Moberly, MO 
Rothwell Park West - The Woods Share
Uploaded By: moberlydisc Hole #18 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 368ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    5/27/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Keokuk Discer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: This is a great challenging course. I had to pull every trick out of my bag to play here. There scenery added to the fun. The fairways were well defined and there was a good combination of short and long holes.
Cons: Holes 10 and 11 share a fairway and #10 could cause trouble with tent campers. The map on the scorecard could be larger for us older gentlemen to be able to see.
Other Thoughts: If I return to Moberly, THIS is the course that I will want to play. I had a ball here.

 The Weekend in Moberly

2-4    10/1/2011   10/3/2011
Review By: Jorge
Played: 63  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great signage on each of the holes
-Course flowed well
-Kiosk had score cards, map of course, very well done
-Concrete tee pads
-Course appeared to be cleared out fairly well. Even though it's the "woods", the fairways were clear and easy to navigate if you didn't wander far, and even if your drive wasn't on the fairway, the under growth was minimal
-Beautiful hole #7 near the water
-Water and restrooms near course
-Gravel roads not out of bounds (there are a few of them, and for me that was a good thing)
-Par shouldn't be hard for most
Cons: -No trash cans on the course at all
-Only a few benches, but the course isn't so long that with one round you need a few of them
-If the rodeo is in town, don't plan on playing because a few of the holes play around the rodeo area, and it is out of bounds and you can end up in it on hole 4
-Holes 10 and 11 - 2 of the longest holes play at each other so that even a decent drive may end up on the other hole's fairway, so look out for discs
-Electrical box on hole 8 in the fair way and fenced off pump on hole 7 - Things that shouldn't be on a DG course but come into play
Other Thoughts: Over all a wonderful course. I was nit picking to find something wrong with it. The worst thing is the lack of trash cans. 10 of us from St. Louis camped out here for the weekend. How to describe the weekend? Unbelieveable. The large tent camping area ($8 per night per tent) with picnic table and fire ring is 30' off the fairway of hole 10 (watch where u set up your tent), so we played this course as singles, doubles, 4 on 4, and a little night golf as well. The park rangers could not have been nicer and hospitable. They are lacking showers but rumor is that within the next year or so they may have them. The other course is just on the other side of the park and a short drive. Lakes to fish, water park, lots of activity, and even a mini train you can ride on Sundays.

If you are wanting to plan a out of town trip and camp, THIS IS THE PLACE. You will not be disappointed. The 2 courses complement each other perfectly. If you could combine the scores for both courses in one park, it would be a 5, a must play for both.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good signs that include a graphic rendition as well as a photo of the hole.
* A stake to hang your bag on nearly every hole.
* Holes in the woods that require hitting your lines for a nice risk/reward setup.
* Some diversity which requires a variety of shots.
* Hole 17, which is a legitimate and difficult Par 4.
* Some of the wooded areas off the fairway aren't too difficult to navigate.
Cons: Wasn't able to figure out if the basket was in the A- or B-pin location from the tee.
* Hole 16, which is a toss-and-pray shot (possibly a tomahawk) uphill through the woods.
* The pin location to Hole 7 -- which is a couple feet from the edge of a hill that meets the water. Unless your shot is close or you are daring, this setup forces a layup in order to save your disc.
* A few of the longer holes fall into the "long par 3s/short par 4s" category
Other Thoughts: Practice basket and path to Hole 1 are located on the right side -- through the large parking lot past the lodge -- shortly after entering the park.

Scorecards (which include a small map) are available at the beginning of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/9/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will teach you everything you need to know about disc golf. If you have a weakness, it will be made apparent. It's very tight if you throw the right shot, and closed if you throw the wrong shot. The distances are varied, the lines are varied, and the terrain is varied. It's my favorite course to play on.
Cons: This course may induce psychotic episodes. On some holes, it's pretty easy to spend 3-4 shots in the woods. The later holes (14-17) have very difficult ace lines that you just have to try out to see if they go all the way.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. All the anger that it causes is made up for by the times you get your disc on the line (There's and ace run on almost every hole if you look hard enough.)

Many of the holes that people complained of being a "shoot and pray" have been cleared out, and several low-hanging limbs have been removed. 16 has a 20' wide fairway all the way to the basket. 4 used to have a very low limb 50' in front of the pad that is gone now, opening a straight shot to the basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2010   3/25/2011
Review By: VictorB
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some solid holes, parts of the course are through the woods and require good finesse shots or you get in trouble off the fairway. Concrete teepads have been installed since I last played it, so that's a definite plus, I'm not a fan of natural teepads.

A fair mix of long holes and shorter technical holes.
Cons: A few of the holes (2, maybe 3 tops) are just plain bad.

15, in the short placement, is literally a 100' downhill jump putt. In the 'long' left placement it is (or at least was, unless they cleared some stuff out) nearly impossible to reach the putting green.

16, there is absolutely no fairway to shoot to. Throw and hope you make it through the woods.

17, is a really long hole with 2 distinct doglegs to the fairway - but the fairway itself isn't wide and you definitely are in trouble if you get off the path.

These three holes could be addressed and made better pretty easily though.
Other Thoughts: Haven't played the course since they changed the layout of the last hole or two. It's not a bad course, but it's not the best I've see either. Decent use of the park. A couple of holes desperately need improvement, and would make the course feel better overall, instead of running into 3 holes in a row that are of questionable design.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tee Pads

5+    9/25/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Boggyman
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads have been put in place. The course is a good tec course. So sorry all you big arm ppl.Well there is hole 11 600 plus feet lol
Cons: There is still some work that need to be done there but course is coming around great with it only being in the ground for 1 year
Other Thoughts: If you have not played this course in a long time you should come play it again with tee's in place and new signs with A and B placments marked on them

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course

1    9/25/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: bigt
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout of the course great use of the area.
Starting to get played into shape.
New tee markers.
Alternate basket locations.
Cons: I think it's hole 16 that just does not have a clear line to me, it takes a luck shot to make par.

No concrete tee pads but that is being taken care of
Other Thoughts: I think with time this will be one of the better better places in the state to play as they tweek it.

It helps that the park director is a player

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Much Improved

5+    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: MOchains
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is much improved from its original layout. Holes 1-4, 8, 12, 13, 16, and 18 have been changed significantly by adding new pin placements. The original holes 17 and 18 have been combine and a new holes have been built. The course has been stretched longer than listed on several of these hole making hole 4, 7, 10, and 17 par 4. This is going to be an excellent course in years to come.
Cons: This course does not have concrete pads. This would not be a big deal, however, many of the tee areas are uneven and some contain large roots that make tees difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This course is still young and the group in Moberly has worked hard to improve this course. Don't let the lack of concrete pads scare you; this one is worth playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    8/17/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: ukebork
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I may be biased, because it is the course in my park, but I like this course. Being new to disc golf, I do not have a lot of courses to compare to, but this one is fun to play on. It is a nice mix of open and wooded areas. With some of the recent work done on the course, the wooded fairways are opening up well. It has a lot of different types of shots, flat, curved, uphill, cross-gully, etc. If you haven't played it, or haven't been back in a while, come and check it out. There are some new alternate targets, and 17 and 18 have been nicely re-done. Signaga has been improved, and a lot of the brush has been killed/cut back.
Cons: We need concrete tees, which are in the plans for the near future. Other than not being very open, and being more of a "technical" course, I enjoy it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center