Lewes, DE 
Cape Henlopen State Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #2
3 / 181ft.   3 / 283ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Unique Course

2-4    6/9/2011   8/5/2011
Review By: Bzach
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Right near the beach and most of the course is in the sand.
-Good course layout with the back nine in a larger circle around the front nine.
-great altitude changes and there are just enough trees to make it challenging without making it frustrating.
-Course markings are clear and easy to follow once you find the fist tee.
Cons: -The sand get into everything. Bags, shoes, ect. I would suggest wearing sandals.
- Small cactus are everywhere so watch your step.
- there are not many bushes but the ones that are there have some of the biggest thorns that I have ever seen.
- Rollers do not work in sand.
Other Thoughts: I played this course twice in the five days that I spent on vacation and I would have to say that this course provides an overall positive experience. Playing in the sand is incredibly fun and its interesting to see how your game changes when you play on a different surface. You do have to pay to get into the park however this will also get you into all the Delaware state parks some of which have other disc golf courses. Lastly there is wildlife everywhere, we pulled in and the entire parade field of the park was full of deer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy Discin'

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: RedHotCujo
Played: 124  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good path guidance with arrows on baskets pointing to next tee, got around quite easily first time playing with a little confusion around hole 10.
(you can pick up a course map from the nature center or look at the board by the first tee)
-Good for all levels of play because most holes have a blue, white, and red tee pad.
-Unique course in that it is primarily located on sand.
-Hard to lose a disc (despite other reviews) because there is not much shrubbery or or rough so if you have a general idea of where it went you should be fine.
-Well kept, great tee pads, great signs showing length and direction of the hole.
Cons: -It is a short course.
-Most of the throws are blind.
-Some of the baskets a rusty and rickety.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area, this is definitely worth making a trip to just because of its uniqueness of the course.
If you are willing to travel, this is a great destination because after a quick round (love it or hate it) you can take a stroll to the beach afterward to cool off on the white sandy beaches!
Its a relatively easy course that plays rather quickly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 LOVE IT!!!

2-4    5/8/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: i absolutly love this course. the layout is awesome. the sand dunes in which it is constructed are an added difficulty not only in the hiking but in the spotting of the baskets. everything about this course i love and i will definatly be making the 2 hour drive again to play this course multiple times
Cons: the only bad thing i can think of about this course was ummm well nothing. i loved it

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/22/2009   8/11/2010
Review By: JediEthan1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting course! Boardwalk teepads and constant sand give it a beach feel, but I hop that you don't hope for rolls/skips in the sand!
Beach is very closeby: Within the park!
Cons: Sand gets in shoes, boardwalk tees can be rickety, hard to see basket from tee.
Other Thoughts: Cool course. I would come back for sure. It's certainly different from other Delmarva courses I've played!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 me no likie

1    4/9/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Shadwrack
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Your disc wont skip, ever! Sand is cool, I guess.
Cons: $8 out of state. bathrooms closed. windy. rusty baskets. several water hazards. tee signs hard to read and confusing. bad course layout, no flow. did I mention the wind?
Other Thoughts: sorry, there isn't much else to say. I'll probably never play this course again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dunique Course!

1    9/15/2009   10/9/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow! This is one of the funnest and most unique courses I have ever played. Rolling up and over hills of sand, Threading Pine Alleys, Taming the Wind, and just soaking up the otherwordly experience of playing this one of a kind disc golf course. This course will present you with plenty of blind BUT rewarding holes. I was expecting an annoying blind course and to lose discs all over this course based on my intermediate skill level, the prior reviews, and playing alone. I was so glad I took the chance to play this joyride. I did not lose a disc and the holes were some of the funnest and unique I have ever encountered in over 90 played courses. 2/3 of the holes play over white sand dunes with scrub brush and pines sprinkled throughout. It's almost like your out in some far away desert or another planet as you play here. The tees are wooden plank boardwalks that provide enough room to drive from given the not so distant baskets. The challenge here is derived from the elevation shifts and tight pine fairways. Often your disc is sailing upward over a dune with nose up and it catches the wind...woooah! Next time you might throw a sideways wind cutting hyzer and take into consideration the effects wind can have on your throw. The blind throws require some scouting but it's glory to walk over a massive dune and see your disc parked next to the basket. Holes 14 and 15 are fun woods holes that break up the dunes. Hole 18 is a monster 500 footer that depending on the wind can play differently everytime. The course area is primarily disc golf so relax and escape for awhile into the dunes. Your discs will not get beat up by rocks and even the pines are gentle in how they handle discs.
Cons: Sure your gonna get sand in your shoes and sand on your discs....boo hoo! I'd rather be plastered with sand than caked in mud and scratched by thorns like most east coast courses of this caliber. I did get 2 metered once but it wasnt hard to retrieve or find the disc...(The pines at Seneca and other places are much more evil). The boardwalk tees can be awkward at first but you don't need crazy run ups on these mostly short driving holes. Navigation is a bit tricky and it could stand to be better marked but you can print a map or take note of the map at the info kiosk. I really can't whine too much I just found the course to be a delight and the fun factor far outweighs any cons. Be careful of bike riders and walkers on a few of the holes on the back 9. Not an elite course but is definetely memorable.
Other Thoughts: Bring fluids if it's hot out. The actual Cape is just a driver's throw away and I would recommend hitting the waves after a round as a way to unwind and cool off or just to soak up the ocean views. I fully expect many to disagree with my rating of this course but I had a blast playing here and the environment with the ocean and beautiful beaches nearby is second to none. Pay the entry fee and drive to the beach access area as you pass the soccer fields to your right the course will be on your left. Park near the basketball courts.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rollercoaster

1    8/20/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The signage is fairly good. At the long tees (there appear to be unmarked short tees for holes 1-9), you'll find the distance, basket location, and next tee information. At many baskets, you'll find next tee arrows.

The main parking lot for the beach is not too far away, there are other activities at the park, and there is a Dairy Queen just a few miles away if you simply stay on the main road when you exit.
Cons:
$8 to enter the park. Since most opening shots are blind, can be time-consuming for a first-time visitor if you bother to scout the basket locations before throwing. A few shots play near walking/biking paths. Sign for #11 was missing the day I played.
Other Thoughts:
Two nine-hole loops playing in a counterclockwise direction, with holes 1-9 forming a loop inside of holes 10-18. Other than the mostly wide-open nearly 500' #18, and a few holes around 200', most holes fall into the 240'-335' category, and the average length is about 275'. The tee pads, maybe 5'x12', are pallets made from beach boardwalk planks.

Since you are playing amidst small sand dunes with some pines scattered about there are several non-typical things about this course:
- What shoes to wear? I played in sandals, so couldn't do very good run-ups. Players in other shoes typically comment how their's fill with sand.
- There is usually, at a minimum, a mild breeze blowing - you may want to have heavier/more stable discs.
- If you typically count on gaining some extra distance due to your disc skipping and/or rolling, that's not going to happen on this course - hit the sand, and stop

Fairly good variety - some holes are flat, some up/down a gentle slope, but several where you need to get up-n-over a dune with trees growing on it, but back down quickly, some times also needing to turn to get to the basket. Decent blend of straight, S-shape, and turning holes, with a bit of an emphasis of left-turns. A couple wooded holes, a couple open holes, but most have you throwing around and over tree/dune combinations.

Some navigation tips: when teeing for #13, you may want to make note of tee #14 to your right, as you'll soon be walking back to it. After finishing #13 and walking back towards tee #14, you should note the location of #15 to your left, as it is not at all visible from basket #14.

Favourite hole #14: About 300', left-turning about 2/3rds of the way to the hole, need to throw between trees early, but be high enough to get over other trees just past the midpoint.

Your entry fee will allow you into other Delaware state parks that day, so playing a trifecta of Henlopen, Trap , and Killens, all about an hour from each other, is certainly possible.

Don't know how many courses there are similar to this - probably fairly unique!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hot Foot

5+    7/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: MANN-JITSU
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1)Beach no more than 300ft away from the course....
2)Not like any other course you will ever play...
3)New Baskets
4)Skilled shots are needed to play this as a 54 par course...
Cons: 1)Bugs are really bad in the middle of summer...
2)Expect to get sand in your shoes your basicly playing on the beach...
3)Course is kinda hard to follow first time playing....(but the locals are maintaining it nicely)
4)At one time the baskets were out dated.. making long puts were impossible to stick...
Other Thoughts: This was my first course I have ever played. Going camping at the park and being able to golf is very nice.. Including having the beach within distance makes this an amazing beach vacation experience...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cape Henlopen

2-4    3/30/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: Gran Pa Fibbz
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique course over the sand dunes. loved the Wooden decks used for T pad.
Park is clean and easy to navigate.
Cons: I cheat I have a spotter point the direction I need to throw, Also helps find errant discs. Bugs and heat are the devil from the end of July to the first of August
Other Thoughts: If you like to play unique courses. This is a must. Yeah you have to pay but you will not be bored playing this course

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dunes and Pines

5+    12/14/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: o01shadow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a completely unique course, most of which is laid out on or into a set of sand dunes. Each hole is different, and almost all are technically challenging.

All but one tee has a sign and if you know someone in the area who plays it is not terribly hard to follow. There is now a course layout map by the practice pin and first tee, so taking a look at it should clear up any issues.

The par is really lax, but if you play a pro par the course becomes much harder.

Also, it is right by the beach, so after you are done disc golfing, you can chill in the waves or take a nap in the sun.
Cons: First time this course is hard to follow, but now that there is a map of the course, it has become a lot easier for first timers.

Sand: I would suggest bare-footing it on cooler days, or finding a sand proof shoe of some variety, because you are playing on a dune, so there is no avoiding the sand.

Older tees and pins may annoy some, but everything is there, and a new set of tee platforms have recently been put in.

Watch out for trees. Pine trees are annoying to retrieve discs from, and several holes you have to shoot over or around a bunch of them.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Aged though it may be, there is still the aura of novelty about it, that I have not found in any other course.

Also: if you come in the off season, like October to late March, you do not have to pay to get into the park. Other ways to get around the $8 out-of-state fee: ride a bike in; get lots of people to go; get to know a local.

I highly recommend this course if you are looking for something a little different in your schedule, just be prepared to compensate for the setting.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.