Lewes, DE
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #7
3 / 252ft.   3 / 343ft.   3 / 373ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Different!! Loved it!!

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: By the beach. So different from other Delaware courses. Sand dunes.. just cool
Cons: From hole 9 its hard to find hole 10. Its back by the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Its almost a 2hr drive for me but I will go back for sure. The pars are kinda easy. Im no pro & I got a -11 & a -15 the day I played. Worth checkin out!!!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Foot

5+    7/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Beach no more than 300ft away from the course....
2)Not like any other course you will ever play...
3)New Baskets
4)Skilled shots are needed to play this as a 54 par course...
Cons: 1)Bugs are really bad in the middle of summer...
2)Expect to get sand in your shoes your basicly playing on the beach...
3)Course is kinda hard to follow first time playing....(but the locals are maintaining it nicely)
4)At one time the baskets were out dated.. making long puts were impossible to stick...
Other Thoughts: This was my first course I have ever played. Going camping at the park and being able to golf is very nice.. Including having the beach within distance makes this an amazing beach vacation experience...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dunes and Pines

5+    12/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a completely unique course, most of which is laid out on or into a set of sand dunes. Each hole is different, and almost all are technically challenging.

All but one tee has a sign and if you know someone in the area who plays it is not terribly hard to follow. There is now a course layout map by the practice pin and first tee, so taking a look at it should clear up any issues.

The par is really lax, but if you play a pro par the course becomes much harder.

Also, it is right by the beach, so after you are done disc golfing, you can chill in the waves or take a nap in the sun.
Cons: First time this course is hard to follow, but now that there is a map of the course, it has become a lot easier for first timers.

Sand: I would suggest bare-footing it on cooler days, or finding a sand proof shoe of some variety, because you are playing on a dune, so there is no avoiding the sand.

Older tees and pins may annoy some, but everything is there, and a new set of tee platforms have recently been put in.

Watch out for trees. Pine trees are annoying to retrieve discs from, and several holes you have to shoot over or around a bunch of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Aged though it may be, there is still the aura of novelty about it, that I have not found in any other course.

Also: if you come in the off season, like October to late March, you do not have to pay to get into the park. Other ways to get around the $8 out-of-state fee: ride a bike in; get lots of people to go; get to know a local.

I highly recommend this course if you are looking for something a little different in your schedule, just be prepared to compensate for the setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Into the Dunes

5+    1/31/2009   2/3/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 234  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If there's one thing I dig its playing a totally unique course and Cape Henlopen is just that. Course weaves up, down and around sand dunes and through a maze of scruff pines. A few holes are wooded and there's a long open one as well. Though short course can be quite challenging and 2/3 of your drives are blind. Playing in the sand gives a bit of a twist as your shots will, for the most part, stay where they land, no skips or rolls. Wooden platform tees work nicely. A number of holes force you to drive up and over a wall of pines. A totally unique playing experience.
***UPDATE***
Two and often 3 different tees on every hole! The locals have been putting in many hours and excellent work here. Tees are slowly getting truck bed liner rolled onto the front of them to increase grip on the wood. multiple basket placements are also being added. Also, dead trees being removed and baskets repaired.
Cons: Course navigation is a bit hard the first time out. As stated, many holes are blind shots, so do yourself a favor and take a moment to walk up and locate the basket your first time here. With the exception of the open hole, from which you can see the basket anyway, the holes are short so you don't have to walk that far up.
Other Thoughts: Cape Henlopen is a fantastic park overall. Close by the course is the beach, nice hikes and pier fishing. Being right next to the beach I can even get my girlfriend to come play here with me. Lots of wildlife here, during the summer tiny lizards can be seen running around the course and in the afternoons a heard of deer containing an albino can usually be seen in the field across from the nature center. (Which sells discs) Yes, there is a park entrance fee, but if you plan on playing Delaware state park courses more than 5 times a year just buy the State Park Pass and it will easily pay for itself. Nothing beats playing here in the off season, when its nice and quiet, and throwing to the sound of the waves crashing.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.