Cypress, TX 
Wortham Trail Share
Uploaded By: ThePatrick Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
MEH

1    4/15/2014   4/16/2014
Review By: Maddpiercer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Open layout is good for beginners.
It has baskets.
Cons: The grass is super tall.
teepads are very short.
Slim pickings on the parking.
Not very well marked.
Other Thoughts: If you play here its more than likely that you wont be back. I played here just so I could kill some time as well as being able to mark it as played.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Practice Course

2-4    9/20/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: GreenDisc101
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open for most part, good course to go throw a new disc or to just get the hang of ones currently have and throw
Cons: -Lot of ants
-Grass isnt kept well and will make your lower leg/ankles itchy
-Baskets are in bad shape due to vandalism
-Navigation of a few holes is confusing first time play
Other Thoughts: Like i said it is nice that its an open course to practice on. But its not anything youll want to go back to over and over again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/18/2012   10/13/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very easy to find as it is off the main road leading into the neighborhood Wortham off the very busy FM 1960 road.The course is situated in a big vast field with plenty of room to open up big shots if you wanted to get the practice in.

The course is easy to navigate even without tee signs. The next tee usually is not far from the previous hole. No hazards or chances of a lost disc are present so this would be a great place to bring beginners for their first time.

The course itself is usually very quiet, I rarely see others playing it.
Cons: This course is simply boring. Every shot off the tee is in a wide open field which is very boring. The concrete tee pads are a tad small so any type of run up is take away. It almost seems like they are hardly worth the effort of putting them in. One pad in particular is facing 45 degrees away from the basket.

The grass is rarely mowed and in disc golf long grass usually turns into an abyss where discs go missing and there is no chance of finding them without very hard looking.
Other Thoughts: Not being a resident of Wortham seems like a non-issue. I have parked on the street next to the course with all of the other cars and have had no problems with my car being there illegally.

This is the second closest course to my house which is why I play it when I am not in the mood to content with trees and water like other courses have to offer. If I did not live 10 minutes away this would be a course I would play once, mark it as played and forget about it. There is nothing special here, plant a few trees, play over the lake and maybe we can look at a better rating for an overall mediocre course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for a Quick Round!

1    11/30/2011   12/4/2011
Review By: Goliath
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 32.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Permanent tee and baskets. Nice and open. Good to practice your form and keep in shape. If you only have an hour drop in and play because it plays rather fast about an hour. Tees generally have an arrow point towards the basket.
Cons: Small concrete tees. No room for run up on tee off. Grass is just high enough to make locating a disc slightly challenging. Hole #6 is there just to get you to hole #7.
Other Thoughts: On hole #5. Tee box points almost 45 degrees away from the basket. When playing we found a yellow stake at the 2nd big tree directly in front of the tee (about 150' out). Our thoughts is that the design was meant to play around those trees as a mandatory. That's the way we have been playing it. Park across the bridge at the pool/tennis courts.
Have fun!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wind Galore

5+    4/9/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads are concrete. Hard to lose any discs. Great place to bring beginners.
Cons: Very open and flat, not much challenge other than head winds on most holes, grass needs to be mowed more often, tee pads are small and restrictive.
Other Thoughts: If the location is convenient it's a great place to practice but don't go out of your way to play here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Some baskets to throw at

5+    6/8/2010   6/8/2010
Review By: indignation
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's only 8 minutes from my house. That's about the the best aspect of this course for me. It's also decent if you're just looking to work on drives in an open field type of setup with some baskets to throw at.

I rarely see anyone else on the course when I'm playing.
Cons: The tee boxes are ridiculous. Sure, they're concrete, but they're too small for any kind of run up. I usually set my bag on the concrete and just throw from the grass to the side of the box.

The grass is mowed fairly regularly, but it can get very high which makes it hard to find discs and can cut up your legs if you're wearing shorts.

There's nothing technical about the course, and it can get boring.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play this, but if you live close, it's an ok place to practice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing special

2-4    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Bright new double chain DISCatcher baskets. Yellow "chastity belts" make spotting the baskets nice and easy. Mostly long, open, windy holes allow you to practice driving and putting with the wind. There are hole numbers and arrows pointed to the baskets painted on the concrete tee boxes. Baskets are numbered, which helps navigation. Practice basket by tee #1. The first few holes have some trees with which to contend but nothing significant.
Cons:
The biggest con is that this course is just boring. The openness of the course doesn't force any creative shot making. The concrete tee boxes are too small and a couple are pointed in the wrong direction with respect to the basket. No tee signs or distances posted. The grass has been very tall both times I've played which can lead to a lot of time looking for discs. The tall grass can also make it hard to find the next tee box for first timers (I've created a general map (uploaded to DGCR) to help navigation). The popular walking trail is in play on a couple holes for slightly errant shots. There's no convenient vehicle parking.
Other Thoughts:
You can stand just about anywhere on the course and see all ten baskets which tells you how open the course is, but is also somewhat surprising considering how long the nine holes play. This is not a destination course, nor one that I'm motivated to return to for casual rounds; if I lived extremely close that might change. This course could improve with Alt tees from a course designer who knew what they were doing. When I played parking at the pool was full so I parked at the end of the Wolsley Ct. cul-de-sac which is a short walk to tee #4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Best public on 290, kind of like Best Sushi in Missouri.

1    9/18/2009   9/20/2009
Review By: ratboy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is close to my house and on the way home from work. If you are looking to work on your long drives, there is something to be said for this course. You can see most of the pins from the tee box, so that is good for a beginner.
Cons: I am a rank amateur, and have only played 6 courses (this is my first review) but it ranks 6/6. It is long for a mediocre course, the grass is high, and there are few trees or other variations to make it interesting.
Other Thoughts: I am just getting started, but this spot has good basics without good planning. Nice pins, nice tee boxes, but the set up is very average. I don't plan on spending much time here unless they MOW. Grass is very high.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Wide Open

2-4    6/3/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is a decent length with birdie shots only going to longer players off the tee. The first five holes have a respectable array of trees to work your disc around requiring a bit more accuracy, but longer players will enjoy wide-open holes six through nine. Holes are not marked with yardage yet, but as an example my guess is hole seven is around 600'+.

Wortham has a decent layout for the limited land space it's on. It wraps around on itself and even has a practice basket to warm up on before starting.

The course is brand spanking new, so the baskets and boxes are in perfect shape. The DisCatcher model with it's yellow ring is a perfect choice for first timers trying to spot the basket. There are also concrete tees, which can be a bonus since the course looks like it may be on a flood plain. Each box has a number and directional arrow toward the basket painted on the concrete.

BEST HOLE/S: #2
Cons: The concrete tee boxes are a great example of how a pro can also be a con. They measure 3' x 6', which gives a little room for any type of run up or x step. As the area around the box becomes more rutted over time, the concrete may become more a hindrance than help. Hole five is also a good example of poor planning. The concrete box points in one direction while the actual hole is about 30 degrees to the left making the box virtually useless. Thankfully, the arrows serve as a good guide.

Hopefully this will change, but the grass is tall and painful. Until (or if) the course gets mowed I recommend bringing some long socks to save your legs. The long grass also makes it particularly difficult to spot a disc.

There is no parking. I parked illegally by hole two, but I recommend driving past the course, over the bridge, and parking next to the tennis courts in the neighborhood. Hole one begins at the corner just past the bridge.

There is no signage yet, so flat boxes in high grass can be annoying to find for the first timer. There is also no yardage posted yet, so bring your range finder. Finally, the course has little variation in obstacles, and no elevation changes. There is a lake, but it's not utilized in the design.

WORST HOLE/S: #6
Other Thoughts: Ultimately the course may be too long and hard for a beginner and too typical and boring for an experienced player. I didn't mind the course, and will probably log many rounds since it's so close to my house, but much like CrossPoint Church in Katy - the ho hum of long open shots can get a little old. This course really only needs two discs - a long driver and putter, which may be a perk for some.

I'm always happy to have more local courses to play, but like CrossPoint or Miramar Park, if you're not in the area, you don't need to go out of your way to find this course. I think Wortham hovers just over a 2.0 mark at this point, and I would edit this rating to a 2.5 with some signage and maintenance, but given its current limitations, I'm hard pressed to give it much more than that.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great because it's close

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: ThePatrick
Played: 181  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's really close to my house. Enough said. Other than that, it's a great place to air out some drives. For just a local little 9 hole, it's actually a longer course. 6 of the 9 are over 300' from first guess. There is no real technical challenge, but it's great for learning distance. Wind could play a big factor as it's open and really close to a lake. There is a practice basket with over 100' of space in every direction. All 10 baskets are Discatchers with inner chains.
Cons: There's not enough technical challenge. The park could greatly use a few strategically planted trees. It's also really high grass (almost waist high in spots) so finding discs even on normal "fairway" shots. I got cut up pretty bad walking through it.
Other Thoughts: This has potential to be a great little neighborhood course. There are enough places to put in some longer/alternate tees, possibly to incorporate the lake into play. Mowing would be greatly appreciated here.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center