Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee: Position A



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful Recreational Course

1    9/19/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is a great course for recreational players, although advanced amateurs and pros might get bored with large number of open shots.

There are concrete tee boxes on every hole for both short and long tees. Brooms at most holes to sweep off the concrete. Benches near most tees. All holes clearly marked with distances and hole map. Course is well-manicured, mowed. The course is mostly wide open holes, with a few holes that either start or end in the wooded section. Wooded holes are partially cleared around baskets and tees. Nice elevation changes with both uphill and downhill shots. Baskets are numbered. Only one water hazard (hole #17) where you could lose a disc.

For me, the open holes give you a chance to warm up (holes 1-3), and then give you a break from some of the wooded holes, so I personally liked the mix of open and wooded. A couple of the wooded holes had some dense trees to shoot through, but nothing insurmountable, as the holes usually opened up after the tight squeeze.
Cons: There are lots of open holes. None of the holes were absurdly challenging.

Also, I was a little confused at hole #3 because it appears to aim at the hole #4 basket. So if it is your first time, print a course map.

Parking areas are a bit of a walking distance from tee #1, especially if you park at the main park entrance. (overflow parking is closest to the course hole #1)
Other Thoughts: As a recreational level player, this course was fun and non-intimidating. I very much enjoyed it. While this is an easier course, I rate it among my favorites because the landscape is beautiful with a combination of trees and rolling meadows.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite

5+    8/18/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 1/27/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well manicured fairways.
Brooms at most tee boxes.
Pin placement changes regularly.
Multiple tee boxes on almost every hole.
Good mix of field and forest.
Good mix of technical and power drives required.
Friendliest players I've run into on any course.
Cons: It isn't closer to home.
Never can seem to get a scorecard or map at the kiosk, not really a con but just want one to have.
Other Thoughts: I was blown away the first time I played at this course. I tell all my DG friends about this course and they have since played and agreed that this course is legit!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Straight and clean

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is set into a very nice park with walking trails, playground and ponds. Plenty of parking and amenities.

Practice basket on the way to hole 1.

18 holes with two tee pads for each one. All pads are large, flat, concrete. Nicely done. Signs at long pads show multiple pin positions and hole lengths and layouts. Plenty of benches and next tee signs also. Upkeep and appearance are all top notch.

Course is a mix of wide open holes and holes that play in and out of the woods. There are only a couple truly 100% wooded holes. There is nothing super challenging or dramatic here, just basic disc golf shots. There are a few smaller trees on some of the open holes that may grow into obstacles as they age.

Almost all baskets are visible from the pads. This would be a great course for newer players and practice sessions.
Cons: Almost every hole requires a straight shot. Not a lot of wrinkles in the fairways.

There is a few spots on the open holes where you can see multiple baskets from the tee pad. Make sure you are targeting the correct basket.

Mostly flat and straight shots. While there are woods, there aren't any challenging wooded fairways that force you to hit a line.

No memorable shots or holes.
Other Thoughts: Park in the overflow parking area. That is a gravel lot in the back of the park. Path to the right takes you to hole 1.

This is a very nice course that simply lacks creativity or challenging holes that would make it an excellent course. The pond isn't that much in play on 18 and there isn't enough elevation to truly impact your shots. So you're left with 18 holes of mostly flat, straight shots with some mature trees or wooded fairways to deal with. It is defintely a nice course for its upkeep, and ease of play, but it won't challenge really good players, and lacks any outstanding holes or features to push it into elite status. I'd say the actual play and course is probably a 3 disc rating, but the multiple pads and spotless upkeep push this course to a 3.5 in my mind. It is definitely worth a stop of your nearby. And would probably be a good course for kids and new players too.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Near-flawless family par 3 course

1    8/5/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 217  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 8.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very family friendly, even stroller friendly
Attractive park that is clearly well maintained, excellent tee signs with a broom at every tee. Discatchers are in nice shape, benches at some of the tees. 2 tee pads and multiple pin locations. There are several ace runs, but they are not just 80 feet and open, these are ace runs with character.
Elevation in play on more than half of the holes.
Nice playground on site.
Great place to learn, introduce new people, and practice hitting lines.
Cons: Tough to find many cons. Hole 3 aims directly at 4's basket and is confusing.
16 and 17's fairway were parallel. My disc went into one fairway while his disc went into mine. Course is pretty short with an average of 237/305 feet per hole. Typical par 3 layout, because it is so nice and popular, it can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Disc Stalker Pro shop just a block from the course!
Course is a near flawless family friendly course, but if you want isolation or more challenge, this is not the course for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course, gorgeous park.

1    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 82  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course set in the perfect scenic park. Something for everyone with all sorts of family friendly amnenties for all ages. The wife and kids can easily be entertained while you sneak in a round at this course if they are not into disc golf as much.

- Course utilizes the land very well with a great balance of shots in the open as well as in the woods.

- Great job on the safety factor on most of the wooden holes. Despite having busy pedestrian paths flowing throughout the hilly wooded terrain, I cannot recall an instance where I felt as though anyone was in the way of any shot I needed to take.

- Excellent use of elevation and technical lines to throw, particularly when teeing off from the woods out to the open.

- Course appeared to be immaculately maintained. Brooms at every tee pad are a nice touch. Plenty of benches and the tee signs look good.

- Multiple pin placements is always a plus assuming they get moved around occassionally.

- Beginner friendly short pads are sure to get some of the regular park visitors attracted to disc golf.

- Navigation was easy and 9 & 18 both end in proximity to hole 1.
Cons: - Longer than usual walk from parking lot to 1st tee pad but the park is so nice it's hard to count that against the course.

- Time will take care of this on it's own, but if I have to think of another con it would be that some of the young trees in play on the open fairways need time to grow before they become a true strategical force to reckon with. It's still "grip 'n rip" on several of the open fairways without concern of foliage.

- signage is decent but the tee signs could use a way to show what basket position you are throwing to since many of them are blind from the tee.
Other Thoughts: - I really enjoyed the course. My family enjoyed the park while I was playing. I would absolutely love to play a tournament at this park/course. If I lived closer I would play here often without a doubt. Can't wait to return!

- out of towners, don't miss out on this one!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/9/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: Prandyseth
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: easy to get to and a joy to play
easy navigation
concrete teepads and multiple basket placements
nice mix of open and wooded holes with ace runs and long shots mixed in.
Cons: amateurs which is also sort of a pro are very likely to appear on this course slowing up play and giving you a good laugh.
Other Thoughts: Home course when i get to come home

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    2/6/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: edphoto
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well defined tee areas. Holes are well laid out.
Equipment is in great condition and Holes are well marked.
Cons: Can be crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great variety with holes. Open field holes. Nice transitions from open field to wooded areas on some holes. Looks to be well maintained and marked.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  My Home Course

5+    2/10/2012   2/10/2012
Review By: travislj
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course offers a lot of variety. Some holes open, some wooded, uphill, downhill, & water in play on 17. They are constantly improving it. Baskets move pretty frequently.
Cons: Park can be busy at times.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played here you should really check it out.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Alexander Supreme

1    1/1/2012   1/1/2012
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 242  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 12.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alexander Park is a very nicely equipped and maintained in an upscale community park. The course is quite entertaining and includes elevation changes and alternates from open holes into, through, and out of woods. Most holes are 325' and under, but not all. I felt like I should have had more looks at birdies than I actually got. Multiple concrete tees and pin placements mixes it up real good, the versatility adds a good deal of interest. Tee
benches and signs are great, and pointing arrows usually indicate direction to the next hole.

The vibe is fun and well done. Maybe not a masterpiece, but still quite charming. I didn't show well on the scorecard this day, and wish I could have had another chance or two to post a better number. Glad I checked it out, for sure!
Cons: The park has other users that come into proximity with some holes. Some holes almost overlap, to squeeze in the full 18. Wind was ferocious beginning my visit here, but trees blocked it on many holes though. Degree of difficulty isn't strong. Water on 17 had a reputation of attracting discs.
Other Thoughts: I liked this course a lot, and am glad to have played there. It is worked nicely into a blend of open grassy turf and wooded places, and has a good fun factor for average skill levels. This course sort left my disappointed with my effort, but mostly satisfied with the overall quality of it's design. Totally worth checking out if you have the chance.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Good, fun course

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: bighouse
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course if very well maintained, and it's in an overall nice park. It has a nice layout, good signage, and there's a good mix of harder and more difficult holes. The course is about half in the woods and half open space. So, it's almost like playing at Lenora and Ft. Yargo at the same time.
Cons: Theres often quite a few people playing on any given day, so there tends to be a lot of foot traffic. Some of the tees run quite close to one another, like 18 and 16. You really have to watch the throws sometimes to avoid hitting other players.
Other Thoughts: WARNING: THE POND ON 17 IS MAGNETIC!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.