Disc Golf Store
Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Blue Tee



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent course

5+    7/26/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid beginner/intermediate course. There is a good variety of hole types (open, trees) and terrain (flat, sloped). Many of the holes are fairly short (under 250ft) from the long tee positions. All the holes except one (#9) have multiple pin positions (as many as 3). The tee pads are nice, but the shorter tees are much smaller. There is a huge parking lot.
Cons: This course favors right-handers, though pin positions have been added to offset this reality. Some areas are close to walking paths. I've actually had pedestrians try to walk off with my disc! Have lost discs in the pond on #17 and found them at Play It Again Sports... person(s) unknown seem to frequent it to sell discs. Seldom had lost disc returned at this course. Restrooms are not close. No water fountain. Can get very crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the designers made the best with what they had to work with... this is a relatively small course, but they still managed to pack in longer holes (500+ft) in limited space. The layout is fairly intuitive and marked well. There are a couple of spots where tees and flight paths from different holes are close together. There are some landing zones close to the next tee, so extra care is needed. This is my home course and I play it 2-3 times a week.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with some open and some wooded holes.
Cons: Not much distance, with the exception of a few holes. Also, the majority of the course it TOO open for my taste.
Other Thoughts: Best disc golf store in ATL less than one minute away!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad.

1    6/6/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 73  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are quite a few things here they do right,such as having nice teepads,rotating pin positions,being far away from the other activities in the park,having multiple tees,and having very nice teesigns.

The course was pretty well manicured when I played,nice short grass,I could definitely see someone who likes rollers having a good time here.
Cons: The big con here for me is lack of hole shapes,this is a pretty open course,not a ton of variety,and if you play this in the summer,it gets hot walking across that big field all the time,real,real hot.
Other Thoughts: There's not really many obstacles out here,but a few of the holes are pinned in some trees,and a few are truly wooded,but it's more open than anything,but don't let that stop you from having a good time.

This was the 4th round I had played that day,4th new course,played with BnC,we had a great time,and I would definitely come back and play this course again if I was in the area.

This isn't a destination course,and I do think it's a bit overrated,but if you are in the area,definitely make sure to check it out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: mdfenley
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of bench's and trash cans provided.
Cons: Not maintained well. Needs grass cut. Course needs better signage to direct you to the holes. At the end of #3, is #5. At the end of #5 is #4 & #6. Trying to go from #12 to #13 without a map is confusing.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is nice to play once you figure out the layout. Plenty of combined holes, open and wooded. Looking forward to playing it again soon.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but Busy!

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: Nice layout. Like the Wooded Courses. Nothing more gratifying than taking your wood driver out and breaking it in. Nice facilities. GDGO is really woking hard to keep this course nice. Lots of mixed shots. Some short and long holes keep it interesting instead of having to dig my driver out all the time.

Not fully broken in yet so get your scores low while you can.

Score cards are provided!
Cons: People jumping around. The young'ins like to skip holes to circumvent the old and new guys. Really gets frustrating.

Way too crowded on weekends. Be prepared to wait. Alexander services all of Gwinnett in a central location so a lot of us from outside of the county travel to Alexander.

Poison Ivy starting to grow in. I got hit by it so watch out
Other Thoughts: Great course, but can get busy on the weekends. A nice touch for newbies like myself to test my technical shots.

Watch out for the disc magnet on 17 (the pond) Havent put one in yet.

 As a Newbie

5+    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: jawjaboy34
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In my opinion this course offers a little something for everyone. Half the course is open fairways to rip and the other half you are either throwing into the woods or out of the woods. It's just challenging enough to keep beginners interested or not discouraged and advanced players from getting bored.
Cons: There is only one entrance to the park off of Old Snellville Hwy with no signs directing you to the back sand lot for parking. If you do like did and park in the paved lot, there is an extremely long walk to the first tee.
Other Thoughts: The park is crazy on the weekends, but if you find yourself lucky enough get out there in the mornings most any day of the week, you can have a relaxing and enjoyable round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice New Course

5+    6/27/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: punahou80
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a very good course for beginners and intermediate players. Lots of shorter holes and mix of wooded /open holes. One huge bonus is the best "bricks and mortar" disc golf store I've ever seen around the corner ("Discstalker"). Hundreds and hundreds of discs and they even rent them. Sweet!

Two sets of concrete tee pads, alternate tee placements, a nice practice tee setup and a little separation from the rest of the park are very nice touches. Somebody (probably a LOT of people) have done a very nice job of installing and maintaining this course
Cons: Very "new" park. Open holes have been placed on graded land so it will take a few years for the course to grow in. Gwinnett Co. traffic is terrible so I'll be limited to weekend mornings.

Course is likely too tame for Pros and experienced Ams.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for practice. Work on your drives, approach shots, putting and wooded path throws. It's been windy when I played and you really get to test up/down/cross wind approaches and putts.

Really fun to play in the Fall/Winter when the leaves are down.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So Nice, I played it twice!

2-4    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: slengel82
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice change in terrain and various hole placements. Some good short holes followed by some wicked long holes. Makes it fun and keeps you entertained. Well manicured and maintained.
Cons: Some of the holes in the beginning are closeby to other holes, resulting in some wait times. A few of the holes were almost too similar in design making it feel a little repetative.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Will return and play again.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fungus-like course

5+    4/7/2010   1/6/2010
Review By: Subicon
Played: 27  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has really grown on me over the last few months. The first four or so times I played here, I was new to the technical side of disc golfing and was greatly discouraged when I kept nailing trees with my discs. However, my game has improved and I've begun to like Alexander.

This course has a good variety of open and wooded holes, so you'll have plenty of opportunities for both bombs and tight, technical shots.

The course is well laid out and easy to navigate. It also has plenty of benches and trash cans.
Cons: One thing I really don't like about this course is all the wood chips in the wooded fairways. Instead of skipping, sometimes your disc will just slam into large wood chunks and stop.

The only other con I can think of is that the course is sometimes quite crowded, which at times will have you waiting at every hole.
Other Thoughts: The area around the pond used to be very messy due to overflow from all the rain we got over the winter. That has been fixed, for the most part, by some recent work on a overflow outlet on the back side of the pond. However, it can still get pretty messy if there has been rainfall in the previous few days.

If you have not put your name and number on your discs, do so before playing this course. There are a few people who regularly collect discs out of the pond. If you have your number on your lost disc, they will call you and try to return it to you. Depending on who it is, they may charge you a small recovery/cleaning fee.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Promising Future

2-4    6/26/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
•Excellent equipment (baskets, multiple pins, multiple concrete tee pads, signs)
•Well manicured
•A variety of holes
Cons:
•Long walk from parking lot
•The open holes are very open
Other Thoughts: This course has a very promising future with the trees planted on the open holes. However it appears that some of the trees planted are slow growers. So it could take a while for the course to mature.

Signature Hole: 17 (especially when it is in the long pin position)


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.