Plainview, TX 
Running Water Draw Park Share
Uploaded By: P-Katt Hole #15 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / 450ft.   -- / 560ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    6/9/2013   6/9/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 38  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice long concrete tee pads (great for people who take long steps on the run up). Baskets in perfect condition. Signs at each tee pad telling the distance to the basket. Tape on each basket pointing the way to the next tee pad.
Cons: The only cons I could see are that there are not many technical shots. The other is of no ones fault but the drought that has been going on the last couple of years has taken its toll on the course, but they do have some younger trees there that should make it great in a few years.
Other Thoughts: It appears like the Rotary Club built this course. Kudos to them they did a fantastic job. This course is much much better than many on this site that have a higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 High Plains Disker

2-4    3/31/2011   4/8/2011
Review By: QBeaver
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like this course. Having grown up in Plainview, I was much relieved to see they installed such a quality course. This one has some holes for those big arms, # 3 and # 15, especially from the pro tees, are quite long. Great use of the trees, and the limited elevation changes in the park, they provide for some challenges and opportunities for technical shots. Nice long concrete tees provide ample take-off space, and the pro tees are marked with signs showing the hole, alternate tee locations, and distances. The layout is great, and for the most part, leads you around and away from the more commonly used areas of the park. The playgrounds don't really factor in. A good course for all ability levels.
Cons: WIND!!!! This part of the world is windy, if you want to play this course you'll have to deal with windy conditions. The soccer field towards the end of the front nine, and the baseball fields at the beginning of the front nine can come into play when games are going on. The holes toward, and in, the draw can become flooded after big rainfalls. If there's water in the draw, don't forget mosquito repellent.
Other Thoughts: Don't live in that area anymore, but come to visit family often and when I do, I love to play this course. For those that live in the area, even Lubbock, it's worth a visit. Thank you Plainview Rotary Club.
P.S. When playing don't forget to say hey to the Jackrabbits, I haven't played this course yet when one didn't jump out of nowhere in the middle of a fairway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dchirish123
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open course and well maintained. Concrete tee pads with signs that were the most helpful signs I've seen on a course around Lubbock. Tx.
Cons: Water sprinklers flooded two holes but still could play. Grass could be kept a little lower.
Other Thoughts: Will play the course again and the local club has a fun mixed doubles on the 2nd Sat. of each month.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Nice

1    6/20/2009   4/1/2010
Review By: westxdisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice open area to play. Good amount of trees for west texas.
Cons: No teepads when I played. I know they have them now, so that is a definite step up.
Other Thoughts: I started playing in college at the University in town and am super excited there is a legitimate course there now. Looking forward to playing often.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Now worth the drive!

5+    4/12/2010   11/4/2009
Review By: eegor
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a very well maintained park with trees planted in rows and "front lawn" type grass. The baskets are new and in very good shape. Hole numbers are clearly marked on top of the basket. Very good use of trees and what elevation changes there are available.

The course has brand new concrete tees! All have pro tees also. There are signs at the pro tees. This eliminated the cons in my first review. You can see the baskets from the tees, so the course is very easy to follow. Nice long holes. Very high fun factor. Keep your throws out of the baseball and YMCA fields and you won't lose a disc.
Cons: No water hazards... you could make some of the drainage areas out of bounds, but you won't lose a disc. The sign on #10 states that the draw running from the parking lot is OB. No "rough" to play from. It's all short grass.
Other Thoughts: What an improvement the tees have made. This is a very fun course. Certainly not easy, considering the frequent wind, but not so hard that a beginner can't have fun, too. The only ace run from both tees is the 1st hole. 9 is possible from the short tee. I can't wait to bring my discs back to this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/11/2010   9/27/2009
Review By: Iman522
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course. Well designed. It uses the given area very well. It includes a few elevation changes, several good trees, challenging shots around the trees, and a very good layout that covers a large area. The course is very smooth to play through. It has both pro and rec concrete tee pads with vertical tee signs helping with the navigation.
Cons: It seems like people will have parties or something in undesignated spots that are in your fairway. It can be annoying.

On Sunday afternoons a local soccer club has their matches in the park. The soccer players are fine but the spectators tend to get in the way makng holes #1 and #2 nearly impossible to play.

After a big rain Hole #8 and sometimes #5 and #7 can be underwater.
Other Thoughts: Great course which people of all skill levels can enjoy. It has many challenging shots that tests your game and it utilizes the terrain really well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.