Las Vegas, NV 
Red Ridge Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 289ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Amazing Fairway Creations

1    11/15/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Awesome Concept. The idea of creating grass fairways surrounded by desert landscaping in an attempt to make fairways where they otherwise would not exist is awesome. Most of the grass fairways are less than 30' wide and in my opinion harder to hit than the ropes at the USDGC. If you play this course with the desert landscaping being OB, this 9-Holer is extremely legit.
- Tees, Signs, Baskets. Awesome concrete tees. Beautifully illustrated tee signs. Brand new DiscCatchers. All extremely well done.
- Beautiful Scenery. The course is on the western edge of town and the views of the surrounding mountains are epic. Extremely beautiful jagged cliffs, red rocks, and towering mountains - sweet.
Cons:
- Too Long? When considering that the course borders and elementary school, I think it's too long. Instead of having 9 300-500' shots, they could have had 18 150-300' shots and really gotten the kids excited to play.
- Desert Landscaping not OB? I was shocked to see that the desert landscaping was not considered OB on the tee-signs. Other things are labeled as being OB, but not the landscaping. The one thing that makes this course so unique isn't even required. Without those areas being OB, it's just a grip it and rip it course… but with those areas being OB, you really have to GOLF. I was disappointed.
Other Thoughts:
- Layout. Hole 1 is behind the fence at center field. Initially this may seem weird since you could start at Hole 2 much easier. However, when considering course design in general, I like when courses start easy and end with a bang. Hole 1 is easy and Hole 9 could be considered a bang… so I'm willing to overlook the awkward walk from the parking lot.
- Overall… This course was really fun. I would only play it with the desert landscaping as OB and then use the signed Pars, (even though they could be considered generous). The width of the fairways and length of the holes combined with the amount of OB justifies that.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Close to home

5+    6/20/2010   6/22/2010
Review By: drickanderson
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful fairways
Well maintained
Nice, easy to read signs
Cons: Too flat
The large rocks in the OB take large chunks out of D(X) plastics
Only 9 holes
Other Thoughts: This course is really close to my house, and is the first course that I played on. I'm a bit partial to it, but after playing others, I realized how boring it was. It WILL be much better once the trees grow.

One thing to note: If you're playing during little-league season, the teams tend to congregate around the baskets for the 1st and 9th holes for practice. Most coaches are really nice about pulling the kids back until you finish the hole, but pay close attention because the kids don't.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Growing Course

5+    6/13/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 39  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very well manicured and seems as if the area was designed specifically for the sake of the course. Tee pads and signs are all great. Good variation of distance.

Cons: Course is completely flat.

Good practice course.
Other Thoughts: "I believe this course will change drastically over the years as the trees grow into size. As the trees grow, it will change the wholes to create a very cool GOLF like experience... dividing the fairways and forcing particular shots

Excited to watch the course grow." -2012

Now in 2013, the course has really started to take it's own! The holes continue to get more challenging and a very unique course is starting to develop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 BORING

1    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -good tee signs
-good tee pads
-you wont get lost
-decent challenge if playing the OB's
Cons: BORING....
-wide open
-no trees
-totally flat
Other Thoughts: when i search for course i use the filter to show 3 star courses and better to make sure i don't end up at a course like this one. If you're in the area and deciding what courses to play while here... go to Sunset park or Peccole ranch.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/2010   1/14/2010
Review By: fannypack
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Dedicated disc golf course.

Beautifully maintained and in a nice part of town.

Great for beginners.

Great course for practicing throwing form.

Cons: Way too easy for an experienced player.

No obstacles or trees. Only out of bounds.

Tee pads get really slippery. And grass on the course is always wet for some reason.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good beginner course

1    1/2/2010   1/2/2010
Review By: Veaux11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well-marked, well-groomed, wide open fairway, playground nearby if you have kids in tow, not crowded (yet).
Cons: A little bit too easy especially if you're an experienced player. Each hole's par is listed pretty high for the distance (a couple holes are listed as par 5, but are shorter than 500 feet).
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course as it is well-groomed and provides for an interesting challenge. It's close enough to the Vegas strip that it makes for a nice little side trip if you're all gambled out. I took a friend who had never played before and it was nice for him not to have too many hazards (aside from the "baby" trees and lava rock surrounding them). In time the trees will grow and significantly increase the challenge. If you're looking for a better challenge, consider playing with strict OB rules.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Green Course

2-4    9/22/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Big G
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disc Golf portion is for Disc Golf only.
Defined fairways like a ball golf course.
Green grass like a ball golf course.
Cons: Only nine holes.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great place to bring a beginner due to the fact that there are no hills: easy to walk and no roll-aways. You may have to wait for the occassional dog walker. The only reason I did not give this course a 5 is because there are only nine holes. Of course, you can play it twice to get in 18 holes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Red Ridge

2-4    8/22/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: rybob42
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The course part of the park is just for disc golf
Well-maintained
Great signs, easy to follow
Good length for a small park
Challenging fairways
Not too busy yet
Cons:
Holes are pretty similar, and only 9
Fairways are close to one another
No obstacles or elevation change, just lots (50%) OB
Tee pads are slick as ice when wet
Other Thoughts: We played this on a stormy and windy day, and the tee pads became dangerously slippery. The fairways are tough in the best of conditions, and in the wind this course became nearly unplayable.

It's definitely like ball golf: long, open, narrow fairways of niicely kept grass with no obstacles to shoot around. Of the three we played in Vegas (Sunset, Mountain Crest, and Red Ridge), I'd recommend it last of the three. That's more a credit to the other courses than a knock on this one. Definitely worth playing if you get the chance.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Red Ridge

1    8/3/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Signage is great
Concrete pads
Nicely kept
Narrow fairways make accuracy a must
Baskets on all pins
Plenty of park amenities
Young park with great potential
Easily maneuverable
Cons: No shade so definitely bring your water
20-25 minutes away from the strip (I was on vacation)
Other Thoughts: This park was nice. I felt like I was on a golf course shooting down the fairways. If you make the drive out there definitely play the sidewalks and gravel areas OB because if you don't its far too easy. For a 9 holer the distances aren't too bad but its landing in the grassy areas that makes this course difficult. I can imagine when the trees grow to there full height, this course is going to rock. I can say that this park was solely set up for this course. You definitely won't encounter any bystanders on the course. Yet, being that the course is so young, Sunset Park is still the better choice but if you're looking for a challenge accuracy wise don't overlook this course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center