McKinney, TX 
Alex Clark Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: climber3201 Hole #1
3 / 279ft.   3 / 393ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Fun for all skill-levels

5+    4/15/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park filled with old-groth trees that provide tons of shade (pretty much the entire course). There's a pretty large creek that comes into play on several holes to keep you on your toes. Like others said below, there's a great soccer field right across from the ample parking lot...perfect for warming up.

The layout is pretty straight-forward with plenty of trees to keep the shots from being too easy, and the underbrush mainly comes into play only around the creek...no head-scratchers or holes that make you so frustrated you want to leave. Although it's mostly short and full of ace-runs, the course is just challenging enough to draw people from all skill-levels (go play one of their minis and you'll see this first hand). A great course for first-times, and good short-game practice for Adv-Pro players.

All of the original tees have large concrete tees that are nice and wide at the back, providing plenty of room for a run-up. There are also longer/alternate tees on every hole (marked by a rope in the ground), and a few even have a "gold" level alternate tee. Playing from these tees definitely adds several strokes to your round, but you'll probably need a local to help you find them.
Cons: The park can get VERY crowded on the weekends...mainly casual players and large groups. In my experience, many of the casual players didn't understand the concept of "playing through", but were all nice enough to allow me to if I stopped and asked.

Some of the signs are missing, but it's very easy to navigate from hole to hole without them.

Parts of the creek are very deep, so be careful if you dive in after your disc.
Other Thoughts: Despite the generally short length of most of the holes, the ace pot at the weekly mini has been known to get over $500 at times...which always brings out a lot of people (around 40 players last time I attended a mini).

All in all, this is a very fun course to play. When I lived in Dallas my home was at least an hour away from Alex Clark Memorial DGC, but I still found myself travelling there about once a month to try and rack up a few more aces ;)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great all around course

5+    10/8/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Tortoise
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2008
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is just fun to play. Most of the players are regulars and are very friendly. The signs are informative. The course is well mantained. There is a good variety of holes from short, to dog leg left, dog leg right, tunnel shots, lightly wooded shots, and open fairway shots. There are trash cans everywhere and the parking is great. The course flows well, It starts you out by your car takes you on a nice stroll through the woods across a bridge along the creek and drops you back off by your car.
Cons: A few signs are missing. It is pretty easy to find where the hole and next tee are but if you have any questions just ask one of the nearby players who are friendly and willing to help.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course. Whether I shoot a fews shots under or end up over I always want to play another round. And if I can't get to it that day I look forward to playing it the next time. The creek is deeper than it looks in spots. If you throw a disc in and it isn't visable from the bank I don't recommend going in after it. I play here quite often with a group of friends and it hasn't gotten old yet. I don't ever know if it will. If you are playing around dusk where pants and long sleeves or bring bug spray because the mosquitoes are out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A peaceful walk under the trees and out of the wind

5+    8/5/2006   8/5/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Alex Clark is one of the most pleasant places I know of to play a casual round. Large trees shade ~85% of the playing area and also serve to block a lot of the wind that usually affects you on Texas courses. The holes are short, but fun, and will work on the different throws in your game. The long tees are very poorly marked and usually only played by locals, but if you stretch the tees to the longs, the course becomes a much better challenge and less of a deuce-or-die course for higher-rated players.

The course also gets props for having some wide open soccer/football fields at the same complex, immediately across from the start of the course. These are a great place to get in some practice drives before or after a round. One of the better driving ranges for discs I know of adjacent to a DFW disc golf course.

Related to practicing/honing your game, if you are out here on a day the course isn't too busy, this course allows you to experiment with a lot of different lines on almost every hole. There a big trees that allow for high-ceiling (but not unlimited) shots and the lack of underbrush means that there are minimal penalties when you are throwing 3-4 discs off every teebox. If you're there alone, I suggest playing this course with 3 - 6 discs, throwing all of them on every hole and use this time to work on putter-drives, midrange hyzer and anhyzer shots, tomahawks, forehands, etc... There are just enough trees to force you to hit lanes for the birdies, but most holes here can be parked via several different routes.
Cons: Almost zero elevation change, so very little chance to work on those shots. Course can be very busy on weekends or nice summer evenings, or sometimes the parking area and the first fairway will be overrun by people their for soccer tournaments.

Signage isn't great and the first time through some of the hole-to-hole flow can be a little counterintuitive (though its all so close together it isn't that hard to find your way, a little better signage would still be nice).

Very little "rough" so a lot of mediocre/bad shots aren't really penalized, unless they go into the stream that plays in on 7-8 holes. Stream can be deep and the bottom is stick-filled making it hard to retrieve lost discs. I like the strategic element of the stream, but it is annoying to lose plastic and this is likely to happen at Alex Clarke.

Course doesn't offer extreme challenge for AM1/Pro players. People at this level should be shooting double-digits under from the regular tees and several down from the longs.

The longs mostly add distance or change a line slightly, making holes into harder deuces and easy-3s for better players. The longs would be a nice challenge for less-experienced players however looking to stretch their game. However, a downside of trying to play the longs is that since they aren't well known, other groups are unlikely to be watching for you if you are throwing the unmarked teeboxes. This can lead into additional difficulty on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: My numeric rating for this course should really be broken out into a "rating for pros" and a "rating for ams" score.

Alex Clark is on my mental short list of "best courses in the country for novice players." -- I'd probably give this place a 4 or a 4.5 for novice players, families, kids, etc... - the short, flat course is challenging for that level, very pretty and will improve your game and your shot selection.

However, for Adv/Pro players, this is probably a 2.5 or a 3-rated course, tops. It's fun and a nice diversion, a decent place to practice putter drives and putts, but lacks much real challenge, even from the longs (if you can find them).

The locals here are a mix -- some die-hard disc golfers (mostly Masters and AM2/3 players) who are always welcoming and good company, interspersed with lots of young kids who may or may not know disc golf etiquette.

The prevalence of young kids and other inexperienced players should make anyone feel less intimidated by the sport. Again, a great reason for this course to be played by folks who are new to the sport, or for experienced players to take friends who have never played -- Alex Clark will be a place to get them hooked.

Random note: I haven't played here very often, but of the 18 aces I've hit, I have more aces here (four) than at any other course. A hammered 8X KC Banshee on hole 2, a backhand CE Eagle up a headwind on hole 4, a backhand original San Marino Roc on hole 12 and a forehand DX Firebird on hole 17. Also, more chains than I can count on various other holes. This is a great place to work on your ace count or to get a first-ace if that's one of your goals. :-)

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/31/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What makes this course excellent is the fact that, even though it is heavily wooded, the distances are realistically set so that par is obtainable.

There is enough shade to play this course at any time of day, even during the hottest part of summer.

Even with missing signs the course is easy to follow and has great flow.

The concrete tee pads are wider at the back which is good for people who need alot of room to scissor step. This should be the standad tee pad for all courses.
Cons: The river is deep! Use caution!

Many signs are damaged or missing.

This course is a tiny bit too easy or I would have given it another 1/2 disc higher rating.
Other Thoughts: Unlike most heavily wooded courses, this one will not frustrate the beginner.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: Frolffan24
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course and is perfect for hot days because it is heavily shaded with trees. The trees can be a factor. . not much wind either. It was very fun. there is some water on a couple holes but not a huge factor (except i lost one). it is a very short course with holes around 200-250 feet. Easy par course.
Cons: It is a short course and for a first time on the front nine it is a lil hard to find way around but easy once you get the hang of it
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Alex Clark Memorial

7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: climber3201
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. Trees provide shade and block wind but do not get in the way of play. Most holes have decently easy pars. Nice variety of holes including dogs to the left and right. Well maintained and located in a nice area. Discs not easily lost. Most water hazards are off the course and the rest are shallow.
Cons: Some signs have been removed.
Other Thoughts: Local players seem very nice and so generous as to give me a Champion Wraith on the spot to keep.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very easy course

5/11/2008   5/15/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: course is beautiful. alot of challenging holes. this is a great course to start out disc golfing on.
Cons: alot of people, disc were flying everywhere. some of the signs were down, so since it was my first time, i spent alot of time asking where's the next hole.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  One of my faves

5/1/2008   5/12/2008
Review By: LittlePutt
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Am and Pro tees. Shots selections.
Cons: Deep water hazards / easily lost discs.
Other Thoughts: The course plays as a pitch and putt with some challenging obstacles from am. tees. The course is significantly longer from the pro tees with a similar degree of obstacles and hazards.

*The pro tee boxes are pretty difficult to find, but every hole has one. They are marked with bricks flush with the ground with the hole # on them. The best way to find them is to look where the dirt is worn behind the am. tees somewhere, they are not concrete like the am tees.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

3/2/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: jessepittman
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2008
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course. Informative signs at tees. Lots of tall trees to provide shade and good obstacles. Several tees back up against creek. Very fun to play, all around.
Cons: Some of the holes play a little short.
Other Thoughts: Large creek winds through course. About 15 feet down in parts with steep, muddy sides. Pray that your tee shot on hole 1 doesn't pull too far to the left.

Highly recommended course overall.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.