McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #5
3 / 255ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 255ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 My favorite Par 3 Course

5+    8/30/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
1. This couse is very simple to navigate, you may have to ask a person for 1 or two of the hole locations, but in general its a easy enough layout.

2. Like I said earlier, its a PAR 3 course (even though two the holes are labelled par 4). This makes it fun because you think you can ace almost every hole, yet you really have to throw a good shot in order to even come close.

3. It has great tree cover and the trees come into play on most holes. The tree cover makes it great to play on sunny days.

4. Its long enough to call it an 18 hole course, but short enough to finish in a short period of time. Two people can finish this course in under 1.5 hrs easy.

5. It is well maintained. Never run into issues with high grass or weeds.
1. It can get crowed at times.
2. Due to the "zig-zag" design, other golfers and walkers come into play. (as well as cars).

Other Thoughts: This is a great warm up couse before you play the other (much better and more difficult course) in Mckinney. (Just on the other side of 75).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    7/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: danielvstone
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - pretty
- easy to find
- challenging in some parts, easy in others
Cons: - difficult to navigate in parts, if you're not playing with someone that's been there before.
Other Thoughts: first time out i threw a par @ 54 (all par 3, from the concrete pad tees). i lost a disc because i hit a tree and it careemed off into the creek... i can see this happening frequently, and easily.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short and shady.

1    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Played: 56  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained with a creek to deal with. Other than a couple of holes, there is no chance for lost plastic. Great course for beginners to learn some accuracy without being too frustrating. Shaded for the summer. Concrete pads and a practice basket. Sufficient number of trash cans. Some variety, but mostly straight shots with trees to work around or under or through. Flows pretty well. It complements the more modern and challenging course right up the road.
Cons: Missing a few T-signs. A few too many straight shots for my taste, but I still liked the course and the overall use of the land in the design, was about as much as you could expect with the land given.No benches or tables. For what it is and when it was designed and where it is located, there isn't too much to complain about. Enjoy this old school wooded course.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my day in McKinney, can't wait to come back.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old school

2-4    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 226  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great beginner course
-short holes, lightly wooded
-nice concrete Am tees, unmarked pro tees
-tee signs on most holes with par, distance & map
-mostly simple navigation
-creek adds water hazards
-for a crowded course with few trash cans, it is surprisingly clean
-close to highway, easy to get to
-makes a good pair with Town Lake course
-easy to play a quick round
-lots of shade for hot Texas days
Cons: -signs missing on 15 & 16
-can get crowded
-lots of slow groups, inexperienced players
-few trash cans
-mostly straight shots, not a lot of variety, no forced lines
-only one long hole, #16
-a few tricky navigation spots: 2-3, 8-9. the nearest tee in these spots is not the next tee
-creek is very unfriendly. can get deep in many spots and the creek bed is very uneven making it difficult to use a retriever
Other Thoughts: This short, wooded course is a great place to bring beginners. The holes are short and simple so beginners can score well and have fun. Experienced players can go for all 2's and have a fun birdie fest and take some ace runs.

The layout is mostly easy to follow except for a few spots where the next tee is not the closest or most obviously placed tee (2-3, 8-9). Concrete boxes make the tees easy to find and nice signs will let you know if you're in the right place.

The creek is the main hazard on holes where it is in play, notably on 1, 2, 6 & 16 and to a lesser degree on 4 & 5. Trees are the only other obstacles but the fairways are very open, very fair. Subtle elevation changes come into play to some degree on the back loop (8-15).

This a great place to come and play a warm up round before heading over to Town Lake across the highway. Experienced golfers can play a round here with just a midrange and putter. Maybe bring a driver for hole 16. A great course to work on the short game, try to shoot a 48 or hit some aces.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 At First Glance

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 86  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Easy to find the course, excellent parking, and restrooms
+Hole 1 was easy to find
+Tee Boxes are what I would consider near perfect in design. Plenty long and very wide towards the back
+Course was easy to navigate.
+Lot's of well placed trees. Short shots become challenging when you stray off the fairway
+Water hazards to make risk/reward shots
+Very clean, park setting
+Plays near some nice looking houses. I don't know why I like that, but I do.
+Great technical course
Cons: -Very treacherous cliffs that over look the water. If you lose a disc in this water it's going to be a very long task getting it back, even with a retriever. Water was deep when I played.
-Plays near traffic
-Some holes are way too short. However, if pro pads were concrete I think it would solve that problem. It was just too muddy to play them when we threw.
-Finishes fast. However, being so short makes it easier to get in 36 w/T.L.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my time out here. This is a great course to work on the short game. If concrete tee boxes were laid where the pro pads were marked I'd definitely give this course a half point more.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Alex Clark Rundown!!!

1    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads (nice and long and also wide letting you take greatly different angles for your shot run-up)
-Nice signage...though some have been knocked down
-Nice wind blockage if you're not a fan of the wind
-Great midrange practice course / warm-up course
-Some shot variety
-Terrain variety (trees and water hazards, some open shots)
-Very clean course with nice surrounding park area.
Cons: -Muddy after a rain (shade from all the trees blocks the sun)
-No long holes
-Steep banks on the creek making water hazards truly hazardous (bring extra string for your retriever for sure)
-Really quick play
Other Thoughts: This isn't the greatest course out there, but a good one to say the least.

Creek runds through the course, somewhat coming in to play on about half of the holes.

Great midrange and finesse practice course and being right across the street from a much longer and more difficultt 18 holer (Town Lake)...this would be a GREAT warm-up course before playing Town Lake.

Though nothing to terribly holes really long at all to be honest...they really are not too easy. The holes may look it, but there are plenty of trees that will keep you from getting close enough to make those....what would seem like easy birdies.

Should definately be played if you're making a trip to McKinney. Great 36 hole trip.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course Misleading

2-4    11/22/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Chance for Aces, well kept, uncluttered and nice locals. Great for beginners. low risk disc loss except for 1 or 2 holes.
Cons: Stays muddy days after rain, Signs missing, too short overall. No tomahawks or thumbers due to low ceiling tree canopy that covers the course. Rare chance for rollers as most tees are lined up with baskets and ground is uneven for curved shots.
Other Thoughts: I know a pro that said you could virtually birdie every hole. I tried that today, and as easy as it looks and as short as the course is, its misleading how difficult it can be if you can't consistenly throw 10 yds wide and 220 ft long. the trees will get you and prevent birdies at times.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good times

5+    10/13/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: rocnroll
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to play if you like to run at aces and play multiple rounds. Awesome for beginners as well as for the polished golfer.
Cons: Some tee signs are missing but course is easy to navigate around. Lots of traffic on the weekend so come early.
Other Thoughts: Alex Clark is a great place to play golf. The minis are well run and everyone is friendly. I have played hundreds of rounds here and hope to play hundreds more.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/9/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: Cbee
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really great beginner course,I can take my son with me who is 12 years old, and only played a few times and he can get through the whole course throwing one or two over on each hole and not get discouraged and still want to come back and play again.
Cons: A few signs missing, but its still an easy course to follow once you figure out where hole 3 is.
Other Thoughts: If your new to the game this is a really good course for you to try out, and like everyone else has said, you can play this one in the heat and not get worn out because of all the huge shade trees

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Chunks
Played: 25  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *Short and Shady. Even in the hot summer months you can play multiple rounds here without a problem.
*If you can throw a Roc/Buzz and make a putt you will score extremely well on this course.
*For most advanced and open players all 18 holes are birdie-able.
*Great place to introduce new players to the sport without getting them frustrated.
*There are long tees (dirt) on every hole (find a local to show you where they are located). Playing from the longs makes this pitch and putt course play MUCH longer and tougher.
Cons: *Because this is a great place to learn there are always lots of casual golfers.
*Long tees are a blast to play, but it can be tricky navigating around others that are playing from the short tees (concrete).
*Not a ton of shot selection required. Unless I'm in a mod to Flick I only pull out a driver on 1-2 holes.
Other Thoughts: There is not a better course and a group of local players to help new players learn the game. Every city with a strong disc golf scene needs a course like Alex Clark.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.