McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #13
3 / 327ft.   3 / 350ft.   3 / 327ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner course

5+    12/15/2007   5/15/2009
Review By: p1samuel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy par 3 course. I learned to play on this course. Lots of tall trees line the fairways so you can practice straight shots. Water hazards on a number of the holes, but nothing to daunting.
Cons: Parking area can be a pain when soccer games are going on.
Other Thoughts: Play the pro tees if you want to make this more challenging. Most of them are marked, if not, just back up a ways. Number 7, the dog leg left is the best hole on this course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Memorial course forgotten

1    5/13/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2009
5 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is an older course as evidenced by many shorter length holes. Can be a good confidence builder due to the fact that many birdies or even an ace is certainly possible. Some slight right and left turning shots. Some slight elevation on the back nine mixes it up. I enjoy the trees found on the back nine to give it a little more of a challenge.
Cons: I felt as though I was playing on a worn out, run down course. The baskets are old, worn and covered with graffiti. Definate navigation issues on this course. Most of the signs are gone or missing and just a post with a metal frame on it exists. Teepads are different sizes and shapes. Trash was found throughout the course. No hole stands out as anything special. Looks like this course can retain water in different areas, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: In general, an easy short course. Not much really stands out about this course. Don't get me wrong, I certainly enjoy these older classic type courses, but the lack of signs, trash and graffiti take away from the experience. Towne Lake is but two minutes away and would play there anytime over Alex Clark.

5 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Older course but still has some love left.

5+    3/8/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Marty McFly
Played: 59  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Are you ready to bag that first ace? Then play here! Very short fun holes to play. Water keeps you in check on several holes. A fun course that is not being used because of the new course down the road.

Just swing over here if you feel that the newer course is too crowded.
Cons: Some holes are just too short. This course just needs to be redesigned. More challenging, longer, and user friendly.

Not many holes where you will need a driver.
Other Thoughts: This is more for the casual disc golfer. Stick here if you are still learning, practicing, or have the family with you.

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A classic short course

1    3/15/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2012
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alex Clark is located in McKinney under a mile from the new Towne Lake course; so playing 36 or more holes (alt tees) is a viable option in this area. Also, since everyone seems to be cooing over Alex's new little brother Towne Lake, the course was empty when I played it. In my experience, if you don't like to wait, then this course is preferable over Towne Lake.

This is the perfect course for beginners learning the game, people looking for an easy casual round of golf, or players looking to score that illusive first ace.

I liked the course layout and use of the land. The course is simply beautiful and littered with an array of towering trees and greenery. There is good integration in terms of minor elevation changes on the back nine, and 16 is a good pucker hole.

The tees are concrete, so even after a rainy day you can still get some footing off your drive. Holes 1, 4, and 16 seemed to have the biggest threat of going in the disc creek of death, so if you toss in a disc - it's likely a goner.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #16
Cons: These are very short holes, which make since if your throwing an old school Valkyrie or DX Roc 15 years ago, but the new plastics and disc technology make short work of most holes. The length makes for good birdie attempts on every hole (this may be a positive or negative).

The poor signs have taken a beating over the years, and are in desperate need of repair. The pads, though concrete, are noticeably inconsistent even though it shouldn't be an issue for most people.

I read about playing the long tees, which seemed pretty cool, but without any signage I gave up and played the regular tees.

The biggest con besides the length may simply be hole diversity. Most holes are straight forward without much thought into forcing a certain throw. This meant that even though I was satisfied with my overall experience, I didn't have to work hard to make a low score happen (again, this may be a positive or negative).

WORST HOLE/S: #3; #7
Other Thoughts: Though still a fun and interesting course, an experienced player can tell that Alex Clark Memorial DGC is past its prime. The well-worn short holes that were conducive to the disc technologies of the nineties, now play easy and dated compared to the fancy new course (Towne Lake) down the road. However, this doesn't mean this course is a waste of your time - instead it shows the longevity of the challenges presented by good course design.

Given its history and location, I think Alex Clark still deserves the love of the people in the area. My buddy and I were the only players on the course the entire Sunday morning after we left a very crowded Towne Lake. To me the silent serenity of nature playing alone a course is bliss, but worrisome in that this course may become obsolete and extinct in the future. Updated pin locations, and some TLC to the course signage could certainly breathe some new life into this classic.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Fine Course!

5+    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: GROOVY BOSSMAN
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: wooded, not too long, requires accuracy, some real chances for ace, even for newer players!
Cons: #1 is the most difficult hole for backhand rights, need to throw straight or you will be scaling the steep banks of the creek, Need a nice turnover disc for hole #13
Other Thoughts: the mandatory markers make for a much more challenging round for beginning players

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Alex Clark

5+    1/30/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun short course if you want a super fast round. In some trees which makes you have to be accurate. Lots of shade in the summer and lots of ace runs. Creek comes into play but really only aggressive shots. Long tees change the course up alot and make it more challenging.
Cons: Too many people on the weekend, makes for a long day!! Many tee signs are missing but not to hard to navigate. If the creek is up you can lose a disc pretty easily but only if its up.
Other Thoughts: Good times! Bring some water as you dont come back to the parking lot.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Long Tees

5+    1/19/2009   1/19/2009
Review By: giles
Played: 147  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 17.9 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hands down the best course to play in the heat of the Texas summer. Only two holes with no shade.
Cons: Course is on a flood plane and gets very muddy after rain and some holes will stay muddy for a lack of grass.
Other Thoughts: So nobody can find the longs? Ron Sillyman, Phil Clark and I put numbered bricks in the ground to mark the front edges of the long boxes. These directions are typically written as if you were standing on concrete box facing the basket.
1. Behind you on the right.
2. Straight back at the corner of the bridge. Tee from the sidewalk and throw over the creek. Gold Tee straight back an est. 80' from the sidewalk.
3. On your left even with the Tee.
4. Back to the right, next to a tree, short of the gully. Gold across the gully but the grass grew over the bricks. If you find them, uncover them for me!
5. Back and a little to the left.
6. Back to the right, next to a tree.
7. Straight back.
8. Straight back.
9. Straight back, way back, next to a tree short of the gully.
10. Straight back, all the way to the top corner of the hill.
11. Back to the right near the bench.
12. Down the hill to the right in the woods. On the right side of 11 fairway. Close to 16 long.
13. Back
14. On the left.
15. On the right.
16 . Straight back in the woods. Gold aka the horse shoe. Left way left next to a powerline pole.
17. Left near the creek bank. short of 16 basket. Throw down the creek (or around for a 3)
18. Back to the right past the Alex Clark sign.

A map can be found on McKinney's parks and rec page or www.ccdiscgolf.com

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Very pleasent course to play; not dificult.

5+    10/23/2008   1/18/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 106  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course to play on a very well kept piece of land. Very pretty with lots of trees and lots of shade and a fairly large creek that runs through the middle of it and comes into play on a few of the holes. There are LOTS of ace run and birdie opportunities here from the regular short pins. It is a good idea to take the time to locate the long tees as they will make the course more challenging for you...if that is what you are looking for. The long tees are marked by bricks in the ground with the number of the hole marked on them. The long tees provide more difficult lines to get to the basket and add quite a bit more distance on several of the holes. I definitely recommend playing this course if you are anywhere near it or are traveling through. It is pretty easy to recover from a bad shot here so long as you don't end up in the creek. It is wooded, but not so densely that you can't find a path to the basket in most all locations. There are a variety of ways to get to the basket from most of the tee boxes as well, which really allows you to work on your shot variety. There are concrete tee pads and nice baskets. Good signage with accurate information. Aside from the few holes with the creek by it, this is a good course for beginners to learn the game. It is difficult to lose a disc anywhere other than the creek. Also, this course is located directly across the highway from Towne Lake, so you have two great courses very close to one another, making a longer trip very worth while!
Cons: The water hazard definitely lives up to the word "hazard" as it comes into play considerably on hole number one and a couple of other holes. It is difficult to get a disc back once it disappears into the water. Flat course with little elevation change.
Other Thoughts: There is something really special about this course. Maybe it is the shade, or the fun of getting to make ace runs on so many holes in one round...but it is truly one of the more enjoyable courses in the DFW area. If you can't enjoy yourself playing a round here, then you need to just quit. This course is a MUST play for locals or anyone that it is convenient to stop to play while passing through. If I lived within 30 minutes of this course, I'd be there once a week at least. I am almost an hour away, though, so I don't get to make it out as often as I'd like.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

5+    1/10/2009   1/11/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/3/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am impressed by this course. The holes are all fun to play, even if you do wind up doing something wrong, it isn't too hard to recover from a mistake. I was a fan of the signs. (although a few were missing their signs) Excellent course for new players to learn and practice on.
Cons: Steep banks on the water hazards make retrievals very difficult. Unless you have a tool, getting your disc back might be an issue. A lot of players were disc fishing, and it sometimes slows play.
Other Thoughts: I plan to play this one often. It is definately a new favorite. I enjoyed the back nine a little more than the front, but every hole is fun. Most of the baskets are directly in front of the tees, but the trees keep it interesting.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Huff and puff blow me down

2-4    11/30/2008   12/17/2008
Review By: brumbaughcm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Different shot types some alternate tees if you get tips from the locals. Park is clean. Makes an amateur have a good time, makes a pro some money. Plenty of birdie attempts. On an average day i would think wind isn't a huge issue because of the tree canopy. Provide shade. Close to a sports store to buy lots discs
Cons: Don't let your newbie friends play the holes near the gully. As mentioned before lacks elevation change and distance. You might have to go to the sports store to buy new discs.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on a very windy day. I should have called it quits when I showed up. So I can't knock the course for loosing two discs in the GULLY. Unlees its summer, or you have a tool to fish out your discs...throw with warning... headed for the gully, high probability the guy with the disc diving dog will be owning a new disc! I went back with a tool, and low and behold it was gone, either floated down river sank too deep or see above! JASON, from cali, thanks for the tour, and watching my back as i crawled deep into the gully for my viking!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.