Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 254ft.   3 / 326ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 70
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Just Enough Challenge To Be Interesting

5+    7/25/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: lukethenuke
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Most holes have some challenging aspects. Some holes are very interesting/fun to play. The holes in the woods really get you to make accurate drives, but they're not terribly unforgiving like some courses in the woods can be.

Frequent switches between wooded holes and open holes make for a nice mix while you play, and are great for getting in and out of the sun during the summer.

Cons: Typically the most crowded course I play at. There are frequently fairly large groups (4+), which can be frustrating for smaller groups especially during the busy weekends.

A few paths between holes aren't well marked/are easy to miss.

Has a few spots where it's surprisingly easy to lose discs.

A few holes feel rather pointless/filler, such as 16 and 18, which are just really long and are fairly uninteresting.

Lots of the park is close to the road, so you don't get the feeling of being out in nature quite as much as some parks.

Great Beginners' Course

5+    2/16/2015   2/17/2015
Review By: SD86
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - The Front Nine holes are the best I've ever seen for working on one's game and improving. Both open field holes and technical tight holes in the woods, fairly flat. One can test new discs, work on technique and different shot shapes, and/or just go for the best score possible.

- The Back Nine holes are a bit more of a challenge, more uphill and downhill, etc.

- Course offers holes where one can bomb it and challenging tunnel shots through the woods.

- Course is in excellent condition. Grass is mown, baskets and chains in very good shape, concrete tees and brooms on most of them.

- Practice basket with stepping stones showing various yardages out to 10 meters. Really good place to practice putting and shorter approach shots.

- There are front and back tees to choose from.

- Course is very well marked, with signs pointing to the next tee box. Very easy to navigate.
Cons: - Restrooms are nowhere near the course.

- Yes, that basket one sees to the right on the No. 3 tee is the No. 4 basket, and the No. 3 basket might not be easily visible (it's inside the woodline).

- Path from No. 14 basket to No. 15 tee is not obvious (one walks down the walking path to get there).

- Course can be very busy in the warmer months and at peak times. There are people walking, biking, etc. in some areas that one has to be careful and watch for.

- Both No. 9 and No. 18 end near the No. 1 basket, not the No. 1 tee box, so there's a bit of a walk back to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Parking - go all the way through the paved parking lot to the gravel road that leads to a gravel "overflow" parking lot. This gravel lot is close to the practice basket and first tee and will save considerable walking distance.

Pro Shop - Disc Stalker is no longer near the course, as it has moved into the downtown Lawrenceville area. Check their website for the address.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    3/29/2014   2/3/2015
Review By: TennDG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Open course design - lots of big drives mixed with some slimmer fairways.

*Easy to navigate for out-of-towners

*Clean park, well-maintained.

*Decent design for a multi-use park.
Cons: *Super busy!

*No real technical holes
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice course laid out in a large suburban park. Though it is a multi-use park, there was only a few points I had to watch for pedestrians. I came in from out of town and played it through it while passing through - it was pretty busy, but I was able to play through with minimal delays. I can imagine during tournament season that it would be rather difficult to do so quickly. Fairly flat course, so no real elevation shots - you'll get good use out of your mid-ranges and fairway drivers on this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Simply Great Disc Golf

5+    10/20/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open and wooded holes.
- Great mix of long and short holes.
- A great course for experienced players, and beginners.
- Great signage, and easy to find the next holes.
- Kept up well. Course is mowed several times a week.
Cons: - Very busy park, playing with a group is more fun here. Playing by yourself can be very frustrating because you can wait for a long time before each hole.
- The county hosts many events at Alexander, which clogs the parking lots.
Other Thoughts: Solid course. Proud to call this one my home course. I try to play here at least once a week. I learn something each and every time I play here!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

5+    7/26/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: cnalbers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 32.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid beginner/intermediate course. There is a good variety of hole types (open, trees) and terrain (flat, sloped). Many of the holes are fairly short (under 250ft) from the long tee positions. All the holes except one (#8) have multiple pin positions (as many as 3). The tee pads are nice, but the shorter tees are much smaller. There is a huge parking lot.
Cons: This course favors right-handers, though pin positions have been added to offset this reality. Some areas are close to walking paths. I've actually had pedestrians try to walk off with my disc! Have lost discs in the pond on #17 and found them at Play It Again Sports... person(s) unknown seem to frequent it to sell discs. Seldom had lost disc returned at this course. Restrooms are not close. No water fountain. Can get very crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: All in all, the designers made the best with what they had to work with... this is a relatively small course, but they still managed to pack in longer holes (500+ft) in limited space. The layout is fairly intuitive and marked well. There are a couple of spots where tees and flight paths from different holes are close together. There are some landing zones close to the next tee, so extra care is needed. This is my home course and I play it 2-3 times a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well Maintained Course, Avg Difficulty

5+    6/7/2014   6/9/2014
Review By: DragonVT
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the best maintained courses I have ever played. All of the holes have markers, and most direct you to the next tee very clearly. All holes have two tees, which is great when playing with a mixed group. Great course for beginner or intermediate players.
Cons: Many holes are fairly straight shots in open fields. Course could use a little more variety, and a few more barrier trees, etc. to challenge players. I enjoy the course every time I play it, but don't often feel challenged by it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    12/14/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: DiabolicalHeel
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The course is very diverse and offers every types of shot you could want short of over a body of water. It has uphills, downhills, wooded, wide open, just a great selection of holes.
-Multiple tee pads make this course beginner friendly if you're trying to get a friend into the game that hasn't played before.
-Multiple pin placements help keep the holes fresh. If I remember correctly every hole has 3 different pin positions and all of them are interesting for that particular hole.
-The park is very clean and well maintained. There are plenty of trash cans and this course even has a broom at every hole if the tee box is too dirty for you
-The course is well cleared out on it's wooded holes. This means clear lines that are manageable and take luck out of the equation. Also means less chances to lose a disc.
Cons: -Traffic can be very heavy at times. There have been multiple times where I've found myself waiting behind groups of people
Other Thoughts: I see this course hasn't gotten great ratings from everybody but to me this is exactly what I want in a disc golf course. The course has nearly every shot, other than directly over water, and is very friendly to both beginners in veterans. I wish I still lived in the area as I loved coming to this course and I strongly suggest anyone around to give it a try. Also, just around the corner from the park is Disc Stalker, which is a a disc golf pro shop, and they have a great selection of plastic so if you need anything new you can stop by there on your way to the course. Overall just a great setup in my opinion.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just as pretty as she plays.

5+    8/7/2013   8/13/2013
Review By: thewesticle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:

- This course is gorgeous, and well-maintained.

- A great mix of wooded holes, long, wide-open bomber holes, and traditional holes with a few trees out in the fairway.

- Great tee-pads, with brooms.
Cons:

- Baskets can be a little confusing the first time you play out here, particularly around 3 & 4, and then again around 6 & 7.

- In certain positions, the baskets will be blind from the tee. While this is not a problem at all courses, Alexander's alternate tees on some of the blind holes make a dramatic difference in which route to take. Just be sure to take note of basket positions before heading into the deeper parts of the woods.

- Course can become extremely busy at times, and I've had to play behind 6-somes more than once.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Good Course

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: umeshc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I live in Athens, GA and am an intermediate player. I normally throw less than 350 feet. That being said, I love this course because most of the holes are in that range for par 3. Very well kept disc golf course. I really like the large teepads with brooms in almost all of them. A practice basket with distance info is a great plus. The wooded holes are open enough for my skill and my mid-range disc worked great. Some of the wooded holes are treacherous though. Playing from blue tee was a little bit challenging for me but I still like them because I birdied some holes and hit chains and rims several times in my birdie attempts. Overall great course for my skill level.
Cons: Not really. Driving distance from Athens.
Other Thoughts: People should visit this course at least twice to check their skill and power.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: zjones9
Played: 47  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with some open and some wooded holes.
Cons: Not much distance, with the exception of a few holes. Also, the majority of the course it TOO open for my taste.
Other Thoughts: Best disc golf store in ATL less than one minute away!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.