Lawrenceville, GA 
Alexander Park Share
Uploaded By: bk_ching Hole #12 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 69
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Alexander Park Review

5+    5/25/2011   6/23/2011
Review By: Chain Bangin' Joshua
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New course, fresh, well made launch pads, challenging holes and an excellent layout make for a challenging course. Wide variety of scenery and hazard types. Well-maintained grounds.
Cons: Large snakes seen on most trips. The water hazard on left side of 17 makes for a lot of lost discs. The back 9 holes seem rushed in design and execution (#14-18 seem jumbled and poorly planned out.) Hole #15 in major need of some work as far as clearing and cleaning of debris. This last part is not a current and new condition, the course has always seemed to be poorly maintained here. Most wooded shots have high levels of underbrush and thorns. Parking situation is very poor.
Other Thoughts: Course is regularly overcrowded; to some, this may be a pro, to others, a con. Alexander is in the heart of Gwinnett County and easily accessible to an area where there aren't many good nearby courses.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little open, but fun

1    4/22/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 818  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course uses a mix of open rolling fields and some tight woods, which mixes things up quite a bit throughout the round. The open holes bring minor elevation changes into play, and a few have enough distance to really throw a drive. Many have a few small trees that will be nice obstacles when they grow up a bit. The wooded holes offer some nice tight lines to hit, and several play into or out of the trees for different types of challenges.

The tighter holes offer a variety of left and right turning shots, most aren't very long but you will have to be accurate to stay out of the thick rough. Hole 17 brings a small pond into play, and offers the one multi-shot hole on the course with an open drive, then a long upshot through the trees to get to the protected pin. There are long and short tees to change things up a bit, and good signs with hole distance and layout. The concrete tees and baskets are all in nice shape. The flow of the course is easy to follow, and there isn't much conflict with other park users.
Cons: The open areas of the course get a bit repetitive, they'll be better when the trees grow in a bit but right now they just don't offer much variety or challenge. The alternate tees are a nice idea, but here they're almost always on the same line and not that different of distances, so it seems a bit pointless. There are a few places where holes play very near one another, and it seems like there's enough traffic here that it could be an issue at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty straightforward course, but a fun one. Beginners will find the course pretty approachable, with only a few longer holes. More experienced players won't find it too challenging even from the longs, but the wooded holes offer a few places where you have the chance to earn anything from a birdie to a bogey.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, but Busy!

2-4    4/12/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: EagleZT
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Nice layout. Like the Wooded Courses. Nothing more gratifying than taking your wood driver out and breaking it in. Nice facilities. GDGO is really woking hard to keep this course nice. Lots of mixed shots. Some short and long holes keep it interesting instead of having to dig my driver out all the time.

Not fully broken in yet so get your scores low while you can.

Score cards are provided!
Cons: People jumping around. The young'ins like to skip holes to circumvent the old and new guys. Really gets frustrating.

Way too crowded on weekends. Be prepared to wait. Alexander services all of Gwinnett in a central location so a lot of us from outside of the county travel to Alexander.

Poison Ivy starting to grow in. I got hit by it so watch out
Other Thoughts: Great course, but can get busy on the weekends. A nice touch for newbies like myself to test my technical shots.

Watch out for the disc magnet on 17 (the pond) Havent put one in yet.

 As a Newbie

5+    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: jawjaboy34
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In my opinion this course offers a little something for everyone. Half the course is open fairways to rip and the other half you are either throwing into the woods or out of the woods. It's just challenging enough to keep beginners interested or not discouraged and advanced players from getting bored.
Cons: There is only one entrance to the park off of Old Snellville Hwy with no signs directing you to the back sand lot for parking. If you do like did and park in the paved lot, there is an extremely long walk to the first tee.
Other Thoughts: The park is crazy on the weekends, but if you find yourself lucky enough get out there in the mornings most any day of the week, you can have a relaxing and enjoyable round.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good fun course

2-4    11/13/2010   1/23/2011
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads.
-Multiple tee pads.
-Multiple pin placements.
-Course is far removed from other park activities.
-pretty park
-good tee signs, and benches
-well maintained
Cons: -some of the holes have design issues (teepads/fairways are too close to one another) Holes 16, 18 and 12.
-the course can be super jammed packed on weekends making a round more difficult to play.
Other Thoughts: This course is a very good course and is excellent for the area to help promote disc golf. I would give a 4 disc rating but several of the holes are basically the same even though the topography or scenery changes. When the trees grow up on this course (5-20 years) it will be more deserving of a 4 disc rating because of added difficulty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    11/22/2010   12/12/2010
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Alex is a very fun, beginner to intermediate level course. Amenity-wise this is one of the nicest courses I've every played. Two concrete pads per hole, a broom on every teepad, multiple pin placements, practice basket with distance markers out to 10 m, fantastic teesigns, information sign at the first tee, the works.

The course itself is on the easy side. But if you're looking for an fun casual round or want to shoot a good score, this is one of the best courses to do that.
Cons: From a technical standpoint, the course is too one-dimensional. You can shoot a great score throwing only RHBH, and at least half of the holes can be birdied with a 250-350 foot hyzer shot. You're never really forced to throw anything different, and in this sense playing the course does not develop a complete game.
Other Thoughts: For what it is, Alexander is a great course. I don't think the designers set out to build a championship caliber course. I think they set out to build a fun, beginner friendly course and they succeeded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than expected

1    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: ProOffense
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: Superb layout. Lawrenceville should be very proud to have such a pristine course within its city lines. My favorite part of this course is was the tee area. Great signage, discriptive approach on the signs, and admirable next hole signs. Also the tee pads themselves, concrete, gives you a chance at multiple X-step approaches. The back of the tee pad starts wide and narrows towards the chains. Very clutch on the couple mean Anhyzers i threw. Also, having benches to set your bag down at the tee, and not get dirt, leaves, and pinestraw all in a hanging towel was a big plus. I'm excited to find out when tourneys are played here. Alexander Park is just a solid disc course. You'll need every disc in your bag, as well as every shot in your arsenal at some point. I think i played every disc in my bag atleast once during my round. Granted, some more than others. The front 9 were medium range and right to the point. There is the chains, now go get it! The back 9 offered a little more distance and challenge with shot shaping. The front start you out with a huge confidence booster to get ready to crush it on the back 9. I will be revisiting this course very soon.
Cons: Make sure to be very carful when teeing off on select holes. There are a few which overlaps others, and some tee pads are in line with a miss throw. Check the area before stepping on and off the pads. This is more present in the back 9. I belive this was the ONLY negative i discovered about this beautiful course.
Other Thoughts: Once you pull into the park, take a left and drive all the way around to the back of the play ground. You will see a gravel parking lot, and the first tee is just over the hill on the right. Just follow the dirt walkway on the right to the practice basket. It was my first time out there and some locals helped me to it. This should clear up first tee location for any other Alexander Park virgins haha

  Very clean and well marked

1    9/17/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: jasonmac198
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a good mix from the normal courses I have played. There are longer holes that tend to be in the wide open, however there are several 250' holes in the woods that test your ability to make several types of shots. Every hole had 2 tee pads and make it to each players ability. Very easy to find hole to hole, with nice tee signs and next tee box signs around the basket. Something I haven't seen to much of, most of the holes in the woods have a broom at each sign so you can clean up the tee pad before you slip and fall.
Cons: This course has a lot of open space for mistakes, so if your a pro and looking for a true challenge. This course wouldn't be what your looking for.
Other Thoughts: Being from out of state, this course has lived up to my experience at several other GA locations. A must play if your in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 MY home course

5+    9/9/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 70  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: __Hole 5 connection!_ (Chillaxation spot before or after hole 5)
-Start with parking... Separated gravel lot in back of park for disc
-Restrooms and water fountains are good, but kinda a hike from anywhere but 1, 2, 3, and 10.
-Pads (paved and pointing at pin), multipin loc., signage and scorecard box, practice basket with marker tiles, benches and trashcans are better than Redan or Lenora, and thats saying alot! It's really the best of both worlds on that count
-Great mix of field, trees, channels, hills, and even a nice curl around a pond for a variety of tricky shots.
-Close proximity to the BEST disc pro shop I've ever been in, DiscStalker at Sugarloaf and Old Snellville in the lil strip mall. Good deals if you look aound, HUGE inventory, rentals, test-drive out back if u ask, and every accessory one could EVER want!
-The course is popular and always has locals to play with or get advice/help finding discs from
-Planted trees will make excellent challenges in a few years when it grows up a lil
-Park crews maintain with vigilance and timeliness
-Baskets are changed regularly and with consideration of collective course difficulty

***One of the only courses I could ever rate as perfect, and I have played most courses in North Georgia, as well as several other states.
Cons: *~*There are some CONS, despite my 5 of 5 rating. I feel ANY negative is cancelled out by the vast array of positives. That said:
-Overcrowding.... If you have played Wills Park in Alpharetta, then you know how bad it can get trying to play against the Sunset clock. This park is at least 5 times as crowded at Wills seemingly at all times, and not only the walking paths that can at times be in the way of a windy shot, but the Course itself is more populated than any I have ever been on. This is mostly due to the upper- middle class area it is in, and the many MANY teenage players that can buy a disc and go play both within a mile of their house... Go figure!
-On top the of overpopulation issue, COURSE ETTIQUITE is a lost art in disc golf these days. I admit, I played ball golf long before I started disc so I am biased on courtesy, but nearly nobody on this course will let you play through without badgering, and the simple things such as playing with urgency when the whole course is taken up with 19+ groups. Sadly, along with chivalry, ettiquite appears to be long dead. Just shout ahead to a slow group and demand that they let u play though, and it tends to work.
-Separate from the issue of playing through, many kids, couples (often with stroller AND dog), and large groups of 6-10 people often 'skip around' and have no reverance for people throwing blind out of the woods. Make sure to BE WARY AT ALL TIMES
Other Thoughts: Notice, Nothing I said about the CONS were about the COURSE, they were all about the population of Gwinnett County that happens to visit this park on the regular

-If you have read this far, and have never been to the course, take into account that I personally played this course as early as January 2009, 6 months before it opened. I played in knee-high, tick-infested grass, without any knowledge of the intended course layout. The baskets were the first things to go in, and the parking lot was the last. Go figure. More to the point, I have seen this course evolve from infancy, and I challenge anyone to point me to a course that is better funded, more cared for, better planned, more conveniently located, more varied (as far as challenging, interesting, and simplified holes goes), with a Lake and a pond, with a separate parking lot, and perfect amount of tee/pin placements. I DARE you!

+If a 3rd 9 holes are actually put in the in overgrown 'expansion/phase II" part of the park, this would truely be a world class course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A really Georgia peach!

1    8/6/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I cannot begin to describe how nice and well-kept this park is. The facilities, even if a little far from the actual course are great. Nice bathrooms, playground, walking trails, etc.

The course is just over a year old, and the Discatchers are in great shape. Trapezoidal tees are very nice and textured perfectly. Short tees as I remember were rectangular, just as nice as the longs. Tee signs are of excellent quality and very accurate. There is a very nice practice basket just before hole one, with distance markers in the ground at various distances at all four sides of the basket.

There is a very nice mix of open and wooded holes, right and left turning lines, up and down hills. Overall a very good mixture that should cater to just about any taste in hole design. This is certainly not the longest course, but you don't even notice the brevity because the holes are shaped so well.

Multiple tees and basket positions (all very distinct also) will make sure that this course stays fresh and doesn't get boring, as long as they make sure the move the baskets frequently.

My memorable holes:
3 - Up and over a rise, to a basket tucked just into the tree line. In the long position you have to throw 350' and hit a gap between two trees about 200 feet out to be able to fade back for a good lie for a deuce run.
4 - Starting off in the woods, you have to hit a narrow gap about 100 feet away to get into the open. If you don't hit this 30' or so gap, you will be frustrated with a probable bogey.
6 - Starting down a hill in the woods, you have to throw up, and follow a relatively narrow fairway. Be safe and don't go off left or right, as there is no recovery route to speak of.
8 - Plays with the woods on your right, slightly downhill, and curving right, and cuts into the trees about halfway down. Try a neutral midrange and anhyzer just a bit and let it float on down for a two.
10 - Not the most complicated hole, but just begging for a big hyzer fade, as it drops in elevation and the basket is tucked just into the trees with a wide open window on the right side.
14 - Up and over a hill to the left. Go high and fade hard at the end to lay up at the basket just into the tree line.
15 - With the basket in the right position, it is just right for a hard hyzering flick, but the dogleg is kind of long, so parking it might be a very lucky shot.
17 - Basket in the long position, this appears to be the longest hole setup on the course. Straight out about 300 feet, then angle left around the edge of the pond (don't throw high and have your disc fade right into the water like I did). After that, a couple hundred more feet down a tree lined alley, with the basket tucked into a stand of trees.
Cons: Not many at all, and nothing very significant.

Could use a paved parking lot for DG like the other areas of the park, but I'm sure that will be coming. The existing gravel lot is not too bad. I also had a little confusion on where the course was in the park, but just following the road around led me to it.

The first two holes I don't really want to call "filler holes", but the foliage really hasn't grown up yet, and they seem pretty straight and easy.

In some of the wooded areas you have to be careful since some holes play close to a walking path that goes through the woods.

I can't really think of anything else!
Other Thoughts: My rating of a 4 shows the awesomeness of this course, only being detracted by some in-development issues, and the fact that you start with a couple very simplistic holes. Otherwise, this is a GREAT course. It will satisfy every DG personality I believe with its variety and beauty. I have rarely seen such well-done tee pads, signs, baskets, basket mounts, etc. This was a SOLIDLY designed and executed course!

If you are in the Atlanta area, you must play this course. I don't care if you have to go an hour out of your way, do not miss this one!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.