Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #11 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 157ft.   3 / 198ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee: Position B



Reviews: 66
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Near-flawless family par 3 course

1    8/5/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very family friendly, even stroller friendly
Attractive park that is clearly well maintained, excellent tee signs with a broom at every tee. Discatchers are in nice shape, benches at some of the tees. 2 tee pads and multiple pin locations. There are several ace runs, but they are not just 80 feet and open, these are ace runs with character.
Elevation in play on more than half of the holes.
Nice playground on site.
Great place to learn, introduce new people, and practice hitting lines.
Cons: Tough to find many cons. Hole 3 aims directly at 4's basket and is confusing.
16 and 17's fairway were parallel. My disc went into one fairway while his disc went into mine. Course is pretty short with an average of 237/305 feet per hole. Typical par 3 layout, because it is so nice and popular, it can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Disc Stalker Pro shop just a block from the course!
Course is a near flawless family friendly course, but if you want isolation or more challenge, this is not the course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course, gorgeous park.

1    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 68  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course set in the perfect scenic park. Something for everyone with all sorts of family friendly amnenties for all ages. The wife and kids can easily be entertained while you sneak in a round at this course if they are not into disc golf as much.

- Course utilizes the land very well with a great balance of shots in the open as well as in the woods.

- Great job on the safety factor on most of the wooden holes. Despite having busy pedestrian paths flowing throughout the hilly wooded terrain, I cannot recall an instance where I felt as though anyone was in the way of any shot I needed to take.

- Excellent use of elevation and technical lines to throw, particularly when teeing off from the woods out to the open.

- Course appeared to be immaculately maintained. Brooms at every tee pad are a nice touch. Plenty of benches and the tee signs look good.

- Multiple pin placements is always a plus assuming they get moved around occassionally.

- Beginner friendly short pads are sure to get some of the regular park visitors attracted to disc golf.

- Navigation was easy and 9 & 18 both end in proximity to hole 1.
Cons: - Longer than usual walk from parking lot to 1st tee pad but the park is so nice it's hard to count that against the course.

- Time will take care of this on it's own, but if I have to think of another con it would be that some of the young trees in play on the open fairways need time to grow before they become a true strategical force to reckon with. It's still "grip 'n rip" on several of the open fairways without concern of foliage.

- signage is decent but the tee signs could use a way to show what basket position you are throwing to since many of them are blind from the tee.
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoyed the course. My family enjoyed the park while I was playing. I would absolutely love to play a tournament at this park/course. If I lived closer I would play here often without a doubt. Can't wait to return!

- out of towners, don't miss out on this one!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Prandyseth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy to get to and a joy to play
easy navigation
concrete teepads and multiple basket placements
nice mix of open and wooded holes with ace runs and long shots mixed in.
Cons: amateurs which is also sort of a pro are very likely to appear on this course slowing up play and giving you a good laugh.
Other Thoughts: Home course when i get to come home

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    2/6/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well defined tee areas. Holes are well laid out.
Equipment is in great condition and Holes are well marked.
Cons: Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great variety with holes. Open field holes. Nice transitions from open field to wooded areas on some holes. Looks to be well maintained and marked.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: travislj
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot of variety. Some holes open, some wooded, uphill, downhill, & water in play on 17. They are constantly improving it. Baskets move pretty frequently.
Cons: Park can be busy at times.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played here you should really check it out.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Supreme

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 232  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexander Park is a very nicely equipped and maintained in an upscale community park. The course is quite entertaining and includes elevation changes and alternates from open holes into, through, and out of woods. Most holes are 325' and under, but not all. I felt like I should have had more looks at birdies than I actually got. Multiple concrete tees and pin placements mixes it up real good, the versatility adds a good deal of interest. Tee
benches and signs are great, and pointing arrows usually indicate direction to the next hole.

The vibe is fun and well done. Maybe not a masterpiece, but still quite charming. I didn't show well on the scorecard this day, and wish I could have had another chance or two to post a better number. Glad I checked it out, for sure!
Cons: The park has other users that come into proximity with some holes. Some holes almost overlap, to squeeze in the full 18. Wind was ferocious beginning my visit here, but trees blocked it on many holes though. Degree of difficulty isn't strong. Water on 17 had a reputation of attracting discs.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot, and am glad to have played there. It is worked nicely into a blend of open grassy turf and wooded places, and has a good fun factor for average skill levels. This course sort left my disappointed with my effort, but mostly satisfied with the overall quality of it's design. Totally worth checking out if you have the chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good, fun course

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: bighouse
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course if very well maintained, and it's in an overall nice park. It has a nice layout, good signage, and there's a good mix of harder and more difficult holes. The course is about half in the woods and half open space. So, it's almost like playing at Lenora and Ft. Yargo at the same time.
Cons: Theres often quite a few people playing on any given day, so there tends to be a lot of foot traffic. Some of the tees run quite close to one another, like 18 and 16. You really have to watch the throws sometimes to avoid hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: WARNING: THE POND ON 17 IS MAGNETIC!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great All-Around Course!

2-4    11/24/2011   11/27/2011
Review By: jdominy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * This course has a lot of variety. Great balance of inners and outers.
* Beautiful park, great trails around it.
* Course is very well maintained.
* Course is well marked.
* Love the brooms at each concrete tee-pads.
* Lots of good benches and trashcans.
* Holes are fair, reward those who challenge it.
* Has some good long holes.
* Disc Stalker shop is right next to it, with the biggest selection of discs I've seen anywhere, as well as used and rental discs.
Cons: * Can't really think of anything I didn't like. Was really one of the best I've played.
* Lacks some of the creativity I've seen in other courses.
Other Thoughts: After playing Flyboy earlier this year, all courses I play have a lot of live up to. This one lacks the amazingness of Flyboy, water challenges and scenic beauty of Flyboy. So, 4.0 is best I could give it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Park

2-4    9/6/2011   11/5/2011
Review By: kennedydm
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2011
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of long fairways and wooded holes. Well maintained. Clear signs at every hole. Concrete pads.
Cons: Park can get crowded at times. Nice parking in the rest of the park... disc golfers park in dirt and gravel.
Other Thoughts: Great course! Fun for all skill levels. Disc golf store right around the corner. Anytime I travel to atlanta I play this course!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained course!

1    8/20/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Very well maintained course
2) Gives a very good balance of shorts, some open, some wooded.
3) Hole 17- Best dogleg hole i've ever seen. (watch out for the lake)
4) Very nice area, along with nice helpful locals.
5) Great Signage!
6) Good flow of the course
Cons: 1) Mild risk of losing a disc (Water on 17, some scattered thick patches in the woods, a blind shot or two)
2)Long Walk from the parking lot to first hole
Other Thoughts: Great course overall! would love to play it again!

And, as said before, Keep driving to the BACK parking lot

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.