Lewes, DE 
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #13
3 / 187ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Basket up and over dune, straight away



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
very fun course

5+    10/10/2014   10/11/2014
Review By: t55dude
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Multiple tee pads for players of all levels. Distances ranging from 200-500 feet. All types of shots used on the course. Very unique terrain to play on. Rubber mat on tee pads is only connected on one end to allow clearing any sand off. Many elevation changes throughout.
Cons: Many baskets can not be seen from the tee pads making it difficult to know where to throw. Tee signs are not 100% accurate. Some show a straight shot when it actually turns at some point. The sand makes for a tiring walk up and down the many dunes. The mats on the tees are heavy and if by yourself makes it difficult to clean off.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a very nice course and a must play for all disc golfers. Played my first round alone and had some difficulty locating a couple baskets and tee pads, however, the course flow is very good for the most part. Located right next to the beach with campgrounds within walking distance. I always look forward to every round I play here...


1    10/10/2014   10/10/2014
Review By: CheerHannah
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun and variable course! Many holes with challenges, but also holes with wide open shots! Many birdie and par shots throughout the course! Beginners may want to wait and play smaller courses that can build up to this course, but all-around very fun course!
Cons: I played from Red tees and they were worn down and looked very torn.
Other Thoughts: Lots of trees, so very easy to lose a disc

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/16/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: PWaggoner
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging to build power as well as not slip in the sand. Unique course with tons of overhand and grenade shots(short). Not tons of traffic.
Cons: To scared to play long and middle tees and lose a disc. Sometimes signs missing or tee pad broken. No water spouts.
Other Thoughts: Had fun at this course. With a little love this could be a well rated course. Surely one of a kind

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun place!

1    8/2/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: FlyingHyzer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Steady Ed Original. Disc golf history.
- Multiple Tees on all holes provide multiple different shots.
- Beautiful landscape.
- The beach is right there.
- Great for a day trip.
Cons: - Playing in sand definitely wears you out.
- some of the added white and blue tees seem to force you to make stupid shots.
- As others said sand can make teepads slippery, and some have a big drop off the front of them.
- Some Teepads are in terrible shape.
- After periods of rain, a few holes are unplayable due to standing water.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for a day trip, or a weekend, or even a week. Especially because Cape Henlopen was a beautiful park with tons of amenities. Rehoboth is close by, providing lodging, nightlife and other activities.

We played (almost) all red tees, to stay true to the original historic layout, and we had a pretty decent time. All in all a fun course to play because the beach is right next to it, I wouldn't go out of my way just for this course however.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very unique and fun course

1    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
Pros: Good variety in hole design. Very scenic park. Course is played completely in sand. Multiple tee pads for each hole. Decent elevation changes for a Delmarva course due to the sand dunes.
Cons: Sand gets on tee pads and makes it easy to slip. Some tee pads have a huge drop off at the end. Equipment is in bad shape. Holes can be confusing to locate unless you have a map. Park entrance fee. Discs can slide under the sand and get lost.
Other Thoughts: This course is unlike any other I have ever played. It is a fun challenge to play on the sand dunes. The course is very scenic being next to the Atlantic ocean and being is a nice park. Most holes are not very long in distance but the sand makes it seem longer since power is lost in throwing. The real appeal of this course is the uniqueness of playing on a sand course, and the great location. Don't expect to play your best here, but if you're looking for a break from the typical disc golf courses around the area, this is the one to play.

A cool beach course

2-4    7/5/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing on sand dunes is pretty cool.
All the holes have multiple tee pads which is great for newer players.
The tee pads are like boardwalks made with that composite decking material for most of them.
Most of the tee pads are in good shape. I used the red pads and only one had a few holes in it.
Cons: Navigation is a little confusing for some of the holes.
The baskets are a little rusty but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Try and park at the basketball court parking lot. This is the closest to tee 1 and basket 18. You can pick up a scorecard/course map at the nature center which is on the way to the basketball parking lot.

Be sure and bring water and sun screen, it can get hot in this area in the summer time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Different!! Loved it!!

1    9/1/2013   11/1/2013
Review By: Ufcfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: By the beach. So different from other Delaware courses. Sand dunes.. just cool
Cons: From hole 9 its hard to find hole 10. Its back by the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Its almost a 2hr drive for me but I will go back for sure. The pars are kinda easy. Im no pro & I got a -11 & a -15 the day I played. Worth checkin out!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice change of scenery

1    8/18/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: Daveech
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sand Dunes make this course challenging. Many holes have up to three tees to throw from. Some tees are elevated on sides of hills providing a unique look and starting point. Good variety of shots from open to wooded alleys.
Cons: Course signage can be improved especially marking the direction of the next tee. Some tees have loose boards and holes. Also, some are literally buried in the sand. Chains on gates have been heavily affected by the salt.
Other Thoughts: Played this course on an overcast day which was perfect for beating the heat. Enjoye the change in scenery because I am used to playing wooded courses. Hole 14b is memorable where the pin is located on the tip of a steep hillside. Will definitely be visiting the course again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    7/13/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: multiple tees for different levels of play
baskets have arrows to get you to the next tees
baskets are either orange or have an orange number plate
you're at the beach!!! You can play 18 holes, go for a dip in the ocean, then come back for some more.
Cons: some of the tees are in poor shape
chains are very rusted on the baskets
there was a lot of standing water in areas that there were trees from heavy rains and flash flooding from several days before.
You can't see the basket from most of the higher level tees. The signage could use an update. You'll spend a lot of time marching up the sand to see if you can find the basket before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: I played Henlopen three years ago, the last time we vacationed in Lewes. It seems that several of the tees have been fixed, but there's a lot of work that the course needs. There were several holes that were completely unplayable because of water. Between holes 17 to 18, there were trees down blocking any walking paths.
If you're visiting, and it hasn't rained hard recently, then it's a nice vacation play in the sand if you need a break from the water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun But Different

2-4    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: JSlavy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice use of elevation because of the dunes. Terrain reminds me of the dunes on the outer banks of North Carolina.

- Some really cool holes. #16 (I think - sign said 14b) had a basket on the slope of a steep dune. Great hole. Like the baskets that are on or behind the dunes.

- No heavy brush. Mostly downed pines and dead pine needles. Holes 1 and 10 have some tall beach grass that could maybe cause a lost disc but that's about it.

- Short tees actually are a totally different hole as opposed to just a shorter shot. Less blind shots while adding finese skill shots to the basket.

- The back nine wooded holes are really well designed, more like a regular course and make great use of the terrain.

- Beach is the best way I could think of to cool off after a round.
Cons: - Too many blind shots unless you play short tees.

- Hard to find the next tee but the Next Tee signs do help.

- Very easy to shoot at the wrong basket due to the up and back layout of the course. I threw to 18 accidentally instead of 8. And almost threw to 1 on hole 7 and basket 10 on the first hole. Use a printed map and next tee signs together and it helps. Without a map I would have been lost.

- HOT!!!! Avoid playing mid day in the summer. If so bring PLENTY of water. I felt like I was going to pass out when I played mid day and had to rest in the shade and down some water. The heat coming off the sand is brutal by noon.
Other Thoughts: Was staying in Lewes for a weekend and went two days in a row. First day was rough but brought my wife and dad who wanted to try disc golf and they had a blast. Not an ideal beginner course but I think the red tees and a day at the beach made it a hit. My dad wants to try some local Baltimore area courses now.

I had more fun on day 2 by just playing the red tees while teaching my wife and dad. There were less blind shots and less plodding through the hot, soft sand to scout the basket before teeing off, which can sap your strength and fun if you're not used to it.

Thanks to reviews I wore sandals. They were the best option but the sand still chafes your feet after a while.

An idea my dad and I had after playing on day two: Park at the big beach lot. Start at hole 13 across from the lot and finish up at 12. Play in your swim trunks and sandles and you can dip in the water after a short walk across the lot, otherwise you have to walk around the course again from 18 to the beach.

This course is much more fun once you are used to it. On day one I was pretty frustrated and hot, playing at around 2 pm in scorching sand in august and skipped some holes to go to the beach. On day two we played early morning, knew the layout and it was much more fun. For those who tried it and hated it, another round may be a totally different experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.