Lewes, DE 
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #4
3 / 264ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Narrow fairway cutting right into trees



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
very fun course

5+    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Multiple tee pads for players of all levels. Distances ranging from 200-500 feet. All types of shots used on the course. Very unique terrain to play on. Rubber mat on tee pads is only connected on one end to allow clearing any sand off. Many elevation changes throughout.
Cons: Many baskets can not be seen from the tee pads making it difficult to know where to throw. Tee signs are not 100% accurate. Some show a straight shot when it actually turns at some point. The sand makes for a tiring walk up and down the many dunes. The mats on the tees are heavy and if by yourself makes it difficult to clean off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course and a must play for all disc golfers. Played my first round alone and had some difficulty locating a couple baskets and tee pads, however, the course flow is very good for the most part. Located right next to the beach with campgrounds within walking distance. I always look forward to every round I play here...


1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: CheerHannah
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun and variable course! Many holes with challenges, but also holes with wide open shots! Many birdie and par shots throughout the course! Beginners may want to wait and play smaller courses that can build up to this course, but all-around very fun course!
Cons: I played from Red tees and they were worn down and looked very torn.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, so very easy to lose a disc

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very unique and fun course

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Good variety in hole design. Very scenic park. Course is played completely in sand. Multiple tee pads for each hole. Decent elevation changes for a Delmarva course due to the sand dunes.
Cons: Sand gets on tee pads and makes it easy to slip. Some tee pads have a huge drop off at the end. Equipment is in bad shape. Holes can be confusing to locate unless you have a map. Park entrance fee. Discs can slide under the sand and get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is unlike any other I have ever played. It is a fun challenge to play on the sand dunes. The course is very scenic being next to the Atlantic ocean and being is a nice park. Most holes are not very long in distance but the sand makes it seem longer since power is lost in throwing. The real appeal of this course is the uniqueness of playing on a sand course, and the great location. Don't expect to play your best here, but if you're looking for a break from the typical disc golf courses around the area, this is the one to play.

Different!! Loved it!!

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: By the beach. So different from other Delaware courses. Sand dunes.. just cool
Cons: From hole 9 its hard to find hole 10. Its back by the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Its almost a 2hr drive for me but I will go back for sure. The pars are kinda easy. Im no pro & I got a -11 & a -15 the day I played. Worth checkin out!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Foot

5+    7/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Beach no more than 300ft away from the course....
2)Not like any other course you will ever play...
3)New Baskets
4)Skilled shots are needed to play this as a 54 par course...
Cons: 1)Bugs are really bad in the middle of summer...
2)Expect to get sand in your shoes your basicly playing on the beach...
3)Course is kinda hard to follow first time playing....(but the locals are maintaining it nicely)
4)At one time the baskets were out dated.. making long puts were impossible to stick...
Other Thoughts: This was my first course I have ever played. Going camping at the park and being able to golf is very nice.. Including having the beach within distance makes this an amazing beach vacation experience...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dunes and Pines

5+    12/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a completely unique course, most of which is laid out on or into a set of sand dunes. Each hole is different, and almost all are technically challenging.

All but one tee has a sign and if you know someone in the area who plays it is not terribly hard to follow. There is now a course layout map by the practice pin and first tee, so taking a look at it should clear up any issues.

The par is really lax, but if you play a pro par the course becomes much harder.

Also, it is right by the beach, so after you are done disc golfing, you can chill in the waves or take a nap in the sun.
Cons: First time this course is hard to follow, but now that there is a map of the course, it has become a lot easier for first timers.

Sand: I would suggest bare-footing it on cooler days, or finding a sand proof shoe of some variety, because you are playing on a dune, so there is no avoiding the sand.

Older tees and pins may annoy some, but everything is there, and a new set of tee platforms have recently been put in.

Watch out for trees. Pine trees are annoying to retrieve discs from, and several holes you have to shoot over or around a bunch of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Aged though it may be, there is still the aura of novelty about it, that I have not found in any other course.

Also: if you come in the off season, like October to late March, you do not have to pay to get into the park. Other ways to get around the $8 out-of-state fee: ride a bike in; get lots of people to go; get to know a local.

I highly recommend this course if you are looking for something a little different in your schedule, just be prepared to compensate for the setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Dunes

5+    1/31/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 249  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If there's one thing I dig its playing a totally unique course and Cape Henlopen is just that. Course weaves up, down and around sand dunes and through a maze of scruff pines. A few holes are wooded and there's a long open one as well. Though short course can be quite challenging and 2/3 of your drives are blind. Playing in the sand gives a bit of a twist as your shots will, for the most part, stay where they land, no skips or rolls. Wooden platform tees work nicely. A number of holes force you to drive up and over a wall of pines. A totally unique playing experience.
***UPDATE***
Two and often 3 different tees on every hole! The locals have been putting in many hours and excellent work here. Tees are slowly getting truck bed liner rolled onto the front of them to increase grip on the wood. multiple basket placements are also being added. Also, dead trees being removed and baskets repaired.
Cons: Course navigation is a bit hard the first time out. As stated, many holes are blind shots, so do yourself a favor and take a moment to walk up and locate the basket your first time here. With the exception of the open hole, from which you can see the basket anyway, the holes are short so you don't have to walk that far up.
Other Thoughts: Cape Henlopen is a fantastic park overall. Close by the course is the beach, nice hikes and pier fishing. Being right next to the beach I can even get my girlfriend to come play here with me. Lots of wildlife here, during the summer tiny lizards can be seen running around the course and in the afternoons a heard of deer containing an albino can usually be seen in the field across from the nature center. (Which sells discs) Yes, there is a park entrance fee, but if you plan on playing Delaware state park courses more than 5 times a year just buy the State Park Pass and it will easily pay for itself. Nothing beats playing here in the off season, when its nice and quiet, and throwing to the sound of the waves crashing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.