Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #18 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 322ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Straight and clean

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is set into a very nice park with walking trails, playground and ponds. Plenty of parking and amenities.

Practice basket on the way to hole 1.

18 holes with two tee pads for each one. All pads are large, flat, concrete. Nicely done. Signs at long pads show multiple pin positions and hole lengths and layouts. Plenty of benches and next tee signs also. Upkeep and appearance are all top notch.

Course is a mix of wide open holes and holes that play in and out of the woods. There are only a couple truly 100% wooded holes. There is nothing super challenging or dramatic here, just basic disc golf shots. There are a few smaller trees on some of the open holes that may grow into obstacles as they age.

Almost all baskets are visible from the pads. This would be a great course for newer players and practice sessions.
Cons: Almost every hole requires a straight shot. Not a lot of wrinkles in the fairways.

There is a few spots on the open holes where you can see multiple baskets from the tee pad. Make sure you are targeting the correct basket.

Mostly flat and straight shots. While there are woods, there aren't any challenging wooded fairways that force you to hit a line.

No memorable shots or holes.
Other Thoughts: Park in the overflow parking area. That is a gravel lot in the back of the park. Path to the right takes you to hole 1.

This is a very nice course that simply lacks creativity or challenging holes that would make it an excellent course. The pond isn't that much in play on 18 and there isn't enough elevation to truly impact your shots. So you're left with 18 holes of mostly flat, straight shots with some mature trees or wooded fairways to deal with. It is defintely a nice course for its upkeep, and ease of play, but it won't challenge really good players, and lacks any outstanding holes or features to push it into elite status. I'd say the actual play and course is probably a 3 disc rating, but the multiple pads and spotless upkeep push this course to a 3.5 in my mind. It is definitely worth a stop of your nearby. And would probably be a good course for kids and new players too.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Supreme

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexander Park is a very nicely equipped and maintained in an upscale community park. The course is quite entertaining and includes elevation changes and alternates from open holes into, through, and out of woods. Most holes are 325' and under, but not all. I felt like I should have had more looks at birdies than I actually got. Multiple concrete tees and pin placements mixes it up real good, the versatility adds a good deal of interest. Tee
benches and signs are great, and pointing arrows usually indicate direction to the next hole.

The vibe is fun and well done. Maybe not a masterpiece, but still quite charming. I didn't show well on the scorecard this day, and wish I could have had another chance or two to post a better number. Glad I checked it out, for sure!
Cons: The park has other users that come into proximity with some holes. Some holes almost overlap, to squeeze in the full 18. Wind was ferocious beginning my visit here, but trees blocked it on many holes though. Degree of difficulty isn't strong. Water on 17 had a reputation of attracting discs.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot, and am glad to have played there. It is worked nicely into a blend of open grassy turf and wooded places, and has a good fun factor for average skill levels. This course sort left my disappointed with my effort, but mostly satisfied with the overall quality of it's design. Totally worth checking out if you have the chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I'd play it a lot if I lived closer

1    9/30/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: GavinSexton
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very clean. Benches at every hole. Fun wooded fairways. Low shrubbery. Easy to find stray discs. Nice tapered concrete tees.
Cons: I had to walk quite a distance to make it to the first tee from where I parked.
Other Thoughts: I wish some of the first holes had more obstacles. They are also a little repetitive being in an open field like they are.

I live about 50 minutes from this course, but to me it isn't worth the drive unless I have other reasons to be in the area. I prefer Cumming Central park over Alexander.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 half & half

1    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mouseclone
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is both open and in the woods. Some holes were half and half. The course has a great deal to offer and made for a great experience.
Cons: Cross play. The 16th and 18th tees are right next to each other and a little confusing at first glance.

The walk/bike trail around the course is a little annoying. You need to make sure that you disc are on mark or you might hit someone.
Other Thoughts: You need to drive though the first parking lot to get to the back parking lot. This will yield a much shorter walk to the practice putting green as well as the first tee.

I didn't notice a place to get water or where the bathrooms were. So might would like to track down those locations.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Sun

1    8/9/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: OneSiriusOkami
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is wide open and very smooth both to the eyes and to the fly. it transitions from small rolling hills to nice shaded woods very smoothly. This place is WELL taken care of. (a broom at every launch and not a mark on the Goals).
There is a place to sit at almost every launch (thank you Eagle Scouts) and the underbrush is very tolerable.
Hole 17 is a doozy... being that you have to curve just right around that pond to make it into your lane and not into the water or over to those woods on the other side.
Water fountains at entrance.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay!
Cons: So apparently Gwinnette county Built this place right smack dab in the middle of a ton of subdivisions. On top of the park being very well constructed, you have to take into account that they squeezed a walking track and a biking track in a quasi circle around the entire park. so there are going to be a lot of people walking around all of the time. from the looks of today (a Monday afternoon ) i can gather that a calm meditative play is possible, all without the zen of privacy.
All and all i say that there are really no other cons. This place is very well taken care of. im thinking that we can thank our tax dollars for that.
A few nasty stairs from the local authorities (who patrol on their bikes and cars) do not seem to scare off the steady flow of disc-golfers i witnessed this afternoon. the steady flow of people through this course gives me hope that perhaps we can build many more great courses like this in the future.
Other Thoughts: Great stuff all around. Worth the drive! i would drive at least three hours to play here if i had to. This course seems VERY popular to the locals (who all seemed friendly enough) so also be prepared to kindly step aside for those speedier disc- golfers.
Oh and folks... the pond is no joke,,, i personally wouldn't go into that water... Black lagoon type scenario.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Park Review

5+    5/25/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course, fresh, well made launch pads, challenging holes and an excellent layout make for a challenging course. Wide variety of scenery and hazard types. Well-maintained grounds.
Cons: Large snakes seen on most trips. The water hazard on left side of 17 makes for a lot of lost discs. The back 9 holes seem rushed in design and execution (#14-18 seem jumbled and poorly planned out.) Hole #15 in major need of some work as far as clearing and cleaning of debris. This last part is not a current and new condition, the course has always seemed to be poorly maintained here. Most wooded shots have high levels of underbrush and thorns. Parking situation is very poor.
Other Thoughts: Course is regularly overcrowded; to some, this may be a pro, to others, a con. Alexander is in the heart of Gwinnett County and easily accessible to an area where there aren't many good nearby courses.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little open, but fun

1    4/22/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses a mix of open rolling fields and some tight woods, which mixes things up quite a bit throughout the round. The open holes bring minor elevation changes into play, and a few have enough distance to really throw a drive. Many have a few small trees that will be nice obstacles when they grow up a bit. The wooded holes offer some nice tight lines to hit, and several play into or out of the trees for different types of challenges.

The tighter holes offer a variety of left and right turning shots, most aren't very long but you will have to be accurate to stay out of the thick rough. Hole 17 brings a small pond into play, and offers the one multi-shot hole on the course with an open drive, then a long upshot through the trees to get to the protected pin. There are long and short tees to change things up a bit, and good signs with hole distance and layout. The concrete tees and baskets are all in nice shape. The flow of the course is easy to follow, and there isn't much conflict with other park users.
Cons: The open areas of the course get a bit repetitive, they'll be better when the trees grow in a bit but right now they just don't offer much variety or challenge. The alternate tees are a nice idea, but here they're almost always on the same line and not that different of distances, so it seems a bit pointless. There are a few places where holes play very near one another, and it seems like there's enough traffic here that it could be an issue at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty straightforward course, but a fun one. Beginners will find the course pretty approachable, with only a few longer holes. More experienced players won't find it too challenging even from the longs, but the wooded holes offer a few places where you have the chance to earn anything from a birdie to a bogey.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A good fun course

2-4    11/13/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads.
-Multiple tee pads.
-Multiple pin placements.
-Course is far removed from other park activities.
-pretty park
-good tee signs, and benches
-well maintained
Cons: -some of the holes have design issues (teepads/fairways are too close to one another) Holes 16, 18 and 12.
-the course can be super jammed packed on weekends making a round more difficult to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a very good course and is excellent for the area to help promote disc golf. I would give a 4 disc rating but several of the holes are basically the same even though the topography or scenery changes. When the trees grow up on this course (5-20 years) it will be more deserving of a 4 disc rating because of added difficulty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    11/22/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 88  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Alex is a very fun, beginner to intermediate level course. Amenity-wise this is one of the nicest courses I've every played. Two concrete pads per hole, a broom on every teepad, multiple pin placements, practice basket with distance markers out to 10 m, fantastic teesigns, information sign at the first tee, the works.

The course itself is on the easy side. But if you're looking for an fun casual round or want to shoot a good score, this is one of the best courses to do that.
Cons: From a technical standpoint, the course is too one-dimensional. You can shoot a great score throwing only RHBH, and at least half of the holes can be birdied with a 250-350 foot hyzer shot. You're never really forced to throw anything different, and in this sense playing the course does not develop a complete game.
Other Thoughts: For what it is, Alexander is a great course. I don't think the designers set out to build a championship caliber course. I think they set out to build a fun, beginner friendly course and they succeeded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Very clean and well marked

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: jasonmac198
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a good mix from the normal courses I have played. There are longer holes that tend to be in the wide open, however there are several 250' holes in the woods that test your ability to make several types of shots. Every hole had 2 tee pads and make it to each players ability. Very easy to find hole to hole, with nice tee signs and next tee box signs around the basket. Something I haven't seen to much of, most of the holes in the woods have a broom at each sign so you can clean up the tee pad before you slip and fall.
Cons: This course has a lot of open space for mistakes, so if your a pro and looking for a true challenge. This course wouldn't be what your looking for.
Other Thoughts: Being from out of state, this course has lived up to my experience at several other GA locations. A must play if your in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.