Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee: Position B



Reviews: 67
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Simply Great Disc Golf

5+    10/20/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open and wooded holes.
- Great mix of long and short holes.
- A great course for experienced players, and beginners.
- Great signage, and easy to find the next holes.
- Kept up well. Course is mowed several times a week.
Cons: - Very busy park, playing with a group is more fun here. Playing by yourself can be very frustrating because you can wait for a long time before each hole.
- The county hosts many events at Alexander, which clogs the parking lots.
Other Thoughts: Solid course. Proud to call this one my home course. I try to play here at least once a week. I learn something each and every time I play here!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Maintained Course, Avg Difficulty

5+    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: DragonVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the best maintained courses I have ever played. All of the holes have markers, and most direct you to the next tee very clearly. All holes have two tees, which is great when playing with a mixed group. Great course for beginner or intermediate players.
Cons: Many holes are fairly straight shots in open fields. Course could use a little more variety, and a few more barrier trees, etc. to challenge players. I enjoy the course every time I play it, but don't often feel challenged by it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just as pretty as she plays.

5+    8/7/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: thewesticle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- This course is gorgeous, and well-maintained.

- A great mix of wooded holes, long, wide-open bomber holes, and traditional holes with a few trees out in the fairway.

- Great tee-pads, with brooms.
Cons:

- Baskets can be a little confusing the first time you play out here, particularly around 3 & 4, and then again around 6 & 7.

- In certain positions, the baskets will be blind from the tee. While this is not a problem at all courses, Alexander's alternate tees on some of the blind holes make a dramatic difference in which route to take. Just be sure to take note of basket positions before heading into the deeper parts of the woods.

- Course can become extremely busy at times, and I've had to play behind 6-somes more than once.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Recreational Course

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course for recreational players, although advanced amateurs and pros might get bored with large number of open shots.

There are concrete tee boxes on every hole for both short and long tees. Brooms at most holes to sweep off the concrete. Benches near most tees. All holes clearly marked with distances and hole map. Course is well-manicured, mowed. The course is mostly wide open holes, with a few holes that either start or end in the wooded section. Wooded holes are partially cleared around baskets and tees. Nice elevation changes with both uphill and downhill shots. Baskets are numbered. Only one water hazard (hole #17) where you could lose a disc.

For me, the open holes give you a chance to warm up (holes 1-3), and then give you a break from some of the wooded holes, so I personally liked the mix of open and wooded. A couple of the wooded holes had some dense trees to shoot through, but nothing insurmountable, as the holes usually opened up after the tight squeeze.
Cons: There are lots of open holes. None of the holes were absurdly challenging.

Also, I was a little confused at hole #3 because it appears to aim at the hole #4 basket. So if it is your first time, print a course map.

Parking areas are a bit of a walking distance from tee #1, especially if you park at the main park entrance. (overflow parking is closest to the course hole #1)
Other Thoughts: As a recreational level player, this course was fun and non-intimidating. I very much enjoyed it. While this is an easier course, I rate it among my favorites because the landscape is beautiful with a combination of trees and rolling meadows.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Near-flawless family par 3 course

1    8/5/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very family friendly, even stroller friendly
Attractive park that is clearly well maintained, excellent tee signs with a broom at every tee. Discatchers are in nice shape, benches at some of the tees. 2 tee pads and multiple pin locations. There are several ace runs, but they are not just 80 feet and open, these are ace runs with character.
Elevation in play on more than half of the holes.
Nice playground on site.
Great place to learn, introduce new people, and practice hitting lines.
Cons: Tough to find many cons. Hole 3 aims directly at 4's basket and is confusing.
16 and 17's fairway were parallel. My disc went into one fairway while his disc went into mine. Course is pretty short with an average of 237/305 feet per hole. Typical par 3 layout, because it is so nice and popular, it can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Disc Stalker Pro shop just a block from the course!
Course is a near flawless family friendly course, but if you want isolation or more challenge, this is not the course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course, gorgeous park.

1    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course set in the perfect scenic park. Something for everyone with all sorts of family friendly amnenties for all ages. The wife and kids can easily be entertained while you sneak in a round at this course if they are not into disc golf as much.

- Course utilizes the land very well with a great balance of shots in the open as well as in the woods.

- Great job on the safety factor on most of the wooden holes. Despite having busy pedestrian paths flowing throughout the hilly wooded terrain, I cannot recall an instance where I felt as though anyone was in the way of any shot I needed to take.

- Excellent use of elevation and technical lines to throw, particularly when teeing off from the woods out to the open.

- Course appeared to be immaculately maintained. Brooms at every tee pad are a nice touch. Plenty of benches and the tee signs look good.

- Multiple pin placements is always a plus assuming they get moved around occassionally.

- Beginner friendly short pads are sure to get some of the regular park visitors attracted to disc golf.

- Navigation was easy and 9 & 18 both end in proximity to hole 1.
Cons: - Longer than usual walk from parking lot to 1st tee pad but the park is so nice it's hard to count that against the course.

- Time will take care of this on it's own, but if I have to think of another con it would be that some of the young trees in play on the open fairways need time to grow before they become a true strategical force to reckon with. It's still "grip 'n rip" on several of the open fairways without concern of foliage.

- signage is decent but the tee signs could use a way to show what basket position you are throwing to since many of them are blind from the tee.
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoyed the course. My family enjoyed the park while I was playing. I would absolutely love to play a tournament at this park/course. If I lived closer I would play here often without a doubt. Can't wait to return!

- out of towners, don't miss out on this one!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Prandyseth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy to get to and a joy to play
easy navigation
concrete teepads and multiple basket placements
nice mix of open and wooded holes with ace runs and long shots mixed in.
Cons: amateurs which is also sort of a pro are very likely to appear on this course slowing up play and giving you a good laugh.
Other Thoughts: Home course when i get to come home

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    2/6/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well defined tee areas. Holes are well laid out.
Equipment is in great condition and Holes are well marked.
Cons: Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great variety with holes. Open field holes. Nice transitions from open field to wooded areas on some holes. Looks to be well maintained and marked.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good, fun course

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: bighouse
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course if very well maintained, and it's in an overall nice park. It has a nice layout, good signage, and there's a good mix of harder and more difficult holes. The course is about half in the woods and half open space. So, it's almost like playing at Lenora and Ft. Yargo at the same time.
Cons: Theres often quite a few people playing on any given day, so there tends to be a lot of foot traffic. Some of the tees run quite close to one another, like 18 and 16. You really have to watch the throws sometimes to avoid hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: WARNING: THE POND ON 17 IS MAGNETIC!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great All-Around Course!

2-4    11/24/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: jdominy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * This course has a lot of variety. Great balance of inners and outers.
* Beautiful park, great trails around it.
* Course is very well maintained.
* Course is well marked.
* Love the brooms at each concrete tee-pads.
* Lots of good benches and trashcans.
* Holes are fair, reward those who challenge it.
* Has some good long holes.
* Disc Stalker shop is right next to it, with the biggest selection of discs I've seen anywhere, as well as used and rental discs.
Cons: * Can't really think of anything I didn't like. Was really one of the best I've played.
* Lacks some of the creativity I've seen in other courses.
Other Thoughts: After playing Flyboy earlier this year, all courses I play have a lot of live up to. This one lacks the amazingness of Flyboy, water challenges and scenic beauty of Flyboy. So, 4.0 is best I could give it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.