McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 4/2009)
Course Info Board

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Excellent Course

5+    6/20/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: ryanmmacoustic
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a lot of much needed shade from the Texas heat. I personally loved this course. I find something new to like about Alex Clark every time I play. It's very convenient for me because I live about 200 yards away. Still being very new to disc golf I found this course great to learn on. I can birdie on about 7 or 8 holes and make par on the rest.
1. Great for Right Handed Side Arm throwers and for Lefties. Be careful the creek is just to the left of the "fairway"
2. I love this hole, the basket is at the end of a "hallway" of trees. Fairly easy.
3. This hole is great for people have a lot of control over their throws. You can hook out to the right and have the disc dive right up next to the basket or you can have it curve out to the left and dive back towards the basket.
4. Very easy hole, just be wary of the creek to the right.
5. Also a great hole as long as you don't hit any trees, be careful not to throw it too far though, you will be swimming for your disc.
6. Par 4. Pretty easy for a par 4. The easiest way I have found to throw this hole is as a right hand side arm throw. Be careful though the creek is just to the right of the basket and it's pretty deep.
7. Very easy hole, one good throw should get you right up to the basket.
8. This hole is a little longer than most of the first seven. Very open shot right up to the basket.
9. Great hole, the tee is slightly down hill from the basket. One good throw usually gets me pretty close to the basket.
10. Easily one of my favorite holes at Alex Clark. The tee is uphill from the basket so you don't have to throw it to hard to get it to the basket.
11. Tee is down hill from the basket, but you still don't have to throw it too hard to get it to the basket.
12. Very short hole, easy to birdie.
13. Another one of my favorites. Great for a right Handed Side Arm thrower like my self. I think this is one of the longer Par 3 holes on the course.
14. This one has a lot of trees, but if you swing out to the right and curve back in you should be pretty close to the basket.
15. This is a great hole if you have a lot of control and can throw your disc pretty straight. But if it curves the slightest bit to the right or left you can easily hit a tree and add a stroke to your score.
16. Par 4. This one was one of the toughest holes for me, I lost two discs but I still like the hole. Very challenging for a beginner.
17. I like this hole, it was a little tough for me. I lost one disc trying to swing out to the left and curve back in.
18. Probably my second favorite hole. Wide open shot. Lots of shade. An easy Ace hole, but if you over shoot you could go in to the creek that lies behind the hole.
Cons: There were a few signs missing. The first time I played I didn't know where to go after the second hole. If you are new to the course just ask someone where hole 3 is and you've got it from there. Bring some bug spray and be careful when trying to retrieve a disc that has fallen into the "rough" there is a lot of poison ivy. Really there aren't many cons to this course. Just needs to be cleaned up a little bit. It can get crowded on weekends though.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course if you are new to disc golf. Everyone that I have met at Alex Clark has been nice and helpful. The course layout is excellent, the tees and basket's are in great shape. It could use some updates signage, other than that I have no complaints.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

1    4/19/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 201  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 8 Years
12 Helpful / 6 Not
Very easy course. Aging, but sufficient, double chain baskets. Main tees are concrete and there are locals-only long/pro tees if you can get someone to show them to you. From the concrete tees there are a lot of potential ace runs on this course, otherwise it's a "deuce or die" course. Other than one spot there's no navigation issues; it's all very obvious. It's got elevation changes and while most of the holes are straight there's a reasonably good balance of lefty vs. righty holes.
Several of the tee signs are missing or vandalized. There is a deep creek running along a couple holes that you are unlikely to want to retrieve any errant discs. Only two holes (#6 & #16) that would be considered "hard" by most experienced players. The transition from hole #2 to #3 may not be obvious for first time players. The obvious knock on the course is the short length, but play for 2's and it's a challenge.
Other Thoughts:
Played this course from the concrete tees and I felt like I could have and should have birdied every hole. Like Donovan says: Alex Clarke is a fun course to play and almost got me my first Ace with a shot the bounced off the top of the tray on #11. The course was very crowded with casual players when I played solo and everyone was cool with letting me play through. Play this course along with Towne Lake across the street for a total of 36 good holes.

12 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Kiss My ACE!

1    5/14/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 223  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 28.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a real par 3 style course and it is a great little gem. There are a couple of holes where an ace is unlikely, but most of them are very reasonable for many golfers to reach in one throw. The holes are not all short straight aways. There are some good tree placement and some slight elevation. The course is fairly easy to follow along without a map, since the signs are decent and the baskets have the hole numbers on them. The concrete pads are in great shape and long enough for this course. There are lots of beautiful older trees on this course and a deep creek thst makes a few risk reward type holes here too. There was a message board and great parking for this course also. I didn't see any bathrooms.
Cons: The hole lengths do not have much in variation. It is too bad that the creek is so deep that retrieving a disc from it is not likely for the average golfer. I never mind the risk/reward style holes, but it does suck to know a bad shot could mean you may not recover the disc. I really am stretching the cons here. There is not much wrong at this course.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for me was good. I actually enjoyed playing here and working on my accuracy. This is also a great place to enjoy your short game. McKinney is worth a road trip from just about anywhere. Both course here are great.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner course

5+    12/15/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy par 3 course. I learned to play on this course. Lots of tall trees line the fairways so you can practice straight shots. Water hazards on a number of the holes, but nothing to daunting.
Cons: Parking area can be a pain when soccer games are going on.
Other Thoughts: Play the pro tees if you want to make this more challenging. Most of them are marked, if not, just back up a ways. Number 7, the dog leg left is the best hole on this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial course forgotten

1    5/13/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is an older course as evidenced by many shorter length holes. Can be a good confidence builder due to the fact that many birdies or even an ace is certainly possible. Some slight right and left turning shots. Some slight elevation on the back nine mixes it up. I enjoy the trees found on the back nine to give it a little more of a challenge.
Cons: I felt as though I was playing on a worn out, run down course. The baskets are old, worn and covered with graffiti. Definate navigation issues on this course. Most of the signs are gone or missing and just a post with a metal frame on it exists. Teepads are different sizes and shapes. Trash was found throughout the course. No hole stands out as anything special. Looks like this course can retain water in different areas, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: In general, an easy short course. Not much really stands out about this course. Don't get me wrong, I certainly enjoy these older classic type courses, but the lack of signs, trash and graffiti take away from the experience. Towne Lake is but two minutes away and would play there anytime over Alex Clark.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Older course but still has some love left.

5+    3/8/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.7 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Are you ready to bag that first ace? Then play here! Very short fun holes to play. Water keeps you in check on several holes. A fun course that is not being used because of the new course down the road.

Just swing over here if you feel that the newer course is too crowded.
Cons: Some holes are just too short. This course just needs to be redesigned. More challenging, longer, and user friendly.

Not many holes where you will need a driver.
Other Thoughts: This is more for the casual disc golfer. Stick here if you are still learning, practicing, or have the family with you.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A classic short course

1    3/15/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2012
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alex Clark is located in McKinney under a mile from the new Towne Lake course; so playing 36 or more holes (alt tees) is a viable option in this area. Also, since everyone seems to be cooing over Alex's new little brother Towne Lake, the course was empty when I played it. In my experience, if you don't like to wait, then this course is preferable over Towne Lake.

This is the perfect course for beginners learning the game, people looking for an easy casual round of golf, or players looking to score that illusive first ace.

I liked the course layout and use of the land. The course is simply beautiful and littered with an array of towering trees and greenery. There is good integration in terms of minor elevation changes on the back nine, and 16 is a good pucker hole.

The tees are concrete, so even after a rainy day you can still get some footing off your drive. Holes 1, 4, and 16 seemed to have the biggest threat of going in the disc creek of death, so if you toss in a disc - it's likely a goner.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #16
Cons: These are very short holes, which make since if your throwing an old school Valkyrie or DX Roc 15 years ago, but the new plastics and disc technology make short work of most holes. The length makes for good birdie attempts on every hole (this may be a positive or negative).

The poor signs have taken a beating over the years, and are in desperate need of repair. The pads, though concrete, are noticeably inconsistent even though it shouldn't be an issue for most people.

I read about playing the long tees, which seemed pretty cool, but without any signage I gave up and played the regular tees.

The biggest con besides the length may simply be hole diversity. Most holes are straight forward without much thought into forcing a certain throw. This meant that even though I was satisfied with my overall experience, I didn't have to work hard to make a low score happen (again, this may be a positive or negative).

WORST HOLE/S: #3; #7
Other Thoughts: Though still a fun and interesting course, an experienced player can tell that Alex Clark Memorial DGC is past its prime. The well-worn short holes that were conducive to the disc technologies of the nineties, now play easy and dated compared to the fancy new course (Towne Lake) down the road. However, this doesn't mean this course is a waste of your time - instead it shows the longevity of the challenges presented by good course design.

Given its history and location, I think Alex Clark still deserves the love of the people in the area. My buddy and I were the only players on the course the entire Sunday morning after we left a very crowded Towne Lake. To me the silent serenity of nature playing alone a course is bliss, but worrisome in that this course may become obsolete and extinct in the future. Updated pin locations, and some TLC to the course signage could certainly breathe some new life into this classic.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Fine Course!

5+    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wooded, not too long, requires accuracy, some real chances for ace, even for newer players!
Cons: #1 is the most difficult hole for backhand rights, need to throw straight or you will be scaling the steep banks of the creek, Need a nice turnover disc for hole #13
Other Thoughts: the mandatory markers make for a much more challenging round for beginning players

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Alex Clark

5+    1/30/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun short course if you want a super fast round. In some trees which makes you have to be accurate. Lots of shade in the summer and lots of ace runs. Creek comes into play but really only aggressive shots. Long tees change the course up alot and make it more challenging.
Cons: Too many people on the weekend, makes for a long day!! Many tee signs are missing but not to hard to navigate. If the creek is up you can lose a disc pretty easily but only if its up.
Other Thoughts: Good times! Bring some water as you dont come back to the parking lot.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Long Tees

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 154  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 19 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course to play in the heat of the Texas summer. Only two holes with no shade.
Cons: Course is on a flood plane and gets very muddy after rain and some holes will stay muddy for a lack of grass.
Other Thoughts: So nobody can find the longs? Ron Sillyman, Phil Clark and I put numbered bricks in the ground to mark the front edges of the long boxes. These directions are typically written as if you were standing on concrete box facing the basket.
1. Behind you on the right.
2. Straight back at the corner of the bridge. Tee from the sidewalk and throw over the creek. Gold Tee straight back an est. 80' from the sidewalk.
3. On your left even with the Tee.
4. Back to the right, next to a tree, short of the gully. Gold across the gully but the grass grew over the bricks. If you find them, uncover them for me!
5. Back and a little to the left.
6. Back to the right, next to a tree.
7. Straight back.
8. Straight back.
9. Straight back, way back, next to a tree short of the gully.
10. Straight back, all the way to the top corner of the hill.
11. Back to the right near the bench.
12. Down the hill to the right in the woods. On the right side of 11 fairway. Close to 16 long.
13. Back
14. On the left.
15. On the right.
16 . Straight back in the woods. Gold aka the horse shoe. Left way left next to a powerline pole.
17. Left near the creek bank. short of 16 basket. Throw down the creek (or around for a 3)
18. Back to the right past the Alex Clark sign.

A map can be found on McKinney's parks and rec page or

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.