Las Vegas, NV 
Red Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love the links!

5+    1/15/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, clean links style course. See other section below for you rating system and full comments. Update 6/11. This course is much better than I thought on my first visit. This course will make you a better disc golfer. You just have to play it 100% legit. No second drives. No addtl. upshots, count ALL putts and play 100% straight on the OB... any OB = 1 addt toss on your score. I will bet you a donut that if you play this course legit you can not shoot under a 35... and if you can... You are a darn good disc golfer and I want to play with you. This course forces disc selection to be better.. disc control to be spot on... length feels shorter than my first visit, but my arm is getting bigger... If you want to toss some plastic, catch some rays, hang with your buds and smoke some weed, go to Sunset park. Come here to really improve your game. Take a look around. nice tee pads, cement borders around all OB, great signs. This course was not cheap to install and was done by some folks who really care about disc golf. Thank you!!
Cons: See other section below. Standing water in the a.m. from irrigation and way too much dog poop all over course... In my area you would be arrested if you did not pick up after your dog. Real shame. Trade off is that for a desert the grass is quite nice. Short and good for skipping discs. Tee pads are a bit too slick in the wet... tee from along side the pads for safety when pads are wet in early a.m. from sprinklers.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Red Ridge, Las Vegas

1. Yes. Good tee pads, but just a bit small for some of these longer holes.
2. Yes. Excellent signage, some of the best I have seen.
3. Yes. No trash cans on course, but plenty avail at park area. No trash on course, so I guess players use the cans where they are. Cans near basket for 9 and Tee for 1.
4. Yes. Overall nice clean park.
5. Yes. ZERO elevation here naturally or created. Links style layout is good, but flat. Links layout allows 9 longish holes in a tight footprint. All features were created specifically for the course.
6. No. No elevation what so ever.
7. No. Not much variety in hole length… all are mid to longish by my experience.
8. No. No tee or basket options on a very well defined links layout.
9. No. This course lacks a signature hole. All are basically point and shoot.
10. Yes. This was quite a bit of fun. The tight fairways make it a challenge. Good example of a well laid out links course. If rocky areas are played as OB you will have to be a good straight shot to make par. There are no real hyzer/anhyzer holes here as best shooting is likely a series of connected straight shots to play in the defined fairways.

Rating = 6 yes and 4 no for a total of 3 discs!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Fairway Creations

1    11/15/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 294  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Awesome Concept. The idea of creating grass fairways surrounded by desert landscaping in an attempt to make fairways where they otherwise would not exist is awesome. Most of the grass fairways are less than 30' wide and in my opinion harder to hit than the ropes at the USDGC. If you play this course with the desert landscaping being OB, this 9-Holer is extremely legit.
- Tees, Signs, Baskets. Awesome concrete tees. Beautifully illustrated tee signs. Brand new DiscCatchers. All extremely well done.
- Beautiful Scenery. The course is on the western edge of town and the views of the surrounding mountains are epic. Extremely beautiful jagged cliffs, red rocks, and towering mountains - sweet.
Cons:
- Too Long? When considering that the course borders and elementary school, I think it's too long. Instead of having 9 300-500' shots, they could have had 18 150-300' shots and really gotten the kids excited to play.
- Desert Landscaping not OB? I was shocked to see that the desert landscaping was not considered OB on the tee-signs. Other things are labeled as being OB, but not the landscaping. The one thing that makes this course so unique isn't even required. Without those areas being OB, it's just a grip it and rip it course… but with those areas being OB, you really have to GOLF. I was disappointed.
Other Thoughts:
- Layout. Hole 1 is behind the fence at center field. Initially this may seem weird since you could start at Hole 2 much easier. However, when considering course design in general, I like when courses start easy and end with a bang. Hole 1 is easy and Hole 9 could be considered a bang… so I'm willing to overlook the awkward walk from the parking lot.
- Overall… This course was really fun. I would only play it with the desert landscaping as OB and then use the signed Pars, (even though they could be considered generous). The width of the fairways and length of the holes combined with the amount of OB justifies that.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home

5+    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: drickanderson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful fairways
Well maintained
Nice, easy to read signs
Cons: Too flat
The large rocks in the OB take large chunks out of D(X) plastics
Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is really close to my house, and is the first course that I played on. I'm a bit partial to it, but after playing others, I realized how boring it was. It WILL be much better once the trees grow.

One thing to note: If you're playing during little-league season, the teams tend to congregate around the baskets for the 1st and 9th holes for practice. Most coaches are really nice about pulling the kids back until you finish the hole, but pay close attention because the kids don't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: fannypack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dedicated disc golf course.

Beautifully maintained and in a nice part of town.

Great for beginners.

Great course for practicing throwing form.

Cons: Way too easy for an experienced player.

No obstacles or trees. Only out of bounds.

Tee pads get really slippery. And grass on the course is always wet for some reason.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good beginner course

1    1/2/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: Veaux11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-marked, well-groomed, wide open fairway, playground nearby if you have kids in tow, not crowded (yet).
Cons: A little bit too easy especially if you're an experienced player. Each hole's par is listed pretty high for the distance (a couple holes are listed as par 5, but are shorter than 500 feet).
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course as it is well-groomed and provides for an interesting challenge. It's close enough to the Vegas strip that it makes for a nice little side trip if you're all gambled out. I took a friend who had never played before and it was nice for him not to have too many hazards (aside from the "baby" trees and lava rock surrounding them). In time the trees will grow and significantly increase the challenge. If you're looking for a better challenge, consider playing with strict OB rules.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.