Carlisle, PA 
White Tail Woods Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 352ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 UNDERGROWTH

1    7/29/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 38  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Practice hole
2. Color signs with map, par, distance
3. Water Hazards
4. Large gravel tees
Cons: 1. Undergrowth covers entire fairways
2. Spiderwebs cover fairways
3. Holes cannot be seen from tees
Other Thoughts: This course was not very fun to be honest. Every hole was very far from the tee through tight heavily wooded fairways with an absurd amount of undergrowth. Course has few benches and is not well maintained. Overall this course is reasonable but could be good if it was maintained better and had more foot traffic. Has potential, but needs some TLC.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Respectable Effort

1    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole wooded course which presents a challenge to most DG'ers. A practice basket, lost disc box and scorecard box (albeit empty) are beside the main building by hole #1. Good Innova baskets and adequate-sized tee boxes. Laminated, color signs at each hole depict distance and desired flight path. Easy navigation with wooden arrows underneath each basket pointing the way to the next hole. Good use of elevation and a small stream on the property. Hole #5- a straight drive, dogleg right and basket on a hill above water- can stand with any hole found on many 18 hole courses.
Cons: Several holes have no distinct fairways and rely too heavily on the "luck" factor. Good drives can go unrewarded, as another line of trees await your approach. Stone tee boxes need to be raked and evened out. No bathrooms or amenities. Very muddy in spots. Drives off hole #1 come dangerously close to the hole 9 basket. Noise from the highway running parallel to the course might bother some players. The rough is most certainly God-awful in the summer.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly one of the more challenging 9-holers I've played, and it's obvious thought and effort went into the design. Trouble is, more work is needed here. Cutting down a tree or two would help correct the "throw and hope" aspect of the course on several holes.

The biggest problem I see at White Tail Woods is that anyone who really wants to play disc golf is going to drive the three miles down the road to the newly installed Coyote Hills, or play any one of 5 or 6 other quality 18 hole courses within 25-35 minutes. Tiny Shaffer Park offers little else than a dog park on the premises, and the disc golf course could be a forgotten venue. WTW is worth a look, but I couldn't see myself playing frequently here unless I played it with a couple of other area courses.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 decent 9 hole extension to the local 18

1    11/23/2011   11/28/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs
Clearly defined gravel tees
Arrows to point the way to next tee
Terrain gives you a chance to experiment with lines in this tight technical course.
5 is a nice 334 foot right turn over a creek.
Cons: 1 starts out throwing over basket 9, but there are plenty of signs to prevent shooting at the wrong basket.
Many of the holes had no fairway, the course favored the lucky more than the skilled. There were only 9 holes and I started getting the feeling of redundency as I threw through scattered sapplings and young trees with no clear line, I can not even imagine this course in the summer when the foliage is in full bloom.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are in decent shape, but they are definatley showing rust and wear.
I did not see the practice baskets that were mentioned in other reviews, but I did see the dog park, but it was only open to members, so my dog could not partake in the canine playground which was almost as big a disapointment as the course.
4 seemed to have a pond on the right, but that may have been due to the town flooding.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of the toughest 9 holers you'll likely run into

5+    7/3/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: KAK3990
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Excellent use of elevation/terrain in a park that is basically dedicated to disc golf
-Very challenging 9 hole course that allows ample opportunities for shot making
-Excellent tee signs
-Lots of benches and seats along the way if you want to take a break during your round
-Signature hole #5, a wide right turning shot that shoots over a valley with a creek onto a hill where the basket is located
Cons: -The tee boxes are stones with a wood border, they leave something to be desired
-The fairways on some of the wooded holes can get overgrown at times during the summer months
-Lack of trash cans
-Some chance of disc loss if you are not careful
Other Thoughts: -Whitetail Woods is a secluded park with little to offer other than a disc golf course, unfortunately it plays along the Pennsylvania Turnpike so noise can be an issue on the first 3 holes
-Surprisingly long/challenging for a 9-holer with narrow throwing lanes on many of the holes
-Very near to the Carlisle Fairgrounds that host many car shows throughout the year, this along with its proximity to I-81 make it a worthwhile stop while in south central PA
-This course makes good use of an otherwise useless park and is worth the play, it will challenge you and at times break you down if your not careful. But it is a fun play if your up for a challenge and can be played quickly in tandem with any number of other courses located within 20-30 minutes of Whitetail Woods.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take it or leave it...

1    5/6/2010   5/11/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Close to town and can be quickly played on a lunch hour.
- decent tees
- good wooded course
- challenges left and right throwers
- arrows on bottom of baskets point to next hole
Cons: - bugs
- not very well maintained when i played it.
- nasty water - if you throw a disc in one, it will be gone

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Need a Knuckleball

1    9/5/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Very challenging, longer than your typical heavily-wooded technical course. Benches at most holes. Next tee arrows on bottom of baskets. Two practice baskets. Area dedicated to disc golf.
Cons:
Too challenging, much longer and very more heavily-wooded than a typical technical course. 4' x 8' teepads unevenly semi-filled with small stones made the run-up very difficult - eventually opted to not bother with a run-up at all. Basket #9 threatened by tee shots from #1. Teepad #5 threatened by drives from #4. Can't see baskets from teepad - often still can't locate baskets after initial shot.

Other Thoughts:
Very, or too, challenging? If you enjoy wooded/technical courses, you'll need to make that call for yourself. Don't let the long, but relatively open, #1 fool you. #2 requires a mid-range left-turning shot to exit the woods, which will leave you at one end of a clearing, and the basket at the other end. #3 has you seemingly in the middle of the woods, indicating the basket is down and to the left in a clearing - much luck if you can find any kind of path to reach even the edge of the clearing on your first shot - or second. #4 has the basket "straight" away at 350', but your disc will have to do a double, maybe triple, S-shape, to get through the multiple "lines" of scattered trees. #5 starts similar to #4, but requires a right-turn around the halfway mark, and so, too, #6, but this time a gentler left-turn (so to make up for the gentleness, add more trees than normal). #7 is the easiest hole, under 300' and left turning, but it has a OB area to the left and a second set of scattered trees (a recurrent theme) to stop shots that initially hit the desired line. #8 has you battling an assortment of trees as you work your way to the basket slightly uphill and right, and finally #9 funnels you towards a narrow exit from the woods, only to find the basket sitting amidst a trio of large hardwoods.

So, its not that the initial throwing lanes are any narrower than other woods/technical courses I've played - its that there is a second, and sometimes, third wave of trees that just take away any reasonable throwing lane - discs are not designed to dance like knuckleballs. You'll often find yourself aiming to hit the first gap, and hoping for good fortune afterwards.

Favourite hole #5:336', need to go "straight" (that is, avoiding a motley collection of trees the entire way) about half that distance, then turn moderately to the right. This takes you down a slope to a small stream, then back up to a basket set amidst mini-terracing.

This course will leave you with an itch you'll want to scratch again, which is a good thing for a course. Improving the teepads (maybe mulch/pine needles would work better than small stones?) and removing a few of the smaller trees to create a few more reasonable throwing lanes on most holes would raise this course to a top-notch nine-holer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tiny Paw Paw Needs a Big Saw Saw

1    8/6/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: What a technical challenge! 8 of the tighest woods holes you will ever encounter outside of Paw Paw. There is more than just trees here though as 4 holes provide some semi open space to work. Hole 3 has a wide deep creek running alongside to the right. Holes 5,6 and 7 play over rolling fun terrain. Often you are forced to be creative as you will be playing out of trouble and attempting to weave and find that mysterious fairway that leads to the basket. Seems a great deal of work is being done here and I am sure it will improve as it is realized how the course plays and what is sensible and what is not. Little bridges, stairs, and signs help ease the way. Particularly enjoyed the muddy but interesting hole 7. 9 feels great once you finally hit the gap and escape the woods. Friendly locals.
Cons: Damn that highway is loud! I really love wooded courses and would rather hit a few trees than hit threes on every hole BUT.........this place is a bit over the top for even my technical and tight tastes. I always think a good technical hole provides trouble: either trouble off the fairway that is severe, trouble early (tight tree gap off the tee?), trouble midway (some knockdown trees to force a technical approach midway), or trouble late (trees guarding the basket) but never would I ever want to see a hole with all 4 troubles...that is essentially playing a forrest with no discernible fairway. 2 or 3 of the 4 is OK but all 4 troubles is basically dumb as you will avoid one but hit another and since there is never a safe zone to shoot for there is no relief or strategy involved. Your basically just throwing and hoping for the best....too much luck and no skill. Many of the fairways are really nice layouts with great use of elevation and larger hardwoods but there is just too many smaller trees and bushes left in the middle of would be fairways. I don't need a massive, ruin the woods clearing but perhaps take out anything that is less than 3 inches wide or just simply clear a tight but completely clear fairway...as it stands now it is just trees off the tees....only once did I see a clear route looking back from basket to tee (hole 7 high hyzer route) I looked back at all the other fairways as I played and as I finished holes and just saw woods. When there is no difference between the fairways and the woods I am not sure there really is a fairway at all. Hole 1 plays too close to basket for hole 9. Big stones in tee pads but I am sure rubber or concrete is on the way..no biggie.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that there is a technical fan out there building a course and preserving the creative element of the game.....Kudos for that! I seemed like I was whining about the lack of room to work...I'm not...I am just being honest and hoping that maybe with time the course matures without losing the technical fun. This is the best course in the Harrisburg Corridor easily outclassing its immediate neighbors. I would play this and Willow Park to get a great tight and then open 18 holes in. Again as a course builder I understand that it's easy to rip trees out but takes years for them to grow! If the course played with less luck I would have rated it a 3.5 and with better tees maybe a 4. Pretty good for a niner!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 White Tail Put Me In My Place!

1    7/21/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course ripped me a new one. I was totally unprepared for what I was about to experience.

First of all, it was very easy to find at only a couple miles off of I81 or the PA Turnpike. Lots of food, gas, shopping choices nearby.

The course plays through a small park also used by walkers. The gounds are very pretty. The course and surrounding wooded area are well maintained. There are several holes with benches and trash cans.

The calm before the storm. Two nice practice baskets await you to the left of the parking lot to get in some pitching & putting before your round. All of the chains on the course are in good condition.

Each tee has a nice sign with the hole distance and layout. The next tee signs make it very easy to navigate the course, even without the map.

First of all, I think that this is a very challenging, VERY wooded course. Four holes play both in and out of the woods and the rest are totally wooded. There are fairways, but they're tight... actually, very tight on several holes. You would have to be VERY accurate with your drives to make it a long way down the fairways regularly. I'm fairly accurate off the tee, but not accurate enough for White Tail. The trees got me on virtually every hole. I list this as a positive because it's the nature of this course.

They make good use of elevation changes and the natural lay of the ground. You have to have all different types of shots in your bag to score well. I had to use a greater variety of shots, that I don't regularly use, on this course than on any that I've played before exept for The Woodshed in Paw Paw, WV. You will end up off of the fairway, so be prepared to handle those situations with every trick in your bag.

The length alone wouldn't be at all overwhelming. But combined with the terrain and trees, it plays much longer than the scorecard suggests.
Cons: No "facilities." And the course plays very close to the PA turnpike on a couple of holes so it can be quite loud.

Unfotunately, there are only 9 holes.

This is no beginner course. I can't imagine it being much fun at all if you're not pretty well seasoned.

The tees, as mentioned before, are made of big gravel. This does create footing challenges when driving.

The density of the trees, and the length of some of the shots that you're expected to be able to make through those trees, seems a little unreasonable to have all holes set at par 3. This may be due to my ability level but I found that it discouraged me.
Other Thoughts: I was amused by this. First of all, the course is maintained by The Girl Scouts (great job by the way). And the baskets all have sponsor information on the chastity belts. The irony here? At least one hole is sponsored by a liquor store, one by a tattoo/piercing parlor, and another by a restaraunt whos' main attraction is apparently their selection of booze. ;-) I'm not busting on these sponsors at all. I really appreciate that they probably donated the chains to the course. I just found the contrast between sponsors both ironic and amusing.

I really hope that my review doesn't come off as too negative. The course is very nice. It's just that I, personally, was frustrated by the course. I would go back in a heartbeat, though, to try my best to do better. It was a great challenge that I would love to take on again.

If the tees were fixed, either by adding concrete or rubber tees, or even by using smaller/crushed gravel, it would help greatly. And if they could incorporate 9 more holes, that would be fantastic.

I can see this course easily moving into the 4-4.5 range with just some little improvements here and there.

If you've played some of the other Harrisburg to Chambersburg 9 hole courses like Messiah, Willow Mill or Wilson College, this course will be a distinct contrast with them. They're all relatively open, short and, honestly, pretty easy. White Tail will definitely give you a totally different feel. And it could go the other way. Me? I left White Tail and went straight to Messiah and boy did I feel alot better after I got done there. :-)

If you're on I81 or the PA Turnpike near Carlisle, PA you should most definitely put this course on your short list. This is one of the few 9 hole courses that I've played that I believe is worthy of travelling a considerable distance just to play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Heck of a par 3

1    6/29/2009   7/16/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent up keep on paths and fairways. Great Tee and directional signage. Two practice baskets with mild elevation options. Elevation changes on the course.
Cons: Long crowded fairways. Large sized gravel in tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Warming up on this course has options, with two practice baskets and a little bit of elevation to the putts, you can get a great warm up before starting you round. This course is very well kept and has had alot of work done to make paths and bridges and stairs. The tees were a bit of a let down, with the large sized gravel I found it hard to get a good footing. The tee signs were very nice and had all the info on them.The first hole along with a couple others have mandos which are marked by the gazelles in the trees. The course has a nice mix of shot types and made you play smart on a couple holes in order to make the dog legs. I thought the course was a good distance but that the fairways were too crowded to have a fair shot on every hole. Alot of the holes felt like I got extremely lucky to have made it as far as I did. The course has some hills which adds some fun to the holes and the walk. Navigation was super easy with well laid out paths and next T signs under the baskets. Each basket had it's hole sponsor info on it which I thought was kinda cool, one even had directions to the bar it was promoting. The course was nice and shady and well groomed. I don't think you would have a hard time finding miss placed discs and there is even a found disc box so your disc might get back to you.

This is a great 9 hole course. I would like to see them thin out the fairways a bit so your shots seem more skillful than lucky, and add an am set of tees. This is a long course and I wouldn't say very easy for a beginner.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.