Lewes, DE 
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #18
3 / 375ft.   3 / 498ft.   4 / 589ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Sandtastic!!!

2-4    3/20/2016   3/25/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 77  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: Cape Henlopen is one of those courses where a list of pros and cons seems irrelevant as the same items can easily end up on either list depending on reviewer preference/bias, and in some cases both... "Pro: You get to play in the sand" and then, "Con: I got sand in my shoes." "Pro: Cool throwing over the dunes" and then, "Con: Blind tee shots over the dunes." It's the kind of course you're most likely either going to love or hate. I'm one of the people that loves to play Cape Hen. I played a couple of rounds here almost two years ago and played it again last weekend. The new trex tee platforms are a huge improvement over last time! I love that they only attach the back side of the fly mat so you can lift up the front to clean the sand off. The wind had them cleared off when I was there.

There's always a special feeling to a Steady Ed course and Cape Henlopen is no exception. He somehow found a way to cram more course into a small area than should be possible while at the same time picking out the most interesting terrain features to highlight. When I heard about the course at the beach I wasn't expecting the amount of elevation that plays on almost every hole. And it's not just the rolling hills that the dunes create, the trees and scrub pine play as elevation unlike any other course I've ever played. In fact, my first time here I had to learn a new way to throw, namely up and over everything. Most of the wooded courses around place a premium on keeping your shot low to fly below the branches and leaves on the trees. For the most part, this one is the opposite, often the smart play is to throw over the trees that stand between you and the basket. Learning to work a disc that you are sending 30-40' higher than usual in gusty swirling shoreline winds can be a lot of fun, or I suppose quite frustrating. For me it was A LOT of fun!! But it's not just a bunch of up and overs all day, there are some tunnel shots through the woods and throws from an open area through an opening to the green. Hyzers, annies, flicks, hammers, thumbers, bring 'em all to Henlopen because you'll need 'em. There's even a 500' wide open bomb to finish up with.

If you're traveling and playing courses on the road, I would say Cape Henlopen is a MUST PLAY because of its uniqueness. It's not the best course, nor the most challenging, but there's really nothing else like it that I've seen up to this point and it's just a ton of fun! Plus, how can you pass up a chance to play a course that is almost 40 years old and was designed by the guy that invented the game and built the first course? (And yes, I've played that one too) There's a pretty well made 2 tire basket hanging from a tree in the middle of the course... wonder if it was one of the originals?
Yes, Delaware charges for their state parks... But this one is at the beach! Make a day of it! Heck, buy the pass here and then go play Killens or Trapp or any of the other courses in the state if you want. At some point I'm definitely going to stay at the campground here, I can't think of a better day than waking up at Cape Hen, drinking my morning coffee while throwing a round and then playing in the ocean all afternoon when it's hot. And then an absolutely perfect course for a moonlight glow round!!!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Beach Course

1    6/30/2013   11/30/2014
Review By: WeirdBeard84
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location with the old military base and the campground. Challenging terrain with the dunes and pines mix.
Cons: Overall, poorly maintained and poorly labeled. Another drawback was that many of the holes were completely flooded with shallow water. Also, ticks. If you are a fan of ticks, you'll love this course. There's alot of thick, knee high grass and retrieving a disk in this space will definitely result in finding ticks on your person. be cautious in these areas.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

very fun course

5+    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads for players of all levels. Distances ranging from 200-500 feet. All types of shots used on the course. Very unique terrain to play on. Rubber mat on tee pads is only connected on one end to allow clearing any sand off. Many elevation changes throughout.
Cons: Many baskets can not be seen from the tee pads making it difficult to know where to throw. Tee signs are not 100% accurate. Some show a straight shot when it actually turns at some point. The sand makes for a tiring walk up and down the many dunes. The mats on the tees are heavy and if by yourself makes it difficult to clean off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course and a must play for all disc golfers. Played my first round alone and had some difficulty locating a couple baskets and tee pads, however, the course flow is very good for the most part. Located right next to the beach with campgrounds within walking distance. I always look forward to every round I play here...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: CheerHannah
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun and variable course! Many holes with challenges, but also holes with wide open shots! Many birdie and par shots throughout the course! Beginners may want to wait and play smaller courses that can build up to this course, but all-around very fun course!
Cons: I played from Red tees and they were worn down and looked very torn.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, so very easy to lose a disc

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging to build power as well as not slip in the sand. Unique course with tons of overhand and grenade shots(short). Not tons of traffic.
Cons: To scared to play long and middle tees and lose a disc. Sometimes signs missing or tee pad broken. No water spouts.
Other Thoughts: Had fun at this course. With a little love this could be a well rated course. Surely one of a kind

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun place!

1    8/2/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Steady Ed Original. Disc golf history.
- Multiple Tees on all holes provide multiple different shots.
- Beautiful landscape.
- The beach is right there.
- Great for a day trip.
Cons: - Playing in sand definitely wears you out.
- some of the added white and blue tees seem to force you to make stupid shots.
- As others said sand can make teepads slippery, and some have a big drop off the front of them.
- Some Teepads are in terrible shape.
- After periods of rain, a few holes are unplayable due to standing water.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a day trip, or a weekend, or even a week. Especially because Cape Henlopen was a beautiful park with tons of amenities. Rehoboth is close by, providing lodging, nightlife and other activities.

We played (almost) all red tees, to stay true to the original historic layout, and we had a pretty decent time. All in all a fun course to play because the beach is right next to it, I wouldn't go out of my way just for this course however.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very unique and fun course

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 44  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in hole design. Very scenic park. Course is played completely in sand. Multiple tee pads for each hole. Decent elevation changes for a Delmarva course due to the sand dunes.
Cons: Sand gets on tee pads and makes it easy to slip. Some tee pads have a huge drop off at the end. Equipment is in bad shape. Holes can be confusing to locate unless you have a map. Park entrance fee. Discs can slide under the sand and get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is unlike any other I have ever played. It is a fun challenge to play on the sand dunes. The course is very scenic being next to the Atlantic ocean and being is a nice park. Most holes are not very long in distance but the sand makes it seem longer since power is lost in throwing. The real appeal of this course is the uniqueness of playing on a sand course, and the great location. Don't expect to play your best here, but if you're looking for a break from the typical disc golf courses around the area, this is the one to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A cool beach course

2-4    7/5/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing on sand dunes is pretty cool.
All the holes have multiple tee pads which is great for newer players.
The tee pads are like boardwalks made with that composite decking material for most of them.
Most of the tee pads are in good shape. I used the red pads and only one had a few holes in it.
Cons: Navigation is a little confusing for some of the holes.
The baskets are a little rusty but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Try and park at the basketball court parking lot. This is the closest to tee 1 and basket 18. You can pick up a scorecard/course map at the nature center which is on the way to the basketball parking lot.

Be sure and bring water and sun screen, it can get hot in this area in the summer time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Different!! Loved it!!

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: By the beach. So different from other Delaware courses. Sand dunes.. just cool
Cons: From hole 9 its hard to find hole 10. Its back by the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Its almost a 2hr drive for me but I will go back for sure. The pars are kinda easy. Im no pro & I got a -11 & a -15 the day I played. Worth checkin out!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice change of scenery

1    8/18/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Daveech
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sand Dunes make this course challenging. Many holes have up to three tees to throw from. Some tees are elevated on sides of hills providing a unique look and starting point. Good variety of shots from open to wooded alleys.
Cons: Course signage can be improved especially marking the direction of the next tee. Some tees have loose boards and holes. Also, some are literally buried in the sand. Chains on gates have been heavily affected by the salt.
Other Thoughts: Played this course on an overcast day which was perfect for beating the heat. Enjoye the change in scenery because I am used to playing wooded courses. Hole 14b is memorable where the pin is located on the tip of a steep hillside. Will definitely be visiting the course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.