy, but fun holes. When I play here, I am usually trying to beat my best score here all the time. There are really only 2 holes that I don't throw a buzz on, but there are a few different routes for other things on most holes. I love the longs here, but rarely play them for one reason or another.
Cons: Pretty easy, so there tends to be a lot of newbies and on a weekday afternoon it's pretty busy with high schoolers.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course, if you travel to it, be sure to play the longs at least once. Bathroom on site. Pretty clean

 My home course

5+    1/3/2012   1/3/2012
Review By: texasNUKE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big tee pads
News signs at every hole
Nice variety of shots
Great for a quick game
LOTS of ace chances
Cons: Can get a little backed up
Not any holes where you can really bomb one
Other Thoughts: Other golfers are very freindly
Don't be afraid to go across the highway and check out towne lake dg course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Care for a quick 18?

1    12/30/2011   12/30/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Had a blast playing this course....and it might be the quickest 18 in the metroplex. Every hole is birdiable......most holes have a clean enough line of site for an ace chance. Course is friendly for beginners and fun enough for advanced players...just enough trees to make it interesting. Nice big tee boxes and the park seems to be well kept
Cons: Keep your eyes open for other players on the course. Multiple tee boxes are in close proximity to baskets
Other Thoughts: Not a bad idea to print out the course map this wonderful site provides - some of the hole transitions are a bit awkward. If you have the time, play another 18 across the highway at Towne Lake....one of the best courses in the metroplex!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.